Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hoops future uncertain

• 04-08-2002 12:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

The future of Shamrock Rovers,Irelands most successfull football club remains uncertain tonight.The proposed staduim in Tallaght has hit the rocks with the club on the verge of bankrupcy according to informed sources.Owner joe colwell has admitted he is dry on funds and the rumour mill has it that the half buiit staduim in tallaght could be sold to a gaa side.After 15 in the wilderness since the destruction of glenmalure park by the kilcoyne brothers,this is the last news beleagured hoops fans want to hear.Unless a major investor is found soon,rovers are in deep trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

did the FAI and the government not give them about 3 million quid in the last budget/around budget time?

I was told by rovers fans who I know when I was home last the delay on the staduim was for the money and then for parts for the roof of the stand...

weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/club/ChairmansMsg0108.htm

"An article written by Mr Paul Lennon appeared in the Star Newspaper on 1st August, this article is not accurate and the figures mentioned are incorrect.

Proper and accurate information will be given at the Supporters Special Meeting on Wednesday 7th August 2002."

Still, no smoke without fire..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭buzzerbuckley

got a million from the fai and government.What you have to remember is that this was the first time the hoops got any grants,due to not been owners of a ground.As they only started issuing grants since 88,rovers had not received a penny up till then,while other clubs received numerous grants.Most of the money was owed to the builders.Its a sad state of affairs when an Dublin man buys a 3rd division english club for £4m sterling when the likes of rovers are on their knees.Colwell has done all he can but whats needed is someone with big money to finish the stadium and put money into what is a very mediocre team.Sadly its not christmas time yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Yerac

I'm no great fan of Rovers or anything but it is a sad state of affairs that things are taking so long for them, especially with the media so intent on covering the blight to Irish football that is Carlisle.

too true.whatever about desmond at celtic,courtney at carlisle pumping money into a dead duck is a farce.one thing Irish football can offer is a quick route to europe.£4m into any irish team & in a year or two they would be on the brink of scraping through to the first phase of the champions league.to add insult to injury,this geezer supports rovers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I think your figures a bit wrong there.
    Rovers have been giving a lot more that 1 million from the lotto and the FAI.
    (check lotto website for exact off lotto)

I feel sorry for Colwell he has done a good job but i think he wants out (he already quit ) and this is a way to get out.

Someone will either buy them or invest in them.

They wont go under.

Would be a sad loss to irish football if they did but i cant see it happening..

Kdja

£1 million punts, each from the two which makes around £2.6m euros.prob wont go under but will just be on a permanent life support machine unless big money is found fast.Which is worse?to many fans Rovers died in April 1987.

But isnt the main lack of funds not for the stadium but for the Leisure complex they want to build beside it??

kdja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

Altough as a pats fan I have to hate rovers for the good of the league I hope they get there stadium finished soon. we kicked there ass last night

no,no work has been done on the stadium for about nine months.Thomas davies gaa club are been linked with buying it.no money is available at present to finish off the stand and put down terracing nevermind anything else.Meeting tommorow night may provide some answers but if recent statements are to be the order of the day the meeting will pose more questions than answers....As for kicking ass one nil is hardly ass kicking is it?goal disallowed very dodgy and a possible penalty in the last minute.However the truth is Rovers are rubbish at the moment and have been since mcnamara sold off the title winning side in the rds.The title will be between pats and bohs this year with shels looking behind.Unless rovers improve dramatically ,we will be lucky to avoid a relegation dogfight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Informed sources have been saying that they have been spending stadium cheques on players' wages. This is inexcusable, especially given recent results. The new roof from Finland is a bit of a joke, as are many of the stories being spouted by Colwell.

3-2
    two derby defeats in a week, I think Rovers should be content to stay up this season and just put ALL resources into the stadium.
    All together now
    All the lads, you should have seen us coming,
    The fastest team in the land, the fastest team you'll ever see
    All the lads and lasses, all the homeless bast.ards
    Walking down the Milltown Road
    TO SEE A ROW OF HOUSES

nice going bateman.took you and yourè lot 14 years to realise that milltown or rather glenmalure park is now a row of houses not "a carpark".when did this realisation suddenly hit you?god quick thinkers in dalymount.regardless of what rovers do this season,i will be waiting with bated breath to see bohs win 15 titles and 24 fai cups.How many have bohs won again??we could smoke a camberwell carrot for the next twenty years and bohs would be lagging behind,bit like back to back titles.

ah,the old informed sources from a bohs hack,missed that.mmm at the meeting colwell announced he was resigning as chairman from oct 1st,to concentrate on this stadium.new man will be some geezer from tallaght town named tony maguire.never heard of him.Basically rovers need another £1.5 m to finish the stand & £3.5 to add restaurants,shop, bars etc.some mystery "GAA" supporter has already invested £1.1m and is considering investing another £3.5.supposedly if we are to believe colwell,he will may up his mind shortly.Either way it will be next season before rovers move to tallaght.After seeing the milltown & mcnamara fiascos firsthand,I smell a rat here.The old next year business doesnt wash with me.Could be wrong but my head tells me otherwise.Didnt realise that when Colwell was shafted out of the FAI a few weeks back that one man who was voted in was Louis Kilcoyne.The man who destroyed milltown and was caught selling black market tickets at italia 90,then forced to resign in disgrace from the FAI has now got himself back on the board via the sports council!this is a disgrace and every irish supporter should do their best to remove this man asap for the good of the game.Goes to show how corrupt irish soccer is.Only one man,colwell voted against him.a farce.

Ahh LOI abuse on Boards.ie ...

Me smiles :)

Now werz dem Shels fekkers......

kdja

Kdja you seem to have forgoten that shels dont have fans we will probably out number them again tonight

too true.even at rovers lowest ebb(not far from present)we still have more fans than shels.ucd on a good day arent far behind them.like all loi clubs,the idea of proper marketing must never enter òllie`s fat head.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Ciaran

Originally posted by buzzerbuckley
    the idea of proper marketing must never enter òllie`s fat head.......

As far as I can see, $hels seem to do a lot more in terms of marketing than most other teams. The friendlies against ManUre, $eltic, etc.; the Dreamteam stuff; all the other stuff the rest of us slag them about. It doesn't seem to do much good though.

mmm proper marketing in my book means trying to attract a few spectactors not mickey mouse friendlies.short term money is welcome but not the answer.

was at tolka twice in the past two weeks for pats v rovers and pats v shels which we both won. all the new stand seems to be used for is dressing rooms there wasnt a single person in it either day and both times pats fans had the larger support even though they were away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

So Shels are only interested in a short term quid or two. Well at the capacity game vs dream team, the club handed out applications to kids for free season tickets. Hows that for marketing? Add to this the fact that the club has had the lowest ticket prices of Shels, Pats or Rovers for the past 3 seasons in a row as well as charging reasonable prices for hot food and you might see how Shels are probably the richest club in Ireland today.

we still have more fans than shels

How may turned up to see the mighty Shamrock Rovers yesterday then Buckley? A pitiful 400, thats how many. And they couldn't even put away UCD.

Milltown has been houses for a long time now, I don't know where the confusion over carparks is, maybe its got something to do with Rovers fans who think that Dalymount is a carpark, as half of one side is, amd it pulls in 100 grand a year from employees of the Mater thank you very much.

The famous Rovers four in a row side shamed the triclour in Europe for years in a row, a fine claim to fame.

And Ireland's most successful club ever are Linfield. The protests at the Pats Rovers game were pathetic, one lad turning his flag upside down, but only after Rovers went one down.

As someone said below, Ollie Byrne and Shels are the masters of marketing, their Friday afternoon business lunches have hosted Alex Ferguson and Paul McGrath among others. Although thats what you get when you agree to be a Man United feeder club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Originally posted by Bateman
    As someone said below, Ollie Byrne and Shels are the masters of marketing, their Friday afternoon business lunches have hosted Alex Ferguson and Paul McGrath among others. Although thats what you get when you agree to be a Man United feeder club.

Well it worked for Leeds United.

feeder clubs are an exercise in futility as results in europe for loi clubs this year has proved.

as your name suggests you indeed are a gob****e.
    linfield have to my knowledge never won anything in the 26 counties.
    you indeed are a joke.like bohs your memory is disjointed.
    shamed the tricolour my arse?4oo,dont tink so.

up to last year it was a car park according to d bohs scum.expensive car park.you were probably never in it.
    shame you didnt mention how many titles bohs have won?fai cups?back to back leagues?

you wont win it this year either.come next year you and your like will go missing when you visit tallaght.cant wait.

go off and drool over jackie jameson and that bohs nearly team you clown.

you probably are that imbecile who comes on at half time in dalymount.great "entertainment".

bohs fans have never protested in their lives about anything.you were probably one of the skabs who passed the picket.it sums you up.bohs dont even have a loudspeaker for the away part of the ground,and when rovers score in dalymount the pa man losses his voice.

as your name suggests you indeed are a gob****e.
    linfield have to my knowledge never won anything in the 26 counties.
    You may be unaware of this but we live on an island called Ireland in which there is a football team called Linfield. Therefore what Bateman says is factually correct just like it is a fact to say Celtic are the first 'british' team to win the European cup whether you recognise Scotland as being particularily British or not. It appears all those years of wandering around the capital looking for a home has destroyed any sense of geography you have.

you indeed are a joke.like bohs your memory is disjointed.
    shamed the tricolour my arse?4oo,dont tink so.
    Sure you did! Why, didn't you lost embarrsingly 'at home' (lol) just this week and who can forget your impressive 7-0 defeat to 'mighty' Gornik Zabrze in 1994? Well done!

shame you didnt mention how many titles bohs have won?fai cups?back to back leagues?
    Still living in the past eh? I suppose that's all you Rovers fans have going for you for the past ten years or so. Well I'll tell you what, whilst the the top teams like Bohs , Shels and Pats are dividing the titles amongst themselves and striving to improve their HOME grounds (you still remember what a home ground is don't you?) you can close your eyes, pretend you're in Glenmalure Park where its still 1985 when people still gave a damn about how many trophies you have.
    you wont win it this year either.come next year you and your like will go missing when you visit tallaght.cant wait.
    We'll go missing because well have gotten lost from endless hours looking for some stadium that rumour had it had actually been built in the area.
    bohs fans have never protested in their lives about anything.you were probably one of the skabs who passed the picket.it sums you up.bohs dont even have a loudspeaker for the away part of the ground,and when rovers score in dalymount the pa man losses his voice.
    We don't need to protest.... we have a ground!! (and no dilusions of grandeur like you Homeless Huns). By the way 'that guy' hasn't lost his voice, he's simply collapsed with the shock of seeing Rovers score a goal against someone!!

Dya know, I'm all for supporting every member of the EL at their moment of need but listening to morons like you sometimes make me wish that Rovers and their pipedreams would go just there ... right down the tubes.

Oh yeah .... 3-2.

lowest ticket prices of Shels, Pats or Rovers for the past 3 seasons

Hmm methinks you dont go to Tolka often ,lucky i have a labour card :)
    Otherwise it be €12 in :(

hehhe We robbed Shels last night ...LOL
    Kdja

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Whatever respect i once had for Bateman disapeared when i saw his sig.

Classy, really classy.

Nice to see you supporting your precious league of ireland in your sig too. Nothing like a hypocrite to get your morning started.

I agree with the threadstarter when he said that rovers effectivly died when they moved from milltown. I went to one match in the rds after that and didnt bother when they moved again. sigh, oh well.

no my sense of geography is correct.If celtis play in a british league,then so do linfield.

They also play in a sectarian state where 90% of nationalist boycott their league in favour ofgaa.They also burnt the team bus of a rival,forcing them out of the league.To say a team that plays only in the 6 counties,is more successfull than a team in the 26 counties and a different uefa region is a distortioned of the truth.If you play in your back garden are you the most sucessfull?

well considering it was bohs first home league win over rovers for 6.5 years,he must lose his voice more often.

As rovers have supplied the most international players to Ireland(not northern Ireland bohs are again left trailing behind.How many league titlea and Fai cups have bohs won?lost your voice again?

at least rovers qualified for the uefa cup,bohs couldnt even reach the inter toto cup!

yeah its hard to win back to back titles?
    dont waste your words they dont mean anything to me you dick head.

no my sense of geography is correct.If celtis play in a british league,then so do linfield.
    They also play in a sectarian state where 90% of nationalist boycott their league in favour ofgaa.They also burnt the team bus of a rival,forcing them out of the league.To say a team that plays only in the 6 counties,is more successfull than a team in the 26 counties and a different uefa region is a distortioned of the truth.If you play in your back garden are you the most sucessfull?
    Wrong again. Northern Ireland is part of the 'United Kingdom' not 'Great Britain'. There's a difference. Anyway I don't give a **** about Linfield and I'm certainly not going to defend them! But it doesn't take away from the FACT that they play in Ireland. Get over it!
    well considering it was bohs first home league win over rovers for 6.5 years,he must lose his voice more often.
    Still living in the past? You can have your 6.5 years (OF what is just HISTORY now - wow you use that a lot!) and I'll have my moment slagging you.
    As rovers have supplied the most international players to Ireland(not northern Ireland bohs are again left trailing behind.How many league titlea and Fai cups have bohs won?lost your voice again?
    Once again you're living in the past. No Shamrock Rovers player has lined out for Ireland since 1986 so your comment has no relevance.
    at least rovers qualified for the uefa cup,bohs couldnt even reach the inter toto cup!
    Wow isn't that amazing of you! At least when Bohs qualify we make somewhat of an impact by , oh I don't know, WINNING SOME MATCHES! Since you're so good at the whole history tell me please the last time Rovers won a tie (or even a match?) in Europe? :p
    yeah its hard to win back to back titles?
    dont waste your words they dont mean anything to me you dick head.
    Sure they do, otherwise you wouldn't have even given me the satisfaction of knowing I've annoyed you enough for you to bother calling me a dickhead.

yeah the last time they were in europe rovers beat altan.s. in the inter toto cup 3-2 at tolka park 4 years ago.

you gob****e.the offical title if you want to be so trivial is "the united kingdom of great britian & northern Ireland".worm your way out of that one if you can.

so what if it was 86?everything is in the past,This message will be read by you after i`ve wrote it "in the past".get over it.

the question remains unanswered:how many leagues and Fai c

ups have bohs won??????we all would like to hear.

I see that rovers have won 8 games in europe,while bohs have mustered up 5.Hardly breath taking stuff is it?
    since you dont like delving into the past lets skip the thrashing bohs got by the likes of dynamo dresden,s,bucharest,bordeaux etc and focus on two 5 nil defeats by Ferencvaos(30-7-97) and Norrkoping(16-7-95).if rovers are shaming the tricolour as you so gladly speak,then they are not alone are they?we`re hardly talking about a Liverpool fc style european record are we?

yeah the last time they were in europe rovers beat altan.s. in the inter toto cup 3-2 at tolka park 4 years ago.

Congratulations on winning a game four years ago against Atlan.s (whoever they are?)! You must be very proud. Where as in the meantime Bohs have had to settle with winning 3 matches including wins against Aberdeen and Kaiserlautern (ie teams somebody out there might have actually heard of!)
    you gob****e.the offical title if you want to be so trivial is "the united kingdom of great britian & northern Ireland".worm your way out of that one if you can.

Man, if you weren't a Rovers fan I'd belive you were a troll but since you've admitted your allegiance to the HomelessHuns I can readily accept that your projected level of stupidity is in fact not just an act.

Lets see where we are will we? You make a claim that Northern Ireland is part of Britain. I refute it accepting it's part of the UK but not of Britain. You come along with some long winded encycolopediac fact that it's official title is 'The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland'. Yes, ok with that?

Well fair play to you, you've outwitted me you intellectual giant. I bow to your superior knowledge and insight! Um ... that is except for one small thing ... if Northern Ireland is part of Great Britain then why is it called 'The United Kingdom of Great Britain AND Northern Ireland' as opposed to 'The United Kingdom of Great Britain and nothing else'? Think about it fu.ckwit! You've just proven my point with your pathetic slow-witted excuse for a mind.
    so what if it was 86?everything is in the past,This message will be read by you after i`ve wrote it "in the past".get over it.
    Wrong! everything is in the NOW. The past doesn't exist and the future hasn't been written so I'd rather be good at something now than spend my life living off past glories .... something which most of you Hoops losers seem to make a profession out of.
    the question remains unanswered:how many leagues and Fai c
    ups have bohs won??????we all would like to hear.

I'm physically laughing now at how stupid you are. I can say without reservation that you are the dumbest person I've ever read on boards.ie (and believe me you have competition). Go now , and polish your 1,000's of dusty old trophies whilst wondering if another one will ever come your way (ie a coherent thought rather than another trophy.)

no past eh?thats a new one.er bohs didnt win 3 matches against those teams did they?tolka park at home to Aberdeen?get your facts right.

seems you cant answer a simple question.bohs are even trailing way behind the likes of dundalk.
    I rest my case.

I see that rovers have won 8 games in europe,while bohs have mustered up 5.Hardly breath taking stuff is it?
    since you dont like delving into the past lets skip the thrashing bohs got by the likes of dynamo dresden,s,bucharest,bordeaux etc and focus on two 5 nil defeats by Ferencvaos(30-7-97) and Norrkoping(16-7-95).if rovers are shaming the tricolour as you so gladly speak,then they are not alone are they?we`re hardly talking about a Liverpool fc style european record are we?

What's your point? If (as you say) Shamrock rovers are so much more successful than Bohs then they will logically have had many more chances to compete at European level. If, for all those extra opportunities, you have really only mustered 3 more victories than Bohs then it shows once again how badly you've represented this county in Europe.

Oh and btw of all those matches you mentioned none were 7-0. :p

no past eh?thats a new one.er bohs didnt win 3 matches against those teams did they?tolka park at home to Aberdeen?get your facts right.

seems you cant answer a simple question.bohs are even trailing way behind the likes of dundalk.
    I rest my case.

You're the one who brought history into it. I am just showing that whilst you are wallowing in your 'history' the rest of us are getting on with trying bring honour and credit to the league. I personally am more interested in discussing Bohs good chances of winning the league this year than boring people about wins in Europe in the past , it's just a pity you can't be the same.

the point is the whole league`s record is crap.norkooping and co. are hardly world renowned names either?

well,then start a new thread discussing bohs title chances,instead of been obsessed with a hoops thread.

Any word on Rovers getting their Sauna Swimming pool etc ....oh and a football ground???

Kdja

the point is the whole league`s record is crap.norkooping and co. are hardly world renowned names either?
    I know, thats why I pointed out Bohs performances in Europe during 2000 & 2001 were as close to consistant as anything I've ever seen by a LOI club since I started taking an interest 12 years ago. So you can keep your 24 rusty old cups or whatever whilst I look forward to Bohs getting back into Europe and pushing a few more teams to the limit (an opportunity that has clearly been wasted on your lot judging by Wednesdays result.)
    well,then start a new thread discussing bohs title chances,instead of been obsessed with a hoops thread.

I would, but since its a foregone conclusion that we're going to win it there wouldn't be much of a debate.

go ahead then start the thread.
    im sure pats dont think its a forgone conclusion,after all arent they the only side with a 100% record?

seems like mcd might buy a stake in the club,and finish off the project.

im sure pats dont think its a forgone conclusion,after all arent they the only side with a 100% record?

Give me points on the table over games in hand any day. Pick up a paper tommorow and a have a good cold luck at whose top of the table and that tell you all you need to know.

well, the rate fat dolans side are going 2 games in hand =6 points.you have got to hand it to him though.he picks great players up from nowhere.

next friday,should tell a lot....
    im off to "dust down those throphies"

Yah pats doing ok not playing great but grinding out results.
    Looking forward to friday but not sure if Pats defence will cope with Bohs attack any we shall see.

Btw
    im off to "dust down those throphies

didnt know pawn shops let you do that ......

kdja

Amazing how little it takes to wind up the Hoops, they are truly the Man Utd of Ireland.

The lad who used to come on at half time at Dalymount no longer does so, so I wouldn't like to guess when the last time buckley went to a game at Dalymount was, or any Rovers game for that matter.

Rovers have a glorious past, but NO FUTURE. Unlike Bohs, whose crowds are on the increase, and play Cork City in another top of the table clash in our own ground this Friday. We're getting used to these top of the table clashes. Never mind , Rovers. We'll keep beating UCD to bail you out of relegation.

actaully "the lad" was on the pitch at the rovers match at dalymount a few weeks ago.

ask him yourself,thats if you can get a response.

As for the man u,rovers are more like liverpool.mosy successful club in the league.dundalk are probably the man u,with shels the arsenal,pats leeds.as the fifth most succesfull club,my guess is boha are the aston villa.one title in the last 25 years!