Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being so Pale is annoying

• 12-09-2002 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am really pale, I am a bloke and I dread going out during the day in case people see how pale i am, sometimes i have blotchy skin too so I really wonder if people are staring at me.
    I don't see the sun much and I know I should and im too nervous to go to a tanning shop.
    anyone know any pills or vitamin supplements you can take to make your skin look a bit darker?
    any help would be appreciated, its really denting my self confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Hey. As far as I know, you can get tanning pills in the Tony Quinn shops around the place. There's one on the ground floor in Stephen's Green S.C., one in Jervis and there's one down a lane in Rathmines across from Music City/Centra. Don't know how expensive they are but I hope that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Nothing wrong with being pale, I find it quite attractive in a female actually. It seems such a shame to take pills to change your appearance like Michael Jackson. I recommend working on your shyness if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Go on into Chartbusters and Get Some Tanning Sessions.

I Used to work there and never gave a second thought about the People getting them (Male and Female Equally). I Even did a session of about 100 Minutes myself before I went away 2 Years ago and I Didn't Burn over there as a Result :)

All you Need to do is set up an Account, ID and Proof of Adddress Required (As with all Vid Shops).

Plus Besides, No-one Would Notice how pale you are because after all... We do Live in Ireland .. Hehe ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Nothing wrong with being pale skinned. I was in california for 2 months and i came back looking alive but definitely NOT tanned. ;p

If you're into computers it's a social bonus, but if you want to avoid being labeled as a nerd / goth then dress normally and avoid wearing lots of black.

Anyway, I've known loads of guys who look paler than a heroin addict in a dungeon and nobody pays any notice. So don't worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Theres absolutely nothing wrong with being pale.

I wouldn't really recommend spending too much time under a sunbed.

As for the blotchiness, its probably a mild case of some skin condition (Eczema, Psoriasis, etc ) . You could ask your doctor about the blotchiness. The blotchiness might even go away soon.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Have you always been pale? You could be anaemic in which case you'll need iron. If your very low on iron you risk a heart attack so don't ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Being pale bothered me more when I was a kid. Now I kind of like it. Have you ever heard of anyone being called 'tanned and interesting'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Use some oil before you go out. That makes you look tanned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Be pale and be happy you proberly won't die from skincancer in your 50s'/60s'. Also on your skin condition
    a visit to a chemist and a chat with a member of staff won't cost you anything but might steer you in the right direction.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

I can get freakisly pale when I've been out of the sun for a few months, but I tan fairly easily and pretty deeply.
    I used to have people in school call me a "Ni**er", I was so tanned... then during the winter I look like I fell out of the back of a herse!
    To match my ghostly white skin, I've got black circles, so I look almost like a junkie... which isn't a lot of fun when you have to pass through customs :)
    I put the time in this summer though, so I look a lot more like a living person.
    I don't see the sun much and I know I should and im too nervous to go to a tanning shop.
    How come you don't see the sun much? is it out of choice? or due to work or something?... just grab the next sunny day and sit out in it... there's sure to be some sunny days left in September, set the alarm clock and set aside some time.
    Why be nervous about going to a tanning shop though?
    Anyone that's in there will be a tanning fanatic anyway, I doubt they'd think you strange for doing what they do all the time.
    Maybe you could ask someone to come with you for moral support, it's always less scarey doing new things when you've got someone with you.

Anyway, this is Ireland, everyone is pale :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

pale skin is attractive. Tan isnt everything. Completely white is another thing and can easily be changed by just lying out your back in the sun for an hour or so regularly. If its just your face, get out when its sunny and do whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'Hey my freind had a bad case of sum skin thingy called Eczema or sumthing on his back and neck he started doing sun beds in chartbusters an like the guy up was saying THEY REALLY DONT CARE MALE OR FEMALE In Chartbusters. I mean we are in the age were men use hair straightners openly if you walk into a pharmacy youll find as much beauty products for men as you would for women gels,sprays,tinted moisturizers etc. Anyway he kept at them 2 a week up until now and his skin is fine the eczema may not have gone away (im not sure im no doctor) but shirtless you'd never no he had it.Also people to often associate SUN BEDS With SKIN CANCER Yes thats a risk but 2/3 a week is no harm and in sum cases sun beds can be good for you ! (My sisters a beautician) Incase you were getting freacked out. . .'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Better pale than orange OP. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

OP, I am very pale. In fact I sometimes I can hear people shriek 'oh bright light, my eyes, my eyes' when I wear a skirt. There is no doubt that it is a pain in the arse in the summer especially when you are away.

I use false tan sometimes at home but couldn't be bothered when I am away. I've had people stop and stare at me in hot countries but I've got used to it now. But I've also had people come up to me on holidays and be amazed at my 'beautiful' skin! So it takes all sorts.

I realised a few years ago that no amount of sunbathing was going to make me looked tanned so I now avoid sitting in the sun and therefore avoid the pain of sun burn. I also like to think that I won't look like a wrinkled up old leather handbag when I'm 50/60.

Re your blotchy skin; if it is really bad go to a dermatologist. Being pale means you are more likely to have very dry skin and other skin related problems. I use Eurecyin (sp), all good chemists stock it and I find it brilliant for stopping my skin drying out and getting blotchy.

DONT GO ON SUNBEDS. Would you stick your head in the oven when its switched on? Then why fry your skin on those things.
    Nemo O N'eil.. Also people to often associate SUN BEDS With SKIN CANCER Yes thats a risk but 2/3 a week is no harm and in sum cases sun beds can be good for you ! (My sisters a beautician) Incase you were getting freacked out. . .'
    This is complete BS. In very rare cases of ezcema, a doctor might recommend that you take a sun bed session but its highly unusual. SUNBEDS = CANCER. No tan is worth that. Irish people are so obsessed with tans that they will consciously risk their longterm health for a colour.

You are pale, accept it. Buy clothes in colours that suit you and stay away from white and black. You'd be amazed how choosing the right colours can give a healthy glow.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pale is fine so long as you're healthy. I agree with How Strange, personally would avoid sunbeds like the plague. 2 or 3 times a week I would definitely not be doing especially if you're as pale as you say or you have any moles. OK if you have eczema it can help in some cases(as previous poster said), but other than that and other skin conditions sunbed exposure is hardly healthy when compared to full spectrum sunlight.

There is an increased risk of skin cancer and uv light ages the skin. It's the single biggest cause of skin aging. Not so much an issue for blokes, but still, the amount of women I know that go on sunbeds thinking it's doing their skin good. No offense to Nemo's sister, but the crap some beauticians come out with you wouldn't believe(I went out with one and her and her mates came out with stuff that you would laugh out loud at).

I've seen the results of sunbed exposure further down the line...:eek: Why do you think black women(and men) age so well and have much fewer lines than very pale people? Built in sunblock that's why. Black don't crack as they say.

if you want to get some colour the old natural is best. Work up to it slowly. Basically get outdoors more often. Even in the winter there's enough UV to give you some colour and get your vitamin d boosted.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

OP, STAY AWAY FROM SUNBEDS!

I know three naturally very pale people with melanomas (skin cancer), and no I'm not a cancer nurse or a doctor, just a regular Irish person. One of those people used to sunbathe and use tanning oil when he was younger. The other two never sunbathed but got it anyway due to normal day-to-day out and about. PALE PEOPLE ARE NOT MEANT TO TAN!

Seriously OP, just buy some nice clothes in colours that flatter you (ask a friend/relative who dresses well themselves or a good shop assistant to help you choose). You'd be amazed at the difference colours can make.

Stop hiding yourself away. There are lots more of us out here who are very very pale and don't particularly care. If you saw some women with their make-up off you'd be shocked! Orange tan on body and ultra-white face! :eek: Their face is always so caked that the sun never gets near it. I know one girl who has veins visible on her face she's so pale from years of wearing heavy make-up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The thing you must remember about Sun beds is that used in moderation ( in my case for 4 minutes, 3 times a week ) they can make a difference not only to your outside apperence, but you feel and look healthier .The problem is a lot of people ,specially some young women go 5 or 6 days a week and go on for 8 ,10,12 minutes .....way to long and dangerous .I am your typical irish male skin typ ,but found using my method i gradualy get a nice brown (not black or orange ) tan .I also use moisturiser both before and after i go on the sun bed .

I'm very pale (female) and I don't see anything wrong with it
    like someone says, work on the shyness issue instead
    don't use sunbeds, it's silly
    people are too obsessed with looking orange these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'I'm a guy and I use sunbeds once a week. The way I see it I work in an office all day in a cloudy part of Ireland and its unnatural for my body not to be seeing this amount of light.

I don't look tanned at all, it just takes the edge off things, makes you feel better and can ward off SAD.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Hey I really reeally wouldnt reccomend going to a tanning shop If your pale skinned.From the sounds of It your someone who doesnt tan so sunbeds will have no effect on you,cept for giving you skin cancer. Also those tony quinn tan tablets are a waste of time and in fact quite dangerous to use.They work by stimulating menalin in your skin which if your pale you dont have any of and stimulating excess amounts of menalin might trigger skin cells to proliferate in your skin leading to cancer. Stay well away.

Really im sick of the whole tan thing going on in Ireland right now.The amount of insults you get when your paled skin its like you have a disease or something.Op dont beat yourself up about it.If it makes you feel better maybe use a tinted moisturiser,they look v.natural and will help give you a bit of a glow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Wibbs wrote:
    I've seen the results of sunbed exposure further down the line...:eek: Why do you think black women(and men) age so well and have much fewer lines than very pale people? Built in sunblock that's why. Black don't crack as they say.

Also true If you look at older spanish/italian/insert hot county here people.They always look very withered and wrinkly from their late fourties on. Older Irish people tend to age pretty well.My mother,doesnt tan,she's in her sixties and doesnt have a wrinkle on her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I appreaciate you're a bloke but when i'm taking a scope of the woman talent I much prefer a woman with pale skin than anything else. So just because cosmo is telling the women of the world to plaster on false tan doesn't mean for a second that being pale is a bad thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Dalfiatach

Irish people with tans look fake and silly. We're a naturally pale race. Pale skin FTW.

Sunbeds, fake tans and all that craic is just another moronic vacuous fad. Plus the sunbeds will wreck your skin, long-term, and especially if you are naturally very pale. Do you want your face to look like an old boot when you are 40?

Iron and Vitamin D supplements (and actually getting out into sunlight every once in a while) will sort you out over a couple of months. And by getting out in sunlight, I don't mean going sunbathing trying to cook yourself. Your skin isn't meant to be exposed to that kind of abuse. Go for an hours walk a few days a week, that's all you need to do - on days when it isn't very hot and the sun is splitting the heavens. Stay indoors on days like that or you'll burn. Otherwise, as long as it isn't raining, go for a walk. And the exercise will be good for you as well.

In 3 months time your skin will still be pale but it will be healthy looking. And there's nothing at all wrong with that.

tbh, I don't actually think your skin is the real problem here. It's just a conveniently obvious "hook" for you to hang deeper-seated self-esteem issues on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Jesus christ guys, did ye not fecking notice this is a thread from FIVE YEARS AGO!!??!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Dalfiatach

LOL. What numpty resurrected it?

*cyberslaps thon O'Neill fella*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Jesus christ guys, did ye not fecking notice this is a thread from FIVE YEARS AGO!!??!! :eek:

Only read the alt text, so no :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

oldposts.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Closed.