Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened next?

• 23-02-2003 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭

I was watching some TV today and I saw that old piece of footage of the chinese student standing in front of the tank at Tianemen Square ... and it occured to me that i must have seen that image a hundred times ... the question though is ..what the hell happened next?
    did he get squished?, did a bunch of army fellas walk up and throw him out of the way/take him away? did everyone kind of wait around for ages and then the student got bored and fecked of home for tea?
    If anyone has a link that shows what happened next post it plz...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Wickhmar

I've seen that image many times over the years aswell. Had the exact same urge to see what happened next. Was it in an add on Network 2 for the Herald newspaper or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

yeah what did happen next imo he got flattened like a pancake!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

The Tank That was in front of him stopped but the hundreds of tanks behind that one, just drove by him,pointless exercise really he was prob on the piss with the lads and did it for a dare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Wickhmar

Originally posted by Sposs
    pointless exercise really he was prob on the piss with the lads and did it for a dare.

He was even holding a bag full of cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

From what I can remember, i saw it live on tv, the chinese student lay down infront of said tank. When it began to drive over him he lifted it up using his legs and spun it round for a bit on the underside of one runner. Think they were Nicks. They didnt have Nike in China at the time. He then got bored and nonchalently flicked the spinning tank in the direction of his student mates, killing hundreds of them in the process...

My memory has faded in recent years so there may possibly be some inaccuracies in my statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

afair someone whipped him out before it got to him but I could be thinking of a Russian incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

God Guys. ye really need to catch up on your chinese history.

As the first enormous tank swerved right to miss the young man, later identified as 19-year-old student Wang Weilin, the boy moved right to block the lead tank. When the machine next turned left, Wang moved left, too. Finally he climbed up onto the tank and reportedly said to the driver, “Why are you here? My city is in chaos because of you.”

Newspapers around the world declared that one lone “Everyman” had defiantly stood up to the People’s Republic of China and its massive arsenal of weapons to become a symbol of Chinese freedom. When newsmen asked Chinese leader Jiang Zemin a year later what had happened to the young man, Jiang replied, with some uncertainty, that Wang had not been killed.

gogo :)