Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

boston roommates??????

• 21-11-2002 10:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

people myself and my mate are heading to boston on the ole j1/j2 this summer and looking for room mates.

thing is im repeating third year and my exams are beign sat in febuary (heheh a sweet six months off before 4th year :D )
    so im heading over in the first week in may before my mate (and before the rest of ye j1-ers/j2-ers i might add) to sort out accomodation. since im heading over so early i figure i should be able to get a great selection since the rest of IRELAND wont be there for another 3 weeks lol

anyway im ranting.....to make a long story short we're looking for room mates 2/3...... men women boys girls couples we dont care!!! we just need room mates. Also my mate has a full licence and an international one soooo many road trips are on the books.

so if ye're interested drop me a line

talk to ye's
    :D :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I'm heading to the US on a J1 myself, with an olde school mate, for the summer.

We haven't yet decided whether we wanna go to NY or Boston, but if we decide on Boston I might well be getting back to ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭JessieG

nice one and btw nice qoute

Originally posted by JessieG
    nice one and btw nice qoute

Well. thanks very much for that compliment. I was actually gonna change that quote, but seeing that "someone" likes it I'll leave it awhile. I had planned on putting a quote from Shakespeare, but I'm now having second thoughts.

My application form for the J1 was only sent off on Fri. so we are really only in the planning stage of our journey. We now have added Chicago to the list (long story,.. don't ask).

keep this thread going and I'll get back to ya in the New Year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lemondrop

Well from past experience Chicago is brilliant!!!!! I went there last summer and i want to go back so much but this year it aint going to work....But you should absolutly keep chicago on the top of that list.........its a great city!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

A few of my mates did the J1 in chicago last year. I went over for a 3 week holiday, just for the craic and had a blast.

The only thing I would say about chicago, about working is to get down to navy pier as early as possible. The jobs are pretty crap, but they do hire people for the summer months. this is service industry type of employment though. a few of my mates where working in a ice cream shop, others where selling crap to tourists.

Originally posted by daveirl
    I'm probably going to Chicago this summer! Could you post up more information on your trip. Where did you live? What did you see? Rents? etc!

Well i lived in a one bedroom appartment between 3 of us but they had no problem with that. It was on N.Sheridan Rd. Near Beryn 'el' station on the red line (which is 24hrs). The rent was $700/mth which is average. You should go Northside, less gang activity and all. the Southside is prodomintly black ppl (nothing against blacks). The transport was so handy and loads of bus routes etc. You can go to agencies to help you find appartments and let you know gud/bad places. but one thing is DO NOT GO TO APPARTMENT PEOPLE!!!!!! They f**k you round big time and we wernt the only ones with problems with them. There is this place at Clark and Fullerton called Simply Sublets and Roommates. They are great and real helpful. No matter what agency you go to they will probably charge you a small fee. but its worth it!!!
    There is a gud Hostel in the downtown area called Hostelling International Chicago and cost about $32 and there is also one on Arlinton Place near 2500 N.Clarck St thats around the $23 mark.
    If you have ne more questions id be happy to help, like telling you places to work etc. I didnt do the Navy Pier type jobs. But you should deffinitely go there, i wish i could go over again........

thanks for that information lemondrop, Chicago sounds like a cool spot to head to.

Any further details ya may have please post here.

Also, if anyone has stories about being in Boston let us hear about it please!!!

sniff sniff no one wants to live with me in boston :(

Originally posted by JessieG
    sniff sniff no one wants to live with me in boston :(

Just keeping my opinions open honey. Don'y cry!!

I haven't yet decided where I wanna go to yet. My mate 1st wanted to head to NY, while I was pushing for Boston, now it seems that my mate wants to go to Chicago cos one of the girls he works with (who he fancies the arse off) is going there.

i wish we could just wake up some morning and say right we're going to this place and thats it.

I'm just paranoid that I'll get there and not get a job and have to come back after 2 or 3 weeks!

Hey don't look at it like that, be positive!!!
    PMA - Positive Mental Attitude.

I'm sure there are plenety of jobs, it might take a while, but searching for the job seems like the fun part to me.

I can't wait to go to the States.

A new scene, new people, new places, new job, etc... the list goes on.

And best of all think of all the freedom!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

I have heard nothing but bad things about the southside. Like a few lads went down there looking for a place to stay. got off the train, an old black guy was there and says something to the effect of get out of here irish guys or ye will end up dead.

replying to lemondrop. I used to get the "L" from sheridan most days when i was staying there. I was staying a few blocks up from southport. You ever in joy blue? that was a 2 minute walk avay from the flat. or did you ever go to deja vu down in lincoln?

Oh I know nothing about getting a flat in the city

im on the look out for accomodotaion seen some really nice place but some on average its about the same as living in dublin with the fact the the dollar and the euro arre now one in the same. but would love to find some place nice comfy and cheap wher ei could fit me and a load of ppl in more fun that way!

in the middle of xmas exams ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Originally posted by The_Bullman
    I have heard nothing but bad things about the southside. Like a few lads went down there looking for a place to stay. got off the train, an old black guy was there and says something to the effect of get out of here irish guys or ye will end up dead.

replying to lemondrop. I used to get the "L" from sheridan most days when i was staying there. I was staying a few blocks up from southport. You ever in joy blue? that was a 2 minute walk avay from the flat. or did you ever go to deja vu down in lincoln?

Oh I know nothing about getting a flat in the city

I lived in Deja Vu!!!!!!! Were you there the summer just gone??? Did you ever go to Alumni downtown on a on Thursday night??? $5 in and 50c a drink......can you go wrong. And have you ever heard of Joe's Sports Bar?? It was cool.
    God its such a small world.

I had heard that the Southside has more Irish Immigrants though and is cheaper. Were the jobs that hard to find.

Thanks for all your info so far, I'm looking for every scrap of info you have! I'm just paranoid that I'll get there and not get a job and have to come back after 2 or 3 weeks!

Dont worry about it.....i went over no job, no place to live.......its an adventure....Just the minute you get there start looking, dont wait around complaining bout jet lag just get motivated. I didnt move into my flat until the 12th June. i went with usit and when we arrived we had to get a taxi to the college for our place to stay and they wernt expecting us, so they gave us $40 and told us the "el" was 2 blocks north and there was a nice hostel downtown. Great organisation!!!!!!! To make matters worse we had been travelling about 24hrs b/c of the f**king AirLingus strikes....it was the last thing we needed. But heh think of it as the unexpected, its so much fun and if you're worried about not getting a job straight away take out a J1 loan and used it in an emergency!!
    But relax.