Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anybody playing Nokia Game 2002 ?

• 08-11-2002 6:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭

Let us know if anybodys playing NG 2002. Or did any of yis play last year? Coz I did and am doing it again coz I'm just that mad.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 spartic

Ye,

I signed up for it but aint too sure what the hell it is didn't play it last year, how about a quick explain of how to play

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

this is my first time playing too, an explanation would go well :)
    Got that weird phone call today too, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Played it the last two years and literally just missed out on a prize both times (last year by very few points - 5 or 10 or something)

Based on the whole "experience" being a little crappy and with other things to do this year (like studying), plus the screwup with the final last year (round ignored for scores) I'll not be participating this year.

Some good forums on the Net though (makes the whole thing a lot more fun TBH - at least you feel like less of an idiot) - www.ngforum.net, www.nokia-game.com (offline but good when it comes back) and www.nokiagameclues.com. And a few yahoo clubs.

Registration is closed I hear btw - the adverts say "till Nov 11" but apparently it stopped on Nov 7 so too late to join in if you haven't already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

Can someone explain what it is, as the ads tell you nothing :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

I'm up for my third year now. In 2000 I thought I'd finished the stupid snake-like game at the airport, but apparently the score hadn't registered, so I was out :(

Last year, I got to the end, but I was fairly fu<cked off by the server crashing during the final stage. The eejits hadn't prepared.

What's everyone registered as?

I'm dissident - my usual nick was taken, so I stuck in that - t'was the PJ song I was listening to at the time (Good job I wasn't listening to Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In A Small Town, wasn't it :D).

As for explaining how it works, it changes each year, so you're at no disadvantage. Plus you'll get loadsa info from those sites mentioned already.

Good luck all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

I tried to sign up but they said they where full and would i like to sign up for the game in 2003.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

well last year was a joke, got to the final, but as dun_do_bheal said, the bloody server crashed and totally messed up everything in the final game. total balls-up would be an understatement !

havent a clue whats going on this year, its all over the shop.

BUT with a bitta help from everyone we could maybe possibly do ok, coz it's easy to get to the latter stages but just when you thought it was safe to go back into the water ... ... ...
    "The square of the sum of the sides of an equilateral triangle are the same as the square of the hypotenuse...
    "That's a right-angled triangle you idiot..."
    D'oh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭mirv

Urf, I hope to win something this year, I'll probably put the effort in which most people coulnd't be bothered over :)

best Nokia Game site for info and stuff and things is...

www.ngforum.net

u need to register...takes 40 seconds

Aw 40 seconds...but i want it now

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

my anme is lenny_eire on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

Boards suck up enough time. So no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I signed up for it, but i don't have a clue how to play it! I couldn't find the "game" part of it? As asked before, can someone give a short explaination of it?

u'll get a kneemale about the game if u've signed up.
    if you need help when the game starts go to www.ngforum.net ...
    all the help you need will be posted there. and you'll need to keep visiting nokiagamedotcom of course

Can you inform me why _every_ nokiagame help site seems to be viciously paranoid about "clues"? They seem to try find clues in any and everything.

They do seem to go waaaay over the top some of them regarding clues :D I don't think any of the 'clues' came to much last year.

As for an explanation, well it usually ends up with you having to complete a game before a certain deadline. Usually the deadline is something like a couple of days. The games change every year, so there's no real advantage of having played previously, other than the fact that you probably know all the good sites to go to for help already.

Also, as it says on their website, they had a maximum number of players - one million - which has been reached. They didn't expect it to fill so that's why it's still got up about registering before November 11th.

have ye played nokia game yet today? its a total bag of yak faeces. what the jazes is going on and what the blazes are ye sposed to do? its nothin like last years game, at least that was mildly interest...oh wait that was pretty rubbsih too.
    and there doesnt seem to be much help going. well feck it, its a waste of bleedin valuable time ye could be spending watchin tv or shootin cats ... man i hate cats.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I signed up but fuctifino what's going on! They rang during work one day with a blocked number, so with mild interest to see who was ringing, I answered, only to find some stupid crap voice from NG on the other end. I obviously hung up! :D

Now I'm being pestered with txt messages and emails. All for just ONE scabby mobile fone!? Not worth the hassle IMO.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by mirv
    Can you inform me why _every_ nokiagame help site seems to be viciously paranoid about "clues"? They seem to try find clues in any and everything.

No idea, tbh. Having played the last two (but not this one) *all* real clues are advertised well in advance. They'll let you know through SMS, message or email what paper to read, what time to be listening to the radio and so on.

Well this year it doesn't seem to need clues. It's like a big 3d game of monopoly. I haven't gotten a single text yet, and I recieved the Nokia Game phonecall very late compared to others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Signed up for the laugh.

Got bombarded with spammy crap ... by email, by automated phone call, and by text. Got interrupted in meetings by the bloody things.

Realised it's all just for a flipping phone.

What a waste.

About to delete my NokiaGame account, tbh...

I've received about five e-mails, no texts and no phone calls..

So far it's looking like what you have to do is gain "experience" in twelve areas. To gain experience you have to buy (stocks? shares?) in a company, which you can sell. There are two companies in each area, which you can see if you log on and look at your portfolio. Your experience is measured in hours, and the hours are in proportion to how much you had to pay for the shares (higher costs, less time and vice versa). So if you have a company that requires 35 hours of experience, you buy it, hold it for 35 hours, and sell it. The prices will fluctuate from this afternoon (Tues 12th) according to supply and demand.

Also events will happen that will shape what happens in Music World. These events are already laid out on the site, and will be determined by the roll of some dice, which will take place in major cities across Europe live, with footage available on the Nokia Game site.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Originally posted by dun_do_bheal
    I've received about five e-mails, no texts and no phone calls..

So far it's looking like what you have to do is gain "experience" in twelve areas. To gain experience you have to buy (stocks? shares?) in a company, which you can sell. There are two companies in each area, which you can see if you log on and look at your portfolio. Your experience is measured in hours, and the hours are in proportion to how much you had to pay for the shares (higher costs, less time and vice versa). So if you have a company that requires 35 hours of experience, you buy it, hold it for 35 hours, and sell it. The prices will fluctuate from this afternoon (Tues 12th) according to supply and demand.

Also events will happen that will shape what happens in Music World. These events are already laid out on the site, and will be determined by the roll of some dice, which will take place in major cities across Europe live, with footage available on the Nokia Game site.

So basically, it's a pile of poo! :D

Originally posted by irishbyte
    So basically, it's a pile of poo! :D

lol - you could say that. Not as good as previous years, but it is proving interesting as a matter of fact. Anyway, it's more bout meeting people and having a bit of a craic - least for me anyway.