Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I wanna see women running over people with cars

• 09-12-2002 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭

I am getting sick and tired of men running over people only on these new tv ads

where's the women???

[edit are women so damn innocent??? /edit]

I'm sure that there must be at least 1 accident caused by a women for every bloody 3 men

come on women, where your equality now?!?!?!?

[edit

also changed title from

I wanna see women running over people in cars

to

/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

Originally posted by Slydice
    I am getting sick and tired of men running over people only on these new tv ads

where's the women???

[edit are women so damn innocent??? /edit]

I'm sure that there must be at least 1 accident caused by a women for every bloody 3 men

come on women, where your equality now?!?!?!?

[edit

also changed title from

I wanna see women running over people in cars

to

/edit]

lol.

its a bit sexist alright but it is men that mostly cause the accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

yea, but it's like we're out to kill, and women and children die and thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

you can't get everything right. there will always be a party that doesn't agree with it. i head that renualt were pissed off because their cars were being used in some of the ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

SLOW DOWN BOYS

Thats the part that that pizzez me off. Couldnt it just be:

SLOW DOWN

It does put the pictuer out that lads are just show off killer mainiacs on the road.

However the though of women running over people in and not with cars is funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Originally posted by Grimes

However the though of women running over people in and not with cars is funny

I bet she could manage it. :D

Has anyone noticed a generally slow down in the traffic since the points system was put in, maybe instead of showing someone causing a death because they were driving recklessly they should show that person walking in the pissing rain because they lost their licence for speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

yea, but it's like we're out to kill, and women and children die and thats it.

Have to agree here, it is a tad unbalanced both on the driver/victim side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

i wanted to get a car last summer coz i coul'nt afford both the car and the insurance and thats why i completely agree with these ads, coz most accidents are caused by men aged 17-25 and its because of these muppets in their souped up civics or whatnots, doing burnoffs after stopping for a traffic light just coz theres someone, ANYONE watching them that i cant afford my insurance.

so as far as i can see these ads are spot on and as much as i think they are having very little effect i hope they dont change from there biast point of view.

sorry

ps, anyone who owns a civic that is'nt "da dogs bollox", sorry.;)

I'm not saying "boys" don't kill people on the road, I'd well believe we do...

all i'm sayin is that girls do too!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

women don't run people over
    they just give them a little tip which doesn't kill! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

Originally posted by Carbine
    and its because of these muppets in their souped up civics or whatnots, doing burnoffs after stopping for a traffic light

When has a burnoff caused an accedient???? or even any harm!!
    Besides being a waste of good rubber of course???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

It degrades the tyres, increasing stopping distance and increasing the risk of skidding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Young women dont personally cause car accidents-their looks do.It seems the majority of young Irish men crash because they are either pasing a pretty pedestrian(new ad) or are looking at the legs of their pretty blonde female passenger(the Norn Iron slow down boys ad).
    Beautiful women are a danger to the roads-even if they arent driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    women don't run people over they just give them a little tip which doesn't kill! :D
    No they just run red lights, turn without looking / indicating, reverse without looking, need I go on ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Qualm

Even though all those ads show men causing the accidents, they still have an affect on females too :P We are not unfeeling creatures and can as easily relate to a man in an add as a woman.
    I agree they are one sided and sexist, but they still work no matter what sex you are.

yea, but in some of the ads it's a Womans Voice
    slow down boys

just really annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Is it a sexy voice? If so then we're bound to listen..Cos if it was just some oul lad going: "ahh jaysus lads would yis ever slow down", I don't think it'd have the same impact somehow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

I see lots of wemon running ppl over in cars. Whats that you want to see it too?............GO OUTSIDE ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Pity these statistics involving us includes every car thief and runt who goes out joy-riding, not the everyday folks who want to go about their business like everyone else and thus giving us these pathetic commercials that are sexist and down right degrading imho!

It just makes us out to be complete idiots who love to do nothing more than put the foot down and I'm feckin sick of it. I don't even drive but if I want to because OTHER BLOKES/tossers/Scumbags/filth/criminals like to joyride etc it gives insurance companies a damn good excuse for us to pay premiums an oil sheik would gasp at ffs!

tbh where is the equality now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

The only reason the majority of the crashes are male is because they are trying to avoid hitting the bad woman drivers.

In a neanderthal part of our brain this woman is saying slow down and she will go to bed with us. If it was a man's voice he would be challenging us and we would reject the message.

Originally posted by Phreak
    you can't get everything right. there will always be a party that doesn't agree with it. i head that renualt were pissed off because their cars were being used in some of the ads.
    Gardai hold two after car hits Dublin cyclist
    Tuesday, 10th December, 2002

Two men arrested after the car they were travelling in hit a cyclist in south Dublin early this morning have had their detention extended. The cyclist is in St James's Hospital in a serious condition.

The two were detained after the Renault Megane they were in, which is believed to have been stolen, hit the cyclist on Davitt Road in Drimnagh at about 1 a.m. It was driven off and later found crashed a short distance away. The arrests were made in a follow-up search.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Renault are evil!

evil I Say!

Actually, on another point - I now flick off when I see any of these ads - tbh I think they're not going into overkill where people might avoid them more than anything else - I know I do. I don't even drive and I'm sick of them :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Those adds are prob probably funded ( i think they are) by insurance companies. Have you noticed that all the ladz are cool dudes, studs ect ect. Meaning that cool people drive fast to impress women so lets all do it!. Its the beast i tells ya. Drinve fast and get the hot bird on the corner even if you are driving a girly renault megann.

Thats My theory , DONT CRAP ON IT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Cheez

Those ad's are just sick
    Women flick over&lads just laugh at the fake yet realistic carnage
    why do they haveto use surrealistic bolix?

I mean they never try a positive ad campain first!
    so i agree with grimes its corporate manipulators
    at it again!!

Its 2 hide the fact that theres too many cars for our crap roads
    &that causes alot of accidents but cars sell so they'll sell them
    greedy fukwit skumbag arschlocks grr!

yea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

don't piss on something that might work. If it makes one person think, slow down, pay more attention or saves one life it gets my approval.

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    Actually, on another point - I now flick off when I see any of these ads
    Which means u know what is coming up and the message has got through. Work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

(year) 2000 driver deaths for 18-24 year olds

male: 50
    female: 5

couldn't find a statistic for how many male/female young drivers there are, but there would want to be a huge amount more young men driving to balance out the above. That is why you are being targeted/partonised/whatever.

www.nra.ie, find out how bad young male drivers really are.

rob
    (imparitial, in that I am a cyclist and hence hate the lot o ye ****ers :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Originally posted by D-Generate
    The only reason the majority of the crashes are male is because they are trying to avoid hitting the bad woman drivers.

hehe...

Actually I have seen women and men drivers in equal numbers acting like muppets on the road. Women are just as bad if not worse than men.. even at road rage!!
    Its just men seem to end up in the accident.. but the woman who may have caused it in the first place obliviously drives on without realising. I have been on the M50 and had women holding up the overtaking lane for no reason and then jam on the brakes with nothing in front of her for no reason i can see. That said the same can be said for men.

Its not women are bad drivers or young men are killers on the road.. its a case as a nation there are a LOT of bad driving habbits that cause accidents... the most obvious is ever fecker in this country almost has to slow down and stop when there is any sort of flashing light that could indicate and accident!!

There was a bad accident in a housing estate near me, no traffic but a woman in front of me... she actually stopped at the interesection to have a look... needless to say i beeped her off the road! I have been on the M50 stuck in traffic because of the same thing.. and worst of all its half the time on the other road in the other direction but still spanners are looking to see if someone got killed... even cops pulling someone over for speeding.. everyone slows down to 20mph to take a look are some retard getting a ticket... it drives me nuts! I dont care, why should everyone else?? I have been hit, stopped in traffic lights because these rejects look at an accident on another road and dont look where they are going!!

Twice i have been hit.. once by a man (idiot looking at accident) and another by a woman who was talking to her friend and did not see traffic grind to a halt!! (saw it in my rearview mirror and prayed she would stop.. goes to show.. There is no spoon.. i mean God!)

As for speeding? I dont see the pont in speeding on a motorway. Sometimes i would go over the limit in a 30mph road if its one of them clear open roads that are 30mph for no reason.. i will do under 40 though!! Apart from that i obey the speed limit and keep a good distance between me and the car in front.. im 23 and pay through the nose for insurance... Oh and incidently i drive a renault!!

Originally posted by Victor
    Which means u know what is coming up and the message has got through. Work done.

Can't speak for others, but for me it's just boredom.