Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ST Patricks Day

• 14-03-2003 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

Here We go , Graham's ritiual pre anti-public holday rant. Once again we have to put up with Drunken Irish falling out of bars after a drinking session. No it is not a Thrsday, Friday or Saturday night. Its a Monday! WOw lets all get drunk. Can anyone tell me what we are celebrating and whats the point of having an international "Irish" day just to again ruin our image as drunken Hacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

To give people the false belief that we live in a country worth celebrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

jeez both of you are so morbid.... wheres ur irish spirit ?

we are celerating the day when Jesus killed all the snakes in ireland... jeez..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by Grimes
    Can anyone tell me what we are celebrating and whats the point of having an international "Irish" day just to again ruin our image as drunken Hacks.

you mean you have another image? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Originally posted by Tusky

we are celerating the day when Jesus killed all the snakes in ireland... jeez..

He he, Stung, Numer one it was St Patrick! and number two he left soon after. And number 3 its not even real!!!

UK = Queens Jubilee
    USA = July 4th ect
    Ireland = Some fictional character day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Ah shut the fúck up ye whinger!
    Get outta the bleedin country if ye hate it so much. Why don't you become English... Queen's Jubille my arsé, that's a piece of crap celebration as well. Go on, bugger off to England and celebrate their monarchy instead.

St Patricks day is one of the only celebrated across the world. Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

I have to agree with Dr. Loon here, quit moaning. If you don't like it then ignore it, or something.
    Originally posted by Dr. Loon

Coz everyone loves the Irish :)

Why cant we have a holiday that means somthing and dosnt involve constant drinking.

By the way I am leaving this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Jilm

Can anyone tell me what we are celebrating and whats the point of having an international "Irish" day just to again ruin our image as drunken Hacks.
    leave it to the onion to explain st paddys day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

Meh, I use St. Paddy's day as an excuse to get drunk.
    Even if it weren't, I'd probably get drunk anyway, but ya know. I have green in my mind when I do.
    I don't like Ireland much at all and I plan to move out of the country as soon as I can. I can relate to some of the posters here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

well its only natural that us irish are such lovable rogues so why worry about making a good impression when its much more fun making a bad one! besides no matter what we will always be labelled for are vast rates of alcohol consumption. in other words enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

This is what I hate about being Irish.

People who drink simply to get drunk.
    It's pathetic.
    God forbid we could celebrate with a bit of dignity, oh no, we have to drink till we can't drink no more, then get in a fight and only avoid arrest because the guards are busy getting drunk too.

Grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    I think that there is what is called a generalization sarky....

Not where I'm from...

Cynical answer? Ireland.

Real Answer? Ballinasloe.

There, I said it, it's only a matter of time before I'm banned...;)

me thinks ive been misunderstood! i ment enjoy the humour of it all not get polatic every chance you get. ok i do drink but not copiously so dont jump down a gals throut for finding something humourous about, being part of the irish national identity.

throat even pardon the tpye o's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Tails

Originally posted by Dr. Loon

Because we Irish are everywhere!!;)
    Its just like Tommy Tiernan said the Irish dont invade a county they infest it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Originally posted by Tails
    Its just like Tommy Tiernan said the Irish dont invade a county they infest it!:D
    Like cockroaches :D

The Irish grow on you...like a tumor :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

Why cant we have a holiday that means somthing and dosnt involve constant drinking.

By the way I am leaving this country.

because constant drinking is fun? jeese youre like 18/19, stop acting like a 70 year old woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Drinking constantly it's really fun if you're just getting completely wasted and end up sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

Originally posted by Sarky
    This is what I hate about being Irish.

People who drink simply to get drunk.

Theyre not Irish, theyre simply alcoholics.

Best reason for St Paddys day:
    Double time plus a Day in Lieu :)

Seriously its the day that you should show how proud you are of your heretage, and how proud you are to be Irish. If you arent proud then protest, its your right as an Irish citizen. Hell get yourself a big banner saying "I'm not proud to be Irish" and walk in the middle of the parade...

It will be fun if nothing else, allowing you to enjoy the days celebrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

"and we're all proud to be irish, not just on march seventeeyant, 'cos when yar on teh emerald isles thar's forrrtaayy shades of grriiieeenn"

but apparently that doesnt count to you moaning sods. If you dont like it, dont celebrate it. Simple as that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Anyone know the time of the fireworks so I can have some fun!

And sure people drink just to get drunk but some people drink to get away, for just a brief time, from the pressures in life so maybe if you were a little less cynical and a little more understanding then you'd have a happier life

Drinking to get away from the pressures of life? Sounds like a problem to me.

I drink because a little alcohol relaxes you and makes it easier for you to enjoy yourself when already having a good time, and because I like the flavour of some alcoholic drinks(none of your Dutch gold rubbish for me!). If you're depressed, drinking will make you more depressed. Fact.

But anyway, back to the topic. Look around you this Paddy's day. Watch the pubs. See how packed they are. Watch the initial mad euphoria as someone plays the national anthem, then observe as the voices drop off after the first or second line. Surely people proid of their Irish heritage would know more than a few lines of the anthem?

Fights will break out, and I'm sure people will get seriously hurt or possibly die as a result of this so-called national pride.

Ireland is not a country to be proud of, and I think I'll leave as soon as I can afford it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Sarky you can't really give out to people about their lack of pride of their Irish Heritage
    Ireland is not a country to be proud of
    Sooner you're gone the better.

Can't say that response surprised me...

What's there to be so proud of, then?

When you get right down to it, I don't find all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

What makes the culture/heritage of a different country any better? they've all been neatly wrapped up and had a big price tag slapped on 'em

Ireland Has a Hypoctricial , Half arsed approach to the world which revolves around alcohol because there is simply nothing better to revolve around. Then once a year the rest of the world join us for the laugh. They have Paddy's Day but where the Yanks go home back to life Paddy's Day debauchery continues in Ireland because we know no better.

There actually is an Irish bar in Hawaii that, on St. Patrick's day, offers a drink they like to call a "Black&Tan". I wish I was joking...
    Even worse, it's a half-pint of Guinness mixed with a half-pint of Harp. Yuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Originally posted by Jilm
    leave it to the onion to explain st paddys day :D

From that website is a quote that sums us up

"You've never seen anything like St. Patrick's for bringing the Irish out in people," said P.J. O'Doyle, owner and proprietor of O'Doyle's Pub in Pittsburgh. "For one magical night, all the wonderful things you hear in all the grand old stories come true: the glorious thirst for drink, the endless singing, the pining for the fields of lost Erin. And, of course, the inevitable rollicking donnybrook that ends with a beer glass getting smashed over some poor lad's head. It's possibly the most appalling display of seasonal ethnic conformity you're ever likely to see, and that's including Christmas Mass."

:D So true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Ireland Has a Hypoctricial , Half arsed approach to the world which revolves around alcohol because there is simply nothing better to revolve around. Then once a year the rest of the world join us for the laugh. They have Paddy's Day but where the Yanks go home back to life Paddy's Day debauchery continues in Ireland because we know no better.

That is quite possibly the most stupid thing i've ever read. You have basically painted the whole irish population with the same brush. Ireland isn't alone in its "debauchery" as you say. Haha and then you mention the yanks and how they get back to life. Oh dear oh dear. I'm still finding it hard to credit that you thought that post through.

You do live in Ireland, right?

Gotta love that attitude. So...Irish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

All in favour of having him banned from boards on st paddys day? :p
    better not ruin my fun..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

Well, Sarky is being a little TOO negative about the country.
    But in my oppinion there are indeed alot of bad aspects to it.
    More so than alot of other countries, but then again, I havn't lived in another country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

I detest st patricks day parades, if i was on room 101 it'd be the first thing to go in........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

You would swear we where the only country in the world where people get drunk for the shake of it. Since when does a celebration need a reason? Also i don't like your i dont drink therefore i can use my self righteous morality to put you down. Lighten the fuc up. Drink if you want to dont if you dont, but please don't sit there and pretend it makes you better then anyone, all it makes you is pretenious and stuck up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Jilm

Originally posted by Boston
    You would swear we where the only country in the world where people get drunk for the shake of it.
    looks like you started celebrating st paddys day early, boston ;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Pimp Ninja
    Theyre not Irish, theyre simply alcoholics.

Is that not the same thing? :confused:

You all need a little more drink, thats whats wrong with you. :D

Its that or grow up and stop giving off about what other people do.

Happy (St Alcoholics and also) Paddys day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Ye's would be complaining if we didn't have a National day. I'm proud to be Irish and I'm having a drink to St Paddy. If you're not - then sit in and have a cup of tea but don't try to spoil it for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Ok a lot of peopled get drunk on Paddy's day, no one is denying that, but it could be a hell of a lot worse.
    At least theres no f^cking NRA in Ireland!

The I Irish get drunk alot, oh no! At least we dont have fecking metal dectotors in schools, or any of that.

Btw American colleges have a huge drink culture, especially the fraternities, so by my guest and go live in the Great America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Jesus Christ Sarky, pray tell use where you are planning to go, because Ireland is no worse or better than most places in the world for "Drunken Debauchery".

I love the little comments you make like "..so irish", when in fact, thats what you are, Irish. You even said that Drinking makes you relax, so you're being hypocritical, not all irish people are sad and depressed and have to go around drinking all the time and beating people up. There are in fact people drinking for the exact reason you are. And heaven forbid they should do so on a National Holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Just thought Id point out that a lot of people could call you sad for drinking in the first, so get off your high horse and let people do what they want, as long as they're not hurting anyone so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Does anyone else have a ****ing terrible hangover?

I'm in work I can barely type without spewing all over my keyboard and I've got the shakes my head is ****ing pounding and my eyes are so red I look like the evil ****ing dead. Except uglier.

Apparently I'm supposed to be ashamed of myself, I think I have commited the mortal sin of drinking to get drunk (or perhaps to have fun), hmmm am I Whats Wrong With Ireland?

Perhaps if I hadn't got hammered last night there would be less poverty, social deprivation and more cute puppies. Skipping merrily perhaps in a field of ****ing flowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

bye bye grimes n sarky.

live your own ****ing life and don't be bitching and moaning about others. IF someone wants to get pissed drunk and go that was the best night eVER...i think. then bloody well let them.

Alo :)

-its my burpday 21sty day before paddy's best day ever- YAY off i goes...

Originally posted by Gideon
    bye bye grimes n sarky.

live your own ****ing life and don't be bitching and moaning about others. IF someone wants to get pissed drunk and go that was the best night eVER...i think. then bloody well let them.

Alo :)

-its my burpday 21sty day before paddy's best day ever- YAY off i goes...
    **** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

one more flame and this topic gets locked...and the person who flames gets banned from the board for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Originally posted by DapperGent
    Does anyone else have a ****ing terrible hangover?

I'm in work I can barely type without spewing all over my keyboard and I've got the shakes my head is ****ing pounding and my eyes are so red I look like the evil ****ing dead. Except uglier.

Apparently I'm supposed to be ashamed of myself, I think I have commited the mortal sin of drinking to get drunk (or perhaps to have fun), hmmm am I Whats Wrong With Ireland?

Perhaps if I hadn't got hammered last night there would be less poverty, social deprivation and more cute puppies. Skipping merrily perhaps in a field of ****ing flowers.

LOL for SHAME!!! :D
    **** off

ah suck my balls ya tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Locked.

Bye bye gideon, dont say I didnt warn you.