Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 IllBeGrand

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    If you added up the total number of words ever broadcast by Joe Molloy, at least 40 per cent would be the word "Wes".

He went on in a really cringey way a year or so ago about Wes and how he's always just been Wes etc. Cringey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Ger Gilroy tonight on Martin O'Neill's comment from last week (which he's already apologised for) "It was a terrible terrible terrible faux pas"

Between this f**king nonsense again, and the show now being presented by squares since Woolly leaving, I dont know if OTB realise at this stage how close I am to just turning them off at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 El Reich

Oh **** off Ger Gilroy!! I like Joe as a lead man for the show but these guys could replace Chris Donohue and Jonathan Healy in the I'm so offended PC police.

Arrrggghhh

Ger Gilroy tonight on Martin O'Neill's comment from last week (which he's already apologised for) "It was a terrible terrible terrible faux pas"

Between this f**king nonsense again, and the show now being presented by squares since Woolly leaving, I dont know if OTB realise at this stage how close I am to just turning them off at this stage.

Beat me to it.

The researchers at least sound like a "bit" of craic. I was glad he didn't respond to Gilroy's making it very very clear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Anna Nolan has been in a hilarious state of outrage on Twitter since it happened. Ironically enough, nobody uses the word queer these days more than the gay community itself!!

Just on OTB, 2FM will really miss a trick if they don't get the Second Captains in the 7-10 slot ASAP.
    Game On is even more mundane than OTB at the moment and could do with some freshening up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Ironically enough, nobody uses the word queer these days more than the gay community itself!!

Context is everything.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Ironically enough, nobody uses the word queer these days more than the gay community itself!!

Context is everything.

I would understand if we were talking about Hulk Hogan but it was a joke not some homophobic rant.

He apologised and admitted he was wrong. Get over it!!!!

On a positive note I really enjoyed the interview with the guy from L' quipe.

Interesting insight into the French mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 IllBeGrand

Sums it up perfectly. The others are squares. At least Wooly wasn't a square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Just on OTB, 2FM will really miss a trick if they don't get the Second Captains in the 7-10 slot ASAP.
    Game On is even more mundane than OTB at the moment and could do with some freshening up.

They don't want to work 7-10.

That's pretty much why they're not on Newstalk anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

El Reich wrote: »
    I would understand if we were talking about Hulk Hogan but it was a joke not some homophobic rant.

He apologised and admitted he was wrong. Get over it!!!!

Yeah, I agree with you.

But I can see why people would want to discuss it as an example of the overall culture that surrounds sport.

I'll admit that I'm not following the discussion that closely, so I don't know what angle the OTB lads are taking on it this far on, but if it's just rehashing the same stuff and saying that it was a stupid thing to say, then fair enough I get the outrage here, but if they're simply referring back to it in larger discussions I think it's fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭poteen

Cant believe Gilroy went there again last night.

Its a wonder they didn't describe it as "Grim". The most overused word on that show.

I was trying to think who they might get to replace Parkinson. Cant think of an obvious personality except maybe Oisin McConville??

Just on OTB, 2FM will really miss a trick if they don't get the Second Captains in the 7-10 slot ASAP. Game On is even more mundane than OTB at the moment and could do with some freshening up.

Yeah, it's certainly a good opportunity for them. Could you imagine what sort of show they could do with their resources. But RTE dont seem to take sports shows as serious as they should. Brenda Donoghue getting a bunch of kids to shout "Come on Dublin" does not constitute good sports programming. Giving John Murray a Saturday Sport presenting job sends the message that the sports department is the place for people who RTE dont have the heart to fire, not for people with a true passion and love of sport.

The second that the five amigos left Newstalk, RTE should have immediately jumped on that opportunity, and kicked off a sports show of their own. Whether hosted by the five ex OTB guys or hosted by their own staff. That was the golden chance to take a share of the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I never rated Woolly as a presenter - It was a case of being the right man in the right place at the right time when he landed the gig. Not likeable as a personality, irritating voice, dubious journalistic skills, patchy sporting knowledge. But in his absence the show has become a blandfest. I hope Newstalk have someone lined up to replace him who's going to be a dissenting voice and a proper journalist.

I also agree that the outrage over Martin O'Neill's faux pas has been done to death. How many more times are they going to bring out that particular dead dead horse and give it another few lashes? I wonder what the background to the whole thing is? Were the Newstalk team's noses out of joint that he didn't say it on their watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I never rated Woolly as a presenter - It was a case of being the right man in the right place at the right time when he landed the gig. Not likeable as a personality, irritating voice, dubious journalistic skills, patchy sporting knowledge. But in his absence the show has become a blandfest. I hope Newstalk have someone lined up to replace him who's going to be a dissenting voice and a proper journalist.

I also agree that the outrage over Martin O'Neill's faux pas has been done to death. How many more times are they going to bring out that particular dead dead horse and give it another few lashes? I wonder what the background to the whole thing is? Were the Newstalk team's noses out of joint that he didn't say it on their watch?

there'll be some post euro analysis in august, and martin will be in for an interview, and they'll try to be like heroes and demand some sort of statement from him. like the apology he's already given, but not to these brave journalists.

ah christ, i haven't listened to second captains since 2013 when i gave up on them doing any league of ireland stuff.
    all it took was one grumpy bollox to make the drive home from work so much more enjoyable. i'd even sit in the car in the driveway laughing at the crappy quiz but it's all shyte now. pure vanilla shyte.
    cian murtagh better start watching curb your enthusiasm soon and become that grumpy bollox that they need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭AdolfEngland

There's only one thing worse than a woman talking about football. That's a female "poet" reading one of her "poems" about football.

wtf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭AdolfEngland

Really don't need to hear NT Business editor talking about football.. Not Fiona Looney levels of bad but come on..

Not Fiona Looney levels of bad but come on..

Every time i get wound up about bad coverage in the Euros, I just need to say this to myself.

I've kinda warmed to this Off The Ball team by now, but I never, ever thought I'd be wishing Colm Parkinson hadn't left.

The coverage of Ireland at the Euros is sooooo boring. Not helped, I admit, by the fact that "the team with the better players won" doesn't exactly fill hours of airtime.

All I'm saying is a bit of personality wouldn't go astray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Did anyone hear Nathan Murphy's chat with Giles on Thursday? Oh sweet Jesus its so bad its worth listening to. JG's answer to about 5 questions was 'you need to try your hardest to win the ball back and when you have the ball you need to use it as best you can, That's football Nathan'.

Poor Nathan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Did anyone hear Nathan Murphy's chat with Giles on Thursday? Oh sweet Jesus its so bad its worth listening to. JG's answer to about 5 questions was 'you need to try your hardest to win the ball back and when you have the ball you need to use it as best you can, That's football Nathan'.

Poor Nathan.

That's every week he says that. As Giles buddy Dunphy would say: he is a busted flush!
    Total admiration for Johnny but when your time is up, your time is up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Dots1982 wrote: »

Poor Nathan.

That's every week he says that. As Giles buddy Dunphy would say: he is a busted flush!
    Total admiration for Johnny but when your time is up, your time is up!
    Nah, I know he says it a lot but this interview in particular bordered on ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Yet again I wonder why on earth they persist with Donnie ah um ah um. ..pause...ah um..Mahoney on the show. I'm sure the man knows his stuff but he should not be let near a microphone.

I can pretty much say for sure that if he wasnt Ger's balls.ie pal he wouldnt be anywhere near the radio. I think the worst thing about him is that he does nothing to try to improve himself. It's very obvious that he is not good at speaking off the cuff about the stories that he is (trying to) tell the audience. Could he not just script it and learn off the sections that he is going to speak about? Fair enough if he was nervous on his first night, but how can he be so consistently bad every week?

I was just thinking... Could you imagine down at Subway, trying to order a roll, cut in half, with butter but no mayo, with ham (not glazed), cheese (grated, not swiss) and a dollop of coleslaw. :pac: I'd say the store would be closed by the time he got through it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 AloisaAdolf

Ger Gilroy is doing my head in.. BIG TIME.

Joe and Richie McCormack so much more likeable as leads for the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

There's not much difference between any of them. Much of a muchness. Vanilla-flavoured vanilla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Feck sake John, you can "only say it as I see it." So when Ireland get knocked out, you can say "I told you so." And, unless Ireland win Euro 2016 you'll be proved right :rolleyes:

"France wouldnt have won the first game unless they got a worldy in the last minute"

"COY BIG COY BIG COY BIG".

It's like he trying to make himself more annoying.

Strange approach that they took with the show tonight. People have been listening to the coverage of the match ALL DAY, I mean even the painful Mary Wilson was covering it. And Off The Ball start the show as if the match has just ended. At this stage of the day I'm a bit fatigued of the coverage and was hoping they would offer something different. There's only so many times in one day you can hear player being asked "How did that feel" and the player inevitably responding "Unbelievable".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 AloisaAdolf

There's not much difference between any of them. Much of a muchness. Vanilla-flavoured vanilla.

While none of them would be my personal choice, Ger Gilroy is really f*cking irritating. The others are normally just.. there and doing their job.

I listened to the football show from last night and all was grand until Richie introduced Gilroy into the conversation. He barely let anybody else speak (much more interesting people) for the remainder of the show. He doesn't belong on a sports show. Tries too hard and comes across very disingenuous.

Doesnt belong on a sports show imo.