Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What can be got cheap in the US?

• 08-04-2003 9:07pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭

i am currently planning a trip to the US of A and was wondering what type of things are much cheaper there than here because im sure i will be taking a lot back with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

A lot of consumer goods are cheaper likes clothes, CDs, electronics. Just make sure they are compatible here. Don't bring too much home in one go or Customs will get you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

BEER!
    Was in a bar in Chicago - you pay 10 dollars in at the door, but you can get pitchers of beer for a dollar a piece in the bar. Each pitcher was about 3 and a half pints. If you drank four of those, you were THE man! So basically, you could get hammered on about 14 dollars. The beer in off licences is really cheap too. Try a beer called Busch, its class, tastes like Miller but is waaaay cheaper. Oh yeah, meat is really cheap in the states too, but for some reason corn flakes are really expensive. ACtually, the more I think about it, healthy food is expensive over there, but the unhealthy things are cheap.
    Oh yeah, guns are cheap too!
    As are CD's.
    Taxi's too.

Basically, a good night out in an american city won't cost a fraction of what it costs in the land of the rip-off, Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

I go over most years in September and I get lots of clothes and runners and stuff top branded stuff really cheap especially end of season. And beer is really cheap as well find a bar which does happy hours/evenings last time I was there I got a dollar a pint of bud, four of us went out and go pissed on about 50 dollars including some food and a taxi home. Try find that in Dublin.

Red

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

DVD's.

I got a dozen or so at christmas and brought them home.
    new releases under $20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Clothes Clothes and more clothes. I spent most of my Jan holiday in the outlet malls. I even bought Ralph Lauren beach towels for $30 each. Cheaper than dunnes :D Spent a fortune on clthes but so much cheaper than here. Examples:

Ralph Lauren shirts - US $30 - Ir €90
    Ralph Lauren sweatshirts - US €45 - Ir €130
    Levis Jeans - US €30 - IR €60
    Nautica/Tommy/Ralph Lauren clacks - US $30 - IR €120

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Mercury

Originally posted by Kaimera
    DVD's.

I got a dozen or so at christmas and brought them home.
    new releases under $20

You might want to bear in mind that they are region-encoded before you start shipping them home to your friends and family. At the very least you'll need to either be able to region-hack or mod-chip your DVD player, or be able to find a firmware upgrace for your DVD-ROM that will allow it to play multi-region DVD's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

I am going 2 in a few weeks :)
    and I wanna know does anybody know is it cheaper to buy things such as aftershave,cigs...etc... in the duty free or wait till you get over there.
    Anybody wanna help....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Originally posted by xx

Basically, a good night out in an american city won't cost a fraction of what it costs in the land of the rip-off, Dublin!

Where was this? America is a big place and while you can get good value in some areas if you go to one of the big cities be prepared to fork out. I'm living in Boston at the moment and let me tell you if you decide to go out on the tear altogether without a bit of a warm up from the offy you're looking at spending 70 - 100 quid. Cheapest decent night out I've had so far was 12 pack of beer for $10 and a naggin of MacCormack's vodka for $2, then $20 quid into a night club and splitting a $15 taxi fare home 3 ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Originally posted by daveg
    Clothes Clothes and more clothes. I spent most of my Jan holiday in the outlet malls. I even bought Ralph Lauren beach towels for $30 each. Cheaper than dunnes :D Spent a fortune on clthes but so much cheaper than here. Examples:

Ralph Lauren shirts - US $30 - Ir €90
    Ralph Lauren sweatshirts - US €45 - Ir €130
    Levis Jeans - US €30 - IR €60
    Nautica/Tommy/Ralph Lauren clacks - US $30 - IR €120

but surely the joke's on you as you end up looking like a preppy GAP advert extra :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Auburn

Originally posted by Thorbar
    Where was this? America is a big place and while you can get good value in some areas if you go to one of the big cities be prepared to fork out. I'm living in Boston at the moment and let me tell you if you decide to go out on the tear altogether without a bit of a warm up from the offy you're looking at spending 70 - 100 quid. Cheapest decent night out I've had so far was 12 pack of beer for $10 and a naggin of MacCormack's vodka for $2, then $20 quid into a night club and splitting a $15 taxi fare home 3 ways.

Yeah I was on a holiday there last summer and I found that too. Cost of living in Boston is really high. They were charging something like $7-$8 for a packet of cigarettes! Although it's wierd, each different shop seemed to have their own prices for them. A local 7-11 (or one of those kinda stores) was selling them for about $4 something.

Sorry, slightly off topic.
    Depends which part of America you're going to, I suppose:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by Mercury
    You might want to bear in mind that they are region-encoded before you start shipping them home to your friends and family. At the very least you'll need to either be able to region-hack or mod-chip your DVD player, or be able to find a firmware upgrace for your DVD-ROM that will allow it to play multi-region DVD's.

ehh...I know and I went out n got a multi region dvd player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

women...... oh wait... sorry im thinking of Tallaghtfornia :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭SoundWave

you could probably get army gear pretty cheap over there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

I was in new york at the of january, the cafe, and the restraunts, are very expensive to eat in.
    But on the other hand the levi's shop had a huge sale on at the time, and you could pick up a pair of 501's for 9 dollars.
    And in alot of the place's you cannot smoke either.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

bullets and missiles judging by the carefree way they are being used in Iraq

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: Was wondering how long it would take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I didn't say were in the US u were going? If yur goin ta FL then yur sorted cuz there so many outlet stores there. I think in other places i'm sure they have loads of other discount places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

CDR
    you can buy a spindle of 100 Imation for a tennor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭pfitz

got a minidisc in the states for €120 costs €300 in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

LAPTOPS!!!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Originally posted by suppafly
    I didn't say were in the US u were going? If yur goin ta FL then yur sorted cuz there so many outlet stores there. I think in other places i'm sure they have loads of other discount places.
    im going to philladelphia but america in general will do cos im not planning on going out that much
    im visiting relatives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Mac daddy
    I was in new york at the of january, the cafe, and the restraunts, are very expensive to eat in.
    Services and products that involve a lot of personal service (restaurant in particular) and in prime locations are expensive. A sandwich in a NY café can cost $10. Part rent, part wages, part image.
    Originally posted by Auburn
    Yeah I was on a holiday there last summer and I found that too. Cost of living in Boston is really high. They were charging something like $7-$8 for a packet of cigarettes! Although it's wierd, each different shop seemed to have their own prices for them. A local 7-11 (or one of those kinda stores) was selling them for about $4 something.
    In the USA, each state sets it's own tobacco duties, but the tobacco companies aren't allowed set recommended prices like here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭124124

MP3 CDPlayer for your car. Its way too cheap there ($120 vs €300)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Got a great Sony mini dv camcorder (a pal one at that) for about €900 over there, compared to €1999 over here.

I may go back at christmas to get a digital slr for about €1300 which comes in at €2600 over here..

very nice bargains :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

*bump*going soon*bump*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

In my experience:

Samsung Video Recorder= $199 €399

Nike Airmax Tailwind (Very Shiny cool)= $59 €159

Psion Handheld Palm Pilot thing= $259 €499

Alcohol= $59 €115

Getting stung by customs for bringing too much back and having to pay tax on it= PRICELESS

There are somethings money cant buy, such as backhanders to the customs lads, so take it handy and dont get too much stuff