Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name v Avatar

• 09-02-2003 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭

This will probably be the most pointless thread ever (bar the cs forums) but it keeps bugging me....(well not really)

When you're looking at a post, to identify someone do you look at their name or avatar, I look at the avatar so it messes me up when a regular changes his avatar, also when some has the same avatar as someone else e.g smiles and logic.
    Some of the more estabhlished posters should copyright their avatar.

So I ask you dont change you're avatar for all our sakes.....

Name vs Avatar 80 votes

Name
    0% 0 votes
    33% 27 votes
    66% 53 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

You mean logic and smiles are different people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

name

cos good ole minimalist no showz avatar :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

same here kaimera :) name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

both, if i recognise the avatar and i know no one else uses it really, i'll leave it at that, but if its a commonly used avatar i'll check the name.
    i dont have an avatar, so how do avatar people recognise people like me? am i nothing to you,,,,, nothing?!?
    /me cries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

Names, using minimalist so no avatars tbh.
    Same type of skin with avatars would be perfect :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭daveJAM

Custom Avatars tbh!!

(Yes I do realise it'll never happen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Wouldn't mind being the only one able to use mine...

oh, Avatar Jaguar, btw... - I'd look at the Avatar first, - then the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

So every now and then I think people have gone a bit weird but then I check the name to find out it's someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i look at both. usually avatar first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

i go for the name first! a lot of people use the same avatar so looking at the name is easier!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

And then when I go to boards drinkies I expect everybody to look like their avatar. So Dusty looks like Lionel Hutz, DeV like mean looking robot dog in Wallace and Gromit and Applepie to look like Tweety Bird.................:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by Corega

And then when I go to boards drinkies I expect everybody to look like their avatar. So Dusty looks like Lionel Hutz, DeV like mean looking robot dog in Wallace and Gromit and Applepie to look like Tweety Bird.................:confused:

Are you a chocolate donut or or sprinkled corega, i could just eat you up....nyom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Name, thats how i distinguish.. Avatar is probably the very first thing i notice but pretty much immediatly i would look at the name of the poster. I have seen a few Saruman avatars floating around and they are not even named anything Lord of the rings like so avatar only is pretty pointless. Pity we dont have custom avatars!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I look for the avatar automatically but as there are a few doubles around I'd have to check the name.
    I haven't seen anyone with my avatar for a while.. good!!

Some young upstart called bozzie has an avatar thats waaay to similiar to ine for my liking :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Avatar usually, then name. Only have seen one other person using this one.

A post without one isnt worth reading :)

I can ALWAYS recognise Sangre since he's had that camp officer barbrady since the beginning of time.

Originally posted by Jabba

A post without one isnt worth reading :)

I can ALWAYS recognise Sangre since he's had that camp officer barbrady since the beginning of time.

Im not camp just flamboyant

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mine's an Oy-vey-tar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Avatar usually... but I've seen an upsurge in the usage of my avatar lately...

Batsrads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Avatar first. Then confirm with the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

What the fudge? This thread is still going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Avatar always. Then name if it's a common one.

I actually find it quite difficult to remember posters who don't have one so I kinda just forget about them no matter how interesting their post.

You kinda imbue boardsters with personality and the avatar helps, everyone should have one! It helps my little head keep you all seperate.

My avatar was quite unique when I first signed up, now a whole shower of Johnny come latelys are using it. Feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

<

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Avvy, then name!;)

so i AM nothing to you.....
    i need to get me an avatar......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

depends really.

usually avatar, but sometimes i look for sigs, such as Dustaz's shoddy transparents "dudes" one :)

use the one par has ffs dusty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by DRakE
    sometimes i look for sigs, such as Dustaz's shoddy transparents "dudes" one :)

ah his old sig was better tbh...

heh heh :)

Originally posted by Saruman
    What the fudge? This thread is still going?

No! Its an illusion!
    /me does wavy arm thing.

Oh yeah forgot about the sigs..

P.s Who the hell is Seraphina?

Originally posted by Sangre

Never heard of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Sangre
    Say who now?
    I expect Applepie to look like Tweety Bird
    I thought i quite resemble tweety pie ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Avatar, but the way I read threads that require less than full attention (such as this one for instance) is simply to scroll quickly through it, ignoring most posts and skimming those whose sigs/avatars I recognise.

eg In this thread, I read:

The first post

and I skimmed through posts by:

Nakey
    Neo
    Rich
    Mordeth
    Dusty
    Strat

If I was actually reading a thread I would notice the name of the poster, and Its through reading threads that I gradually absorb whose avatar is who. For some people I recognise the avatar, but simply dont bother reading any of their posts, for reasons which can only be guessed at.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

Thats favourtism you sick bastard Adam! Just one big popularity contest with you people isnt it? Power to the the little people! I bet you wouldnt read my post if you saw my avatar you dirty slut! :p

In saying that..I've only read the last post of this thread and I think I'll read the rest of it now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Actually, Ive just realised another element can be added into the decision making process of thread reading. Naturally, a thread becomes more likely to be read one you have posted to it, but I also (to a certain degree) base it on the 'last post by' message on the forum.

Add Kairo to the list above btw :)

A

/me cries....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Avatar first, but with the upsurge in avatar-theft i have to sometimes check the name aswell. Down with that sorta thing, tbh. As a side note, it seems i have successfully done away with the 2 newbies that theifed my avatar.

No one else better get any smart ideas, either.. /me shakes fists :p

Hmmm maybe we should copyright the avatars of poster after they've been picked. If 2 people have the same the most recent should be pointed and laughed at until hes forced to change in shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

I don't know anyone else with my avatar.

AND I do look like mine. :) hehehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Names, my mum taught me to read a long time ago. For some odd reason I like to keep in practise.....

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    Names, my mum taught me to read a long time ago. For some odd reason I like to keep in practise.....

Kind of a pointless thing to say on a forum? Unless theres an audio version I havent heard about

lol fish ye twit. there ya are trying to make a smart comment and failing miserably :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

aye, sorry dappergent :p
    I would change, but i have grown attached to that cow

It is an extremely lovable cow is it not?

Plus Garry Larson is awful funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

i look at the sig...

Originally posted by TruckledUncivil
    aye, sorry dappergent :p
    I would change, but i have grown attached to that cow

It is an extremely lovable cow is it not?
    Plus Garry Larson is awful funny.

Why is truckleduncivil talking to himself??:confused: