If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I see you hit your 'day-dreaming' 5k pace in reps 3 & 9, either that you fell and rolled down a hill!! Nice going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

tang1 wrote: »
    I see you hit your 'day-dreaming' 5k pace in reps 3 & 9, either that you fell and rolled down a hill!! Nice going.

The pool emptier is back!

Twas nice and quiet and professional here for the last two weeks, I'd nearly pay for you to feck off on another 2 week holiday :)

TbL

The pool emptier is back!

Twas nice and quiet and professional here for the last two weeks, I'd nearly pay for you to feck off on another 2 week holiday :)

TbL

How come you were texting me every other night so whinging that you wanted me back to meet you for a run!!

You must be reading your missus' texts, I was texting her telling her to come back to meet me for some fun :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Yesterday: plan called for a 6/4 mile easy double.

Got commandeered to do some gardening as it was a beautiful morning and only got out towards the end of the afternoon for 7 easy miles @ 8.09. Picked a hape of strawberries from the garden and sat on my hole eating them with fresh cream all evening rather than go out for the second run. Dedication, not much!!!

Today: plan called for 12 miles with 1 minute at 5k pace every 10 minutes.

Never ran a session like this before so didn't know what to expect. Although I was tiring badly towards the end I enjoyed it as the faster stuff broke up the run and it seemed to be finished in no time. Started very slow, first mile was around 9 minute pace but I picked it up a fair bit after that.

Reasonable week done, I'm between London and Paris next week and I'm hoping I can get the runs done.

12 miles @ 7.27

1 min paces:

TbL

Long shot but by any chance were you wearing black shorts & a high viz yellowish t-shirt ?

kit3 wrote: »
    Long shot but by any chance were you wearing black shorts & a high viz yellowish t-shirt ?

That's mad Kit.

Yes, I was the very attractive older gentleman sporting a very fetching Bogger tan! I ran from the house to Rossaveal and back.

I was gonna rant earlier about how busy the road was, can ye city slickers not teach your young wans/lads to smoke, drink and engage in social interaction with the opposite sex while pretending to learn Irish in ye're own towns! Ye're ruining my running route with ye're D reg people carriers :)

Which Irish college are your kids in?

TbL

Haha, thought that might be you but didn't risk shouting something about a bitterlemon out the window (my husband & kids would have thought I was mad anyway).

Saw you twice - once you were heading in the Galway direction & we were waiting to turn towards An Ceathrú Rua from the Maam Cross direction. Dropped the young fella off & saw you on the way back when we were heading home. Less of the 'older gentleman' if you please (reckon we are roughly the same age & I'm not ready to concede the 'older' tag yet :p )

Traffic was fairly heavy alright & we were reckoning it must be a right pain for ye alright.

The eldest is in Coláiste Cholumba for 3 weeks (one week down). He's having a great time. Defo more an expensive holiday than anything else - his Irish is fine in any case after 10 years of a Gaelscoil education. His picking up techniques seem to be in order too - he's picked up & gently dropped a young Meath lady already ;)

You were looking good :cool:

Monday: plan called for 4/5 mile easy double. Had to drive to Dublin to catch a flight to London so got over to Seanadh Pheistin a bit earlier than usual and got 6 miles easy done @ 8.27. Started off very slow but picked it up a bit after a few miles. Flight was over a hour late leaving for Heathrow and the driver that was to pick me up was another 30 mins late and having to drive to my hotel near Gatwick I'd written off the evening run. Got to the hotel at 10.15 and asked reception to call the gym to see if they'd let me in to do 30 mins on the treadmill. Was told no that last entry was 10, went over myself to ask in person and after a bit of himmin and hawing she let me in. Wasn't the most pleasant run as I was the only person in the gym bar the instructor who went around turning off all the other machines and then stood across from me giving me the evil eye for the guts of 20 minutes. Got 3 miles done in 26 minutes.

Total for the day 9 miles.

Today: plan called for a session but I knew I'd have a long day and pushed this back till tomorrow. Changed hotels, staying near Stockley Park near Heathrow airport and it was 8pm by the time I got to the hotel. Was tempted to just call it a day but got the gear on and headed off with no route planned, followed a sign for a golf course and ended up running around the same couple of holes of the course. Was grand for a while but then I got bored and wandered off and got lost in a bit of a residential area. Worked out well as by the time I found my way back I'd racked up 9 miles @ 8.59.

Bit pissed off now though as it looks like if I'm going to do the session it'll have to be on the treadmill. Ffs!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Its the little things

- Was told no that last entry was 10, went over myself to ask in person

- Was tempted to just call it a day but got the gear on and headed off with no route planned

Well done C!

Duanington wrote: »
    Its the little things

- Was told no that last entry was 10, went over myself to ask in person

- Was tempted to just call it a day but got the gear on and headed off with no route planned

Well done C!

^^^ That post is solely responsible for me getting out for my lunchtime run. Though I had run out of time & was going to laze at the desk. Read that & had one of my best runs in a while. Thanks :D

Today: the plan called for 4/6 miles easy but as I'd postponed yesterday's session, I'd to do it today. Last few days have been a bit manic travel wise and I haven't been in the same place for more than a couple of hours. Had to head to Paris today.

Busy day and I was only going to run easy again today but then I saw Double D's post above and thought ffs, I'll have to try the feckin session now :)

When it comes to HTFU, DD is the man!

I'd to do this on a treadmill and mentally I'm immediately in a bad place as I detest treadmill running.

Anyway the session was 2 miles easy wu/cd with 15 minutes @ 7 min pace off 3 mins rec, with 5 x 2 mins @ 6.10 pace off 2 mins rec followed by another 15 mins @ 7 min pace.

Had to shorten the wu/cd as I was a bit tight for time, was sweating like a fat man in a steam room from the off. Was so bad the singlet I was wearing was drenched and stretching down my thighs, almost like a man mini skirt (settle down Tang!). I set a small incline on the treadmill and set the paces a little faster to compensate for been inside.

15 min reps done @ 4.18 km pace

2 min reps done @ 3.47 km pace

Rant of the day: lads with little ponytails sprouting, like some class of vegetable, out of the tops of their heads!!!

15k for the day.

TbL

almost like a man mini skirt (settle down Tang!).

TbL

You have your high heels on aswell!!??

The session was impressive enough without doing it in high heels ! Any pictures ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

I was stuck in traffic on Griffith Avenue last night and a man hopped out with a bag of skittles and gave to man in a van behind. I thought maybe you were on your way to the airport but I see we were safe, I think, hope as you could well be back in Dublin with all this traveling.

Thursday: plan called for a 4/6 mile easy double.

Was up very late on Wednesday and an early morning start on Thursday morning put paid to any chance of an early run. Landed in Dublin around 11pm and was too tired to drive home so I got a room in one of the hotels beside the airport. Convinced myself that a midnight Nursing Home Special would be a good idea, but it probably wasn't. Got 4 chilly miles done @ 9.12.

Friday: early morning drive down to work in Galway and instructions to take Mrs TbL out on the town left a very tight window to get any run done. Managed to get 7 miles done @ 8.52, not really feeling the love for it at the moment!

Saturday: originally the plan had me down for the Dunshaughlin 10k, but I was unable to secure the appropriate planning permission so I was down to just do 30 mins easy with strides. Ended up with an unscheduled rest day!

Today: had managed to secure short term planning approval for the more local Annaghdown 10k. Weather in Galway was terrible today, very wet and windy and around 3pm when I was due to set off I was considering abandoning it altogether but in the end I decided to give it a bash. After a bit of a detour I managed to find the registration hall, picked up my number and headed off for a short one mile warm up. Felt ****e running into the wind and I knew the second half of the course would be into the wind, so I didn't set any time target but just to run it hard. Nearly got caught out as the start was about 200-300 metres up the road and I just made it before the off.

Didn't seem to be many running it but I saw Matt Bidwell, a sub 2.30 marathoner, at the start I reckoned my chances of winning it were now only 50/50 :)

Was passed by a fair few lads belting along from the off and I decided to rein in the pace as I knew it wasn't a PB course and the second half was harder. Felt terrible for the first few miles although I started passing people and after mile 1 I wasn't passed again. Wind really started to bring the pace down although perversely I started to feel strong during mile 4 (the slowest mile of the race) and made up the ground on 4 runners ahead of me. Passed two of them and caught the other two just after 8k, tried a "surge" to break away from them but they reeled me back in. At this stage I really didn't care about the time but wanted to see if I could win this mini battle.

The second half of the course has a fair few inclines to contend with and at the next hill I tried to up it again, a quick glance seemed to suggest I'd dropped one of them but the other lad was only a bit behind. I took a brief breather and he came up on my shoulder, but I responded with another decent burst and put a few metres between us. I came to a slow jog at an unmanned turnoff as I didn't know which way to go but I then saw a luminous jacket up the road and I took off again but the pace drop off meant that I'd only a few metres on my pursuer. Tried to burn him off but I looked around twice and he was gaining, put in another little burst and managed to hold him off. Crossed the line and had a wet retch, had to make a bee line for the nearest wall!!

Not happy at all with the time 40.55 but then again I rarely am. Finished 5th and was happy to win the mini race over the last 2k. 6 miles at 6.33 pace is poor but I'll take it as a tempo session and move on.

5.46 (for the .2)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

As always I'm impressed with racing stratagy and being able to reajust
    your race and refocusing goal, great insight for people like me with little
    experience bar run from A to B as fast as you can, even in the good days
    more luck than Judgement, so thanks for taking the time to post your
    report even when not gone as well as you would have liked :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

well done on 5th, that's great racing.

I do read Matt Bidwells log from time to time - good to get an insight into his training. http://beermatt.blogspot.ie/

By chance, you weren't wearing black socks were you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Well done C - I don't agree that 6 miles @ 6.33 is poor though.

Are you training better and more consistently now than when you PBd over 10k?

What did the 3-4 month run up to your 10k PB race look like?

It looks like you got a very solid effort in yesterday which will bring you on.....if you take the benefits from the race and stick at the plan of course :pac:

Keep up the good work !

Today: plan called for a 4/6 mile easy double. Took a late lunch break to get the first run in and headed over to the pitches in Dangan. I'd expected the legs to be giving out but they felt fine, should I be pissed off in that maybe I didn't run hard enough yesterday or happy that I seemed to have recovered well. Stop overthinking it you twat and just run!!

Did laps of the pitches while reflecting on yesterday's run and a text conservation with the HTFU guru, Double D. Still think one of my biggest weaknesses is the mental aspect of racing and training my brain to overrule the body when the hurt starts to shock the system. Not sure of this, but in longer distance races I seem to get periodic bursts of adrenaline that help with pain management but I never seem to get the same effect in the short races.

Anyway 6 miles done @ 8.33

Got out for the second run later in the evening, tried pretending I was running for my life to see if I could replicate an adrenaline release but no joy :)

Maybe I should ask Tang to run after me in the buff with a tube of lube, that should do it :)

4 nursing home special miles @ 9.19

10 miles for the day.

TbL

See your struggling with the differences between fantasies and reality again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭ger664

C

I think you should join a running club. I know your work/travel lifestyle would mean you get very little benefit but it is way easier to get past mental block of pushing hard if you do a few faster sessions in a group rather then solo. Even if you only got in one or two a month it would be well worth the membership fee.

Ger

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

ger664 wrote: »
    C

I think you should join a running club. I know your work/travel lifestyle would mean you get very little benefit but it is way easier to get past mental block of pushing hard if you do a few faster sessions in a group rather then solo. Even if you only got in one or two a month it would be well worth the membership fee.

Ger

Very true
    GCH have organised Tues track/trail sessions , membership+track fee is v reasonable. Summer slot is 6.30 , warm up/drills/then session either on track or trails. all done in an hour. plenty around 40 ten k and either side of. Plenty of group runs organised , incl a Sun am 9 am 11-12 miler.

ger664 wrote: »
    C

Ger
    youngrun wrote: »
    Very true
    GCH have organised Tues track/trail sessions , membership+track fee is v reasonable. Summer slot is 6.30 , warm up/drills/then session either on track or trails. all done in an hour. plenty around 40 ten k and either side of. Plenty of group runs organised , incl a Sun am 9 am 11-12 miler.

Thanks lads but I don't think this would work for me. I doubt I'd get one a month in given current travelling and other commitments. I need something more flexible and I think I'll see if I can go back to doing what I did on previous cycles.

I used to run with some faster Boardsie lads, like AMK, FBOT, DD, DrQ, Ecoli, Dublin Runner and Yaboya for my sessions which for them might be a steady run. I really found this great as they dragged my ass along at a faster clip than I'd do solo. I'll never forget one 15 miler with Ecoli & Dublin Runner that seriously hardened me up.!!! Think it's time to dust off my little black Boardsie book and put on my lipstick. :)

TbL

Today: plan called for 2m wu/cd with 5 x 5 mins @ 6.45 pace off 3 min recovery.

Woke up this morning and a recent cold I'd been holding at bay seemed to have spread to my chest. Not in great humour for this at all. Headed to Dangan for it, took a slightly longer warm up but had time for only a very short cool down. The recent rain have made the trails a bit sloppy but still grand to run through. Did the reps around the double pitch, apart from the chest irritation, I managed it reasonably well.

Rep splits:

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Today: plan called for 2m wu/cd with 5 x 5 mins @ 6.45 pace off 3 min recovery.

Woke up this morning and a recent cold I'd been holding at bay seemed to have spread to my chest. Not in great humour for this at all. Headed to Dangan for it, took a slightly longer warm up but had time for only a very short cool down. The recent rain have made the trails a bit sloppy but still grand to run through. Did the reps around the double pitch, apart from the chest irritation, I managed it reasonably well.

Rep splits:

TbL

Decent session, C but just thought I'd do D's job for him as you seem to have beaten him into acceptance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Thanks lads but I don't think this would work for me. I doubt I'd get one a month in given current travelling and other commitments. I need something more flexible and I think I'll see if I can go back to doing what I did on previous cycles.

I used to run with some faster Boardsie lads, like AMK, FBOT, DD, DrQ, Ecoli, Dublin Runner and Yaboya for my sessions which for them might be a steady run. I really found this great as they dragged my ass along at a faster clip than I'd do solo. I'll never forget one 15 miler with Ecoli & Dublin Runner that seriously hardened me up.!!! Think it's time to dust off my little black Boardsie book and put on my lipstick. :)

TbL

FYI I have cleared the diary, charged the phone and am waiting patiently for you call. Don't forget I like the strawberry red, its Tang that has the fetish for pink :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

FBOT01 wrote: »
    FYI I have cleared the diary, charged the phone and am waiting patiently for you call. Don't forget I like the strawberry red, its Tang that has the fetish for pink :)

Sorry guys, I pretty sure I have him booked for Saturday....

Ye can play dress up by yerselves :D

Yesterday: plan called for 4/6 mile easy double.

Got 7 miles easy done over Seanadh Pheistin early morning @ 8.34.

Got another 4 miles done late in the evening, no watch but it was slow, beat two 10 year olds 10-9 in a garden soccer match, was wrecked after it!!

11 miles for the day.

Today: another 4/6 mile easy double called for. Seriously demotivated/tired today and really didn't enjoy it. Got 6 miles done at just at over 9 minute pace. Gonna bale on the evening run as energy levels are low.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Sorry I missed our meet up in Athenry today.... It's not you, it's me, I'm partially broken .....

Was looking around for you everywhere, you not easy to miss!!! I even wore the garter you asked for :)

You injured?

TbL