Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Escape @ Temple Theatre

• 05-12-2002 12:01am
    Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭

www.templetheatre.ie

Advance Tickets from Ticketmaster nationwide - Time: 11:00pm
    Free Guestlist passes run in our comps section!(check other sticky)

Saturday Nights
    2 levels of music & Balcony VIP Bar
    Main Auditorium – International DJs plus residents Jay Pidgeon, Orbit, Ken Tobin
    Advance Tickets from Ticketmaster nationwide - Time: 11.00pm to 4am

April 12th Lisa Lashes
    April 19TH Back to Basics with Orbit/Ken Tobin
    April 25th Mike Push

April 12th
    APRIL 12TH - GET LASHED WITH....... LISA LASHES
    NO 1 FEMALE DJ IN THE WORLD
    SPECIAL EARLY OPENING 9.30PM ADVANCE TICKETS 25EUROS PLUS BF
    LISA LASHES.
    Lisa has been playing her own unique blend of tough Euro house to euphoric crowds for just over 4 years but has already established herself as one of the UK’s top crowd pullers. Lisa’s potent combination of jaw-dropping good looks and sublime Djing expertise have ensured a meteoric rise from her first gig sailing up the river Severn to a string of high profile residencies throughout the UK. Recently voted no.9 in the Mixmag poll of top 100 DJ’s and a guest presenter at the televised Dance Star 2000 Awards, Miss Lashes is taking the world by storm. For a girl already very much in demand we have seen her cement herself in the premier league of UK DJ’s.
    Resident at Sundissential (Birmingham, Leeds) and Hotdog (Nottingham),Slinky, Golden, Bubbleluv and many more. She is no stranger to overseas gig’s unleashing her expertise on crowds in Canada, China, Brazil, Australia, South Africa, Las Vegas and also her weekly residency in the summer in Ibiza. On her recent tour to South Africa Lisa had 12,000 Cape Town clubbers falling at her feet before blowing away the competition in front of 20,000 worshippers in Johannesburg. Put simply – the girl rock’s.
    Lisa is also working on the management side of things with her own company Lashed Artist management . She has also invested in a studio where she can produce her own Hard House tracks and has joined forces with Anne Savage to open Lashed Recordings. To date she has sold over 250,000 cds and records.
    Lisa has proved a natural performer with interviews on Rapture TV, MTV , BBC Radio 1, Galaxy , Kiss FM and is also a regular on Pete Tong’s usual suspect’s. All this media attention has seen Lisa emerge as a fashion icon and has seen her swamped with sponsorship deals from Virgin Clothing, Max Facto and Revlon to name but a few.
    Her ambition, drive and ultimately her talent have meant there are no limits to her success. Respected by all of the big name DJ’s ,Lisa has a lot to be proud of.
    Do not miss the first Dublin date with Lisa Lashes at temple theatre on Saturday the 12th of April. Support comes from the two Dublin hard dance Escape residents, Jay Pidgeon and Ken Tobin who will do there first ever main room Back to Back set, this will be an exclusive especially for the Dublin clubbers at Escape.
    In the crypt as always will be Tranceformation with B KEARNEY AND AL REDMOND , creating the vibe that is ONLY found in Dublins dance music Paradise THE CRYPT.
    website www.templetheatre.ie for further info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Originally posted by Lenny
    Dec 28th Judge Jules, Anne Savage
    Jay Pidgeon, Helix

geowan the me! :p

u gettin backhanders of guesties for all of the above work lenny? lol

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I was wonderin what name they were gona put you down as, then I saw Helix and I was liek
    "woooaaahhh, I know him :p"
    messin, well done on playin there, might emm... take a trip to see yea
    But none of my mates would go see jule or savage hehe,

And about the above work, check here :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72496

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 da_lyons_masta

fair play 2 ya helix keep up da good stuff

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Here lyonsy, you love that umek - gatex tune
    Helix has a good remix of that.. I'm sure he'll give a link,
    I'll give it to yea on cd tomorrow if he don't give yea the link :p

argh! the had to put me down as helix didnt they! lol, i stopped callin meself that 3 months ago! tis h3lx now, thatll just confuse people! lol ah well, who am i to complain? weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

lyonsy, i honestly cant for the life of me remember the link to gatex lol! ill have a root around me files, see if i have it saves as a text doc anywhere.

I was lookin around on me computer aswell, I was gona upload it
    can't see to find it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 da_lyons_masta

DONT WORRY ILL GET IT AGAIN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Ser

went to a london warehouse rave again for NYE, 32 different sound systems. in the main room was 'underground sound system' with a 27k rigg made with thunder ridge digital sound speakers. was banging, had about 2k people in that room.
    rave started NYE night, and today friday it is still going on with about 15 systems still there, will be about 25 systems by this weekend again.

it cost £5 to get in, and u get a stamp and can come back anytime u want.

musik there was, acid tekno, hardtek, tekno, dutch hardcore, oldskool (rave), nuskool (rave), hard house, trance, handbag, jungle, dnb, electro etc etc

i would never go to any club for NYE that is over crowded and over priced.

/peace

dam you Ser, it cost like €53 euro a ticket to see Jef Mills in the rb on NYE,
    €35 to see Dave Clarke in Tivlo too..
    The only decent place was Temple Theatre with €15 euro a go, but I wouldn't like hearing Hardhouse all NYE :(

Listings updated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Jan 17th T-Bone
    dammit, i was half thinking of using that as my dj name:rolleyes:

Listings updated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭D-!

wheres the compettion for the tidy boys this week?

can i have 2 passes please

C'mon its my bday today

Long time no feckin see D-! !!
    Were the hel have you been hidin?
    check this topic for info D-!
    here

i have been still lurkin! just not posted! i sent you a male for the tickets !!

so how r u

Dam lurkers,
    I want you, not a male :p

Winners will be notified By thur/fri by email or sms..

I bet you're the type who has invisable mode turned on an all :)

I'm in college an all that ****e now, in tallaght
    You signed up to CDC?
    I can barely even remember you from energy forum! :(

Listings updated.

i was on CDc beofre i was on energy yeh im there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭BeatTun

-

March 1st
    Marco V

-

ahem, cough cough :D:confused:

I know you're playing an all, but it wasn't in the listings that was sent me to.
    events in the crypt are usually put down 1 week before the date..
    But I'll change it now! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭BeatTun

March 1st

Helix
    Brian Tunstead

marco v

lol, I was gona put both your names but I could rememebr yours and wasn't arsed going checking up

March 8th

BBM DANCE AWARDS

Paul Van Dyk, CJ Bolland, Tom Stephan, Erol Alkan, Paul Masterson (Yomanda), John Power, Col Hamilton, Alan Simms, Phil Kieran, Chris Caul, Al Gibbs, Gleave Dobbin, Barry Dempsey & Dean Sherry, Mark Jackson, Jay Pidgeon and Orbit.
    These are the stars lined up to perform at this year’s BBm Dance Music Awards All-Ireland WeeKenDer, in association with WKD.
    The perfect surrounds of the Temple Theatre are the location for our first Ever-Southern awards ceremony, and headlining will be the one and only CJ Bolland. He’ll be joined by Mr Superchumbo, New Yorker Tom Stephan, as well as Phil Kieran and the Impulsive duo Barry Dempsey and Dean Sherry. Over in Room 2, Paul Masterson (aka. Yomanda) will be entertaining, alongside Temple Theatre stalwart Jay Pidgeon and DJ Orbit. 2FM jocks John Power and FM104’s Al Gibbs will host the awards ceremony at the Temple as well as playing an exclusive back-to- back DJ set in the Crypt.
    Funky drinks brand WKD are again our esteemed official sponsor for this year’s event, and Northern Brand Manager Graeme Murphy had this to say: "WKD are extremely proud and excited to be affiliated with the prestigious BBm Magazine awards for the second year running. This year’s awards have a top class line-up that will leave all you WKD revellers thirsty for more. This is going to be the most WKD night of the year." Also helping to make this year’s awards such a great event are our section sponsors Lee Jeans, who are supporting the Southern Category, and Coca Cola who are sponsoring the Northern section.
    TICKET AND EVENT INFORMATION
    TEMPLE THEATRE, DUBLIN, Saturday, March 8th
    Doors open 9pm til 3am. Tickets on sale now via Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.
    Tickets are on sale now via Ticketmaster priced 22.50 Euro (incl. booking fee.) also available on the door.
    CJ BOLAND

Although invariably associated with Belgium, CJ Bolland was, in fact, born in the U.K. - Yorkshire to be precise - in 1971. And it was England that provided his first musical influence. "it was when I was 2 and I fell in love with the Dr. Who theme tune. I just love the fat electronic sounds," says CJ. But the Bolland family moved to Antwerp, Belgium when CJ was 3, and it was the Belgian new wave and "body music" scenes that had the greatest impact on CJ's career. "in the '80s the Belgian underground scene revolved round new wave, electro and body music (Front 242, Neon Judgement, The Klinik), and I followed it religiously".

This love of electronic music was so strongly colour CJ's production career, which began in the mid '80's. His early efforts were aired on Belgium's Liasons Dangereuses radio show: "I was featured every week with my home demo tracks. We had chats on air with the public on the progress of the music. It was get; direct feedback and my music going out to thousands when I was a spotty Kid!!".

It was, however, when someone sent a tape to Ghent-based techno imprint R&S that things really started to happen for CJ. "Someone sent R&S a tape recorded from a radio show I did. They liked it and invited me to check out the R&S lab. The first day I was there I spent 32 house in the studio jamming with the big don himself, Renaat. The fact that I was not gonna leave without him kicking me out impressed him somewhat and he signed me up. The best day of my life!!!! The next five years were the most pleasurable and productive ones of my career".

The first release on R&S was "Do that Dance" in 1989 and the subsequent five years were certainly productive with CJ recording a string of singles such as The Project, Pulse, Sonic Solutino, Ravesignal, Space Opera, Schism and of course CJ Bolland. It was during this period that CJ recorded the best know records of his career, the turbo charged rave anthem "Horsepower" on '91's Ravesignal III' EP and '92's Fourth Sign' LP which included the hypnotic "Camargue" and the galloping "Night Breed". CJ was also djing regularly in the UK alongside some of the biggest names on the techno scene. "At the time I was so busy banging out tracks that I didn't look back. I knew by playing them out that they were liked and enjoyed on the dancefloor, naturally that feels pretty good and makes you want to work even harder. I was playing in the UK approximately three times a week and was very influenced by the UK's finest - Dave Angel, Cisco Ferierra, Luke Slater". Influenced he may have been but tracks like 'Horsepower' were to prove as influential as other benchmark early '90's R&S releases like Joey Beltram's Energy Flash, Human Resources 'Dominator', or Outlanders 'The Vamp'.

A second album for R&S was to follow - '95's Electronic Highway' - but by late 1994, CJ had already left R&S to sign an exclusive 5-Album deal with Internal / Polygram. The first of these LP's was '96's The Analogue Theatre' but it was a single from the same year that catapulted CJ into the stratosphere. That record was "SUGAR IS SWEETER" which reached number 1 in the US and number 11 in the UK, but CJ sees this as having a negative effect on his career "Things got really confusing when I left R&S Records, especially when I had a number one in the USA with 'Sugar is Sweeter'. It affected my career drastically and mostly in a negative way. The crossover potential had been made apparent and it became harder and harder for me to make the music I wanted because of record company pressure. I could have easily cashed in and made a few follow-ups but it went against all my feelings to do so. The result was that my following two albums never got released due to the lack of a crossover track. I spent nearly four years producing what I consider to be some of my best **** to date and it never got ****ing released. It almost destroyed me, but I wasn't gonna let that happen!!"

It is, however, during this time that CJ performed some of his most high profile re-mixes including reworks for Depeche Mode, MOBY, Acid house pioneers Phuture, Orbital, Sven Vath, The Prodigy’s 'No Good' and Tori Amos amongst others.

Differences with his record Company is what led CJ to set up his own label MOLE RECORDS: "I felt it was time I took a more hands on approach to what happens with my music. I got sick of hoping stuff would get released. Now I truly can be free in my music and can decide when and what goes out there," he says adding "The only thing I can be certain of is that it brings freedom and that freedom allows me to be creative again. It's that same frame of mind that the first five years at R&S allowed me to have when there were no trends or train to spot because we were still inventing them. Now I can start inventing all over again and don't have to answer to anybody".

Yomanda (Paul Masterson)

PAUL MASTERSON would have to be the Clark Kent of the dance music industry, with more aliases than any other DJ. Not only is he known for his powers of creating some of the biggest dance floor fillers around - including Three Top 10 hits and a total of 11 Top 30 hits- but for his production and remixing talents, for top acts such as KYLIE MINOGUE and GERI HALLIWELL

Paul Masterson, a.k.a YOMANDA, HI-GATE, SUSHI (The Earthshaker), CANDY GIRLS - the list is endless. Is there no stopping this man? Apparently not, with the recent launch of his label YOU CLASH, who's releases have caused a stir amongst the industry, Paul Masterson is in demand by just about everyone and respected and seen by many of his peers as 'King Of The Dancefloor Anthem'.

"Paul is one of the most talented and respected blokes in the industry. His production quality is second to none and his DJing never fails to explode a crowd"

Judge Jules

Born in Belfast, Ireland, Paul spent years trying to get a break into the industry but with not much luck he decided to come to London and try his success in the 'Big Smoke'.

For Paul it was the best move he ever made. A chance meeting with DJ Rachel Auburn, resulted in the formation of Euro dance outfit CANDY GIRLS, gaining a string of Top 10 successes in the national and dance charts with tracks such as, 'Fe Fi Fo Fum', 'Wham Bam' and 'I Want Candy' (No.1 in all the club charts).

After this success, Paul's remixing career began to rocket and alongside this he went on to form the internationally renowned, AMEN UK. The first Amen UK project, 'Passion' stormed the chart and became one of dance music's seminal moments. It's been 6 years since the release of 'Passion' but chart success looks positive again after receiving some of the ‘Mix Masterson’ magic in 2003.

Paul's most famous moniker would have to be the mighty YOMANDA, who's first release was 'Synth and Strings', which crashed into the national chart Top 10 and became a dancefloor anthem, spending two months on the Radio 1 'A' list and getting support from the likes of top jocks Pete Tong, Judge Jules and Dave Pearce.

After this small introduction to Paul's talents, Judge Jules teamed up with 'Mix Masterson', his new-found North London neighbour and penned 'Sunshine', which became the next Top 20 hit for Yomanda. Yomanda is going to ride the charts again with it's next release out on Paul’s You Clash records, 'Your Free', which uses one of the most recognised vocals from the 90’s, ‘Free’ by Ultra Nate.

The Masterson/Jules collaboration decided to further their production partnership and formed HI-GATE, aptly named after their neighbourhood area. Hi-gate was unstoppable from birth and the pairs debut single 'Pitchin (In Every Direction)' stormed to no. 6 in the national chart, followed by 'Caned and Unable', which made it to no.12 in the UK charts. Hi-Gate is finally set to release their debut album in April, 'Split Personality'. The album has taken 3 years to complete and will see Jules and Masterson working with several different genres and collaborating with some of the most talented vocalists in the business, such as BOY GEORGE and DIANE CHARLEMAGNE (Goldie - ‘Inner City Life’ and Moby).

Another project that Paul set up alongside Jules is CLOSET RECORDINGS, which at first was used as an outlet for all Jules/Masterson productions. Now the duo have decided to widen the scope of the label, taking up an A & R role, and actively looking for outside productions to release. The first such release comes from Holland and is a massive trance anthem, called ‘Can’t Believe It’ by Syntone

As a prolific remixer, Paul has bought his distinctive style to artists as diverse as Five, M People, and Kele Le Roc. Paul has worked his magic on all these artists and many more, giving them the invaluable added profile of a club chart smash hit prior to a commercial release. Also numerous dance artists including DJ Jean, Mario Piu, who's remix made it to number No. 5 in the chart with 'Communication' and DJ Jean and Lock 'n' Load, all have benefited from the Masterson midas touch.

As a DJ, Paul is in high demand both nationally and internationally. Japan was graced by his earthshaking presence just recently and there are plans for dates in Australia, United States and Spain. He has graced many a club with his unique brand of hard trance, including Progress in Derby, Freedom at Bagley’s, and graced the white shores of Ibiza at Privilege, Es Paradis, Dave Pearce’s Dance Anthems and Judge Jules' Judgment Sundays.

Paul’s personal highlight was playing live on Radio 1 in front of 35,000 people for the NYE celebrations in Glasgow. To crown these achievements, Paul was asked to mix the Ministry Of Sound album ‘Hard Energy’ alongside other Irish jock Fergie.

2003 look set to be Paul’s year of recognition. With the much awaited release of Hi-Gate’s debut album ‘Split Personality, Yomanda’s ‘Your Free’, the awakening and re-awakening of You Clash and Closet recordings and a constant demand for DJing sets from around the world, Paul is going to be the talk of the town.

Listings updated.
    Good Weekend Ahead :)

Listings updated

Listings updated.

Listings updated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Miss WKD

is the competition running for lisa lashes ????

oh by the way HI im new

Miss WKD, welcome to the board. have't seen you in a long time :)
    yes the comp is running everyweek for every event in TT on Saturdays,
    I hope you mailed cause I'm about to do the winners now!