Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tatoo

• 30-03-2003 9:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭

I want to get a tatoo done, and just wondering if anyone could recommend somewhere decent, in dublin preferably where I can get this done. Idealy I want somewhere who has a decent artist, as I don't really want it to be ****ed up.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Sacred art on Fownes st Temple bar, and Classic Ink around the corner on Crowe lane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Wouldn't really know myself...

What are you planning on getting done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

Just wondering *******, what do you want to have put on you for eternity? A celt symbol, a flower, a dragon???? Just curious!
    I like tattoo's on other ppl. but an way too chicken to get one myself. My best friend has the prettiest flower on the top of her foot, and an even pretter constilation of stars across the small of her back. Again just I'm curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Top floor of Stephens Green shopping centre (center?? dam american spelling!). Its along by where Asha is. Friends got eyebrow pierced, bellybutton and tatoo's done there. Real good place.

Is it called Celestial RIng? I cant remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Why is búbbles censored?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Bubbles isn't censored... :confused:

You must be naff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭curadh

I got my tatto done in that place upstairs opposite eamon dorans. zulu tattoo. to be honest I amn't happy with it.
    anyway I was wondering if anyone can honestly recommend a tattooist in dublin, or ireland for that matter, cos they all seem to be pretty old fashioned and not that good. good, but not that good, like the deadly tattoos you see in those american mags.
    I've seen some good tats in bruxelles and that but i'm convinced they werent done here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

I got this done in raven tattoo in Cork. I got my friend to design the piece because Brian from keeps anything he designs and will reuse it.

You can pay him more to design it but he hates parting with stuff he designs even if you offer more cash.

finishedtat.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Would love to get a small tatoo of the Fighting irish leprachaun on my ankle bone, but apparently its the worst place for a tatoo in terms of pain.

oh well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Originally posted by yellum
    I got this done in raven tattoo in Cork. I got my friend to design the piece because Brian from keeps anything he designs and will reuse it.

You can pay him more to design it but he hates parting with stuff he designs even if you offer more cash.

finishedtat.jpg

Yellum = psycho from Red Dragon :)

Originally posted by Samba
    Would love to get a small tatoo of the Fighting irish leprachaun

Really? You might as well have "knacker" tattooed on your forehead and have done with it! :P

Celestial ring are meant to be good for tatts as well. Just go into them and Sacred Art and Classic Ink and have a look through their portfolios and see if you like their artists' styles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Originally posted by eth0_
    Really? You might as well have "knacker" tattooed on your forehead and have done with it! :P

I'll vote for that.... and a baileys straight up if you please barkeep.

tat_shot.jpg

I got this done in the Mint when I was 16.

I reckon I'll get another one on the other arm soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭catspring

i really don't understand the deal with tatoos.
    not meaning to be in any way offensive to anyone, but i just think they look kinda cheap, esp when you're older.
    anyhoo, i'll go be quiet again

My body, my choice.

I'll burn that damn bra if I bloody well want... and not you... not no man will stop me.

oh wait... wrong indignant speech.

not meaning to be in any way offensive to anyone, but i just think they look kinda cheap

good so... don't get one if that's the way you feel about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭catspring

Originally posted by Typedef
    don't get one if that's the way you feel about them

well, i wasn't going to, but thanks anyway for the advice typedef

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

This is what I'm getting done... brothers mate drew it up for me... this is the first one he did, but he did me another version, same woman, with black hair and more femine sword kinda resting on her shoulder..

http://www.quake.ie/bubbles/1.jpg
    http://www.quake.ie/bubbles/2.jpg
    http://www.quake.ie/bubbles/3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

ns, that'll look goot as a tat

I think B&W allways looks better as a tat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭hells angels

Would love to get a small tatoo of the Fighting irish leprachaun on my ankle bone, but apparently its the worst place for a tatoo in terms of pain.

ya it is..it and the bottom of your foot...im gettin the fighting irish on my arm when i crape enough money together...

Fighting irish leprachaun on my ankle bone, but apparently its the worst place for a tatoo in terms of pain.

The ribs and side and top of your skull hurts like fuck too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I thought Steve-O's "My God I Rock!" tatoo is the coolest thing I've ever seen. That could be so endlessly amusing. I'd rather make a really funny statement than have some generic heavy metal thing.

The problem with tatoo's is they can date so badly. I was thinking about an Atari logo 5 years ago but that would be just be lame nowadays. Been there, bought the tee-shirt.

Originally posted by Sposs
    Yellum = psycho from Red Dragon :)

He was misunderstood to be honest. Thats phase 2 of the tat. In phase 3 its going higher next and going wider too.

Phase 4 it will go down the triceps. I will still technicalyl have one tattoo then as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

I always thought of getting one around my groin region for pure pulling purposes. So i could get a conversation going with some incredibly fit girl and ask her would she like to see my tattoo, then subsequently hoping to get something out of her once she examines it thoroughly. <===== my wild imagination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

*******, goto the place above Sè Sì. I don't even remember the name of the place, but my bro got some nice work done there.
    It's in the Temple Bar area, across the road from that place where they sell retro decor gizmos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

I always thought of getting one around my groin region for pure pulling purposes. So i could get a conversation going with some incredibly fit girl and ask her would she like to see my tattoo, then subsequently hoping to get something out of her once she examines it thoroughly. <===== my wild imagination

I actually had that happen to me once. And his tattoo said ""SUCK IT" I think he was the first guy I ever wanted to slap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Black and white is defintely better, colours look really bad when they fade a bit. I liked Steve-O's Your name one: "Dude I got 'your name' tattooed on my ass".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

a friend of mine chris (stira64) got two done. twp chinese symbols meaning "friendship joint". what made him get those was that they were the cheapest- up student poverty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Ill assum anywhere where the bone is close to the skin will hurt like hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I knew a girl (the epitomy of a "dumb blonde") that got a tattoo of one or three Chinese symbols that she liked. She didn't know what they meant.

That's all, no funny tale of what they really meant unfortunately.

Amazing picture bubbles, very good eye are you. Fairy?

(heh :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭woolymammoth

Originally posted by exiztone
    *******, goto the place above Sè Sì. I don't even remember the name of the place, but my bro got some nice work done there.
    It's in the Temple Bar area, across the road from that place where they sell retro decor gizmos.
    methinks this is the place...

so is there any kind of standard price for standard sizes of tattoos, or does it differ completely from studio to studio??

Originally posted by woolymammoth
    methinks this is the place...

so is there any kind of standard price for standard sizes of tattoos, or does it differ completely from studio to studio??

That's the place, Bodyshock. Got my tatt done there.
    Most of the decent places (which I mentioned) charge roughly €80 per hour. The ****tier places like the Mint charge per flash (design) IIRC.....and the scratchers in the Mint and the place on Talbot st are ****.

Originally posted by hells angels
    ya it is..it and the bottom of your foot...im gettin the fighting irish on my arm when i crape enough money together...

Please don't think i'm being rude, but can you explain to me exactly what the appeal of having that Notre Dame fighting Irish design tattooed on you is?
    Every person in Ireland i've seen with one looked like a dodgy scumbag....I don't see the significance of having it, it's not exactly the most potent image of patriotism, there's much nicer Irish images you could get IMO.
    One of my best mates is a tattooist, and his (and most artists') pet hates are dolphins, barbed wire/celtic band around the arm, and fighting irish tattoo's :)

hehe. When I was getting my tat done the last time a few lads came in:

"yeah lads what dya want ? "
    "uh yeah , I like was looking to get a tattoo on me arm like "
    "let me guess a celtic cross"
    "yeah boy"
    "riiiiiiiiiiiight, how big ?"
    "about that size"
    "No, make it smaller, you'll start moaning in pain and want me to stop with that size. Get something this size"
    "can i come back some other time and pick out what I'd like"
    "yeah sure"
    to me: "celtic fucking crosses, they always want celtic crosses"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Ya but you still wouldn't be able to read it would you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭woolymammoth

Most of the decent places ... charge roughly €80 per hour.
    so out of curiosity, how long would it take a tattoo artist to complete something the size of what yellum or Typedef has there? would it vary a lot or a little depending on the skill and/or experience of the artist aswell as the complexity of the drawing??
    i realise that probably sounds like a dumb question but i'm looking for an informed opinion.:) thanx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

buddy o mine has a lot of tatoos, and he said the worst place to get one is the inside of your upper arm, (he has a band on each arm)

anywhoo, i was thinking about getting a barcode done just below the inside of my elbow (below the viens:rolleyes: ) but i think ill give that a miss, but im definitly going to get these four cool little symbols i designed i starting from the right side of my neck and finishing on my shoulder.

ill post pics of them when i get my hands on a scanner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Barcodes are generally a bad idea. The lines are so thin and close together that when the tattoo "bleeds" (i.e. the ink spreads out after a few years) they all kind of blur together. In about five years you'd have a blurry rectangle instead of a cool looking barcode.

I was considering getting something coded in binary ASCII to but that's kind of put me off it.

I got two tattoos done in Sacred Art when I was in Dublin and from my experience I can tell you that they at least do good heavy black tatoos.

Originally posted by woolymammoth
    so out of curiosity, how long would it take a tattoo artist to complete something the size of what yellum or Typedef has there? would it vary a lot or a little depending on the skill and/or experience of the artist aswell as the complexity of the drawing??
    i realise that probably sounds like a dumb question but i'm looking for an informed opinion.:) thanx

Something like yellums i'd say took a couple of hours, you can see he hasn't done it all in one sitting because the bit in the middle is a bit faded. Probably took longer because of all the colouring in! :)
    Typedefs, that was the demon, right? I'm sure that was done in one sitting, would take more than an hour anyway i'm guessing, something like that would hurt a bit more because when you're shading you have to change needle sizes several times, and different needle gauges hurt more than others.

Just call into a shop, the artist will give you an estimate and tell you how long it'll take to do, they don't bite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

i should have asked that actually, whats the story with the quality of inks in these places, and does anyone know what to/what not to look out for?

Originally posted by Gordon
    I knew a girl (the epitomy of a "dumb blonde") that got a tattoo of one or three Chinese symbols that she liked. She didn't know what they meant.

That's all, no funny tale of what they really meant unfortunately.

Amazing picture bubbles, very good eye are you. Fairy?

(heh :p)

Emma (that girl you umm... were with at boards beer)? Hmm... a little bird told me they meant 'destiny'.

haha

Originally posted by Carbine
    i should have asked that actually, whats the story with the quality of inks in these places, and does anyone know what to/what not to look out for?

People very, very rarely have allergies to the inks used in tattooing nowadays. The places I recommended use very good quality inks (pretty feckin' dear ink too).
    As for what to look out for, you know yourself, general cleanliness, a tattooist without a shake in the hand (like I saw in the Mint one time!), that they're using brand new needles (you'll see them taking them out of the packet usually), the gun is autoclaved, that they sterilize the area/worktop before and after they tattoo you to help kill blood borne bacteria (and viruses)...

That's about it really!

Ah Typedef no, it wasn't her actually. She had a tat? I wouldn't have noticed it tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

There is a place on middle abbey street called snakebite, i haven't got a tat done there(they do ,do them) but have got piercings and they are top notch. After piercing was shaking from adrelian rush, and he sat me down and gave me the history of body piercing, was really interesting. If their tatoo palour is anything compared to their piercing place it's top notch.

Also if you are a student or know a student there are loads of student discounts for tats/piercings in snakebite, at the back of most student/freshers books like the usit start of year booky thingy.

gogo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

LOL :D:D

It's right up there with 'I love MUM' and an anchor.

gogo

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

People very, very rarely have allergies to the inks used in tattooing nowadays. The places I recommended use very good quality inks (pretty feckin' dear ink too).
    As for what to look out for, you know yourself, general cleanliness, a tattooist without a shake in the hand (like I saw in the Mint one time!), that they're using brand new needles (you'll see them taking them out of the packet usually), the gun is autoclaved, that they sterilize the area/worktop before and after they tattoo you to help kill blood borne bacteria (and viruses)...

That's about it really!

A famous way of cutting the expensive ink costs used to be that the tattoo artist poured the customers unused ink back into the main bottle.Quite unhygenic and disgusting actually.My advice is to watch someone else getting inked and see if this happens.
    Im currently in the process of getting a tribal sleeve which starts at my wrist and continues to the top of my shoulder/back.The outline alone took 6 hours and I got 4 hours of shading done on Thursday with another 4 hours being done this Wednesday and I probably will need at least another 10 hours after that to finish it.Cost wise it would probably be around €1000 but the person tattooing me is a good mate of mine and its working out at around a third of that.
    Richie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

TRY WILD EAGLE TATTOO STUDIO - 59Jervis lane, off mary st.
    i got a big reaper done on my arm for 70euro - looks well and was a good price!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I got a tattoo of a dragon (just black) on my right arm, about 3 inches long or more. I like it, think the quality is very good.

I got it done in Danny Bullman's in Thomas St., Limerick. He is very good has lots of awards and that, and is always putting on this tattoo show and that for people every year.

I think his website is http://www.tattooireland.com

Give it a try, if its wrong I'm sure ye'll let me hear about it

Memphis:cool:

Something like yellums i'd say took a couple of hours, you can see he hasn't done it all in one sitting because the bit in the middle is a bit faded. Probably took longer because of all the colouring in! :)

This is the before:

tatd.jpg

The additions have faded a bit more now, so the tat is blended better.

I got the full outline and half of it coloured in and then got the rest done a few weeks later. Took over 2 hrs to do. I was lucky that the lines were long and flowing so it wasn't too hard to do and so quicker.

yellum do you get back-ache much? If so you need to keep your back straight mate.

I was just leaning forward for the photo dude. Nope I don't get backache much....

Yeah I was just thinking that sorry!