Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You win the lotto - First 3 things you would buy?

• 08-01-2003 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭

I would :

1) Buy a Ford Focus RS !!!! Oh baby yea
    2) Buy a Racecar and start racing in mondello at the weekends (and give up my current job !!!!!!!!!!! :D )
    3) Get a superfast new PC and a 2MB Leased line from eir€om !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Thats actually the funniest thing I've seen here in a while....

Btw if you want a 2mb line from Eircom, I'd think you'd need more then just one lotto but thats a issue for Ireland off-line :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by ando
    I would :

lol it would probably be capped :rolleyes:

besides you can get a 10mbit connection in sweden for like $25 per month..

personally i would buy a place in the carribean, i would sit on the beach bar for the best part of the day drinking pina colada's while being surrounded by scantily clothed women..

"p.s this is humour board, isnt this more suited to the after hours board?"

"pps although i did find getting a 2meg leased line from eircom pretty damn funny :rolleyes:"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Meh

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Originally posted by Big Chief
    lol it would probably be capped :rolleyes:

besides you can get a 10mbit connection in sweden for like $25 per month..

personally i would buy a place in the carribean, i would sit on the beach bar for the best part of the day drinking pina colada's while being surrounded by scantily clothed women..

"p.s this is humour board, isnt this more suited to the after hours board?"

"pps although i did find getting a 2meg leased line from eircom pretty damn funny :rolleyes:"

Screw that scantily clad nonsence. Nothing like dressing the way we came into the world. BOLLOX NAKED

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

This doesn't really belong on Humour, so off to After Hours with you...

I'd be considering buying a Focus RS too actually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

good point there tomtom :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

I'd buy a BMW 5 series, a new house, take a really long holiday somewhere.... nice, a new computer... I could go on all night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

1) Buy Limerick and turn it into a wildlife reserve (JOKE!).

no seriously.

I'd buy a house in Dublin and probably have enough left over for a bag of peanuts and a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

I'd go for Ford Focus RS too! I'd also pay off members of my family's mortages. And then off to Australia and New Zealand for a year. In both places!!

I have a copy of "You can take this job and shove it!" ready and primed on my PC for that fine and fateful day.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

First 3 things I would get mmmm
    1.A day off to go shopping the next day!
    2.prob go slightly mad on komplett or buy4now as the shops would be closed,
    3.book a holiday
    A soon as the shops opened well thats when the real fun would start!!
    1.A House
    2.A Car
    3.Another holiday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

1 - Another house and rent it to students at an exhorbitant price.

2 - A petrol Station and fleece passing motorists.

3 - World Peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Superfurry

A big house around Rathmines area, an arcade cabinet of 'Star Wars Trilogy, a small holiday chalet in Andorra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Buy a Masarati Ghibli (60s model) and a Vauxhall Lotus Carlton
    for everyday use (!).

A house in the country

A good woman, er....I mean a really bad one! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Chowmein

1. A house here to rent out
    2. A very large appartment in england and a nice fast line :)
    3. A few computers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

id get myself a nice big apartment in the city centre(im only one person screw houses)
    round world type trip
    a mad shopping spree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Originally posted by ando
    I would :

1) Buy a Ford Focus RS !!!! Oh baby yea
    2) Buy a Racecar and start racing in mondello at the weekends (and give up my current job !!!!!!!!!!! :D )

I should of really made 2) Buying insurance for the RS :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Well my parents actually won the lotto, and the first unusual (i.e. things we wouldn't normally buy) things we bought (I'm 15, so my hanging on is justified) was a car (Hyundai Terracan) the PC I'm typing this on and we're planning many extensions to our house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

1. THe Words Ultimate PC. Price Is No Barrier.

2. Personal Cinema to play Games on.

3. The Ultimate House with Elevators that can go sidewards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

A House like bill gates
    A Strip club like Bada Bing (the sopranos)
    Decent clothes to make me slightly sexually attractive to women

you know people its the lottery we're talking about, not umlimited money. the lotto is max about 3 million yoyo's. it hasn't gone over that in a while has it?
    i wouldn't know i never play it... so i'd never win it in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

1. Jaguar S Type-R (and whatever herself fancies)
    2. Plane tickets for me and me mates to somewhere sunny (or somewhere cold and cool)
    3. Full page advert in the Times telling Eircom to go fuck themselves

(sideways elevators sound nice though, Willy Wonka eat your heart out)

(oddly enough I bought a lotto ticket today - must be the first time in over a year, usually I've better things to do with the €300ish a year stupid peoples tax in my back pocket instead)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

A Ferrari 250 GT California... and if I had any change a packet of M&Ms.

Seraphina, i am going to invest it in a new company called CEZarTron which the shares will conveniently sky rocket resulting in the sole shareholder *me* becoming very rich enabling me to buy the aforementioned and possibly you as my wife or as that semi fit singer would say "i'm not that kind of girl".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

If that happed to me my mouth well hit the floor and then after that I go nuts with my friends in a pub. when my hangover is gone ill start buying.

1. buying P.C parts to make a SUPER MEGA PC.

2. buy 3 houses in 3 hot countrys

3. buy dodge viper r10.

4. get myself broadband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Originally posted by Seraphina
    you know people its the lottery we're talking about, not umlimited money. the lotto is max about 3 million yoyo's. it hasn't gone over that in a while has it?
    i wouldn't know i never play it... so i'd never win it in the first place!

It was €4 million tonight.... and it wasn't won!

€5 Million on Saturday!! Now thats a life changing sum of money!

And every one here haven't exactly broke their fortune either with what they want to do!

Realistically thinking about it, i wouldnt tell one person i won it. I'd carry on with my normal life for a few months to a year then disappear, possibly telling people i'm emigrating to work or just vanish outright and start a new life minus begrudgers and hangerons i'd inherit, just like my friends aunt who won it she received something like 100 letters asking for money and she only won a million *i know a million is a lot*.

well i was more referring to caeser who said he wanted to buy a stripclub, which would be a fairly hefty price im assuming... 5 million is a pretty life changing amount tho... time to buy a lottery ticket maybe? methinks yes...

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Dodge Viper R10
    Mini Cooper for some fun
    VW Beetle for herself
    Insurance and tax for above
    A massive house with big garage for the cars
    A mega-long holiday anywhere/everywhere!

Oh and loadsa beer! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

1) Armoured Bentley

2)House/apartment abroad

3) Invest the rest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

1. a new wardrobe. sometimes i look like i stepped out of the 70's :( although i do sometimes receive compliments :)

2. season ticket to Highbury

3. apartment near Highbury to make good use of number 2

4. a mini cooper. i really want one, have so for years

5. beer

6. a lottery ticket

7. somewhere to call my own in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

1. House somewhere in Dublins Northeast..
    2. Pay off my car loan
    3. Engagment ring for herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Oh come on...

The first three things I'd buy?

1. Pint of Guinness.

2. Another pint of Guinness.

3. Yes. Yet another pint of Guinness.

Obviously, I'd pay off the parents mortgage and buy a house for myself... but they wouldn't be among 'the first three things'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

1. rizzla green
    2. 40g golden virginia
    3. guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

Originally posted by Kharn
    I'd be considering buying a Focus RS too actually...

So it DOES belong on the humour board then....

M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

1) A one-way ticket out of this country for me & the family.
    2) A Volvo XC90 for meself.
    3) Anything me missus would want for herself....

E.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭frood4t2

1. My mom's debts
    2. My education
    3. An upper-middle class car disguising that I'm a millionaire. (Saab probably)

In America, there's been lottery drawings of 300 million and more, cuz the odds are ridiculous and no one ever wins the jackpot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

a savage PC, best spec available with a triple 21" flat screen desktop and surround sound.

a house for myself

get get the new saab 93 2.0t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

• A scratch card - my lucky day afterall, might aswell make the most of it.
    • Send the mother on a trip somewhere for a bit. Achill. Or that "yoreop" place.
    • Prize bonds - a shít load of em
    • a nice comforatble reliable nippy car. Nothing too flash/uperclass. Then mod it subtley with a good soundsystem.
    • Insurance for the car.
    • British Chieftan Main Battle Tank - £30,000 + as many spare parts as I can muster and the manual.
    • Quickstart guide for the tank.
    • A biomass conversion kit for the tank.
    • A good few acres of rugged terrain and natural obstacles. For the tank.
    • Road tax for the tank.
    • "A few CDs/DVD-As."
    • The DAT master tapes for a few of my favourite albums ;)
    • Another pair of Ecco shoes.
    • A pliers and directions to Louis Walsh's house, but that's in the works anyways.....

But tbh, when you think about it, winning the lotto before you reach middle age is not something I'd like to happen to me.
    Too much, too soon tbh.
    If I won it at 22 I'd have it spent by the time i'm 24 tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Runfree

Originally posted by Bard
    Oh come on...

The first three things I'd buy?

1. Pint of Guinness.

2. Another pint of Guinness.

3. Yes. Yet another pint of Guinness.

Obviously, I'd pay off the parents mortgage and buy a house for myself... but they wouldn't be among 'the first three things'...

Ok I can nearly agree with this.

I'd just buy a pub with Guinness on tap only and a supply of peants to go with them. Then a pool table to go with the pub.

Make sure I buy it in the middle of nowhere and charge a nice price for all them farmers.(ok might have other drinks for sale all alcoholic though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Sex, drugs and rock n' roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

A big house in Finland outside Helsinki, get T1 installed at home (only 1000 yoyo's installation and 80 per month!!!) and never work again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

1. A laptop
    2. House
    3. Car
    4. (Just had to say one more) some of them raadio controlled ariplanes and helicopters.
    5. season tickect to liverpool

inbvest the leftovers and then live on the interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Top floor of the Millenium Tower.
    A nice boat to sit in the mooring downstairs.
    Rebuild an old ruin in Greece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭schrodinger

1. A nine bar
    2. A bottle of Gentleman Jack straight from Tennessee
    3. Iron Maiden - Eddie's Archives Box Set

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Add a euro to it and then pay off my debts :(

But if I didn't have any debts and I won the €8m on Saturday I would...

1. Spend €5m on investments - stocks and shares, commodities, and property - give up the day job and manage them myself.
    2. Pay off my familys debts - to a maximum of €1m
    3. Give €1m to charity

...then there is €1m spending money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

1. Sega Master System
    2. Atari Jaguar
    3. Commodore 64

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭124124

1) All tickets for the next draw.
    2) All tickets for the draw after that.
    3) All tickets for the draw after the next draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

the only problem with that is you'd need more then the origional jackpot to buy all the possible combinations, and what's to stop other people buying tickets?
    And after the jackpot is won it's down to fúck all again- minimum of €1million isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

First thing id do would be to arrange a rather different trip to school for the next morning;

The street would be closed off by garda - then my black, presidential helicopter would land in the middle of it and id hop out (with my bag being carried for me by black suited secret service types). Id walk into class and say 'sorry im late, we had trouble getting clearance to take off' then sit down while everyone stared at me.

apart from that i suppose id just continue life as normal, go to college etc...but with a few small extra things like maybe a jag for myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

buy eircom and continue to flease the irish public for years to come MUAHAHHAHAHAHAH