Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating or whatever

• 14-06-2002 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭

It seems Geo and Cast worked together to pick up on the big bounty I put on Cast's head. Geo has since self destructed just after messaging me in the game asking me how I could destroy his planets with a fairly small ship. Seems tho I cant access IRC and he has since left the game my answer is as follows.

Cast cheated plain and simple, now wheter you did or not I do not know but you did benefit a huge amount from it. All I did was destroy a few of your planets to try and take your huge score down a little and yes I did use the admin options to do this.

Cast has also been punished by having his ships stats reduced a little bit.

If I place a bounty on someone I dont expect said person to go and ask an alliance member to destroy him and recieve some of the money, I also dont expect him to attack an alliances planet so another member can recieve the money.

Dont do it again.

Bounty Claimed. June 11 2002 03:30
    You claimed a bounty of 8019811100 credits for the destruction of the ship belonging to Cast. The bounty was placed by Daz.

You claimed a bounty of 5693234500 credits for the destruction of the ship belonging to Cast. The bounty was placed by Daz.

Victory! June 11 2002 03:30
    Your planet in sector 231 was attacked by Cast. The citizens organized a valliant defense however, and managed to destroy the opponent. They salvage some resources from the space debris : 0 goods, 374092 ore, 0 organics and 4% of the ship's worth of 0 credits.

Planet scan June 11 2002 03:30
    Cast has scanned your planet in sector 231.

End of log entry for June 11 2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

thats bull**** to be honest, if there is a huge bounty on your head, you will be the first to know about it, and its only smart to arrange your own destruction in order to collect some of the bounty money, and using the admin options to lower the score of someone playing fairly is pretty petty too.

OEH NOE THEYE AER TEH DONIG WEL, I MUSST HEALP TEH OETHOERS OEVERCOEM TEH EVEL!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Dazzer

Listen it isnt open for debate. Anyone else willing to post a similar comment such as the one above dont bother as I dont care.

What was done is just a variation on a well known cheat in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Originally posted by Dazzer
    Listen it isnt open for debate. Anyone else willing to post a similar comment such as the one above dont bother as I dont care.

What was done is just a variation on a well known cheat in the game.
    I see a long career ahead of you as Admin of BNT.

Go away Celt and stop stalking me will you.
    I will remain an admin on BNT as long as Tom wants me to or until I decide to give up on you lot of unthankful feckers.

Go away Celt and stop stalking me will you.
    I will remain an admin on BNT as long as Tom wants me to or until I decide to give up on you lot of unthankful feckers.
    "stalking" ?
    Dont flatter yourself please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Snaga

Thats a bit lame allright Daz.

The bounty you put on him was for an action that wasnt in violation of the rules. He came to an agreement with an ally and got around your attempt to have him killed.

Nothing wrong with that, the game allows it, theres no way you can police it without banning monetary transfers. Its a dodge, not a cheat.

As an admin you should either play the game and allow yourself to get as big as you like and we have to trust that your being honest and not fiddling the game, or else sit back and dont get involved in the politics of the game, like putting bounties on people.

Its one or the other really.

Weh you have a problem with me Celt for reasons so stupid I cant even remember what they are. I had forgotten about it completely until your above remark. If you have any sense you would drop it as it is childish. DeVore has already warned you to drop it so keep it up and see how far you get.

Why do you keep dragging that old topic up? It was a small argument and happened a while ago but whenever i post anything in disagreement with you on these forums, you bring it up. FORGET ABOUT IT ALREADY.

As Snaga said about your reaction to Cast "Thats a bit lame allright Daz."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Cheers Daz :D

geo took my only decent planet, i wasted two ships in a vain attempt to take it back, was giving up hope till i logged in during the week to see it was returned to me :)

As I said I do not care and will not comment any further. This post was only intended to explain why I did what I did in case any complaints came to the board, not to debate it.

If you have any problem with this then please e-mail or send a private message to Tom (DeVore) myself or John (Cloud).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

It seems Geo and Cast worked together to pick up on the big bounty I put on Cast's head. Geo has since self destructed just after messaging me in the game asking me how I could destroy his planets with a fairly small ship. Seems tho I cant access IRC and he has since left the game my answer is as follows.

Cast cheated plain and simple, now wheter you did or not I do not know but you did benefit a huge amount from it. All I did was destroy a few of your planets to try and take your huge score down a little and yes I did use the admin options to do this.

Cast has also been punished by having his ships stats reduced a little bit.

If I place a bounty on someone I dont expect said person to go and ask an alliance member to destroy him and recieve some of the money, I also dont expect him to attack an alliances planet so another member can recieve the money.

Dont do it again.

You claimed a bounty of 8019811100 credits for the destruction of the ship belonging to Cast. The bounty was placed by Daz.

Victory! June 11 2002 03:30
    Your planet in sector 231 was attacked by Cast. The citizens organized a valliant defense however, and managed to destroy the opponent. They salvage some resources from the space debris : 0 goods, 374092 ore, 0 organics and 4% of the ship's worth of 0 credits.

Planet scan June 11 2002 03:30
    Cast has scanned your planet in sector 231.

End of log entry for June 11 2002
    well, you fúcked up the first round, and now you think you can just play god in the midle of this one.
    its not up to you to go around changing peoples stats etc.
    then its not a game.
    if you think something is unfair, then you take it into consideration and implement inthe next round. you dont go in like a bloody cowboy with a six-shooter blazing and just change things about.
    its becuase of you that i no longer play. you keep making aballs up. youre an administrator, not a bloody galaxy god ro something.
    keep your fingers of the keyboard until the end of the round will you.
    idiot

Thank you for that very constructive comment WWM you utter muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

in fairness though, im sure you are the reason a lot of people stopped playing, I know it made me think twice, in fact I'm still thinking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

I stopped playing because the game seems to get changed in the middle of the round a lot, bit pointless to keep playing when everything can / does get edited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Thank you for that very constructive comment WWM you utter muppet.
    well, let see??????

you make the rules up as you go along....no one wants to play...

lets see if we can make a connection shall we?

i think it was constructive actually.
    and you just dont have the bottle to admit you were wrong.
    muppet, me? no

get your hand of your cóck and stop fúcking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Kraken

ok im not going to lock this yet or edit any posts as i want to see if any good will come out of this,

I dont agree with the way daz did it but i can see his point.

but imo if you can find away around something without actually cheating then so be it.

Im also fairly sure that this is not the only inciddent of this.

i think both snaga and wwm have a few valid points in their posts but its to late now. what we really need is a set of rules for the game a kind of law if u will.

ye also need to stop blaming daz for every fault and hounding him when he makes a mistake its only a game ffs.

like every person out there he will learn from his mistakes.

just settle a little will ye ye are all acting like children (i so know im going to regret saying that)
    grow up a little all of ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan

get your hand of your cóck and stop fúcking about

Stop messing around and tell it to him straight.

Al.

I was told I was going to be an admin I never asked. If Tom wants to remove me as admin I wont be too bothered about it. Things dont change mid game all the time, now we are getting into the "lets make things up and stir some ****" stage of an argument which as I have already stated do not give a flying pig about.

I thought about what I did, I knew I would get this reaction and I still went ahead with it.

As I have said if you have a problem with it go ahead and tell DeVore or Cloud, Im sure they will see this post anyway and make up thier own mind regardless what you all think.

If you lot think throwing abuse at me will change the way I admin / moderate a game then your all very very wrong, I put up with this kind of crap before and Ill do it again if needs be.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

shut up, Shut up, SHUT UP!!!

for several reasons, we're going to have to restrict the adminning to just Boards.ie admins (primarily security).

Its also unfair to ask Daz to not play, referee and also be opened to abuse like this. I'm sure he'll be relieved.

Daz, continue as admin until you and I talk about altering stuff over to me, theres just too many scary things that can be done with the Boards database (which also runs off Mysql) from the admin system/account.

The rest of you pipe down.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

I do agree in principle that Castaway did cheat by claiming the bounty on his head by engaging in an alliance with another member to do it. It was a clever turnaround of fortunes on his part, and did demonstrate some quick thinking, as there are many ways in which this game can be played.

However, there was no 'set in stone' rule that this kind of behaviour should not be allowed. If you wish to stamp out this kind of thing, you should make it impossible to share resourses between members. (This would be difficult to achieve, however, because vast amounts of credits can be placed on poorly defended planets, ripe for taking).

Dazzer, I know you were just trying to even out the playing field and make the game fairer, but I think that in this case it may have been more appropriate to issue a warning against this kind of behaviour and left it go. Using admin options to your own gain (albeit unintentionally) won't earn you brownie points among the players.

On that note I'd like to point out that it is just a game and everyone can start climbing down from their high horses.

Oh and yes I did screw up the first round by doing something when I had no idea what I was messing with. I did and will again admit I was wrong for doing this and as I already have will apologise for again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

well i was under the impression that if someone cheated in any way they would have their account deleted straight out..not just their stats fiddled about a bit.

so have you changed the rules again or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

. Things dont change mid game all the time, now we are getting into the "lets make things up and stir some ****" stage of an argument which as I have already stated do not give a flying pig about.

Dont want to get into a big debate but...3 rounds so far, in each one something has been edited to change it and people have been annoyed :E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Snaga

He didnt cheat though.

The person who destroyed him didnt have to give him back any money, but he did. Thats the same as me getting killed and my alliance giving me a nice bucket load of money to set me back on my feet.

The ideal solution is allow the admins to get as big as they like, if they dont like someone for in game political reasons they can go kill them themselves, no need to put up bounties that have the potential to end up in the hands of the defendant anyway.

But they _have_ to ensure that nothing they edit will affect any of the game stats in their favour. ITs a matter of trust. A good admin wont mind getting killed and certainly wont exact revenge with a few Update commands. Daz is putting a lot of work into this and Im sure he can trust himself to stick to rules like that.

If not we'll find out soon enough and we can go get a server elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

yeah.but remember there DeVore announced an exploite(he called it the lone fighter or something)the user that exploited that is STILL in the game.

He didnt cheat though

they claimed he did and fiddled his stats, they DID NOT delete his account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Basically, what Snaga said. Hit the button on the head.

Daz whether you like it or not you cant just go around playing god in the game. The success of the game depends on your accountability to the players of it. Thats not opinion, its fact and _if_ you dont believe it then you shouldnt be the admin of the game.

There is absolutly no way you can back up the claim that what Cast and Geo did was cheating. At best it was a dodge. They were using the best quality of web games (human multiplayer
    interaction) in a clever way. I would have done it myself.

My advice - when you see something thats wrong in the game, do nothing straight away. Wait and get a second and/or third opinion to make sure your own opinion on what to do is on track and then do whatever you decide.

Tweaking scores and stats here and there in an attempt to level the playing field just isnt on.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

did you bother to check the logs???????
    if u did you would have seen that geo in fact gave me 3 bill BEFORE this incident and strat will tell you attacking his planet was an acicdent and also strat can tell you i knew nothing of this bounty untill he told me and by then it was gone so i assumed geo had got it i was taking the piss and you believed me
    emmmmmmm i know oi dev paid me money too ya know
    /me sits back to w8 for devore to be destroyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

hardly cheating, they took advantage of a loophole in the g-polices ingame laws (not external rules of the game). create a new rule about bounties, but u can't create it and then punish the players involved who did this before the rule was in place. anyways, i'd call what the lads did fair, surely the in game g-police would be the way to sort this out, in game, not messing with their accounts? they didn't exploit a bug or anything, they just thought of an in-game way around an in game situation.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

omfg!!!!!
    good game daz i dont know what you did but
    You don't have enough Holds for the requested transfer.

got this message when i tried to get money from my planet
    thanks for that i cant hold any money on my ship now

i dont know how many times im gonna have to edit this as im only finding more stuff wrong.

The money thing is now sorted even though it costed me 200 turns.

Went to trade got the same message wasting 200 turns

I then went to transfer colonists 50 times and omg got the same message as before losing another 200 turns.

For some reason two of my planets have hardly any organmics now even though they are set properly with the correct rate and they had 3 mill this morning.

Its now working properly but im down 600 turns

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

ok, see my post about "this community and the next steps..."

I think its time to let this round come to an end and spend some time discussing and agreeing community rules.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

Originally posted by DeVore
    I think its time to let this round come to an end and spend some time discussing and agreeing community rules.

DeV.

if that hapens i can see it about 3 weeks without a game runnign
    leave this running WHILE your discussing what ever

some of us are still playing and enjoying this round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

i agree with strat, leave it running till you get some iron clad rules n regulations.

Sorry, didnt want to give the impression I was shutting it all down now. It will end (late) next week sometime with a 24 hour blitzkrieg (read elsewhere).

I'll end it when we are reasonably happy with the house rules...
    probably Friday.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Originally posted by -=Castaway=-
    omfg!!!!!
    good game daz i dont know what you did but
    You don't have enough Holds for the requested transfer.

got this message when i tried to get money from my planet
    thanks for that i cant hold any money on my ship now

i dont know how many times im gonna have to edit this as im only finding more stuff wrong.

The money thing is now sorted even though it costed me 200 turns.

Went to trade got the same message wasting 200 turns

I then went to transfer colonists 50 times and omg got the same message as before losing another 200 turns.

For some reason two of my planets have hardly any organmics now even though they are set properly with the correct rate and they had 3 mill this morning.

Its now working properly but im down 600 turns

Damn Daniel, wtf are you trying to say??? Dude read over your posts before you post them because that makes very little sense....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

There was no rule against it was there?
    Hmmm?
    I don't see it as cheating, no more than using those special ports was cheating last round.
    Sure, it's unfair to whoever placed the bounty to be feeding the enemy alliance with it, but from the point of view of the hunted - it's the ideal solution... you get killed, have the bounty removed, your buddy gets a few billion in his pocket - everyone is happy.

You shouldn't get into trouble for doing things the game allows you to do with a few simple mouse-clicks.
    The game still has a few things that need sorting out, most of all the planet<=>Ship combat system, utter tripe.... just relax though, mail the creator of the game and suggest he fixes it. ;)

In light of this, I'd agree with what one of the other posts said, forget about placing bounties and just declare war on them ;p
    It's no big deal anyway, it's just a webgame... for fun.... remember fun?

Its also unfair to ask Daz to not play, referee and also be opened to abuse like this. I'm sure he'll be relieved.
    I havent seen anyone say he shouldnt be let play, just not let admin.

So far, all he has shown himself to be is a petty and not very competent admin.

...and you've REALLY helped celt.

oh yeah, NOT!

DeV.

...and you've REALLY helped celt.

oh yeah, NOT!

DeV.
    That has what exactly to do with the current thread?
    And tell me, what exactly could I have done considering every single time I've posted something contrary to what Dazzer wants he drags up this old argument as defence?

Please tell me in what ways I could possibly have helped.

Yawn ...
    Look at the hormones fly over a game.

Yawn ...
    Look at the hormones fly over a game.
    That's rich coming from you.

Celt just drop it ok, its happened and it cant be changed so get over it. Life goes on.

every single time I've posted something contrary to what Dazzer wants he drags up this old argument as defence?
    Dazzer - so predicatable, so pathetic and so stupid.

Keep it up Celt just keep it up.
    One more comment regarding what has happened, one more sly comment, one more poke at me and Ill ask DeVore to ban you from the Board for a period of time.

I will say this one last time. Leave it and forget about it, its over, what has happened has happened and cannot be undone, wheter it be the game or me and you just not getting on over said GAME. If you dont like me Celt keep it to yourself I think everyone knows by know. Now stop the **** stirring.