Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice/weird/freaky/boring/unwanted prezies?

• 25-12-2002 2:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭

Got a laptop tbh, v happy with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

This is the first Christmas where I havent actually asked for anything and I don't know what I'm getting.
    I'll post what I got in a few hours.
    Oh, I do know that I got the Barcelona away jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

DvD player and lots of clothes and money and dvds...=D

A big fat ass selection box. :)
    A shirt.
    The Barce jersey.
    And a pretty cool snooker cue.

All in all, I'll be buying myself a PS2 pretty soon....

[edit]I got Die Hard 1 + 2 Boxset on dvd too. And if we are going to include presents we bought ourselves, well there's too much for me to name :) [/edit]

Id wait a few weeks to get ps2.. its supposed to drop
    http://www.bygames.com/news/item.jsp?content_id=1002690

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

heh - got a digital camera too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

band of brothers dvd box set :D

thats me happy..

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Giant Dairymilk bar - nice

Backpack/gearbag thing - I have 2 more - what crap

Selection Box - haw haw really funny now that I'm all grown up

Tiny portable radio - Have one built in to my mp3 player

Matrix on video with price still on it - I handed it back to my mother and said I'll never watch it on video. The price tag was such a nice touch (that really bugs me ) I actually wrote down in big letters "The Matrix on DVD ".

Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse - This I like

Animal from the Muppets stuffed toy - This I like too

Das Experiment on DVD from my friend Kev - Excellent !

Going up to the relations now for Christmas day and I expect to get more crap.

Edit: I treated myself to a Nokia 7650 Picture phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

i got a sharp pic phone :)

and a (sigh) Hong Kong Phooey hot water bottle. :D

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Well, so far, I got

Nokia 3510
    A nice jumper
    Lynx Gravity spray and showergel
    Lidl Office Keyboard (which is surprisingly good)

Still have to get my prezzies from the girlfriend! Looking forward to that :)

Bought myself an Olympus digital camera and a DVD player! Not bad I think meself! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

one that got me by surprise

mother got me a 3CD Set of Gospel and Soul Music.

which is great, cos I do love that type of music, but i never expected it from her :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Got 4 CD's <won't bother going into it but all are fantastic>, a book, a electric shaver, and money. Oh and a selection box...

Huzzah. More importantly my nephew seems to be having a gas time <it's his first real christmas> so much joy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

Marshall MG30 - very pleased with it
    Pulp Fiction Collectors Edition DVD
    Guitar Books
    Aftershaves
    24pack of Carlsberg
    and Moneh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Guy Incognito

Jebus! I'd never get anything as expensive as some things on this thread.

Anyway, I got mostly money 'cos no one ever knows what to get me. My sister got me a brilliant one though, the Michael Moore book, Stupid White Men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

I'm apparently pretty difficult to buy for, mostly on the basis that my folks haven't got the faintest clue about the various things I'm interested in. So they've copped on to the idea of buying me things I would never even consider buying for myself - which actually works quite well. I ended up this year with an antique gold ring, which sounds odd and is something I'd NEVER think of buying, but which I really like regardless - very unusual kind of gift.

Oh, and for myself, I bought a return ticket to Tokyo for New Years :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

got a laptop, some dvds, the new pratchett book, a video

fun fun fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

plenty lynx box sets etc - mainly from aunties
    some clothes
    big ass cd case - holds 208 (might fit some of my divx's in it ;) )
    handy thermometer for me car

buying me self this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Probably says it, but how much is it??

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

MY GOD!
    You're all such rich bastards!?

Do you all sleep on a big bed of money with many, many beautiful women?

I got

A book
    A CD
    An electric toothbrush
    And a T-Shirt

You bunch of ****ing rich ****s!
    Wish I could get a fecking LAPTOP for crimbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

A black Ben Sherman shirt (v. nice :))
    €50 tucked into the shirt pocket } the mother
    A Book on 9/11. I'm going to scan the pics and photoshop parachutes and capes onto the people jumping from the windows.
    A boxset of Series1 of Bottom (Class :)) - the brother
    A roll of v. soft and v. nice bog roll + a can of antiperspirant off the sister.

Seeing as how I'm broke my christmas indulgances with mates are being financed too, cos the brother got a scalextric set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

no sign of the band of brothers box set or the flying lesson. but i did get the cash for a ps2 woohoo an seriously cool book on f1

LoL kids these days..

"In my day we got an apple, an orange and a few nuts in a smelly old sock" - Ozzy Osbourne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I got:
    Cash
    Palm M130
    Books
    A mountain bike

Santy <3 's me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

this weird little mouse thing that goes mental when you make a noise or try touch it. hours of fun.amongst other stuff a Chef(southpark) fridge minder(!)
    fun on all fronts anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Mp3 player, a great long robe (dressing gown thingy), slippers (\o/) and 2 selection boxes.

I also got a pair of runners that I hate and a pair of jeans that are too small but they are being changed I think.

My dad got a digi cam too so hopefully I can play with it. :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I got....

A huge scalextric with a subaru impreza and peugeot 206

The Third Man vid , Repo Man vid, Amelie (?) vid, the new Terry Pratchett, the new Ian Banks, new supertastic hairdryer and superpower straightening iron thingie, and !! a Renault keyring and a Seat keyring for the keys of both cars ( does anyone want to buy a car, by the way??) and then the usual boxes of choccies and bottles of wine and candles and stuff.

NOTE: Poor Angelwhore. Since you absolutely ridiculed me on the messageboard once, and totally got into a snot with me, you have my respect. I bought a pressie for some ungrateful ****, and you're welcome to have it instead.

Do you all sleep on a big bed of money with many, many beautiful women?

If you're feeling disgruntled, I can empty my change jar on my bed and you can stay over some night.

I'm going to get moderated again, amn't I. Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

i got this
    mzg755silver.jpg
    which i was well pleased with.
    then the regular pile of crap mum's buy
    underwear, some make-upy type crap, not a whole lot else.
    then i went to play with my new toy, and i dont have the right feckin cable! i dont have a digital input thing on my stereo so now i have to go buy a new cable :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

A Marshall VS265 2x65W Stereo Chorus amp :)
    An Adidas shower kit thing.
    An Electric toothbrush.
    A few Selection Boxes.

Originally posted by Seraphina
    i got this
    i dont have a digital input thing on my stereo so now i have to go buy a new cable :(
    don't you mean digital output ;) you can use a standard phono cable to record anyway.. gl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by yellum
    Matrix on video with price still on it - I handed it back to my mother and said I'll never watch it on video.
    I can't believe that. You cheeky little bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

input/output a mistake easily made when one has had a few too many glasses of wine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Originally posted by SyxPak
    A A Book on 9/11. I'm going to scan the pics and photoshop parachutes and capes onto the people jumping from the windows.

??????Who else thinks thats a little bit of a sick/weird thing to say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

cant belive what sum people got
    i got money socks underwear and red dwarf dvd
    i asked me sis to get me game on dvd as well think any of them could find it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Originally posted by yellum
    Matrix on video with price still on it - I handed it back to my mother and said I'll never watch it on video.

Originally posted by DapperGent
    I can't believe that. You cheeky little bollix.

Agreed Dapper. What yellum said makes me sick. Ungrateful little ba$tard! :mad:

I hope your mother turned around and told you to f**k off and go and buy it on DVD yourself if you're so worried about it.

Jesus Christ, spoilt, ungrateful brats like that turn my stomach.

Remember yellum, you only have one mother and you'll be sorry when she's gone. I hope what you did today will continue to haunt you when she's passed on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

I hope what you did today will continue to haunt you when she's passed on.

bit harsh dont you think ? though I disagree with the bluntness and coldness that he used to tell his mother about the video, I think aiden that your comment is nothing but that of a jerk / lamer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Bloody hell, thank you everyone that gave me pressies.

I got lots of cool stuff that I;m not going to boast about. I am getting DVD box set of Band of brothers. I asked for it, Felt a little mean asking for it off me mam so told her she could split it with my granny or sisters. (It's 70 or 80 Euro), but to my delight she bought it all on her lonesome.

And just to let people know, my sister didnt recieve any presents from her imediate family, but asked that we give pressie money to charity.

(See christmas isn't about ones self)

John

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    Agreed Dapper. What yellum said makes me sick. Ungrateful little ba$tard! :mad:

I hope your mother turned around and told you to f**k off and go and buy it on DVD yourself if you're so worried about it.

Jesus Christ, spoilt, ungrateful brats like that turn my stomach.

Remember yellum, you only have one mother and you'll be sorry when she's gone. I hope what you did today will continue to haunt you when she's passed on.

Aidan you really don't know me or my life. I'm amazed how upset you can get over some stranger on a website making a post. Has the Tourettes medication worn off or something ? Why not climb down from your Ivory Tower now please.

I have a great mother and I know this. I appreciate her being there for me now and all the other years of my life. I tell her this on a daily basis. I buy her gifts a lot and spent a fortune on her this year. I hug her and tell her I love her numerous times during the day.

Saying that, I won't say thanks very much for getting me a video of the matrix with the price still on it (this bugged me more than anything else ). I actually wrote down on paper in big letters what I wanted and reminded her of the dvd bit. This was the only thing I wanted this christmas. Its not the gift that matters more than the thought and thats what pissed me off.

Spoiled brat sure.. whatever. I'm sure you are a saint to your mum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Silverfish
    If you're feeling disgruntled, I can empty my change jar on my bed and you can stay over some night.

I'm going to get moderated again, amn't I. Damn.

pld :D

I also got a Magic Eight Ball.

Will.....Angelwhore.....end....up...with...imprints...of.....euro..coins...on...his....skin..??

*shake shake*

Ask again later.

Stupid eight ball.

I dunno what the going rate for the vhs version of the matrix is but I know the dvd is €12.99. I bet your mum paid more for the video. :)

And aidan I suppose you got a ham sandwich or something and you were damn grateful because you hadnt eaten in two weeks.

What he said may have been rude but I dont think
    I hope what you did today will continue to haunt you when she's passed on.
    is really called for. It's only a present after all. :rolleyes:

Continuing in that vein, one year my mum bought me a stainless steel teapot. A teapot.

I still said 'Oooh, a teapot!! Thanks!!'

Another time I got a skirt for work as a birthday present from my parents. I still said 'ooohh!! A skirt for work!! Thanks!!'

It didn't hurt, and I certainly didn't hand it back.

My kid sister got a Mitsubishi Pajero Jnr jeep. That f**king hurt, I can tell you.

Little cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by Silverfish
    Continuing in that vein, one year my mum bought me a stainless steel teapot. A teapot.

I still said 'Oooh, a teapot!! Thanks!!'

Another time I got a skirt for work as a birthday present from my parents. I still said 'ooohh!! A skirt for work!! Thanks!!'

It didn't hurt, and I certainly didn't hand it back.

My kid sister got a Mitsubishi Pajero Jnr jeep. That f**king hurt, I can tell you.

Little cow.

Teapot's kick arse.
    Wait till you're out on your own. You'll be only to happy to have your own one that you can take with you.

I wish I had a tea pot.
    A nice high end one, stainless exterior casing, ceramic interior, oak handle and wooden base so you don't leave rings on coffee tables.
    i wonder how much that'd cost to make?
    Must look into it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Nice one Dave !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    Jesus yellum was a bit rude but this is phenomenal.

The level of unpleasantness in that last sentence is almost toxic. What a bile-ridden oaf. Don't you hate it when the stupidest simian in the room agrees with you?

yellum, apologies for bringing this up in the first place.

Originally posted by DapperGent
    yellum, apologies for bringing this up in the first place.

Haha, not at all. It was a bit of a troll anyway. Yeah what I said was rude, but I do speak my mind a lot and it sometimes irks people.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

mmmmm
    where ot start:)
    A Coat
    A hat and scarf
    A handbag which more resembles a washbag,
    A hairdryer
    Those gel things that keep your hands warm
    Flashy light things
    Make up bags
    Rudolph slippers
    Really Cute Calendar
    Make up
    The usual soap shower gel etc!

Thinks thats all:)
    All happy with myself:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

ooh and a bottle of champagne with two glasses:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Mostly crockery (full set plus extra bowls and mugs). No0w I know I asked for corkery, but the set would have been enought by itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭wiensta

i got a lovely round of presents which i didnt expect.

- a charlie chaplin dvd
    - a nokia 3510
    - homer simpson socks
    - a t-shirt
    - sweets and a deodorant set
    - a book shop, art shop and sports shop voucher
    - some cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Okay, let me clear up a few things about what I posted.

Firstly yellum, my mother is dead. And not a day goes by that I don't think about her and things I said or did that hurt her when she was alive. So, believe me, I doknow what it's like.

Secondly, I was never a saint to her when she was alive but, by Christ, I would have never done something as rude and downright f**king ignorant as what you did to your mother on Christmas Day of all days. Over the years I did get presents that I didn't really want but I smiled and said "thank you" and kept them. And you know what? Having them here with me now and being able to look at them and think of her and the smile on her face when she gave them to me is a nice memory to have. Will you have the same momory when you look at your Matrix DVD when your mother has passed on? No. You'll think of how rude you were to her and you'll regret it. Haven't you ever heard of the expression, "It's the thought that counts"?

To Makaveli, no I didn't get a ham sandwich. I got three pairs of socks, two pairs of boxers, a Physio Sport gift pack and a sweatshirt. I might not be much compared to what some people got but it was extra nice because I didn't ask for anything and just getting it was nice and I appreciate it.

DapperGent, I'm not a "bile-ridden oaf" either. It's just that what yellum did to his mother seemed disgraceful to me and it really pissed me off and I had to reply. Okay, perhaps calling him a spoil brat might have been a bit much but, for God's sake yellum, you could have dealt with the situation with a bit more tact, don't you think.

Finally, to yellum. No, "the Tourettes medication" hasn't worn worn off but maybe my anti-depressants have. I hope you never suffer from depression or Tourette's Syndrome and have to find out first hand what it's like. Don't ever, ever make light of a medical condition unless you've suffered from it yourself.

Rant over.