Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O2 Text messages

• 05-12-2002 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else having trouble with o2 text messages. People are sendning me texts and they are arriving a week later (if they arrive at all!). It doesn't seem to matter whether the texts are sent via Vodafone, O2 or Meteor!

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭D-!

i had a prob with mind a while back ( im on vodafone though) but it was an actual problem with my fone i just got on to customer service and they cleared out the back log on my fone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Not as far as I know but I am getting advertising texts from O2 every once in a while which bugs the hell out of me seeing as I am paying for the service. I also got a phone call from a recorded message from O2 which really bugged me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

I also got a phone call from a recorded message from O2 which really bugged me.

I got that call to Gordon, it freaked me out!

Anyways I have mailed O2 support (who I have to say have always been very helpful in the past) so I guess I had better wait and see what happens.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Yep, having big problems here
    I am getting delivery reports everyday, from txts I sent last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Yeah, i been having the same problem. It's also taking about three attemps to send the message as well. A friend told me this was because people are using those radiation thingies, and that they are slowing up messages. I don't know why or how but friends with these things have verified that their messages are taking way longer to deliver.

Other than that have also got in contact with 02, and have yet to hear back, will keep ye posted though.

gogo;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Apparently there are problems with sending text messeges from O2 to Vodafone and vice versa... its been confirmed by a mate of mine that works with O2.. but as of yet they arent admitting it as no one really knows whats cause it... or so he's been told :rolleyes:

But if you are sending them within the same network they seem to work fine..

I certainly hope they sort it soon whatever it is, as can you imagine the backlog after xmas when all these new phones being given out for xmas pressies... :rolleyes:

But if you are sending them within the same network they seem to work fine..

I have had problems even when it's o2 to o2. Today I received message from a friend (on o2) that was sent on 20/11/02!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Originally posted by gogo
    Yeah, i been having the same problem. It's also taking about three attemps to send the message as well.

yip! same problem here. AND you get charged for those 3 attempts. gonna ring o2 soon and give them stick.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

funny that...

Im with O2 and i havent had any problems sending within the O2 network..

where are you guys based..??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

delighted to hear about this problem!
    Purely from a buisness perspective cause i'm getting grief of one our customers here at work saying they're not receiving and 086 traffic at all in the evenings in the last few days and services need to be restarted to get the backlog.
    can pass the buck now. marvelous :D

theres an article in todays Irish independent buisness section
    indo article

where are you guys based..??

I'm based in Dublin

Glad to see someone is happy about this Scruff! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭viking

Originally posted by Gordon
    Not as far as I know but I am getting advertising texts from O2 every once in a while which bugs the hell out of me seeing as I am paying for the service. I also got a phone call from a recorded message from O2 which really bugged me.
    Ring o2 on 1909 and ask to be taken off their mailing/texting lists.

I'm a contract customer and I don't expect to be spammed.

viking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

i'm on vodafone and i'm having problems sending messages to o2.

no problem sending messages to other vodafone numbers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

I'm with O2 and I've had problems receiving texts from vodafone too. However i've had no problems sending to vodafone, all messages are delivered straight away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by Gordon

My bro got that same call at 7.00AM last Sunday morning! LOL!
    And him nursing a severe hangover!
    Teach him.

about the slow msgs...it a common problem. I've had it happen for a few weeks and then..all grand again.

Course it's been almost 7 months since I actually bought credit so it's been a while since I've seen this problem.

vodafone...bahhh....sponsor utd...no 500 free web txts...no e-mail address with huge storage...pfft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

This happened to me. I received a txt last night that had been sent on the 2nd of Dec. Got it 4th of Dec.

How ghey. Pld o2, gg shots etc

This is the standard copy and paste reply I received this morning -

'Thank you for contacting O2 Customer Care by email

There is a current known issue with receiving delayed SMS from 087 users.
    This is a Vodafone issue that is being investigated by them at present.
    You should advise the 087 users to contact their service provider directly
    with regard to updates on this matter and a time frame on its resolution.

Kind Regards
    O2 Customer Care'

I replied with

'Dear O2,

Thank you for your prompt reply, I do appreciate it, however maybe I
    did not make myself clear? This is not a 'Vodafone Issue' This issue
    occurs whether the text message is sent from O2, Vodafone or Meteor,
    The network the sms is sent from is irrelevant.

Please investigate and advise ASAP.'

Ahhh your bog standard.

"Dear Sir/Madam,
    I didn't actually read your mail but I can tell you in all honesty that it is (whatever it is) not our fault. Go look to our major competitor and blame them until they tell you to come and blame us. We will then be confused for a lengthy period of time and "escalate" this to a higher level for another lengthy period of time.

And after all this time has passed winter will be over and the door to the 'sms' room will finally be unstuck due to thawing and we can reset the system.

Thanks for your custom etc etc blah blah

__insert multinational name here___"

Yeah, I've written one or two of them meself!

Me too, so I can't get too angry! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

My girlfriend is suffering the pain of the crappy o2 network aswell.
    I heard it on fm104 that there is a network configuration problem that happened when o2 was attempting to update the network. It only effects 087 messages being sent to o2 but not vise versa.

So in other words o2 < Vodafone

reD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

O2 are upgrading their network and refuse to admit it's their problem. Vodafone are of course complaining that they should have been notified of upgrades, which is, of course, bull.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

O2 in Britain changed their international text message price to 20p :(

A

O2's Human Reply

'As per our telephone conversation this morning, I have been in touch with the technical team to ensure that your account is provisioned correctly for recieving sms and i have been assured that there is no issue with your account set up and as a result you should not be experiencing such a delay.

However i have been advised that you do have your delivery reports turned on and this could cause a delay as delivery reports are not supported on the network. I would advise you to turn these reports off and possibly get another sim replacement if the problem persists.

Kind Regards

<name deleted>

02 Customer Care'

WTF!!! Delivery reports not supported on the o2 network???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Yep, havin text receiving/sending problems too for last week at least on O2.
    I received a text from me bro, also O2...and it was 3 days late!!!
    It wasn't important so I didnt care, but what if, hypothetically, me mate texted me to say Holly Valance was down the pub looking for me, and I didnt get the message, and she'd left crying her sexy little eyes out and gone back to Oz!!!
    Jebus, would I be pi$$ed off ... yes.

Originally posted by Kone
    O2's Human Reply
    So that'll be the generic

"Dear Sir/Madam/Feckwit,
    We have looked at your account and we are all sitting pointing at the screen saying that you shouldn't have a problem

We are now going to scratch our arse of the situation for a while while you do this - change something and then get a replacement and then change something else and call us back after we have scratched our arses for a few days."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Officially, no. They're free. And if they did say they supported them, and someone was having trouble with their delivery reports, they'd be on complaining to 02/Vodafone about something that they haven't paid for, and that aren't worth their while supporting........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

OMG Kone, I cant believe that response u got from O2...How the feck do they not support delivery reports on the network! Nobody ever mentioned this b4 to my knowledge, I have them turned on all the time...jebus whats the point if they're causing a bloody delay.
    If only Carslberg made phones...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I think Vodafone is general better and has far better customer care.

The only think bad I can find about Vodafone is the feckn online bill pay is all ways fecked when I try to use it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Haven't had any problems with the o2 network, does be slow sending to one person on the meteor network sometimes thats it, and meteor told that person it was a problem in her meteor account,

i been on all networks and find 02 to be the best all round network

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

i was having this problem for just about 12 days however last night it all seemed to clear and its working fine now yay,and in my experience 02 have much better customer service and are generally a better network

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

I've had this problem in the past
    I'm on vodafone previously on Esat(O2)
    and everytime it happens the company blames the other company in question.
    vicious circle.

and has anyone else noticed Vodafone increased the sending of texts to other countries to 0.25c without telling ANYONE!!!

quite a jump from the usual of 0.13c

needless to say i will be getting a new fone at Xmas
    but which company to go for ???

Guess what?

After a few days of complaining to O2, they sent me another test SMS and after that my problem disappeared!

Strange that!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

so they were only doing the old blame it on the delivery reports :)