Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh No! More bouncers!

• 03-11-2002 1:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭

I went out tonight and nine of us decide to go to Club-M in Temple Bar. When we got to the door the bouncers (there were six of them dressed in big woolen rain-coats) asked us how many people were in our party.

We said nine, and they immediatly said "Sorry folks, you are not coming in."

I asked why and they said "The management reserves the right to refuse admission.". I left it at that.

Are they in their rights to turn us away without reason? People were getting in all night after us. We were all quite sober, in no way rowdy, and all very well turned out. We all had jeans/trousers, shoes and shirts/ jumpers.

We then went down to The Turk's Head. Two of us walked in passed the bouncer, I nodded and said 'Hello'. The two of us did not appear to be 'together'. The other three remaining from our nine followed behind us, and were told to go around the other side, where they were charging €5 in. They paid in and met up with us inside. We all sat near the window-sill inside the front door, and watched many other people stroll in free.

I spent three months in New York this summer. When a bouncer asks for ID in New York they say "I'm very sorry Sir, but I have to ask you for ID.". When you show ID you get in. Simple.

Why are the Irish doorstaff such cunts?
    What laws are there in place to protect the public?
    I will be writing the management of Club-M tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

there was a thing on prime time last week about this afaik.

i personally think that bouncers need to be regulated. i.e. you need to have a qualification to say you have passed basic trianing to be a bouncer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

I never noticed really when I was in Ireland that the bouncers are so bad until I moved to the UK and could compare the two, there's a world of difference. I've only been asked for ID once in the UK, and never been told I couldn't come in (apart from once before I was 18 :)) and I've never seen it happen to anyone in the group I was going in with either. This is compared to Ireland where I'm never sure if I'm going to be getting in somewhere or not because the door staff might decide they don't like the look of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

i am afraid they are totally within their rights to turn you away.
    You could try writing to the management but i dont expect you will get a reply or if you do it will be a standard-form response.
    "management refuse right of service,no discussion will be entered into"
    Basically your only recourse is to boycott the club,which seeing as they didnt want your custom in the first place may seem a moot point.

The US is a much more consumer orientated country,a club that offers poor customer service in new york isnt going to last long as there are plenty of alternatives.This is something UK clubs have finally cottoned on to,uber elitist superclubs are in serious financial trouble.Creme is closing after 10 years as clubbers find other venues.
    It hasnt always been this way in the UK. For a long time clubs could treat clubbers as a cash crop as demand outstripped supply.
    A few moody punters whoose whole plans for the weekend had been wrecked by overzealous door staff was neither here nor there as far as clubs were concerned.Finally the tables have been turned and as far as i am concerned it was not before time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Club M is a hole anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

A group of nine people always sets bouncers alarms off, just go into the place in smaller numbers. It always works then. They're just afraid of a large group of lads who if turned rowdy would make their jobs hell.

If one got stroppy with a bouncer you might all join in. The bouncers would easily be overpowered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Gotta agree with sico- who gives a **** , you were going to club m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Is it true that if a member of the travelling community is refused entry, they can sue the establishment under equality legislation.

I have seen little snippets in the newspapers over the last year.

If it is true, why can't we do the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

It is illegal to turn someone away because they are an itinerant.

However the legal loophole afaik is that if they give no reason they are within their rights to refuse admission.

As said above though - Club M is an utter hole, you should be sending the bouncers a Christmas card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

also, wasn't it made illegal to refuse people because of age(once they are over 18)

As far as i can remember mate of mine who was a bouncer was a little worried one night about this.

can anyone clarify this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Doormen are totally within their rights to turn you away. They don't have to give you a reason either AND they would be totally stupid to do as you could use it as evidence in case you decided to take legal proceedings against them or the establishment as a result of the encounter.

When I started socialiing I also used to have the 'anti-bouncer mentality' too but from doing various jobs over the years I've gotten to know and befriend several 'bouncers' and to a man they've all been decent people. They totally opened my mind to their situation.

I admit that there is a percentage of bad apples out there but if your frequently getting hassle off of bouncers then you'd be best served to take a good look at YOURSELF and the company you keep , not waste your time bitching about people who are just doing their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

There are a lot of Dodgy Bouncers around but most of them are only following orders.

If your bos says no big groups, no drunk idiots, no thugs and messers ..., then you'll be stopping them all night.

Its a simple matter of supply and demand. If a club fills the club to *cough* legal capacity before 12 pm every thursday, friday and saturday then they can afford to be complete bastards with the door policy. It does result in pissed off customers but they're profits are rarely affected. I never really have problems with door staff, but I do prefer to avoid certain establishments that treat customers (cattle ;) ) badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Take it

As far as i know with the new law bouncers MUST give you a reason for refusing you. Club m is a hole anyway and the bouncers always act the pricks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

bouncers CAN be pricks, but in fairness you should have realised at this stage that if you're in a big group they're gonna say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Some bouncers are really sound. But it all depends on whether or not you're stupid enough to go off to some tosh club where you're going to get trouble. I was a bouncer myself for a breif period of time. Best thing to do is make yourself known to the bouncers. Not so much become a regular, but make sure the they'll recognise you next time you pop round. I usually get into most clubs in Galway no hassle, and half the time the bouncers will know me.

Funny thing, over in London 2 years ago, I was out at this club, and I stuck the flute... Er, no. I was going to the toilet, and there was a queue (Strange for a mensroom, but that's London for you!) and I asked the bouncer there if he minded if I took a leek in the corner. He just shrugged at me. I peed, then went to the bar, no hassle. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by Clintons Cat

The US is a much more consumer orientated country,a club that offers poor customer service in new york isnt going to last long as there are plenty of alternatives.This is something UK clubs have finally cottoned on to,uber elitist superclubs are in serious financial trouble.Creme is closing after 10 years as clubbers find other venues.

This has already started happening in Dublin (on a small scale). Uber-clubs like "Coyote" spring to mind.

In fact, Coyote (as my example) has gone downhill fast. They don't charge in on the door any more (I went in on a sat. night) and is doing well if it gets half-full during the course of a weekend night.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Serves you right for being so stupid and actualy telling the bouncers that there were 9 people in your group,
    com'n now this is dublin, how ****ing thick can yea be, its a strugle to get 4 people into a place in a group, nevermind 9
    I hope you learn you lesson and split up in future,
    being honest has its conquences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

"Serves you right for being so stupid and actualy telling the bouncers that there were 9 people in your group."

Bouncers may not be the brightest sparks, but when nine of us approach the club on an empty street, the bouncers' counting skills usually overpower our lying skills.

<Me> Nine? Theres only one of us!
    <Bouncers> But I can see nine people.
    <Me> These aren't the droids you are looking for.

Originally posted by DeadBankClerk
    Bouncers may not be the brightest sparks....
    Ha! Like you can talk.
    but when nine of us approach the club on an empty street, they bouncers counting skills usually overpower our lying skills.

<Me> Nine? Theres only one of us!
    <Bouncers> But I can see nine people.
    <Me> These aren't the droids you are looking for.

This boy certainly isn't too bright , is he?

I don't suppose the idea of splitting up BEFORE you came into visual range ever entered your mind? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

yes, i agree with you completely DeadBankClerk, bouncers in Ireland are all cúnts, (me adds something else to my list of why Ireland is crap coutry to live in)

I cant understand how someone working as a bouncer could refuse someone entrance for no good reason, are they evil? stupid? both?

Originally posted by Pigman
    Ha! Like you can talk.

This boy certainly isn't too bright , is he?

I don't suppose the idea of splitting up BEFORE you came into visual range ever entered your mind? :rolleyes:

Jules: Describe what DeadBankClerk looks like!
    Pigman: What I..
    Jules: Say what again. Say what again! I dare ya, I double dare ya, you motherfucker! Say what one more goddamn time.
    Pigman: He's white..
    Jules: Go on!
    Pigman: He's bald!
    Jules: Does he look like a newbie?
    Pigman: What?
    *BLAM*
    Pigman: Aauuuh auh!
    Pigman: Noo!
    Jules: Then why are you trying to troll him like a newbie, Pigman?
    Pigman: I didn't..
    Jules: Yes you did. Yes you did, Pigman! You tried to troll him and DeadBankClerk don't like to get trolled by anybody else than Bubbles.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

group of nine and only six bouncers.. you should have trashed the place.

Bouncers dont have to give a reason for them refusing you or if you do demand a reason they will just say something like "full house".

I was in donegal at the weekend and written on a huge sign inside the door of a pub was "Strictly over 21's" which i thought was illegal nowadays. I said it to the bouncer on my way in and he said to look at the small print. At the bottom of the sign was written "Private members club" (even though it was a pub). Which is perfectly within the law afaik. If you ask for a membership card they will probably give you a cloakroom ticket or something.

Irish law - loopholes all over the gaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Pigman: What I..
    Jules: Say what again. Say what again! I dare ya, I double dare ya, you motherfucker! Say what one more goddamn time.
    Pigman: He's white..
    Jules: Go on!
    Pigman: He's bald!
    Pigman: What?
    *BLAM*
    Pigman: Aauuuh auh!
    Pigman: Noo!
    Jules: Then why are you trying to troll him like a newbie, Pigman?
    Pigman: I didn't..
    Jules: Yes you did. Yes you did, Pigman! You tried to troll him and DeadBankClerk don't like to get trolled by anybody else than Bubbles.

ROFL best laugh i've had all day :)

"Oh, Well allow ME to retort ....."

//

DEADBANKCLERK Ok now, tell me about Club M.

VINCENT What so you want to know?

DEADBANKCLERK Well they let anyone in there there, right?

VINCENT Yeah, they’ll let nearly anyone in but they won’t let a hundred percent of people in. I mean you can't just walk up to the door looking like a spanner with 8 of your mates in tow and then expect to get in. People like that are only supposed to drink in their home or certain designated places.

DEADBANKCLERK And those are called public parks?

VINCENT Yeah! But regarding Club M, it breaks down like this. It’s easy to get there, it's easy to keep on the bouncers good side and then it’s easy to get inside, It’s easy to buy a beer and it’s easy to drink it and if you’re the proprietor of Club M then it’s easy to sell it. It's easy to carry it which doesn't really matter 'cause by the time you get there you’ll be too pist to drink anyway. And. get a load of this. IF the bouncers stop you, it's ILLEGAL for them to kick the living snot out of you for being a whiney pleb. GBH is a right that the bouncers in Dublin don’t have

DEADBANKCLERK That did it, man -- I'm fcukin' goin', that's all there is to it.

VINCENT You'd dig it the most. But you know what the funniest thing about Club M is?

DEADBANKCLERK What?

VINCENT It’s that you wouldn’t get in. I mean you probably think you’re a lot like regular guys, but you’re a little different.

DEADBANKCLERK Example?

VINCENT Well, for example, regular guys on message boards don’t give a damn what other people think of them. They don’t have sleepless nights masturbating to pornography whilst worrying that someone thinks they’re a ‘newbie’. Do you know what they call ‘pornography’ in the real world?

DEADBANKCLERK They don’t call it ‘porn’?

VINCENT No, most regular people aren’t going blind from masturbation.

DEADBANKCLERK So what'd they call it then?

VINCENT Women

DEADBANKCLERK (repeating) ‘Women’? What do they call a newbie?

VINCENT Well a newbies a newbie, but they call them ‘socially inept twats’. You know what newbies like to put on their pants everytime they go to the toilet?

DEADBANKCLERK What?

VINCENT Urine.

DEADBANKCLERK Goddamn!

VINCENT It’s true, I’ve seen em do it. Too busy typin emails on their laptop to notice where they’re pissing. And I don't mean a little dribble on the crouch of their pants. They fcukin drown em with it.

DEADBANKCLERK Uuccch! Oh Damn, I did it again. :(

//

Moral of the story. I didn’t claim you were a newbie. I just implied that you were socially clueless.

Arguing, internet, special olympics.
    Top marks for originality however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

This happened to me as well in the Play House,

I went up one night Stone cold sober, I left from my house I was going up to meet friends and I was with my sister,

We walked up and they said " Sorry Not tonight" but they where letting my sister in,

This happen 3 times and I got pissed off,

My Uncle is a Cllr in Dublin (used to be the deputy Lord Mayor of Dublin), He phone the manager and told him he was bring the Club to court and suing them for Discrimination, which is a €5000 fine I believe, it might have gone up.
    And he nearly **** himself, about 5 minutes after that I got a phone call from the Manager Apologising to me,

Now I have no problems, and if I ever do I have the managers Mobile number that he gave me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I have gotten rejected from the play house many a times,
    What is discrimination if you're an irish person and you're white?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

A law pasted a while back that you cant be refused form a Bar or a Nite club with out a reason, i.e. Your not over 18/ Your to drunk/ you where fighting there before. stuff like that.

and this bouncer said " Sorry not tonight" i had no drink on me and i was polite. they cant refuse you for no reason,

I'm a Bar man i have been for 4 years, This Law was pasted because of the travelling community, they have rights like any other person and they where being refuse because they where travelers.

I find them to get to drunk and wreck the place, but we have to let them in until they give us reason not to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Unjaku

As in any other job, there are plenty of assholes working the door. What makes doorwork different from other jobs, however, is that to at least some extent it offers the opportunity for people to act out power fantasies and dish out violence, potentially getting away with it.

I have known many doormen, and have worked in the past on the door in a large pub/club mentioned in this thread. It's my experience that there are some very decent human beings doing the job. It's unfortunate that peoples anecdotes are always negative in regards to doormen, never positive. It's a thankless job.

That said, there's no doubt that there are people working on the door even as I type this who are absolute scumbags. I have known doormen who enjoyed hurting people, whether they were in the wrong or not, and would afterwards rationalise what had happened to make themselves look like the good guy.

So, are all doormen ****s?

Obviously not all of them. But there are certainly some doormen out there who are a bigger threat to the safety of the people they are supposed to look after than the people they keep out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Two words-power trip. All bouncers take at least one of these a day.

Most bouncing folk are decent, BUT there must be less than 4 of you going into the establishment at a time. Also, if even one of your party looks slightly pished, then its adios amigos.

But lamb a jazes, 9 of yis going in at once!!!
    An bhfuil tú mentalist ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭GerK

Originally posted by Space_Coyote
    Two words-power trip. All bouncers take at least one of these a day.

Most bouncing folk are decent, BUT there must be less than 4 of you going into the establishment at a time. Also, if even one of your party looks slightly pished, then its adios amigos.

But lamb a jazes, 9 of yis going in at once!!!
    An bhfuil tú mentalist ?

This bald man has no fresh ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

I get abuse from the ClubM bouncers when ever I even walk by ... I've never gone in to clubM and have no plans to ... but as a guy with long hair I've gotten a number of "comments" as I walk by... frankly they're all je rks. sort and simple ...