Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls raped by taxi driver

• 24-01-2003 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭

Are there any other 20 year old girls out there who would go back to the house of a 35 year old taxi driver who just picked you up?

I think its horrible what he done, but i also think its a very stupid thing that the girls did, what were they expecting.
    He must have thought it was his lucky night.. 3 drunk girls coming back to his place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

It should be noted that the media are very careful in saying "Alleged Rape!"

Its very possible that it did not happen. Dont know how big the taxi driver was but one man overpowering 3 women does not sound very easy unless he had a weapon and no weapon has been mentioned!!

But also what you said.. even if it did happen it was stupidity on their part too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

iffy very iffy . like how the fu<k did he get the 3 of them out of the car into his house ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I heard they asked is there anywhere else they could go, he invited them back to the gaff!! If it did happen he probably gave them a drink - spiked with rohypnol!

Or else they're making it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

yeah, very suspect.

Girls: "take us to 'x' niteclub
    Cabbie: "awh that's closed, why not come back to mine instead ?"
    Gilrs: "yeah, OK"

Highly dubious, although I don't want to make light of such an alleged incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

from irish time
    A taxi-driver in his thirties is due in court later after three young women alledged to have been imprisoned in a Dublin apartment early yesterday morning, in a four hour rape ordeal. Their nightmare began when they hired a taxi to a nightclub, which turned out to be closed and instead accepted a lift to a party at an apartment in Rathmines. The three women, in their twenties, were locked into the apartment and terrorised for several hours before managing to make their escape.

I find it quite hard to believe that people always assume girls are telling porkie pies when the girl volunteers to go to some-one's room/house etc.

The convection rate for rape is disgusting low, and many practices of solicitors are worse.

The case of the girl in scotland springs to mind.
    She wore a thong on the night she was raped, the solicitor made it out that she was askin' for it, because of the knickers she wore.

She was asked to hold them up to teh court,
    and later commited suicide after the kid was let off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

Why would they go back to his apartment? thats the stupidest thing they could ever have done, and they paid the price for that stupidity.

he said there was a party on an apartment in rathmines, he didn't say his apartment.

Yes it was stupid, maybe they were drunk and it seemed like a good idea at the time.

I once shared a taxi with two girls (complete strangers) as they and me and my friend couldn't get into a nightclub (Charlies in howth .. this was when I was just 18), they invited us to a party, it seemed like a good idea at the time and we went

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

It doesn't add up.

Did they not realised there was no party on when they got there, or were they too preoccupied in getting their next drink.

well I don't know how he did it

but maybe he pulled a knife?

maybe he gave them a drink with 'date rape' in it (in taxi)

you dont see many taxi drivers standing up for him???

There could be evidence that suggests this???
    Dna etc (as in shows rape, not sex .. i.e. tearing etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I think it's pretty unlikely three girls would all accuse one man of imprisonment and rape, spuriously.

If it was rape then, there should be evidence, but, without any of that, anything else is speculation. It is unlikley three girls would accuse one man of this sort of thing and 'not' be able to prove it, but society operates under the assumption of innocence, which is exactly what this guy will remain, unless he is found guilty, by a jury of his peers.

I have to disagree with typedef

I think we live in a society where people are guilty and have to prove their innocence.

If someone is found not guilty in majority of cases people will still think that he/she did it

rte news says this
    They asked the driver to bring them to a late club, but he told them there was nowhere open and invited them back to his flat in Rathmines.

When he got them there, they say, he attacked them and held them hostage.

The women allege that he then locked all the doors and windows, threatened them with a scissors and raped each one of them between 2am and 6am.

The women say they managed to escape and contact the Gardaí.

Like I say it's a pretty unlikely story for three people to simply make up, but, the judical system means nothing without the presumption of innocence.

Sure this guy may get convicted by kangaroo court, or relatives of the girls in question may just do a vigilante job on this guy, real world though, everybody gets the presumption of innocence.

Even the Nazis got that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Pff, rubbish...

Just last night, I fecked off back to some house in a student village with a girl I just met.

"Hey, wanna come to a house party?"
    "Sure!"

And only last week, me, a friend, and 3 girls came back to my place with a naggin of vodka.

People feck off to other peoples houses on a whim.
    And that's pretty much fact.

Although...
    I'm no experienced rapist, but I dont think I'd be able to hold down three women at a time. :confused: And I'm pretty sure if I was to try it with just one, there's a good chance I could have me noggin knocked in, never mind flippin three of 'em!

So I do think it's rather dubious.
    Also, does anyone think that some girl is above accusing someone of rape for so she can sue?
    But I disagree that the idea of girls going back to some stranger's place is in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭theciscokid

i couldn't believe it when i heard it,

and it happened just down the road from where i live in rathmines,

if its true, i hope justice prevails

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 original gadget

just proves what kind of scumbags are driving our taxi's

I cant say I'm suprised... u only have to look at the tossers driving taxi's late at nite.

he was in court wearing a tracksuit and runners without laces - - sounds like typical taxi driver dress!!

I know there are alot of decent drivers out there, but alot of scumbags also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's some gaping holes alright, but there usually is when people are drunk.

Personally, I find it hard to beleive that he kept all three at bay with just a scissors, and that the other two did nothing while he raped each one. But then, I know what I'd do in that situation. I don't know how women (drunken at that) wuld react in that situation. Also the papers don't tell the whole story. He may have locked the other two in a room (which sounds quite likely) while he took each one out and raped them.

AW is right. Plenty of people out on the tear just go back to stranger's houses on a whim. And women tend to think that safety in numbers is a realistic ideal. Of course, introduce a weapon into the situation, and you need a hell of a lot more in your numbers.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by tom-thebox
    wow a whole naggin,the five of you must of been so drunk...tosser

......tosser

Atm I'm very skepitcal with the facts presented but as seamus pointed out, locking 2 in a room at a time is quite likely

Originally posted by tom-thebox
    wow a whole naggin,the five of you must of been so drunk...tosser

dumbo comes to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

OMG TOEM, YOUER TEH AULD SKEWEL DRINK0R, U'D HAEV HAD TEH WHOLE NAGGEIN AND SAID LOOEK EAT MEH, IEM TEH ROXOR

Ken, no offense but it was Seadna they were with, and one of the girls is a good mate of his, wasnt as if you looked like a rapist, then again, i do know u, they didnt :P

Also, for ppl who say that they deserve it, Nobody does, reguardless of how stupid the act.
    And some ppl might take offense to ya calling cab drives scum bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i wont comment on this as i've only just heard about it in this thread but i think all sex offenders should have their genitals cut off and made to work hard labour for the duration of their prison terms. filthy bastards :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    i think all sex offenders should have their genitals cut off
    Slowly. With rusty chainsaws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

While being forced to listen to an Enya CD.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by original gadget
    just proves what kind of scumbags are driving our taxi's

I cant say I'm suprised... u only have to look at the tossers driving taxi's late at nite.

he was in court wearing a tracksuit and runners without laces - - sounds like typical taxi driver dress!!

I know there are alot of decent drivers out there, but alot of scumbags also

This is all because a while back the whole of Ireland had a lack of taxis, then came derelegation, so now nearly any one with a car could be taxi driver.

I think there should be far more relegation of who gets licences. All taxis should be the same colour and even (to an extreme) the same type of car, like black taxes and all with built in wheel chair ramps (as drivers might still look away when they see people in wheel chairs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

i think all sex offenders should have their genitals cut off

What about those wrongly convicted, who are later proved innocent of all charges? "Hey man its great to be free and all but emmm....... what about my genitals?"

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'd like to hear more about how he managed to rape 1 while the other two did what? Watch TV?

They didnt hit him with something? Overpower him? Unless he used drugs on them somehow I dont see how its possible...

Theres something more to this story, innocent or guilty the whole story hasnt come out in my opinion.

I'm not saying their making it up but I'm not jumping to a conclusion of guilt just yet either.

I'm also pretty glad a lot of people here arent Judges!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    What about those wrongly convicted, who are later proved innocent of all charges? "Hey man its great to be free and all but emmm....... what about my genitals?"

you raise a valid point here. maybe with the aid of DNA evidence genital cutting should apply. hard labour should apply for all criminals not just the perverts. we have roads in this country that need building and cheap labour is locked away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Prison, hardlabour, dont work.
    Sure the criminal justice act is a f00kin joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by DeVore
    I'm also pretty glad a lot of people here arent Judges!

Seconded. I sometimes wonder how grounded in the real world some people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by Neil3030
    While being forced to listen to an Enya CD.

You're f***ing sick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

I read in one of the tabloids that he threatened them with scissors.

It does sounds dodge, but we dont know all the details, it appears they were already drunk, i'm sure one or two of ye have been so drunk you cant stand, maybe that was the case with the girls.

Rapists should be slowly mutilated and then locked away to live in excrutiating pain for the rest of their pathetic lives.

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by smiles

Rapists should be slowly mutilated and then locked away to live in excrutiating pain for the rest of their pathetic lives.

<< Fio >>

And what if they're later proven innocent? Surely even chemical castration is better than 'mutilation'?

IMO, I find it dodgy that the three agreed to go back to this guys house in the first place!
    Dev - He probably had the other two tied up or locked in another room.

What i'd like to know is, how can you tell if a taxi is a registered taxi? I lived in Drogheda and have twice gotten a taxi and realised it had no sort of taxi mark or plate on it, and been over charged to boot!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by eth0_
    And what if they're later proven innocent? Surely even chemical castration is better than 'mutilation'?

What i'd like to know is, how can you tell if a taxi is a registered taxi? I lived in Drogheda and have twice gotten a taxi and realised it had no sort of taxi mark or plate on it, and been over charged to boot!

Maybe locked up for life?

Taxis have a sign on the roof and a licence sheet thing with the drivers photo on the passenger side dash are you thinking of cabs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭halkar

Hang them high by the b@@lls :mad:
    My sympathy to the girls! It does not matter if they got drunk and went to his gaff or wherever. What matter is they have been raped and kept locked in the place by a stupid chancer. :mad: If he done it now , he probably done it before and probably will do it again if he gets away unpunished. There are three girls in this not only one.

This is great.

Lots of people are asking. What if for example, rapists are caustrated and then proved to be innocent? So the alternative offered is to simply incarcerate those rapists in prison, where most likely said convict will be gang raped and/or become addicted to drugs. Or perhaps perpitrate rape against another prisoner?

So it is 'better' to send fellons to prison, to come into contact with homosexual rape, drugs and serious fellons, because if proved 'eventually' to be innocent, at least that person what? Hasn't been mutilated (read castrated)?

I'm not sure such logic pertains to the men who have their teeth removed by other prisoners in MountJoy prison, so that when other prisoners are forcing said that man to preform fillatio (forcing that prisoners to preform a blow job), he can't bite down.

Wow, if that is the alternative to caustration, I'm not sure which I'd pick.

Originally posted by monument

Taxis have a sign on the roof and a licence sheet thing with the drivers photo on the passenger side dash are you thinking of cabs?

Probably, but what is there to identify it as a legal cab?

Originally posted by eth0_
    Probably, but what is there to identify it as a legal cab?

there is a yellow plate on the car somwhere . and the driver is ment to have lisence in the car . its usualy not there car from what ive seen .

a cab cant pick u up anywhere it has to be called or taken from there office from what i know . they cant be flagged down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by elexes
    a cab cant pick u up anywhere it has to be called or taken from there office from what i know . they cant be flagged down

Not anymore. Just before dereg, the law was changed so that hackneys were allowed to pick up passengers from the side of the road. I think it may only apply to being hailed though - I've never seen a hackney queue at a taxi rank, for instance.

Afair, they should display a tiny yellow plate on the front or back (maybe both). They're hard to spot, but us bikers get used to picking them out (usually because you're watching out for potentially troublesome cars in the traffic :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

sorry was this a serious thread about rape or a dating show?

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    Dont you be worrying about cabs.

I have a car.

vroom vroom!

Is it flash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Originally posted by Mossy Monk

maybe with the aid of DNA evidence genital cutting should apply

all this may prove is that the man had sex with the woman. Does that mean that it was rape?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Originally posted by seamus
    Not anymore. Just before dereg, the law was changed so that hackneys were allowed to pick up passengers from the side of the road. I think it may only apply to being hailed though - I've never seen a hackney queue at a taxi rank, for instance.

On a serious note, since de-regulation the newspapers are saying that there are 1,500 out of about 9,000 taxi drivers in Dublin with CRIMINAL convictions !
    Does anyone find this even remotely disturbing given this 'alleged' rape plus other rapes that have occurred over the last 2 yrs by taxi drivers ?
    Would you think twice before hailing that cab ? :)
    The shooting of that underground criminal figure who just happened to be a taxi driver the other night must give concern to people ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by gurramok
    On a serious note, since de-regulation the newspapers are saying that there are 1,500 out of about 9,000 taxi drivers in Dublin with CRIMINAL convictions !

Doesn't make them rapists. A criminal conviction could range from something minor to something major. Just because you have a criminal conviction, it doesn't mean you are automatically evil or bad.

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt

I dunno. You tell me.

You can have either colour

*wrinkles up nose* and I bet neither of them have seen a field in their lives! Ye townie.

As for the 1500 taxi drivers with criminal convictions since dereg, no, that doesn't make them all rapists but they SHOULD all be checked out before getting a plate. They're a public service and should have background checks when people put their trust in them. People would be up in arms if 1500 ambulance drivers/EMT's had criminal convictions.