Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats wrong with Liverpool

• 15-12-2002 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭

Whats wrong with Liverpool deve lost 5 prem games in a row now!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Shake fist at GH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Originally posted by Steve_o
    Whats wrong with Liverpool deve lost 5 prem games in a row now!!!

It's actually 'only' four prem games in a row. Losses to Sunderland, Charlton, ManUre and Fulham was preceeded with a draw at home to Sunderland. Liverpool have gone from being 7 points ahead in the league to effectively being 7 points BEHIND all in the space of just six matches. I don't think I've ever seens a team slide from the top of the table in such spectacular fashion in all my time watching football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

During Liverpools worst run in many a season, Houllier makes the masterminded decision to leave Hyypia out of the squad.

I think the doctors might have sneakily performed a lobotomy during his heart surgery.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Funny isn't it!! Everton above ye, what are the odds on that!
    As we have been saying for a long time, one dimensional teams win nothing, have to be able to change formation, root of attack, etc etc, but due to either pure stupidity of the manager or due to the high possibility of a team seriously lacking in creativity this scouse team will win nothing of any importance, and yes we know ye have won the plastic cups and we would be happen enough to win anything at this stage, but the real prizes are the CL and PL.
    Don't know what ye are goin to do but it is either sack the manger or a serious clear out of the large number of ordinary players in yer squad.

Gwan the mighty Sunderland :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

We cant score goals, i wonder why...
    Like we're missing "something"

say like, litmanen, fowler, anelka, redknapp......
    Pathetic to be letting players of that quality go, and then replace them with cheap alternatives. Litmanen is one of the best players in the world, but yet he couldn't 'force' his way into the liverpool side. Too defensive, and the slump is deserved. At least when Evans was in charge, we played some quality footy, but there's no imagination in liverpools play. Owen is not a world class footballer, he sparks into form, and easily fizzles back out of it.

*growl*

Just spent all day in work with Man U supporters :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

"Owen is not a world class footballer, he sparks into form, and easily fizzles back out of it."

That's true. He's a bleedin' glory hole. Today he proves this yet again. Many chances to pass to ball to people in better positions yet he still a. shoots b. runs with the ball and gives it away or c.just gives it away. World class footballers have more in their arsenal than kicking it towards the goal.

What was the main reason for selling fowler? Hmm.... to get someone in to partner owen who can get a better percentage of goals than fowler surely! Fowler is a good player and does score some spectacular goals when given the chance. But who does Houllier put in his place? Heskey the muppet. Nuff said.

Liverpool are lacking a general midfielder to lead the line and take the game to opponents like McCallister used to do. Granted he was old but even someone as old as him can still do a motivating and controlling job in midfield and Houllier hasn't really replaced him since he left IMO.

Today Houllier puts Biscan on and takes Hypia off?! Again pure madness. At this rate Kevin Keegan will surpass Houllier in the tactics game. Something needs to change fast. I think getting a manager with a vision. A similar vision of the way football should be played like Wenger or Ferguson is a must, but that's too drastic to happen all of a sudden. That's why my Liverpool Premiership trophy is staying in my cabinet for at least another 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 nillis

I agree that not playing Litmanen was madness, he is absolutely world class. Scores and creates goals. If Smicer and Biscan can get a game why cant he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I only sae bits and peices of yesterdays game, but I have to say the Liverpool players did not look interested. For one of the Sunderland goals the ball was taken off Stephen Gerards toe, in a challenge Gerard would never have lost a few months ago. It was not just Gerard, Danyy Murphy, who got alot of flack recently, has been the only Liverpool player over the last three weeks with a genuine will to win matches as far as I can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

1 point from 18 makes me want to cry.
    GH needs to cop the **** on at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

stuff like this makes me wonder why i support footie at all when obviously the players on the pitch don't care - great save by kirkland from the peno in the one highlight from the whole day really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

one word says what is wrong with liverpool. "Creativity" we dont have any. All we play is the long ball to owen over the top and if the other team defends deep we dont know what to do about it.

transfer windows cant come quick enough.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well ye are feelin the exact same as we felt after the massives city game, the lack of heart was an embarrasment.

If ye do not raise yer game for next weekend then there is big trouble ahead

Originally posted by irishgeo

But GH wont buy anybody. He's a pansy in the transfer market, goes for 2 or 3 small, upcoming "FRENCH" players instead of spending a wad of cash on a skillfull influential player. We need experience and somebody who can turn the game around for the team. Leaving Hypia out was a disgrace and playing the long ball to Owen is turning out to be too predictable.

When will he ever get it right?

Bring back Redknapp and Litmannen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

i think houllier will go for broke this time around and definitely buy someone big in January he has to do something to change the team

anyway although it seems to be a massive disaster at the moment it is not really if they can win the remaining games of this year then they start the new year only 2 points off the gooners so still no time for panic or rash sackings of staff............

plus it is our away form that is realy losing it for us and the next 2 games are at home so hopefully we can 100% them

But he needs to change the now very predictable tactics which are basically - lie back and defend/intercept and punt it down the field to Owen. Its like there is no need for a midfield at all.

IMO a new striker of Henry's standard to play alongside Owen or Baros consistantly so they can get used to each other and play as a unit. Remember the famous RAF (Rush and Fowler) They played together always and learned from each other and became effective. He also needs to bring in a good attacking winger like Duff (or bring back Macca ;) )

Heskey is not effective anymore, Owen has a good day but he's no world class, all round player, Baros has showed signs he could make it at Liverpool but he doesn't enough first team football. Diouf can't seem to get used to GH's tactics, but maybe if we played a more attacking game he could play behind the front two. Like Scholes does with England. IMO he's at his best there and maybe Diouf could be too.

Here's my line-up:

GK: Dudek/Kirkland

RWB: Babbel
    CB:Henchoz
    CB:Hypia(cap)
    LWB: Risse

DEF MID: Hamman

RM: Gerrard
    ATTACKING MID: Diouf
    LM: A new winger

STR: Owen/Baros
    STR: A new striker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I have to agree that Liverpools problem of late has been that a poor run of form has exposed a lack of Craft/Guile in the midfield. Liverpool don't have a midfield who can carve a defence open with one or two passes on a regular basis.

When the Liverpool defence hit a bad run of form (the midfield are pretty culpible for this too) the team couldn't do what United or Arsenal will do. One or two bits of good skill in a game and you've got the goals to win or draw. On their day they can produce great football but when they are not on fire it's far too much of a struggle to dent the opposition defence.

As for Owen, he's made a hash of some really good chances of late and is really blowing hot and cold. Not the form of a world class player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

For the first time in this bad run Houllier has awknowledged
    that thier is a problem ('bout time!) I belive he'll change his
    approach to the game in so far as man management is concerned.

But its not his players that are ultimatly the problem its his own conservative tactical approach. Thats what will have to change or he'll be gone, players wont want to sign for a dull one-dimensional
    team.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Johnny Gomez

You shouldn't dismiss them, they're a good team and will stay a good team. And I'm saying this as a Man Utd fan, think about the position they were in only a few weeks ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

<Really typical and silly Man U supporter Remark>>Cause they suck </Really typical and silly Man U supporter Remark>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Liverpool don't have a midfield who can carve a defence open with one or two passes on a regular basis.
    Neither do Sunderland, Charlton or (Ahem) Man U but they all beat us. The problem goes deeper. For the last 2.5 seasons Liverpool have been reasonably lucky (FA Cup final, EUFA Cup final). Our luck has run out and we are being found out. I like Hyppia and Henchoz but neither will carry the ball out of defense like Cambell or even Blanc. Have they been told to hit it long are they not good enough on the ball. Smicer or Murphy or any midfielder we play will not take on players, instead they knock it back to where it came from, are they not good enough or have they been instructed??

I think the writing is on the wall for GH. I really think we should sell Owen and Heskey and buy some decent midfielders who can dribble the ball, score goals and get stuck in when needed(Bowyer, Viera, Parlour). Gerrard, Hamann and Murphy are good players but would you see any of them score a goal like McCann for Sunderland - No way Jose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Steven Gerrard has a big head now, and GH has got the defending so much they dont now how to attack

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I have one solution... Sack Gerard Houllier and bring back Roy Evans. :D

That should solve everyone's problems. :)

I think GH should cop himself on. He definately needs to sell Heskey to get him out of the way. Does GH think he has to play him so he sticks him on the wing where he is ineffective. We have two good strikers in Owen and Baros but we need another one that can play off the other. Oh ya and an attacking midfielder/winger could be useful.

Maybe Evans should be brought back:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

He had all bloody summer to sign Duff, he didn't, and now he's paying. Also saying stupid things in the press like "we don't need wingers" or "there were only 2 wingers in the world cup....".
    Ugh.

He really hasn't used the transfer market intellegently at all. I'm just wondering how many games on the trot Liverpool can go loosing under him....

I'm pretty sure I posted this a while ago, but it is rumoured that he's out at the end of the season with O'Leary in line for his job. Leeds played great football under him, and are tumbling down the table in his abscence...

yes we know ye have won the plastic cups
    Why did Utd. field the strongest team in years in the Worthy Cup last night??

I hate these sort of comments from TRS fans. Everyone knows that the CL and the Premiership are the main 2 competitions - thats why 'Pool are the most succesful team in England having won the CL 4 times and the league 18 times. FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

I hate these sort of comments from TRS fans. Everyone knows that the CL and the Premiership are the main 2 competitions - thats why 'Pool are the most succesful team in England having won the CL 4 times and the league 18 times. FFS.

I never knew the scousers won the Champions League! And when was the last time they won the league?

IMO they were never that good and are not serious title contenders. No team with Smicer, Heskey, Diouf, Cheyrou and Carragher will ever win the league.

United or Arsenal will win the title.

Diouf is not a bad player. It's just he can't play in the conditions that GH plays the team.

Who reckons the pool will pull it back tonight. EVen with Hamann out for two week i'm going for 2-1 to the pool, (I hope).

GH is said to be fieldingthe strongest team available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Originally posted by thegills
    Neither do Sunderland, Charlton or (Ahem) Man U ...

Yes cos neither veron nor beckham can give those amazing defence splitting passes. If you say Veron is **** u obviously havent watched him last couple of games. Its like someone else decided to wear his shirt ffs. Some great stuff from hi.
    GH is said to be fieldingthe strongest team available.

he's been needing to field the strongest team for quite a few games now. He shoulda been trying to stop the rot after the man u game. Not waiting till tonight to field his strongest when it might already be too late....we shall see tonight.

bucks 73, a few questions for you.

Q. Whats the difference between the CL and the old European Cup.
    A. You had to win the league to qualify for the EC and I don't think TRS won the league the year before they won the CL. You couldn't also win the European Cup after losing home and away to the same team (Bayern 1999)

Q. Whats the difference between the Premiership and the old first division
    A. None other that there were more teams making it harder to win

The point I was making is that you are wasting your time talking to a 'Pool fan about 'real' competitions considering they are the most succesful team in English History.

Regarding the mediocre players in the 'Pool team today, How do you reckon a team that contains 2x Nevilles, Veron, Fortune, Silvestre will win the league, look at their bench as well - Chadwick, Forlan, Stewart, Puck - who the f**k are these guys.

How do you reckon a team that contains 2x Nevilles, Veron, Fortune, Silvestre will win the league, look at their bench as well - Chadwick, Forlan, Stewart, Puck - who the f**k are these guys.

Says he who supports a team that contains the world know names of :

Abel Xavier
    Vladmir Smicer
    Emile Heskey
    El Hadji Diouf
    Veggard Heggem
    Pegguy Arphexad
    Alou Diarra
    Bruno Cheyrou
    Gregory Vignal
    Stephen Wright
    Igor Biscan
    Jamie Carragher

None of these would get near the reserves of a decent team never mind been included in their squads. Come to think of it have any of the "players" got single medal between them :rolleyes:

So face facts, scouse ain't going to win jack shi** again this year, even yer true supporters accept that the squad ye have is filled with crap players, so when your squad even contains 10% of the quality that we possess then come back and talk to us, good lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Theres nothing Wrong with Liverpool they have always been this Bad.

The Year they won the so called treble :rolleyes: ,they beat prob one of the worse teams ever to play in a european final (Alaves) and they beat them very luckily with an O.G In extra time.

In the worthington cup they beat the mighty Birmingham Luckily with another O.G in extra time.

In the F.A Cup Arsenal should have been 5-0 up by half time except for Arrogance woeful finishing etc,liverpool won with two lucky goals from who else Owen.

Some to sum it up Liverpool have not turned bad over night they were never good,they were lucky that year and this year their not.

Ps. Big mistake selling fowler and litmanen two of the most naturally gifted players Liverpool had.

Originally posted by thegills
    bucks 73, a few questions for you.

Q. Whats the difference between the CL and the old European Cup.
    A. You had to win the league to qualify for the EC and I don't think TRS won the league the year before they won the CL. You couldn't also win the European Cup after losing home and away to the same team (Bayern 1999)

Q. Whats the difference between the Premiership and the old first division
    A. None other that there were more teams making it harder to win

The point I was making is that you are wasting your time talking to a 'Pool fan about 'real' competitions considering they are the most succesful team in English History.

Regarding the mediocre players in the 'Pool team today, How do you reckon a team that contains 2x Nevilles, Veron, Fortune, Silvestre will win the league, look at their bench as well - Chadwick, Forlan, Stewart, Puck - who the f**k are these guys.

1) And I dont the scousers won the league last season to qualify this season but you werent complaining. Except when you couldnt beat Basel home or away. Also United drew both games with Bayern in the group stage and beat them in the final. Barca were the only team United did not beat that season in all competitions because the drew with them twice.

2) It certainly made it harder for the scousers to win it.

3) I dont know if that lot are good enough to win the league but it sure is good enough to win at anfield these days.

United or Arse for the title. Hopefully Houllier is kept on for another few years because its hilarious at the moment.

Firstly.
    Yop - I never claimed that 'Pool would win the CL or the League.
    It was bucks73 who said that Liverpool wouldn't win the league with certain players but he reckoned TRS would.
    I just pointed out that TRS have some ****tier players in their first 11 and on their bench at the best of times.
    If 'Pool are really that crap how have they beaten TRS 5 out of the last 6 meetings.

Regarding Yops list of crap 'Pool players, 7 out of the 12 are full internationals, I don't think Stewart, Puck and Chadwick are.

squad even contains 10% of the quality that we possess then come back and talk to us, good lad
    If TRS contain soooo much quality then how comes they have won SFA in the last 3 seasons.
    Don't come back with the 'plastic cups' b**lix after TRS have clearly made the Worthy Cup a priority this season. When TRS won the Cup Winners Cup in 1991 it wasn't a plastic cup then.

Don't talk about luck either as Bayern hit the woodwork 3 times in the CL final. That year TRS beat the mighty Widzew Lozt 2-0 (Agg), Bronby twice, narowly beat 2 Italian teams in a season when Italian football was at it's lowest in years and then fluked a win against Bayern. TRS won 6 out 13 CL games that year. There's no way you could have won the old European Cup playing like that.
    In the F.A Cup Arsenal should have been 5-0 up by half time except for Arrogance woeful finishing etc,liverpool won with two lucky goals from who else Owen
    The 2nd goal was one of the best FA cup goals of all time, are you sure you saw it??

For a scouse fan you are very up on United facts, shows that you are more worreied about what is going on with United than with the team u are meant to be following, sad if I may say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Firstly i hate Man u vs L'pool discussions almost as much as i hate comments like 'TRS'. That i think is the only reason im actually respondong here.

They have some ****tier players in the first 11? yet these ****tier players are 2nd in the table while the maybe not so ****ty players are still to come back into the squad.
    They beat 'TRS' on the last 5/6 games cos Man u were worse. I dont deny when my team is playing ****. I realise this happens and is possible unlike you, who seem to think L'pool walk on water even when they are 'digging through a world of ****'.

Stewart, 'Puck' and chadwick are youngsters. Not every player can be a michael owen, ryan giggs or wayne rooney. There are some destined for greatness while others have to work really hard for it.

They may be internationals but how many are regulars?
    7 of those players might be internationals but almost the whole of the man u squad has played at international level. All the defenders have played or are current internationals. From O'Shea - ferdinand - g neville.
    In midfield its the same story, veron, p neville, beckham, keane, scholes, giggs are all current internationals. (well maybe not keane ne more :p )
    Up front we have forlan, nistlebop, solskjaer, all of which are internationals.

Only people who in Man u's team who aint internationals are the youngsters (who afair have played u21) and david May.

They have won SFA in last 3 years cos they have played ****e. ( is it 3 yrs, didnt they win something in 2000? cant remember)
    They prioritized the CL and premiership and won nothing. Major **** up.
    Worthington Cup has been of a higher priority this year cos, as you said, we have won SFA in last 3 yrs, and its about time we won something cos we got a very good squad of players and the fans expect silver ware. Even if its of a plastic sort.

1991? is that the last time L'pool won a european cup? a cup that was scrapped a couple of years later? :p
    Sounds like the European version of the Plastic cups dont it? :rolleyes:
    Liverpools cupboards must be overflowing with plastic :p

Luck is part and parcel in football. Its stupid to blame it for a team winning or losing a cup. The teams you beat must have beaten others so....
    You say we beat ****e teams like Brondby, Widzew lozt and bad playing italians. Well at least we had the chance to play these teams. The teams were considered to be more worthy than Liverpool to compete in the CL.

6/13 games. Thats not too bad vs the best in europe at that time.
    They got the job done, played the matches, won when they needed too. Held out for a draw when needed and ended up winning it. I say fair play to Man u.

o and tbh i think ill start calling liverpool TBB - The Boring Bastards. They have a habit of putting me to sleep watching em lately. However then i'd be acting like a twat cos hating a club for who they are is bad hmm k. Grow up plz, you sound like my mates back when they were 14. (goes to everyone who does it tbh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by yop

Stephen Wright

Doesnt play for Liverpool they sold him. :rolleyes:

Heggem is/was a good player tbh, but he's been out of action for so long I dont see how he can ever play for us again.

MAk - He was actually a good player.

BkDR - Great points lad, not that thegills will take any of it on board

If TRS contain soooo much quality then how comes they have won SFA in the last 3 seasons.

Have you been asleep for three years?

United were champions in 1999-2000 and 2000-2001.
    If 'Pool are really that crap how have they beaten TRS 5 out of the last 6 meetings.

And how many titles did you go on to claim?

If you are going to start talking rubbish about United you should really get your facts right first. Juventus and Inter topped their groups in the CL that season and United beat them both without losing any of the four games.

Basel however were lucky to get past Celtic thanks to Henrik missing a peno at Celtic Park. They then went on to play the scousers off the pitch twice.

By the way I did say the scousers will not win the league. Can anyone not looking through red tinted glasses honestly say they are going to win it.

Guys, I was just defending my team as they were being slagged off about plastic cups and having 12 rubbish players on their books.
    For a scouse fan you are very up on United facts
    I would be equally knowlegeable on Arsenal, Spurs and other team facts.

I took the TRS name from Boards so there...I am only 14
    1991? is that the last time L'pool won a european cup
    No, remember the Quintuple in 2000, they won the EUFA Cup and the European Super Cup that year

unlike you, who seem to think L'pool walk on water even when they are 'digging through a world of ****'
    Again I re-iterate that I don't think 'Pool will win the PL this year as they aren't playing great. They need to change something drastic, not sure but on a par with GH going or selling Owen in January..I just don't think TRS are great shakes either, even if they have been 2nd in the league for the past 2 weeks.

I would be equally knowlegeable on Arsenal, Spurs and other team facts.

Ya ya ya, you are just run over with trying to find faults in United blaze of glory. If you are going around remember who the fuc we played and beat in 1999 or the same for other teams then you really want to get out more, 14 or not 14.

I took the TRS name from Boards so there...I am only 14

So if some colored guy walking down the street was called ****** by someone else, does that mean you are going to call him ******, "just cause someone else does".
    EUFA Cup

What, ye making up your own cups now!!

As the song says, "Your shi*e and you know you are"

Now run along to your mammy's tit

Eh, they have won two of the last three premierships. I would have thought a Liverpool fan would consider that a good haul for three seasons at this stage.

Fair point, I'm not the know-all I think I am
    Now run along to your mammy's tit
    There's one thing slagging of 'Pool and TRS but no need to get personal and talk about parents that way. Perhaps you need to get out more Yop.

Can nah take a joke now either, as for getting out! says he who is 14!! Cool

Yop my mother has had a partial masectomy. My younger brother had to be bottle fed as a result.

Such is life mate, get used to it
    no need to get personal and talk about parents

Kettle & pot :p

Cop on to yourself Yop

Waylander - this is a soccer board, personal issue forum is there for these issues

Originally posted by yop
    Waylander - this is a soccer board, personal issue forum is there for these issues

Jaysus you are nothing but a twat. You were the one that brought up the whole personal thing.

Anyway, after last night's win, Im confident of a win on Sunday at the derby. Just hope Didi is back soon.

C'mon the pool.

I know my way round the boards fine thanks yop, now stop being a pr*ck if you can help yourself.
    Can nah take a joke now either, as for getting out! says he who is 14!! Cool