Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One in the B****x for Lillie's Bordello

• 07-06-2002 1:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭

My new heroes are Vincent and Pamela Lawlor who, it was reported today, took the management of Lillie's Bordello for 27 grand after they succesfully sued for assault at the hands of that establishment's bouncers.

Mrs Lawlor was on the Marian Finucane show this morning (and a well spoken respectable woman she sounds) describing what happened. When he was refused entry to the club one night a couple of years ago and asked why, Mr Lawlor was dragged out of view of the security cameras and duffed up.

The Irish Times has a picture of the professional blonde that runs the place along with an ultra scary former Yugoslav commando who was on the bouncing staff that night.

Well done to the Lawlors for putting these thugs back in their box and showing that there are some people who will not tolerate being subjected to the whims of unlicensed unaccountable bruisers when they go out for a harmless evening's entertainment.

But to a certain extent, society is to blame here. We tolerate a culture where licensed outlets, including ordinary pubs, feel they have an absolute right to choose their customers instead of customers choosing them. Certainly, if there are reasonable grounds for refusing somebody admittance: eg a known record of previous misbehaviour, threatening behaviour or non co-operation with reasonable requests, then pubs and clubs have the right to ask people to leave and/or to refuse admission in the first place.

But what we tolerate is a situation where bouncers can arbitrarily choose who they can let in and who they can refuse on the grounds that they don't like the colour of your hair, the fact that a man may be wearing an earring or that (horror of horrors) you might have had a pint at another establishment before coming to their own.

It is inevitable that given such arbitrary power, the sort of bruiser who wants to become a bouncer will abuse it and expect to be allowed abuse it. It's only human nature.

A typical example of the mentality was provided by some clown called Gerry on the Finucane show today who described himself as a former 'nighclub security man'. He naturally refused to condone the assault on the Lawlors but asked why they couldn't have just accepted the fact that the bouncer had humiliated them by refusing them entry without giving them a reason and moving on somewhere else. (Where doubtless they would have been subjected to similar arbitrary scrutiny by some other self-appointed judge and jury)

'They don't have a God given right to entry anywhere they want,' he bleated.

Well if anybody who heard that recognises this Gerry person and knows in which town he lives I call on you to treat him the way he obviously thinks bouncers have a right to treat everybody else: Refuse to do business with him. Just for a week.

If he comes into your shop to buy the paper or a packet of fags: don't serve him and don't tell him why.

Don't let him into your pub, and don't tell him why.

Don't let him buy a stamp at your post office and don't tell him why.

Don't let him on your bus, and don't tell him why.

He'll get the message.

And if we all ( or a significant self-respecting number of us) refuse to drink in pubs that put a bouncer on the door to scrutinise all potential customers for arbitrary and spurious reasons to deny them access, so will the publicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

At the end of the day, as much as the power thing goes to bouncers heads (and beating up people is simply criminal), as much as some become and act like utter tossers because they can, I'd far rather drink in pubs and nightclubs that have bouncers on the door. At the end of the day they do filter out a substancial amount of trouble, and are there to throw out anyone inside who causes trouble and remain a deterent to anyone else thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Oh god, not this rubbish again. Why can't you just accept that the vast majority of sane people think you're talking through your fundamental orifice, shut up and let it lie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Shinji
    Oh god, not this rubbish again. Why can't you just accept that the vast majority of sane people think you're talking through your fundamental orifice, shut up and let it lie?
    Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Greenbean: Your attitude dissappoints me but I wholeheartedly accept your right to an opinion that differs from mine.

Shinji: I will not shut up and let it lie. And it would appear that the courts share at least some of my opinions, no matter which orifice you may think they emerge from.

Incidentally, there was another good news story in the Times today. On a related matter. A Northern Ireland lawyer is taking proceedings against the Gardai for discrimination having witnessed two black men being removed from the Belfast Dublin train for not having the right documentation.

Now as you doubtless know Shinji, you have never needed a passport to travel between Britain and Ireland so on what possible grounds were these people stopped? Simply because they had black faces. This is not an isolated incident. Next time you pass through Dublin airport, watch what happens to people of colour when they approach the passport control. Make up your own mind.

Are you proud of this? They don't even do this in South Africa any more.

This is the same mentality at play. Arbitrary. Discretionary. Impossible to guard against if you are the target. If you're a black person coming from Britain, why should you have to bring your passport when a white person doesn't?

You think I'm exaggerating?

Maybe you saw the piece in the paper a while back about the Irish journalist who was prevented from travelling to the States because he didn't have a visa. Did you know that journalists need a special visa to vist the States? Most people don't.

This guy did. He even applied for one and was turned down on the basis that he wasn't a member of the NUJ. Yup. George Bush's America won't let you in if you ain't a union member. Go figure.

Not only did the embassy turn him down, but they tipped off immigration at Dublin Airport, so when he presented himself at the gate they wouldn't let him on the plane. Most journalists know to deny their profession when they get asked by a bouncer (sorry immigration official) what they do for a living. This guy tried to do the right thing and got shafted as a result.

Mendacity rewarded. Good faith punished. That'll prevent another September 11th.

OK. This clearly doesn't bother you. But it bugs the **** out of me. And when some bouncer decides that he doesn't want any unkempt gamer geeks in his gaffe tonight and toes you up the backside for not moving aside quickly enough, don't come crying to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

here we go again with the bouncer thing.
    do you actually post to anything apart from bouncer threads and posts?
    do you actually have a life outside of forming the bouncer hating knitting circle?
    do you think we care?

an establlishment has the right to use bouncers and refuse you entry.
    if you dont like it, go somewhere else.

whats the problem?

jesus, why dont you go away and become a bouncer and get them from the inside. allow anyone you want in. go on. treat it like a special mission. off you go now.....fetch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭sleepwalker

wow you two must be bored to over-react to a simple post about bouncers so much

i pretty much agree with Greenbean though and although alot of them can be idiots it is good to know that there is someone there to keep away trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Theres been a few of theses topics over the last few months(the last two being started by hairy homer). They are starting to get annoying for some people. Each thread has come to the same conclusion, there are some good bouncers and some bad ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Might aswell just sticky the thread ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

there are good bouncers there are bad bouncers.
    point made, thread locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

Get your facts straight before you make a bullsh*t post like this you dumbass...

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    do you actually have a life outside of forming the bouncer hating knitting circle?
    do you think we care?

Har, har har. You post to this site an average of 4.34 times a day; I post 0.29 times a day on average and I'm the one without a life????

You poor sad man.

Actually. No they don't. If they did, why were the Licensed Vintners of Ireland complaining so much at their last convention about being sued (successfully) by travellers for refusing them entrance to their establishments without good cause? They have the right to refuse you entrance on reasonable grounds, but that doesn't include the bouncer thinking you were looking at him in a funny way.

And it certainly doesn't give them the right to kick seven shades of dung out of you when you ask why you are being excluded. As Lillie's Bordello has just spent (euro) 27,000 (plus costs presumably) finding out.

whats the problem?

The problem is an irresponsible lack of self respect among many people that they tolerate being treated in this way by a bunch of heavies, who have in many cases no legal right to behave in the way they do.

jesus, why dont you go away and become a bouncer and get them from the inside. allow anyone you want in. go on. treat it like a special mission. off you go now.....fetch.

If you can't construct a reasoned argument against what I say, preferring instead just to abuse me for raising the topic of debate, all I want to ask you is: What the hell do you think is the purpose of a discussion site such as this?

Originally posted by mayhem#
    Get your facts straight before you make a bullsh*t post like this you dumbass...

It's not clear whose post you are referring to. If it's mine, which facts that I quoted do you think are in need of straightening?

How about the fact that we've been over this ground twice before, and you don't appear to have ANYTHING further to add to it - merely the moronic re-recital of your previous points?

Oh, and the implication that having bouncers on the door of a pub is the same thing as having people refused entry to the USA for not having an appropriate visa.... Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Hang on Ladz , what I heard that man was beatin to a pulp for asking why the bouncers said members only and why wernt they asking anyone else. They didnt just refuse they pinned his wife back and three men kicked him when he was down.Bouncers are severly needed in town now but a bouncer who has a laugh makes a pub more enjoyable,those who do their jobs properly are good, the other lot should be fired,i mean you dont hire a builder cause of his people skills do you? Bouncers shouldnt get away with that crap, if i did it to anyone on the street rest assured the guards would be there in second. Fair play to the victims. PS: Before you start accusing me of hating bouncers ect ect I have Bouncer mates in Temple Bar Pubs

FFS dont quote me! I f***ing hate it when people do that! :P

Originally posted by Hairy Homer

It's not clear whose post you are referring to. If it's mine, which facts that I quoted do you think are in need of straightening?

Yes, I'm talking to you dip****.
    Beside the fact that your whole argument is slightly unhinged and irrational I am in the first place referring to your "view" on the whole incident at Lillies. The couple in question were refused entry for reasons that are not theirs to judge on. Apparently Mr. Lawlor then decided to get stroppy with the bouncer(s). This escalated in him attempting to headbutt one of the bouncers. He subsequently got his arse kicked. I think the fact that he and his wife were awarded compensation and that the media and the likes of yourself keep referring to the bouncers as thughs combined with the frequent emphasis on the fact that the bouncer was a non-national is a much scarier issue than the fact that some twat got hammered......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

No need to slate the bloke for bringing up what is v.relevant to a lot of us who like to go out for a bit of craic only to have to deal with this sort of bullsh*t.

Point taken though lads, there are good bouncers and bad bouncers good apples and bad apples et al.

The topic has been hammered to pieces about 400000000times on the Adrian Kennedy Phone show and Chris Barry, Marian Finucane etc........

If you have some suggestions on how we're going to control bouncers or make them more appealing to customers I'm sure they'd love to hear your suggestions because this topic is OLD.

Things have been better recently and slowly the bouncers are wising up to the fact they can't just kick lumps out of people for self satisfaction and a bit more of a power trip to add the whatever they've taken before they start their night (couple of places I've been and found bouncers sniffling furiously at the doors, headcold, I don't think so) :rolleyes:

Everyone has their sob story to tell and quite frankly I doubt that this couple simply got a beatin for nothing. I reckon the guy at the door was gettin macho, probably called them scumbags or whatever etc, the bouncers have a lot of people at the door (it's a hectic job, especially when people are on their way in after opening) and when you get a loudmouth who probably wanted to get aggro because of his utter shock for being refused, got a couple of slaps. He gets 27,000Euro. Good for him, although I'm sure he won't be so lucky next time (if there is one) and I'm also sure he can forget about getting into a number of clubs in Dublin after this little incident.

Originally posted by Grimes

Hang on Ladz , what I heard that man was beatin to a pulp for asking why the bouncers said members only and why wernt they asking anyone else. They didnt just refuse they pinned his wife back and three men kicked him when he was down.Bouncers are severly needed in town now but a bouncer who has a laugh makes a pub more enjoyable,those who do their jobs properly are good, the other lot should be fired,i mean you dont hire a builder cause of his people skills do you? Bouncers shouldnt get away with that crap, if i did it to anyone on the street rest assured the guards would be there in second. Fair play to the victims. PS: Before you start accusing me of hating bouncers ect ect I have Bouncer mates in Temple Bar Pubs

FFS dont quote me! I f***ing hate it when people do that! :P

im not talking about this perticular incident
    im talking aobut hairy homo here bring this subject up time and again and moaning about bouncers.
    when all we ever say is well dont go to a club that has them.
    but he seems to think that nowhere should have them

i for one like clubs with bouncers because
    1) they keep scumbags out
    2)they keep students out
    3)they keep hairy homo out

now, that sounds like my type of place.
    are you gay? no
    would you drink in the george on your own? no

you dont like bouncers? no
    woudl you go somewhere there was bouncers? no.

what sort of point do you need to fúcking make?
    rehash the same thing over and over again.

like i said, go back to your knitting circle there hairy homo and put the kettle on, the ol' wans are getting restless.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Personally, I've never really had much bother with bouncers.
    Maybe because I know about half of them in Galway.
    Only bother I really had was from some knob in CP's.
    He wouldn't let me in, and refused to give a reason, nothing major.

The fact is, that some bouncers aren't doing their jobs properly.
    I don't see any stupid statements like "There should be no bouners!"
    But, it's true that some of them are knob-jockeys.

I like to stick to the places I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Cock-Jockey or knob-jockey are great slagging terms.
    Realy roll off the tongue.
    This statement is about as poitless as the rest of this tosh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 shadygirl

I am Vincent and Pamela's daughter and I just thought I should come on and try and explain a few things, especially to this "Meyhem" person. Firstly, Da didn't try and headbutt anyone, nor did he walk up to the door with a beer-stained shirt as the papers reported. Mam, Dad and their two friends, Marilyn and Libero, decided to go their one night after a concert they had been to. For some unknown reason the bouncers wouldn't let them in. As I'm SURE anyone who has been refused from anywhere would, Da asked why they weren't being let in. the Yugoslav, Dino, was the bloke da asked and he wouldn't answer him so Da asked the bouncer behind him, Mulholland. Da did not call Dino an asshole because he's not a rowdy person (anyone can tell you that) and it takes an awful amount to get da going and for him to use language. Next of all, da's out on Grafton Street with that Yugoslav W****R kicking the head off him while some other W****R is holding my ma back. Several American tourists tried to stop them but they couldn't. Just because these pricks man the door doesn't give them a right to beat up anyone and everyone-they wouldn't get away with it if they were any joe on the street so giving them the name bouncer doesn't give them licence.

Originally posted by shadygirl
    I am Vincent and Pamela's daughter

And you can actually type?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

Wow Evert, that was ....... pathetic. Well done on your contribution.

Yeah mate, like I care.....

How about the fact that we've been over this ground twice before, and you don't appear to have ANYTHING further to add to it - merely the moronic re-recital of your previous points?

Maybe because, to paraphrase the leader of a newly important political party, the issue 'hasn't gone away, you know.' And it won't while people have the submissive 'couldn't happen to me' attitude evidenced by so many people here.

Oh, and the implication that having bouncers on the door of a pub is the same thing as having people refused entry to the USA for not having an appropriate visa.... Right.

God, Shinji. You miss the points I make with such frequency that I'm coming to the conclusion you're a bit of a Carsten Janker.

The similarity between the attitude of many bouncers and the attitudes of both Irish and American immigration officials is the arbitrary way in which they apply their powers to the people they encounter. As I said.

I don't have a problem with people making reasonable regulations about entry to their establishments or their countries as long as they make those widely known so that potential visitors can prepare themselves in advance. It's when they spring a surprise on you when they turn up and then enforce it with unreasonable behaviour when you ask why (eg hauling you off a train or plane and into a cell in one instance, or kicking the crap out of you in another) that it gets inexcusable.

Another thing you might ponder, if you think that all bouncers are doing is keeping rough and rowdy types out of their establishments for the safety and comfort of their customers. The people assaulted at Lillie's were middle aged (in their late 30s at the time of the incident). A few months ago an even more elderly man sued—successfully—a Dublin city centre pub (I think it was the one formerly known as the Harp) for age discrimination when they wouldn't let him in to celebrate a family occasion.

Flick-knife wielding headbangers, were they? Possibly, but the odds are against it. Seems the bouncers just didn't like the look of them.

And that's no grounds for refusing to do business with somebody.

I don't think anyone ever claimed that it's okay for bouncers to beat people up. It's not okay for postmen or waiters or lawyers or taxi drivers to beat people up either - it's got nothing to do with the fact that these guys were bouncers, it's got to do with the fact that they (apparently) beat someone up with fairly minor provocation.

The issue people have here, as WWMan pointed out, is that Hairy Homer raises this topic over and over and over again, and the more often he does it the less people care. Of course now he's taken to twisting the facts and making up all kinds of rubbish to support his anti-bouncer crusade. I look forward to not seeing him in any of the country's fine drinking establishments in future, thankfully.

The issue people have here, as WWMan pointed out, is that Hairy Homer raises this topic over and over and over again, and the more often he does it the less people care.

Er. This is only the second thread that I have initiated on this topic. I did so because it was timely to do so given the reports in the national media about the Lillie's Bordello incident.

Of course now he's taken to twisting the facts and making up all kinds of rubbish to support his anti-bouncer crusade.

I'm not taking that Shinji. I have not made up or distorted any facts. If you want clarification on anything I have said, you only have to post a question and I will give it to you. Everything I posted here as a fact, is a fact, and verifiably so with reference to trusted national media.

And you might also ponder the fact that if this were not an anonymous board I could do you for slander or libel for calling me a liar.

I look forward to not seeing him in any of the country's fine drinking establishments in future, thankfully.

As I've already said, I avoid the trendy drinking dens with bouncers on the door. My worry is that such establishments, having become the norm in the city centre, are now manifesting themselves in the suburbs to the detriment of the traditional local. That has something to do with our inane laws regarding the provisioning of licences, but that's another post's work.

. My worry is that such establishments, having become the norm in the city centre, are now manifesting themselves in the suburbs to the detriment of the traditional local.

id rather a pub with out scumbags than one that is 'apparently' traditional.
    whats a traditional puib?
    one with an old setting with sawdust on the floor?
    or one without bouncers?

Yes, I'm talking to you dip****.
    Beside the fact that your whole argument is slightly unhinged and irrational I am in the first place referring to your "view" on the whole incident at Lillies.

You don't have to share my 'view' (it would be a boring world if everybody did) but you disputed my stating of the facts, which is a different matter.

The couple in question were refused entry for reasons that are not theirs to judge on.

Now this is the nub of what I'm talking about. A bouncer can not simply refuse entry on arbitrary grounds. The courts frequently — see other posts — rule in favour of people who were refused entry for no other reason than the bouncer didn't like the look of him.

Apparently Mr. Lawlor then decided to get stroppy with the bouncer(s). This escalated in him attempting to headbutt one of the bouncers. He subsequently got his arse kicked.

If you think asking why he was being refused constitutes being stroppy and justifies what happened to him then I'm afraid it's your arguments that are unhinged.

I think the fact that he and his wife were awarded compensation and that the media and the likes of yourself keep referring to the bouncers as thughs combined with the frequent emphasis on the fact that the bouncer was a non-national is a much scarier issue than the fact that some twat got hammered......

You come across as a thoroughly nasty little person, and I don't care what your nationality is nor do I care what nationality the bouncer is. For the record most of the guys whose behaviour bothers me are as Irish as I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

isnt lillies bordelo (sp?) one of those celebrity hob knob bars

bomb

And you might also ponder the fact that if this were not an anonymous board I could do you for slander or libel for calling me a liar.

See, there's something you made up right now, because you're actually talking rubbish.

I didn't actually call you a liar, I accused you of twisting facts and making things up - such as the apparent link between passport controls and bouncers, christ knows where you dreamed THAT one up. Or for example your twisting of the story about the Lawlors to make it look like this was a victory against bouncers, when er actually it's a victory against people who beat other people up, shock horror.

However, if you're so keen to make a complete idiot of yourself, please do sue me. I'll happily furnish any details of myself and my legal representation you require. I'll be sure to keep everyone here updated as to the progress of your case!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Ah lads come on jesus, legal threats? things are getting a bit out of hand. relax, we all come here to chill out and get away from all the day to day hassle ****e, dont bring it in with you. Hairy doesnt like dodgy bouncers and he's had a few posts about it, let him work away, i know its the same thing as the last few on the subject but he still has the right to post em just as we have the right not to read them.

bomb

You don't have to share my 'view' (it would be a boring world if everybody did) but you disputed my stating of the facts, which is a different matter.

Now this is the nub of what I'm talking about. A bouncer can not simply refuse entry on arbitrary grounds. The courts frequently — see other posts — rule in favour of people who were refused entry for no other reason than the bouncer didn't like the look of him.

If you think asking why he was being refused constitutes being stroppy and justifies what happened to him then I'm afraid it's your arguments that are unhinged.

You come across as a thoroughly nasty little person, and I don't care what your nationality is nor do I care what nationality the bouncer is. For the record most of the guys whose behaviour bothers me are as Irish as I am.

I see you still cannot provide one shred of evidence to support your ludicrous satements....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by shadygirl
    I am Vincent and Pamela's daughter and I just thought I should come on and try and explain a few things, especially to this "Meyhem" person. Firstly, Da didn't try and headbutt anyone, nor did he walk up to the door with a beer-stained shirt as the papers reported. Mam, Dad and their two friends, Marilyn and Libero, decided to go their one night after a concert they had been to. For some unknown reason the bouncers wouldn't let them in. As I'm SURE anyone who has been refused from anywhere would, Da asked why they weren't being let in. the Yugoslav, Dino, was the bloke da asked and he wouldn't answer him so Da asked the bouncer behind him, Mulholland. Da did not call Dino an asshole because he's not a rowdy person (anyone can tell you that) and it takes an awful amount to get da going and for him to use language. Next of all, da's out on Grafton Street with that Yugoslav W****R kicking the head off him while some other W****R is holding my ma back. Several American tourists tried to stop them but they couldn't. Just because these pricks man the door doesn't give them a right to beat up anyone and everyone-they wouldn't get away with it if they were any joe on the street so giving them the name bouncer doesn't give them licence.

Gahahahahhaa - how old are ya? They should have been at home looking after you so, instead out on the pi$$. Irresponsible ba$tards.

Also the bouncer in question was Croatian, not Yugoslav. I advise you not to make that mistake if you meet him or anyone else from those two countries face to face. What with his Special Forces training and all.

Monty, why haven't you closed this $hite yet, usually you'd be on it like a light?

Originally posted by bombidol
    Hairy doesnt like dodgy bouncers and he's had a few posts about it, let him work away, i know its the same thing as the last few on the subject but he still has the right to post em just as we have the right not to read them.

bomb

Well said (written) that man. (if i may be presumptuous)

yeh, mr sitting-on-the-fence boneidle is so on the ball there.
    of course, he didnt actually agree or disagree with anything you said.
    now, that youve bored us with another one of our bouncer stories, do you think you can leave quietly.
    im sure at this time of the day theres lots of clubs with no bouncers on the door.
    maybe you can get an inside view of the places the rest of us go at night, see how the other half live so to speak.....?

See, there's something you made up right now, because you're actually talking rubbish.

I didn't actually call you a liar, I accused you of twisting facts and making things up

Well, I'm glad you cleared that one up.

'It's not a lie your honour, just something that I made up.'

OKaayyyy. With you so far.

such as the apparent link between passport controls and bouncers, christ knows where you dreamed THAT one up.

No, Shinji. That was a commentary, a matter of opinion derived from statement of facts. An argument, in other words, with facts as supporting evidence.

Or for example your twisting of the story about the Lawlors to make it look like this was a victory against bouncers, when er actually it's a victory against people who beat other people up, shock horror.

I know you don't like repetition so I won't bother restating my case again. Other than to say that an uncontrolled, unquestioned policy of allowing bouncers arbitrary control over who can or cannot enter a premises leads inevitably to incidents of that nature.

Well done to the Lawlors once again.

However, if you're so keen to make a complete idiot of yourself, please do sue me. I'll happily furnish any details of myself and my legal representation you require. I'll be sure to keep everyone here updated as to the progress of your case!

Don't be silly. I didn't name you and you didn't name me so legal action hardly applies. I was rather trying to contrast your hoity toity righteous indignation at my-allegedly-making things up with your cavalier approach to stating facts yourself.

Don't worry moderators. I dislike professional dealings with lawyers nearly as much as my professional dealings with bouncers. And for the same reason. It should be possible to live life without recourse to either.

yeh, mr sitting-on-the-fence boneidle is so on the ball there.
    of course, he didnt actually agree or disagree with anything you said.

True. He didn't. But he at least defended my right to say it, unlike some of the more precious posters around here. May I respectfully suggest that you take his advice? One way or the other.

Maybe I've got this whole boards thing wrong. I was originally under the impression (and do correct me if I'm mistaken) that it was a forum for discussion of topics on which people might have a common interest, while not necessarily agreeing with each other.

However, the outrage with which certain people have greeted the raising of some topics might lead one to conclude that it's a quasi-private club inhabited by a small number of people who all know each other intimately and resent intrusion by anyone from outside their milieu.

Which is it?

I think we should be told.

True. He didn't. But he at least defended my right to say it, unlike some of the more precious posters around here. May I respectfully suggest that you take his advice? One way or the other.

Maybe I've got this whole boards thing wrong. I was originally under the impression (and do correct me if I'm mistaken) that it was a forum for discussion of topics on which people might have a common interest, while not necessarily agreeing with each other.

However, the outrage with which certain people have greeted the raising of some topics might lead one to conclude that it's a quasi-private club inhabited by a small number of people who all know each other intimately and resent intrusion by anyone from outside their milieu.

Which is it?

just to be pedantic
    actually i never said you couldnt post here.
    i just said you always post the same topic.....

you have admitted that we dont like repatition.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Which is it?

This always seems to appear when some of the more 'seasoned' members flame people and disagree with their opinions. If it was all newbies attacking your opinions, you wouldn't be able to say this. It's just that they've seen this exact type of thread before before and they're sick of it. I tend not to read them after a day or two.

Bottom line here - We always need bouncers, but some are out of control. You can't disagree with that.

Just for clarification:
    lie2 Pronunciation Key (l)
    n.
    A false statement deliberately presented as being true; a falsehood.
    Something meant to deceive or give a wrong impression.

Therefore there is a difference between lying and making stuff up:

Lying - deliberately presenting facts which you know to be false.

Making stuff up - Fabricating facts or stories which may or may not be false.

just to be pedantic
    actually i never said you couldnt post here.
    i just said you always post the same topic.....

That is simply not true. I'm sure you know how to find my posts on other topics. I found some of yours. (Such as that which said we should keep Ian Harte in the Irish team... now that really is evidence of a deranged mind :-))
    you have admitted that we dont like repatition.....

We, eh? You seem to be confirming my suspicions. That was in reply to Shinji. Not you.

That is simply not true. I'm sure you know how to find my posts on other topics. I found some of yours. (Such as that which said we should keep Ian Harte in the Irish team... now that really is evidence of a deranged mind :-))

We, eh? You seem to be confirming my suspicions. That was in reply to Shinji. Not you.

um, im not sure why i should go and search for your posts?
    are you trying to tell me that they are worth reading?

becuase seriously, the only things i can remember are these bouncer topics.

ian harte is the best free taker we have. as good as if not better than beckham.

i never said it was a reply to me, i mearly said you admitted to s not liking your repetition....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

I see you still cannot provide one shred of evidence to support your ludicrous satements....

Ah..., the courts found in favour of the couple so i think if the facts are good enough for the court you can pretty much put it in your pipe and smoke it.

And if you have something to say other than throwing childish insults about like the pup you probably are, then lets here it.

Otherwise **** off and be a troubled angst-ridden teen somewhere else.

Hairy Homer.., Fair points, now change the record, or someone lock this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

I wanted to give the topic a chance, god knows why...

Im killing it now before another flamewar starts