Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Paintball....

• 27-12-2002 2:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭

Just chatting away in irc here and was thinking, how cool would a boards paintball'ing day be :)

I seem to recall (well syxpak recalled) that it was talked about before and neaver went ahead(did it ?). Anyway interest ????

Boards paintball good idea ? 91 votes

Im interested !
    0% 0 votes
    pffft, boring
    92% 84 votes
    Atari......
    7% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

It would be cool, but it's hard to organize people to actually go. Best bet would be to gather a deposit well in advance from anyone who wants to book a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭_sheep

Best bet would be to gather a deposit well in advance from anyone who wants to book a place.

Ya, was thinking along those lines, altho i wasnt planning on organising it (i couldnt organise a piss up in a brewery). But if no-one puts there name forward to organise ill do it, afaik there'd be alot of interest....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Summer, tbh.

I'll go.

C'mon... the chance to ACTUALLY shoot Bard!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I'd be up for it, but again - summer time would b best.
    Firmer ground, easier to track the prey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Great idea. It's tough to find enough people for paintball normally. I'd be up for it. Need loads of notice though busy bee that I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

id be up for this anyway, sounds like laugh indeed
    btw this has been tryed before a few times and failed :( - good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Been chatting with my boss about this, it has been tryed before, unsuccesfully, but I'd be up for it if you can organise enough people to go to it, and provided I ain't "occupied" at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Runfree

Great idea. I'll go. Think we should make an announcement for this really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

have it near the big smoke! theres 1 in wicklow thats ment to be good, a bus could be organised from the city center

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

I'd be up for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

id be well up for that !!

we'd have to get a bus of us "rebels"

can i bring my own .22 rifle + scope ?

i vote summer

always wanted to do it, but always worried that id be landed with ppl that wouldnt take it at all serisously.

"hey tom, BANG, i shot you in the back at close range"

"your on my team, idiot !!"

Well summer was the obvious choice , anyone care to organise this ?? :D (*sigh*, prolly gonna be me :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

/me gives said event soggy cabbage of approval

we could have a G n L's against the rest muhawhawhawhaw ... 'hA tAk3 iT j0o fAg'* ;)

*if u take offence from this then GOOD! u stupid fag, i'll rape ya :p

LMAO go az

Az , you are so going to get a few shots from my weapon at this event, and then I'll kick your arse in paintball too.

To quote a previous mordeth post in GLB issues "I can't kill him he's gorgeous " :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

yes i am damn sexeh! ... ok carry on

ill have to print out KNOW YOUR NERDS and memorise the faces so ill know who to target :D

Kill em all, let the guy who thinks he's god sort em out.

G'wan Typedef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Pass up a chance to shoot random people?! You must be joking..

Definetly summer though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

i was going to say a bad cs config joke but instead ill just say im interested

and i vote summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

A colleague of mine organised one for some people and it turned out to be a drain on his wallet due to friends not standing up to their promises. He lost a lot of money over it so: just make sure you collect money first, it has to be pre-booked as far as I know, and to do that you need to put cash upfront.

I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

you can use me as a promotional gimmick
    "come along to shoot tizlox!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

The one in Wicklow is called Crossfire (www.crossfire.ie) and it's bloody good fun, well organised and professional too.

It's €40 per person or €35 if you book a group of 40 or more (for a full day). With that you get 160 rounds (I think) but tbh that won't last very long.

Only downside to it is the price of the paint rounds, €16.50 for 100... and you'll go through about four or five hundred when you're having fun, so bring plenty of cash.

If you book the full day they give a free lunch of burgers, beans and er... a potatoe (veggie available on request.:))

'Tis great fun, and the gloating rights for the winners is an added bonus :P

if there are teams made before hand i can get a small trophy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

id be up for it but the problem is wheres it gonna be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

I'd be up for it too.
    mmmmmm shooting people sounds like fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

I don't really know any of ye guys, but I wouldn't mind shooting some of ye....

Count me in.

:cool:

so anyone care to organise it ? :|

i could/would ... but em... maybe some1 who knows allot of ye?

and you'll go through about four or five hundred when you're having fun, so bring plenty of cash.

pffft, the true marksman will strike with deadly accuracy, using the legendary double-tap as described in so many half-baked SAS novels.

Gone Shootin, by name - by nature - by coincidence :D

to "quote" a GTA3 CHATTERBOX radio session

"...I feel the best defence is to run away. That way, you can swoop on your enemy from the rafters, LIKE A BAT. I cover this early on in my book, in chapter 45....."

pffft, the true marksman will strike with deadly accuracy, using the legendary double-tap as described in so many half-baked SAS novels.

Yea I know... I killed 250 enemies ;]

Seriously though, the pellets swerve with the wind, so it is pretty hard to hit tbh :[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

Sounds deadly.

I went paintballing with a load of ppl from college at Crossfire Painball Games. It was great craic.

Im well up for it.

tbh bring your own balls :) its way cheaper.

U can buy thousands off the internet for a fraction of the price you pay at the paintballing place. Just browse around, use google. Approx $20 for 1000 rounds :)

<edit> Found some: http://www.paintball-online.com/departments.asp?dept=41&last=41 </edit>

Originally posted by PiE
    The one in Wicklow is called Crossfire

Eh, no. Crossfire is in Kilternan Co. Dublin, look at the URL. I was there too remember, you red bastards bet us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

And there's definitely no problem bringing your own?

I'd be on for buying into about 4-500 balls for €10 :)
    Whatever I don't use i'll take home and use on the neighbours pets/small children.
    The only thing I'd wonder about is the hoppers. Twould be a bit of a bollix to ahve to go reloading your hopper froma big bag of pellets in your pocket when you're being targeted from every side.....

Also, the skinny weedy nerd types will have a severe advantage over the larger lads ;) ...... until the braveheat-style brute rush that is..oh-ho yeah! :)

Originally posted by ThrAx
    Eh, no. Crossfire is in Kilternan Co. Dublin, look at the URL. I was there too remember, you red bastards bet us!

Pah, sure it's right next to Wicklow and we had to walk up a blood mountain to get to it! ;]

Yea we beat you lot.. not that we like to gloat or anything :]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

I'm in. I've also set up #paintball.ie on quakenet.

Summer is the only time to have it. If theirs a lot of people coming from galway/ da west, i can organise a bus.

Well €10 for 100 round's is cheap tbh. I paid €13 per each 100 round's refill in westport.

Hey Syx, u have a paintball gun at home? Cool!

As regards the hoppers. As soon as you get into the shooting area pick up some empty containers off the ground (there's always loads of them, assuming ur not the first group to play that day) and fill a good few with your own shots and stick them in your pockets. It will make it easier to load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

This is "the one in Wicklow".

I've been there twice, and I'd highly recommend it.

Seadna, I don't have a paintball gun. When did I say or even imply I did? I was just saying (if we're allowed by the owners) we could bring/sneak in our own paintballs having bought tubs of em for cheap :)

I'm thinking urely of the money we could save for more beer and shennanigans later on.

aside:
    I was thinking of getting my own, might yet do it if I get the cash together, Maybe just a semi-auto. Myself and a mate of mine didia small bit of research back in September, was looking at ~€150 to start of with a decent gun, face mask, some padding/accessories and a few hundred/thousand balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Ill go along but i heard its very expensive
    Theres a paintballing society in dit i hear its not as expensive i might try that out 1st

Aye, there's one in the works in NUIG too, if we get some funding we can go at it this year for certain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by STaN
    have it near the big smoke! theres 1 in wicklow thats ment to be good, a bus could be organised from the city center

The one in Wicklow is not too bad, is an all day affair and they cook a breakfast and lunch, will try and dig up some of the cost details from when we organised it before. They do a good deal depending on numbers..

There is one in Westport too if anybody outside of the Pale wants to run one but thinks Dublin is too far off.

Yeah that one in Wicklow looks better than the Crossfire one in Kilternan tbh. U can buy 60 rounds there rather than 100 which means you dont need to shell out as much money to play as you would in Crossfire.

Go Skirmish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Kev

And how long do you think 60 rounds will last you ?

I spent about EUR 100 last time iirc.

does anyone know if any of the paintball sites let you bring your own ammo, i wouldn't think so as they must make most of their money on paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I went paintballing here last week.

I'd recommend this as the place to go, I've used crossfire before and I don't like them.

Originally posted by Kev
    And how long do you think 60 rounds will last you ?

I spent about EUR 100 last time iirc.

does anyone know if any of the paintball sites let you bring your own ammo, i wouldn't think so as they must make most of their money on paint.

We couls sneak in a few tbh :)