Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving to Dublin in February

• 22-12-2002 11:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭

Im going to work in symantec.

Need to get accomodation!!!!

Wher are good places, where are bad???
    How much shud i be willing to pay??

ANY info would be helpful?

A.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

www.daft.ie is prob the best place to find a place,
    Rent depends on the area and the need for accomodation there!
    you will prob be paying at least 300euro pm for a half decent place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Sharing is much cheaper than renting on your own, be prepared to pay a lot if on your own. Although it depends how "hovelish" you are prepared to go!

I pay 535per month for a single bed flat in central Dublin but this is expensive. I have paid 300 for a tiny cube in a mildly rough area of city centre for living on my own. I'd say 400 at least for a semi decent place tbh. If you are sharing then you may get away with less.

Again, it depends what you classify as good and bad - what type of place do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Get somewhere out near symantec - Blanchardstown or Castleknock, and most offers are similar in price and spec, unlike in the city centre.

€300 should get you a small(ish) single room in a decent-sized house. There are a few traps here, but post up here with any you find, and people here mightr be able to advise ya.

as said, www.daft.ie is perfect for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

You dont say if you've got a car/bike etc... so for close-ness, to Symantec, look in the areas of Blanchardstown, Castleknock and on the other side consider Clonee/Dunboyne. Most places out that way, though, would be proper houses, so sharing is probably the go. Lots of people who work in IBM and other companies share a gaff and get people in.
    I dont know the going rate for the area, but the Herald is as good a point to start with as any....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

you will accomadation in Clonee cheaper then Blanch, just be carefuil with the area nothing against it I live their myself but post about it here or something first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 tom-th3box

Originally posted by b3t4
    Im going to work in symantec.

Symantec in Blanch, its right behind one of the biggest kips in dublin try to get some where to live a bit away from there may be in Blanch Village. Not even tom-thebox would walk though Clorduff ;) after midnight.

I was trying not to be too blunt about it,and dont walk thru it before midnight either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 tom-th3box

Originally posted by Moonbeam
    I was trying not to be too blunt about it,and dont walk thru it before midnight either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I'd pay 600 quid for my own place... maybe even 700.

There is alot to be said for (a) Having only your 'own' mess to deal with (b) Being able to walk around your house naked if you so wish (c) being able to use the shower when you wish (d) being able to play music until 4am if it damn well suits you (e) not having to ask 'anybodys' permission to get a phone line, a dsl connection, cable from ntl and so on.

Right now I pay 350 for an interesting shaped room in a shared house, but as it stands, I'm quite prepaired to pay 250 more per month or even double what I pay, to live as I so choose.

All I need is a garage and somewhere I can have some privacy.
    My current place has plaster walls, so you can hear every damned noise in the house, plus the landlord has some phobia about letting me get a phone line.

Quote culchie accent "I don't want you drilling holes in my house".

Ok.

<typedef to planet zog.... we have a winner>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I wouldn't walk through Corduff at ANY time of day! I went to college in ITB and got the bus into town from there....when it turned up, a lot of the time in the evenings the 38 wouldn't go through there because of the scum bags throwing rocks at the bus, and I have never seen so much joy riding in my life while enduring those long waits at the bus stop. I also LIVED there for about 6 weeks in Westway in Corduff (I was pretty desperate heheh) and was woken up most nights by scumbags rowing outside or stolen cars. Even the Guards will try and stay out of there.

Blanch as a whole has gone downhill lately I think. You're better off with Castleknock and around the Clonsilla road. DOn't worry, you'll find a room REALLY easily working in Symantec/Xerox/Creative.

600 for you own place you'd be extremely lucky:)
    You might if your very lucky get a bed sit for that though

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Originally posted by Moonbeam
    600 for you own place you'd be extremely lucky:)
    You might if your very lucky get a bed sit for that though

Certainly true in Dublin, but you could rent an entire new furnished 3 bedroom house in Edgeworthstown, Co. Longford for that sort of money.

Yes as the laws of supply and demand come in to effect and I dont think longford is going to be much use to them for Blanch,unless they really want to get that smelly stuffy packed train and sit on it for ages everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

sors for not getting back to ye sooner.
    college has been a bit hectic.

iv decided on three possible places to live,
    clonsilla, castleknock or phibsbourough(spelling???)
    Good? Bad?

iv been on daft.ie as was suggested and the prices dont seem that bad (what i expected kinda thing) for sharing. Il be leaving it a bit late to look for a place ie a week and a half before i start work, due to exams and ****e like that.

im currently in a place. i gave my landlord 4wks notice in writing, am i entitled to my depoisit back??? iv been told i am but im not too sure???

Thanks,
    A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Phibsboro(ugh) is much closer to the city - much cheaper if you are getting a taxi home after a night out. However, it is the furthest from Blanchardstown. Castleknock would be the nicest of the 3 areas. Bublin Bus do a leaflet that shows all the local routes in Blanchardstown, you can get it from their head ofifce in O'Connel St. for free.
    Originally posted by b3t4
    im currently in a place. i gave my landlord 4wks notice in writing, am i entitled to my depoisit back??? iv been told i am but im not too sure???
    Assuming the rent is up to date and you haven't broken anything, you are entitled to your deposit back - thats what deposits are for.

Make sure he also fills in a form RENT1 from the Revenue Commisioners for you so you can claim tax back. Get your new landlord to fill one out also.

http://www.revenue.ie/pdf/rent1e.pdf

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Max you can claim back in tax relief is Euro 254, but hey, its better than a kick in the teeth!
    Get the landlord to sign the form right at the very beginning, its easier than trying to chase him/her later.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭KathleenMcCabe

Castleknock is real nice but face it - it's expensive too.

Phibsboro is probably a good bet. Near the centre for busses anywhere and nights out. Get a place to share while you get your self sorted and get accustomed to the place.

Start making calls - places get snatched up real quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

aside
    Typedef, you can get a great place for that kind of money surely?
    /aside

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

600-700 for a place on your own- is not very likely.
    Sharing- you'll get something nice for this- even for a lot less, but one bedroom apartments are expensive.
    Still- garages don't cost "that" much :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Thanks for all your help.

Got myself a lovely place in Clonee the other nite.

So alls set and i move up to dub next friday.

A.