Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All-Irelands 2003 - hurling and gaelic

• 09-04-2003 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭

After watching most of the league, who so ye fancy this year.

I think Armagh will be hard beat and will win Ulster

Galway for Connaught

Cork for Munster

laois - dublin final in Leinster ??? is it even possible ? i'll go for Dublin again

qualifiers : kerry , roscommon (dark horse), westmeath, donegal, limerick (dark horse), meath to do well

to win it : armagh or galway or kerry

i'll go for galway

hurling : tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

hrmmm, All sounds a little text book to me.

I think For the msot part your right but ulster is still up in the AIR.

its hard to call lads

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Very hard to call, ask said, most of it is right, Sligo have been knocking around and have yet to do something decent,
    Tyrone could do something this year, Armagh - cannot see them retaining it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Laois for Leinster.

afaik they're odds are down to 5-1 to win Leinster. arse...shoulda put my money on when they were 10-1. :(

iirc*...they beat Wexford...Offaly...Kildare...Dublin then in the Leinster final.

*may not be correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I am tempted to offer you 10-1 on Laois. I can't see them winnign Leinster. The dubs will win their second in a row. I think Sligo could win in Connaught but Galway will do better in the All Ireland series. Kerry to win Munster and armagh to be victors in Ulster. I think the Championship winners will be one of Dublin, Armagh or Kerry. Hopefully Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

I just can't see Dublin winning it this year, cause I think they suepassed their abilites last year. They'll be doin well to get leinster again this year.

Just curious. Does anyone honestly see it going outside the textbook contenders.

Galway - looking class - have a huge panel of class players. The old and some savage younger players coming threw. Will be hungry after last year.

Armagh - more confidence than last year. Dont think anyone retired after winning it .

Kerry- Paidi has said this is the most important year for them. has hinted that'll it'll be his last throw of the dice and is going to do everything his own way for this year. Even bring back taigh connelli(spelling!!) from aussie rules!

Cork - colm corkery - could win it on his own. cork played nice football last year but fell apart against kerry. if they had kept it together ....... who knows.

outside these ..............anycontenders or did I miss any

tyrone - as usual will fall apart
    mayo- wont be able to score points in croker
    meath - are they dead and gone ???? means they could probably win it

sligo - as westmeath before them . most break-thru teams have one good year then a crap one. Sligo are due a crap one

Donegal - more experienced team than sligo....my long shot

Roscommon - when play well , play very well , but inconsistent

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Cavan for Ulster! In Football ... and hurling! :p

its too early to write off tyrone, Donegal and laois
    But ...I cant see them winning

but I think the winner will be Kerry or Dublin or Armagh

but then that what makes thie sport intersting...no one can really predidct hows it going to go.

Football final i predict Armagh and Galway with Armagh to win a cracker.

The winners of the respective provinces (Football)

Kerry

Armagh

Sligo ( i think thay can win connaught but Galway will make final through back door)

Dublin

I predict Hurling will see Tipp and Kilkenny in the final for the 1st time since 91. They will both win their respective provinces, Cats with ease but Tipp will have a battle on their hands per usual.
    Antrim to win Ulster and Limerick and Galway to come through Back door but you just never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

hi all!

im from cork and kilkenny beat us yesterday. im sad now... :(

please no kilkenny people rubbin it in, lol........ coz wat goes around comes around i believe! lol

bye xXx

cork you say...you should be sad all the time...then agian ignorance is bliss

Cork will do ok this year i think:ninja:

sad all the time??--i dont think so!

where are you from so mr Alan?? lol

your very nasty and yes cork will do great this yr- please dont come back and haunt me with what i said in a few months time.

but everyone thinks that we will do ok so.......

For the first time in a long time I do not think Cork are going to win either Munster title this year. I think Kerry will win the football and the hurling is between Clare and Tipp, with Clare to shade it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Does anyone wanna name their dark horses this year.
    ie team that does surprisingly well!

Lois - obvious choice but I had them ages ago!!

Tyrone - every year I say that they've been knocking around and deserve to win it . Maby this year.

Roscommon- Tommy Carr doing a good job. Played reasonably well in the league even though got regulated

Tipperary or Limerick ????- football

Hurling - Galway or limerick for the semis ?? or win it.
    I'd love to see galway win it

Donegal were not bad in the championship last year. Despite their poor league performance I can see them doing well, especially if Adrian Sweeney and Brendan Devaney can stay fit. In the hurling, I would not be surprised to see Offaly do well.

i think cork can win it! kerry they could to who knows-,
    we'll wait and see shall we?

are u from kerry? i pity u if u r! lol j/k!!!--its just i no a guy from kerry and it was only today that we were mockin him about kerry and the add with Kerrymaid (the butter!!) and sheep and mountains!
    it was one of those things where u had to be there! ok- lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭aodh_rua

I'd love to say Kildare will do it - but can't see it happening.

Donegal have a nice squad - but Kerry'll be hard to beat in their centenary year.

Originally posted by Mighty_Mouse
    Does anyone wanna name their dark horses this year.
    ie team that does surprisingly well!

Lois - obvious choice but I had them ages ago!!

Tyrone - every year I say that they've been knocking around and deserve to win it . Maby this year.

Roscommon- Tommy Carr doing a good job. Played reasonably well in the league even though got regulated

Tipperary or Limerick ????- football
    What about Cavan?

what about them??? lol

Originally posted by Fast_Mover

what about them??? lol
    Decent enough league campaign, some new faces with lots of talent, a new much stronger defence, mix that with a fit again Dermot McCabe and an in form Jason Reilly and you get a team that can go far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭ironbrew

Yeah, i def think Tyrone will be up there ^ and umm well its obvoious Dublin are gonna be down

( sorry brew, slight edit to keep this thread flowing)

here, are here abouts!
    I don't wanna see Fatty for cork come out of his provienece this season, please god know?

OoOoOoOhhhhhh has anyone got any good colin Corkery(sp) jokes?

Originally posted by ironbrew
    OoOoOoOhhhhhh has anyone got any good colin Corkery(sp) jokes?
    Not unless it involves insulting Whales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭kingconor

I'm fed up of hearing about how great armagh are, they're good, yes, i'll give you that, however, they are NOT the finished article, Tyrone nearly beat them in Ulster and Dublin nearly beat them in the All Ireland Semi, furthermore, before the league game against laios, they spent the whole week crowing about how they were going to win the league!!
    So, please, when broadcasting your opinions, take these points into consideration!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Ulster - Cavan
    Leinster - Louth
    Munster - Kerry
    Connaght - Sligo

Qualifiers: Galway, Armagh, Mayo, Tyrone

Semi Finals:
    Sligo V Kerry
    Armagh V Galway

Final:
    Sligo V Galway

Winners:
    SLIGO

Cavan have the best attacking record in either of the first division leagues with 12 Goals and 87 points scored.

Now all we gotta do is sort out our DEFENCE!

one more sticky.

I like stickys.

Now, this is now the 2003 All Ireland thread. New threads will be merged with this one so keep that in mind. :)

Here's to a great Championship. :D:D

HEEEERRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEE COMESSSS

LAAAOOOOIIISSSSS

Gwan Laois!

A total demolition of Wexford.

Next up, the Biffo's in Portlaoise :D:p

and Pld to Monaghan.

Armagh are very shaky these days.

finally to Limerick.

One might think it's the result of the day but Limerick have been making strides.

Stunning result all the same.

Looks like 2003 could be the year of the minnows. 'cept for cavan

ah the big boys havent thrown their hats into the ring yet
    and by big boys I mean Dublin and by throwing their hat i mean
    winning leinster.

On sunday the 18th are Tipp and Clare playin in Paric Ui Chomih in Cork? Is it the 1st round of munster senior hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

One might think it's the result of the day
    but Limerick have been making strides.

Limerick will definitely giv kerry a good game of it, that is if they don't get too cocky between now and de clare match and then fuc|< it up.

It is great to see de footbal comin on in de county. winnin by 10 points on a rainy day in cork in de first round of the munster championship certainly more thatn makes up for bein thrashed on a sh1tty day in armagh last year in de league, c'mon de treaty county.

and to fast_mover, go to here they'll giv ya yer championship dates.

Have i mentined how much i love monaghan?
    Anyway, huge game this sunday in ulster, winner should/will take the title, as usual, it'll be a poor spectacle and produce very little free flowing football, due to the ferocious hatred between the two counties!!! i predict a hard fought 2 point win for the red hand men!
    What do all you jacks think of hill 16 being closed for your next game? Will it make a big difference?
    BTW - If anyone saw breaking ball, that was my club that was on!! The opening shot of that report was taken like 100yds from my house!
    Just so you know...

Originally posted by kingconor
    What do all you jacks think of hill 16 being closed for your next game? Will it make a big difference?
    BTW - If anyone saw breaking ball, that was my club that was on!! The opening shot of that report was taken like 100yds from my house!
    Just so you know...

Dont ya know the dubs will be complaining that it was the lack of support from the stands [cos no hill open] that cost them game?

so that was your gaff eh conor?

swear that wasn't me in the bushes

I guess we will have to get used to no Hill 16 eventually
    but its still a dissapointment.

What isnt a dissapointment is seeing clare beating tipperary

Nice.

Originally posted by Kaimera

so that was your gaff eh conor?
    Yeah, beautiful, aint it?
    So, Tyrone v Derry II. Three point win for the red hand men!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭ironbrew

I shall not gloat, However i will be boastful!

Arnt Tyrone a wonderful team, was there really that big of a difference between the two teams?

Tyrone-0.17
    Big "fat bastard" mcGonicgole(sp?)- 1-3

The Dubs were unlucky yesterday
    I think they will hammer Laois at the replay and sure the extra game will do them good.

Its not going to be easy to beat Kilkenny in the semi but we will do it. ( remember the last time I said that ?? Walsh cup was it ?)

C'mon the Dubs

So the Kats edged past the Dubs, I must say its dublins best all Ireland is quire some time. And Im very proud to be a Dub.
    I think that the Kats will will the All Ireland again.

And on that point what a hurling championship it has been.
    i know the football has struggled to give us lots of flowing high octane entertainment but the hurlers have not dissapointed have they ?

A big thanks is owed to Dublin, Laois, Tipp, Cork, Clare, Limerick, and waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Kavs

Galway for the Double!!!

Gaillimh ABU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 johnpaul

Originally posted by ironbrew

OoOoOoOhhhhhh has anyone got any good colin Corkery(sp) jokes? [/B]

Colin Corkery has made a lazarus like recovery. Lazarus was a good man but he couldn't kick points like Colin Corkery.

"MeeHOLE" :D

oldie but a goodie.