If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Big Brother UK 2016 [** Mod Warning in Post 1 **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

On the Live Feed, Evelyn was swinging her microphone, Big Brother male voice tells her to stop. Hughie (just out of Diary Room) says to her 'That's yer man I was just talking to in there'.
    Evelyn confused, says 'My Man???'......:D
    It must be unique to Ireland to call someone 'your man/one'?

Correct. I never use it speaking to foreigners. Put the word 'grand' in the way we use it into that category too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Guys? Or gays ???

Do you, by any chance, hate Hughie and Ryan because they're gay?...
    Omg what on earth has Dan Wooton started off. Him accusing jason. And niw you asking me. I have no problem at all with Andy or sam. They would not be my winners though. They are both gay. My problem with Ryan and hughie are they are attention seekers camera searchers and me me me little boys . I am glad ryan had gone . And hope hughie follows soon. But Not because they claim to be gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Omg what on earth has Dan Wooton started off. Him accusing jason. And niw you asking me. I have no problem at all with Andy or sam. They would not be my winners though. They are both gay. My problem with Ryan and hughie are they are attention seekers camera searchers and me me me little boys . I am glad ryan had gone . And hope hughie follows soon. But Not because they claim to be gay.
    So why did you post saying that the "only way hughie got on the show was by getting on his knees for a producer " and don't say it was begging. You're post said more in context than this.

Back Ot, I'm glad all the elders have lasted so long. Really hope one of them go on to win it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Not accusing, Just wondering based on a number of your posts. It seems like your problem with Ryan and Hughie started when their "under the cover" shenanigans unfolded so I was just wondering if maybe that was what tipped you over the edge in terms of your opinion on them.

Edit: I also notice that you seem to have a problem with Hughie based on the fact that he's a traveller. Also, if I'm not mistaken, it was you who kept goi no on about the fact that you couldn't get over the amount of gay people in the house this year.

Anyway, that's the last I'll say on the matter. I reported a post of yours a while back on this thread that I felt to be offensive but nothing was done so I think I'm better off leaving the issue.

deco nate wrote: »
    So why did you post saying that the "only way hughie got on the show was by getting on his knees for a producer " and don't say it was begging. You're post said more in context than this.

Ot, I'm glad all the elders have lasted so long. Really hope one of them go on to win it
    ?????????. What in God's name are you on about. When ?. To whom?. What date ?. Omg. I never insinuated anything like that. As I just text I have no problem with either andy or sam. Are you working for the sun newspaper as well.

Not accusing, Just wondering based on a number of your posts. It seems like your problem with Ryan and Hughie started when their "under the cover" shenanigans unfolded so I was just wondering if maybe that was what tipped you over the edge in terms of your opinion on them.
    Yeah I will admit that the slurping sounds from the bed were funny to begin with but as it progressed I thought it was way over the top. And felt sick to the stomach at one of the camera seeking episodes. But a lot of other viewers did as well. Check complaints to channel 5.

Thats a brilliant reply. But bb did not struggle to get him in. He said so much in his audition about his life and all the great work he does for his community etc he was practically on his knees to them to get on show. Actually from what I see of him tonight. He probably was on his knees.
    This quote, so the old... Deny.. . Deflect. .. Accuse Applys. .

This amongst many other posts don't feel right.

Sorry to everyone else for going off topic

Ok get the message. Completely out of context. Well done to you both. Over and out.

It was not out of context.

Deny.. . Deflect. .. Accuse.

Back Ot, I'm looking forward to tomorrow nights episode. just to see hughie and how he is around Jason and the other elders :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Ok get the message. Completely out of context. Well done to you both. Over and out.

I'm not trying to accuse you of anything or to try and get you to stop posting in this thread, far from it. I have agreed with a lot of what you have said in this thread actually. I'm just trying to explain that the way you word things can be offensive sometimes. As a gay man myself there have been a few times where I've felt that your posts could be construed as homophobic.

By all means, post away though. This is a public forum and what is a public forum without free speech?

Also, let's not fall out over big brother and trivial things. There's far too much going on in the world to get upset over this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

"claim to be gay"??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It is like an episode of BB happening on this thread.

I think too much is being read into things and that was a needless argument, not quite up there with the pancake though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Eyepatch

RobertKK wrote: »
    It is like an episode of BB happening on this thread. [Edit:Bolded by me.]

I think too much is being read into things and that was a needless argument, not quite up there with the pancake though...

Exactly! My experience too - complete with "coven" - sorry "inner circle", or call it "clique", if you like. Take comfort in that I, too, was wrongly accused of being homophobic - way back. Certain people - where you see one, invariably, you'll also see certain others rowing in - "liked" that thread. I reported it and demanded an apology in a private message to a certain moderator, but was completely ignored.

Seems he/she also is part of the "Coven/Clique" that is at the heart of this thread!

I have not posted here since, but have kept an eye out to see what goes down. Have had no reason, since then, to change my opinion of the dynamic here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Hughie seemed to be doing ok without Ryan on the live feed. He was in the diary room a while. The boos and cheers seem to have got to some people.
    It's funny Sams popularity in the house is completely at odds with the public.

Here's the odds from odds checker. Anybody got a bet on the outright winner?
    Hughie has a very decent lead. Followed by Jason, the so called 'gameplaying' doesn't seem to have hurt him :D. Jackson is third favourite :confused:. Gangster crying and stuttering not turning people off yet! Andy fourth and Alex down at fifth, losing popularity with bookies.
    Jayne, Evelyn, Sam and Laura bottom four in that order. I wonder will one of the girls make the final at all? On line polls showing Jayne top 5 though.

https://m.oddschecker.com/t/tv/big-brother/winner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

Hughie seemed to be doing ok without Ryan on the live feed. He was in the diary room a while. The boos and cheers seem to have got to some people.
    It's funny Sams popularity in the house is completely at odds with the public.

Yes Daisy, re Sam, they all seem really shocked when told Sam and Alex were irrelevant.. Makes you wonder about the editing.

I myself am wondering in this day and age why a differentiation is even being made between 'gay' and 'not gay'. It's just not valid. At the same time people who are gay are actually over represented in the house which I find quite odd and not particularly representative of society. Not that this show is, or ever was. It's just odd without being a positive or negative thing.

(I know somebody will try to draw something "anti-gay" out of that).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I myself am wondering in this day and age why a differentiation is even being made between 'gay' and 'not gay'. It's just not valid. At the same time people who are gay are actually over represented in the house which I find quite odd and not particularly representative of society. Not that this show is, or ever was. It's just odd without being a positive or negative thing.

How do you mean they are over represented? That there are too many? Genuinely confused btw,not asking a trick question or arguing against the point.

Yes Daisy, re Sam, they all seem really shocked when told Sam and Alex were irrelevant.. Makes you wonder about the editing.

Definitely, I think the editing is a big part, although the qualities that make them popular in the house don't make them entertaining housemates. Being nice to everyone, not ruffling feathers, generally boring to watch. They don't seem to be particularly witty either. Can't think of any funny oneliners (again could be editing) out of either of them, or any interesting aspect/quirk to their personality.. But 'nice, genuine and inoffensive' seems to be the concenus inside, which is pretty boring for a viewer :(.....

The others certainly are watchable and entertaining..
    Jackson...has his wannabe gangster act that changes into a crying and stuttering toddler. Backtracking all over the place
    Jason....literally annihilated during Annihalation week! His comment about Clio running down the motorway when she saw Charlie :D
    Jayne...some quality rants and confrontations..'Are you on effing drugs big brother' and in the poor garden re Jacksom 'is he going to give us all 50 quid' :D
    Evelyn...called out Jackson good and proper this week,also 'that's my ex' when Nathalie took off her mask in the other garden :D
    Andy....has his principals and not afraid to shove them forward, also interesting background and witty and deadpan..'tell us more about Rod Stewart' to Hughie :D
    Laura...sticks to her guns and says what she thinks, not afraid to make a show of herself (Marco) :eek: that aside I find her funny, warm and self deprecating. I've gone from tv actress to reality porn'...the story about auditioning to give Johnny Vegas an orgasm on Benidorm was funny.
    Hughie..funny, natural, wears his emotions on his sleeves...he has an innocence but also gets annoyed and frustrated easily when he can't express himself. Very loyal (his mother seemed to warn him off Ryan, zero attention paid), so many funny moments (beer garden, Rod Stewart). His sideways preening in the mirror with the half eyebrow!
    Alex Meh
    Sam Meh

Anyone got something else for Alex and Sam??

Here is the on-line poll round up from today..Sam & Alex bottom 3

BBspy (306 votes)

Hughie- 26.8%
    Jayne- 20.9%
    Andy- 14.1%
    Jason- 12.1%
    Evelyn- 8.2%
    Jackson- 7.2%
    Alex- 4.6%
    Laura- 4.2%
    Sam- 2.0%

TiBB (325 votes)

Hughie- 20.3%
    Jayne- 19.7%
    Jason- 17.2%
    Evelyn- 15.4%
    Andy- 12.9%
    Laura- 6.5%
    Jackson- 5.9%
    Alex- 2.8%
    Sam- 0.3%

Tellymix (1,966 votes)

Hughie- 37.13%
    Jason- 21.21%
    Jackson- 11.55%
    Andy- 8.44%
    Jayne- 8.39%
    Evelyn- 5.49%
    Alex- 4.32%
    Laura- 2.44%
    Sam- 1.02%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

littelady wrote: »
    Dont we all say harmful sexist remarks at times. He didnt say anything untwards.

You got proven wrong. Just accept it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

MadDog76 wrote: »
    "claim to be gay"??? :confused:

Oh god. Here we go again...

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I think if Evelyn continues to call out the bedroom crew on their bull**** then she'll make a late surge to win I think.

Faugheen wrote: »
    I think if Evelyn continues to call out the bedroom crew on their bull**** then she'll make a late surge to win I think.

I don't know, I don't think so, Jason broke up the bedroom crew already. She can be a bit of a wet blanket with the 'I'm such a weird dorky loser' & 'I am so socially awkward' stuff. Laura & Sam called her out on that too. It is like she is fishing for compliments.
    On the live feed it came across like it went to her head that she was saved and she really started playing up to the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I think if Jason is nominated next week, which is very likely, he could be evicted because a lot of people don't like him. If he gets to the final and it's vote to save, he will do really well.

I still don't know how Alex wasn't in the bottom three. He is so so boring. Him and Jackson are getting on my nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Darn it, had a post written, and wifi acted up.

In summary, I would like Jayne, Jason or Andy to win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Darn it, had a post written, and wifi acted up.

In summary, I would like Jayne, Jason or Andy to win.

Haha that's why I love this thread this year, we are all so polarised.. I would hate to see Jason or Andy win because I think they're both sliveens.. But I do think they deserve their place in the final. Hughie for the win!!

In saying that I have never gotten the winner ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

So are there 2 live evictions left? One next Friday and then the final?

It will all depend on if it's vote to save or vote to evict. I'm still baffled that Alex wasn't in the bottom 3 last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,130 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Haha that's why I love this thread this year, we are all so polarised.. I would hate to see Jason or Andy win because I think they're both sliveens.. But I do think they deserve their place in the final. Hughie for the win!!

That's it , this thread is great for that ! Different opinions , we all may pick different HM's we'd like to see in the final , but it's still a laugh and a joke and a bit of banter in here , a great escape from the madness of the real world at times :pac:

Have never picked the winner either :D

https://forumofgames.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I think because the three of them have managed to hold on so many times :D, and also, in my opinion, the younger housemates took for granted that one of them would win, especially Lateysha.

I like Jayne, and I love the meltdowns.

I would consider Jackson to be far more of a sleeveen, trying to whinge and cry about taking the rich option.

Sam and Alex are so goddam dull, they may as well be part of the wallpaper.
    Sam getting sulky 'did I get a lot of boos?'. Oh diddums. :D
    At least Laura was prepared to go, and said something about 'looking forward to going out there' as she heard the booing. Evelyn still annoys me, I'm afraid. All that palaver about dull as ditchwater Alex, and wondering if he fancies her.

Ryan was just annoying, I seriously wonder is there anything in his head, apart from cotton wool. In his dreams, is he anything like Rylan!

I would say Hughie wil be in the final, and I hope that we see a more interesting side to him, now that Ryan is gone.

Tasden wrote: »

How do you mean they are over represented? That there are too many? Genuinely confused btw,not asking a trick question or arguing against the point.

Precisely. How many males in the house identified as being gay? 50%? I don't want to make assumptions about the orientations of my friends and acquaintances but 50% of them don't identify as being gay.