Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most ridiculous prices...

• 26-09-2002 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭

What's the craziest prices you've heard? There's a bar/restaurant after opening here in Galway with some mad prices, €2.40 for a coffee, €11 for bangers and mash or a steak sandwich with 5 chips...

But the best of all, €1.00 for a pack of peanuts - there goes the old phrase ah sure it's peanuts, it's not peanuts any more!

John.
    --

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

christ 2.40 for a coffee . jesus thats expensive cant say i`ve ever eaten anywhere that dear. although i did think 5.80 for a sandwich and a club orange was daylight robbery.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Worst comparison----
    500ml Bottle of water-Costa Brava 10 cent
    500ml bottle of water in Dublin €2.10
    And we get more rain than Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭McGinty

Just read in the Independant that tourism is being affected due to the astrononimial prices here in Ireland, espically for hotel, eating and other such services. I believe that the service industry has gone mad by putting up there prices by huge amounts. At the rate they are going at, Ireland will price itself out of the tourism market.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is this really anything to do with the euro though? The way I see it, shops, pubs and landlords have been bumping up prices by tens of percentage points for each of the last six, seven years, to little or no protest, as Irish people hadn't quite come to terms with their new affluence. Now that the arse has come out of the economy and the pay-cheques are freezing, the regular price-hikes just start to seem as ludicrous as they've been all along.

Is there any official body devoted to the introduction of rent control in Ireland, at all at all? did nobody ever read about the horrors of absentee landlordism in their history books, cause youse are surely hearing about it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

It's not just happening in ireland. I was talking to my sister, who lives outside Frankfurt, and some vendors ( what they were selling , I can't remember) changed the price on a 1:1 ratio ie 5 marks -> 5 eu...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's a net cafe in a prime position in Dublin who charge 12c/minute for net access. In Croatia, I paid just less than 5c/minute for same......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I bought a Buffy the Vampire Slayer mouse mat there for roughly €15, somehow I seem to rembering buying a similar mouse mat (from the same line) for roughly £9 punts eight or nine months ago.

Edit: Yes Buffy the Vampire Slayer mouse mats are not only masculine, but cool.... QED.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

You guys are saying that thats expensive, ok me and 2 friends wen't 2 dublin last sunday to croker, now just listen, I had a pint of beer shandy, my mate had a pint of rock shandy, and his son had a bottle of lucozade, Guess how much it cost ??

€10.40 like for f**k sake,
    Now i really belive dublin is dear,

Regards netwhizkid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭DannyD

€1.00 for a donut in Cork.
    €0.20 for a box of matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

noone was more suprised than me to find typedef and i share the same taste in mousemats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by seamus
    There's a net cafe in a prime position in Dublin who charge 12c/minute for net access.

Normally I wouldn't say it but
    Dammit man, name and shame!

€7.20 an hour? Seriously, I want (nay - need!) to know where this place is.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Originally posted by Hellrazer
    Worst comparison----
    500ml Bottle of water-Costa Brava 10 cent
    500ml bottle of water in Dublin €2.10
    And we get more rain than Spain.

Was this in a restaurant in Dublin? We charge 1.50 Euro for the 500ml in the restaurant in Dublin, with a glass and served by a waitress. Though we did skip the annual price increase in case anyone accused us of using the Euro to rip anyone off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Heres one for ya, 12.50 for a jd and coke in the Foggy Dew in
    Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

most people don't even bother to check the prices of stuff. For example most people get €10 or €20 of petrol when they fill up. How many litres of peotrol they get they haven't a clue. Ask most motorists how much petrol is per litre and they won't know. Or ask them which petrol station is the cheapest to dearest and they won't know that either. Until consumers start examing the prices they are charged and going else where then the retailers won't be force to charge competitive prives. Look at Ryan Air and Aer Lingus. Now I'm not a fan of Ryan Air but they have forced all the other airlines to be more competitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Like pickarooney I don't view this as a € issue rather its about a fiscal envoirnment that has been developing
    for years as the good times rolled and ppl suddenly did'nt seem to mind what something/anything cost if they had the money, but now suddenly, its a currencies fault.

A good example of what I'm on about is in todays Sunday Times. Two book stores owned by the same company, one in central Dublin the other at Dublin Airport where it has a monopoly, guess which store sells its books at a 25% price premium?

Mike.

Originally posted by sceptre

Normally I wouldn't say it but
    Dammit man, name and shame!

€7.20 an hour? Seriously, I want (nay - need!) to know where this place is.

Forget the name of the place, but it's across the road from the back door of the International Bar. Called Cyber something-or-other.

The prices are actually something like:
    8am-12pm; 8c/min,
    12pm-8pm; 12c/min
    10c/min at all other times.

But seeing as most people would be in there between 12pm-8pm, I've always considered the price to be 12c/min.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Originally posted by Blade

Was this in a restaurant in Dublin? We charge 1.50 Euro for the 500ml in the restaurant in Dublin, with a glass and served by a waitress. Though we did skip the annual price increase in case anyone accused us of using the Euro to rip anyone off.

That price was paid in a shop on OConnell street in Dublin at 2.30 am on Saturday morning.I was half pissed at the time but still knew what I was charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

20fags €1 - Cyprus
    20fags €6.20? Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

24 bottles 330ml grolsch €10 Netherlands
    24 bottles 330ml grolsch €42 Ireland (Tesco).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Smoking is bad, mmmmkay?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Fags should be put up to €10 a pack and it might finally stop young wans and young fellas from taking it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Mike66

Good Quote from

McGinty:

" tourism is being affected due to the astrononimial prices here in Ireland, espically for hotel, eating and other such services. I believe that the service industry has gone mad by putting up there prices by huge amounts. At the rate they are going at, Ireland will price itself out of the tourism market "

It's not just that , the Irish management, programmers, electricians and pharmacists have all over-priced themselves.

Foreign investors are moving to Scotland, Canada, S.Africa NewZeland, HongKong ...

Where the evry same work and production can be done for a much smaller price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Yeah i agree we are being ripped off for pretty much everthing EXCEPT games!!!.Amazing i worked in a video GAME ( that still sounds weird 2 me ) store in dublin last christmas.In november lets say the average price for a PC game was 45-50 pound.well they are now 45-50 Yoyo's whitch i think is great ( but still 2 high ).thats probabbly the only thing that has gotten cheaper.I think the prices of ps2/GC/xbox games are totally crazy ( up to 70 yoyo's ) and thats evan shopping around.

COMBATCOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by McGinty
    Just read in the Independant that tourism is being affected due to the astrononimial prices here in Ireland, espically for hotel, eating and other such services. I believe that the service industry has gone mad by putting up there prices by huge amounts. At the rate they are going at, Ireland will price itself out of the tourism market.
    I would tend to agree. I just got back last week from a few days in France and it’s ridiculously cheaper. I’d have no difficulty getting a decent hotel room in Paris for €65 per night, while in Dublin the same room would probably set me back €95 per night.

Given this, it would be unfair to accuse restaurants of overcharging - within reason as I did get soup, a main course and coffee for €11 in La Rochelle last week. What drives the price up tends to be wine, which is grossly overtaxed here. However, I would have to admit that quality is poor here and it’s not unusual to get a main course in a restaurant that’s been microwaved.

I suspect any resturant owner would point you towards his/her public liability insurance premium and the cost
    of rents if in a city centre location.

Mike.

Originally posted by mike65
    I suspect any resturant owner would point you towards his/her public liability insurance premium and the cost
    of rents if in a city centre location.
    Perhaps a reason, but not an excuse, for shabby quality.

My comment was with respect of prices, certainly nothing (except having a bad day, which we all can have) can excuse poor service but ppl here are no-longer much willing to be polite and helpful beyond the bare minimum.

Mike.

Prices between Ireland and much of the continent for restaurants are generally comparable, I find - although as I admitted, while comparable, continental restaurants are slightly cheaper on the budget end of the scale.

What does bump up the price of a meal is generally alcohol, which is heavily taxed here. The issue of quality was probably off topic to the discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Originally posted by Wossack
    Heres one for ya, 12.50 for a jd and coke in the Foggy Dew in
    Dublin.

Jaysus! I paid that for a triple jd & coke in Galway last week... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

JD: €3.45
    Coke: €1.85

€12.20 where I work for a triple JD n coke.

€12.50 for a single JD n coke?!
    rofl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Originally posted by Kaimera
    JD: €3.45
    Coke: €1.85

€12.20 where I work for a triple JD n coke.

€12.50 for a single JD n coke?!
    rofl

[off-topic]Paid €3 for a can of coke in Venice. Was so shocked all I could do was laugh - and that wasn't that bad a price for out there. Probably wouldn't have noticed if it was still in Lira. [/off-topic]

[off-topic]You'll always get charged between a one and a quarter to four times the standard price if you sit in a bar in Italy - Why do you think there are always ppl standing up at the bar drinking their coffees when there's plenty free seating?[/off-topic]

Bar in the Westin, Westmoreland St., (very posh).

Pint Bud: €4.15
    Glass of Pino Griggio(sp?) white wine: €7.50

€7.50 for a glass of wine!!! You can buy an entire bottle of the stuff in Tesco for €8.........

I was over in Liverpool for the Chelsea game and drinking in the bars over there really gives you an indication of just how badly we are getting ripped off over here.

England:

Pint of Carlsberg - £1.80 (€2.91)
    Bottle of Smirnoff Ice - £2.49 (€4.03)

Total : €6.94

These prices were fairly standard in all the bars I was in.

Ireland:

Pint of Carlsgerg - €4.10
    Bottle of Smirnoff Ice - €4.40

Total: €8.50

Even with the difference between Sterling and Euro it is still a lot cheaper in England. It was more than just the price of drink that was cheaper. Food, Hotel room, Taxis(A lot cheaper).

No wonder the Tourist Industry is suffering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

when i was over in Paris last week i noticed

20 fags €3.60
    net access €1 for half an hour :eek:
    1 pint of Kronenberg was a whopping €12 in one place but a lot cheaper in others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    when i was over in Paris last week i noticed

1 pint of Kronenberg was a whopping €12 in one place but a lot cheaper in others

Drinking in bars in France is pretty expensive, especially Paris. The funny thing is you could go into a supermarket and get a tray of kronenberg for less than you paid for a pint in the bar.

Drinking in bars, as compared to home, anywhere on the continent is expensive - often more so than Dublin.

Of course, many of these countries don't have the same pub culture of binge drinking as we do, and so it's not a major issue. They're also more likely to drink at home (where it's a hell of a lot cheaper).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Not everywhere on the continent. It is much less in Spain, Portugal and Greece to name just three.

Paris is a bit silly though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭saik

60 euro for unreal 2003. laughing, not all the way to the bank :(

Yes Bars are Expensive, but that's at the discretion of the owners. People in Europe(and England) pay a lot less for beer and wine in the supermarkets then we do. All because the government are taxing it through the roof. Bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Exactly, in Ireland there is a low rate of personal tax and a very low rate of business tax (to encourage inwards investment), however there are stealth taxes introduced by the government on things like cars, alochol and such.

Added to this the inflationary pressures caused by the Euro's interest rate and the Price Hikes that some seem to be indulging in due to people not being used to the Euro added to which is an economic downturn and what you have is alot of people out of pocket and not particularly happy because of it.

As usual the government are quick to blame others, and slow to get up off of their Dial seats and do something to help.

Here's to champaigne socialists and 'economists in government' who insist on increasing government spending 20% year on year in a time of economic downturn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

saik obvsiouly i ment if u shop around you can still get games for 45-50 yoyo's. It looks like u diddent and payed the price ( no pun intended ) Game,hmv,virgin,are all a RIP-OFF i never buy ne thing from them.smyths have the cheapest games so far.So if ur 2 lazy to look around what more do you expect than paying up to 15 yoyo's more.

COMBATCOW :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Typedef
    Exactly, in Ireland there is a low rate of personal tax

There is???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Exactly, in Ireland there is a low rate of personal tax
    There is???
    There is. 20% standard + 42% higher income tax is quite low by international standards. To make up for it, we have the some of the highest indirect taxes (21% VAT, duties on alcohol/cigarettes) in the world.

Also, http://www.play.com have very good prices for games, DVDs and CDs, with free shipping. They're based in Jersey, which is outside the EU, so you don't have to pay VAT on your purchases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

bought a 650ml bottle of Lucozade Sport in Spar in Blackrock on the way into work this morning, cost €2.69. was in a state of shock handing over the money (also cause i had to head into to work much earlier than usual).

bloody rip off. i knew they were expensive there but i thought that seeing as how the 500ml bottle is €1.70 (expensive imo) it couldn't cost more than €2.

Originally posted by Meh
    There is. 20% standard + 42% higher income tax is quite low by international standards. To make up for it, we have the some of the highest indirect taxes (21% VAT, duties on alcohol/cigarettes) in the world.

The 42% 'higher income tax' kicks in at a very low level though. Isn't it about 18k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Originally posted by Tazz T
    The 42% 'higher income tax' kicks in at a very low level though. Isn't it about 18k?

No its €28k.
    if ye want to see a general guide to what kind of tax you should be paying check out here .

i found it quite accurate for my own circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Originally posted by The Corinthian
    [off-topic]You'll always get charged between a one and a quarter to four times the standard price if you sit in a bar in Italy - Why do you think there are always ppl standing up at the bar drinking their coffees when there's plenty free seating?[/off-topic]

[off-topic]I wasn't sitting. I bought a can and left the shop.[/off-topic]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by Scruff
    bought a 650ml bottle of Lucozade Sport in Spar in Blackrock on the way into work this morning, cost €2.69. was in a state of shock handing over the money (also cause i had to head into to work much earlier than usual).

bloody rip off. i knew they were expensive there but i thought that seeing as how the 500ml bottle is €1.70 (expensive imo) it couldn't cost more than €2.

TBH you are paying for the fancy bottle it comes in.
    My Spar it costs €2.49
    Spar in DCU it's €2.45

For less than a 1/3 more in quantity you pay an extra 50% or so.
    Scandalous.

It seems that when you buy drinks in the country, less is more. A bottle of beer will cost more than the same in a pint, yet if you go to an off license the bottles will be cheaper than the cans. Again, it is because the pubs/restaurants are ripping us off big time. They claim that their prices are so hign because of the wages they have to pay their staff. If this is the case then bottles shouls be cheaper then pints as there is more work involved in pulling a pint then taking the top off a bottle. A Bottle of Heineken in Spirit costs €5.15. If that's not a blatant rip off then I don't know what is.