Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pike fishing competition ....

• 01-10-2002 3:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

12 to 5, this Sunday, Doon Lake (East Clare), prize giving and "refreshments" in 'Jack's Place', Kilkishen

Come along if your interested .... The 'refreshments' ;) are always good for a laugh afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭LastIrishMonkey

id fecking love too i cant tho im working all day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Nero

Well the fishing turned out sh*te anyway. Only five pike caught the largest being just over 3lbs. At least the day turned out nice so we just tossed out a couple of dead baits, sat back and took in some rays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Fisherman

There's a good one on this Sunday in Castle Connell near Limerick. It's an All-Ireland Pike Fishing Championship qualifier. They usually start at 12 noon and end at 5pm, but with the dark nights getting closer, it might start an hour earlier.

Tight lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Nero

Fisherman, is that on the river or is there a lake down there that I am not aware of. 12-5 shopuld be OK, we had no problems last w/e, the last boat was loaded by 6:15pm. I am fishing in the Clare inter-club on Lough Graney Sunday week, that is also 12-5, should be another good day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Fisherman

Hi Nero. There's no lake that I'm aware of either, the qualifier is held on the Shannon. I'm from Armagh and the lads usually drive down the night before and stay in B&B, unfortunately that's not an option this year, one of the lads is very very close to being a new dad, so it's going to be a quick jaunt. I haven't fished Castle Connell, myself, before, so I'm looking forward to new water, have heard some good reports too, but so far this summer the fishing hasn't been great.

Good luck in the, inter-club, the following week. That week we have a two-day comp. at Cootehill county Cavan (Sat & Sun), I foresee divorce proceedings starting soon. :D There's some good prizes on offer, €1000 + Trophy = First prize: €100 + Trophy = 8th prize. There's also pools for the two days. Both days will be Lake Shore fishing. Fishing 12-5

Just for your info, Nero, next months All-Ireland qualifier is being held on The Grand Canal at Pullagh, Co. Offaly on November 3rd.