Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peil Star - Street Gaelic

• 20-07-2016 12:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭

This just came up on my twitter feed

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KYMum8PzYeM

Ryan McHugh (DL), Kieran Hughes (Monaghan) Richie Donnelly from Tyrone (Is he Matties brother?) and a McKeveer lad from Antrim

Looks pretty cool, i must say

Street Gaelic Football

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

GAA gets some street creed,pretty cool.Getting down with the boyz in the hood!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    GAA gets some street creed,pretty cool.Getting down with the boyz in the hood!

Don't show jayop all those boys are kicking the ball !!

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭cjmc11

Surely that's a piss take!, if not its just like 4 lads kickin up against the gable of the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,091 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I was waiting for them to kick it and sprint back 50 yards.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Nothing new here. I was playing that game when I was 5...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Thats embarrassing stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

Thats a touch harsh. I thought it was entertaining enough. You can see why McHugh is such a brilliant player. There is more kicking in it than the whole Ulster Championship.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Cringe

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Thats a touch harsh. I thought it was entertaining enough. You can see why McHugh is such a brilliant player. There is more kicking in it than the whole Ulster Championship.

Agreed.

They made another one of these

A trailer on my Facebook feed with Diarmuid Connolly kicking a ball over the Liffey

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=snkbB_TLpQI

• Registered Users Posts: 21,091 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

A trailer on my Facebook feed with Diarmuid Connolly kicking a ball over the Liffey

When you say "they" you surely mean "we"? You might as well be upfront.

Fair play for putting the effort in and getting the guys on board, what exactly is the aim of these videos? Is it to promote the game, a brand or just for "enjoyment".

PARlance wrote: »

When you say "they" you surely mean "we"? You might as well be upfront.

Fair play for putting the effort in and getting the guys on board, what exactly is the aim of these videos? Is it to promote the game, a brand or just for "enjoyment".

I doff my cap to you PARlance or should i say Mr. Sherlock Holmes

The game is up, Gov

Ya, WE put it together.

I will ATTEMPT to answer your question

Peil Star 1 & Peil Star 2 (COMING NEXT WEEK) are short video films which showcase Gaelic Football being played in the street.

Our Production team is a mix of the GAA players/ coaches and the BMX riders/ Skaters.
    Our overall idea came from trying to create something creative/ new with GAA on the street

There is no aim as such.
    We would like to think that, each viewer can take what he or she likes out of it.

For example, reviews from Peil Star 1:
    some people like it from a coaching aspect
    We know some kids who try the various moves they see
    Others, say it looks good from an artistic angle
    Some people who have never seen Gaelic Football before like the pieces as they appreciate the physical skills involved.
    Others completely hate them and find viewing the pieces excruciating to watch (See above), which is totally fine

Lol

ALL the above views are 100% valid and correct

So, if you asked, "What is Peil Star?" just tell them

"Look, it is what it is!"

PEIL STAR 2 is out Tuesday next week. Hope ye like it. If ya hate it, thats ok too

Going forward we plan to make a Ladies Football version and a Hurling Version

We have the hurling version sketched out. Super excited about it.

For your Consideration............

Peil Star 2 featuring Shane Carthy (Dublin), CJ Molloy (Dublin) and Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A314BFCohEA

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Peil Star 2 featuring Shane Carthy (Dublin), CJ Molloy (Dublin) and Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

that one wasnt half bad, better than the first one anyway...:p

One question, did ye have the pump the balls many times? I seem to remember being told when I was a young fella that constant kicking an O'Neills off a wall or concrete surface makes em go soft quicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

How many balls did you lose in the liffey when you were doing that last kick? :D

No Footballs were warmed during the filming of this scene :angel::D

Episode 1 of Peil 's Poc for BBC Gaeilge
    with Donegal's Michael Murphy & Charlie Vernon of Armagh

Interviews as gaeilge with both players can be seen here:

Who is the Best Player that Michael Murphy played with?
    Who is the Best Player that Michael Murphy played against?
    Future episodes to feature: Peter Harte, Slaughtneil camogs, Walter Walsh and Tadhg De Burca