Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What a game

• 31-05-2002 1:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭

What a start
    What a €110 Paddy power owe me :)
    hhehe
    Well done Senegal :)
    Kdja

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

Jaysus, what odds did u get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Great to see someone striking a blow for the small teams! Some Senegal fans even m,ade it onto the pitch at the end.
    A great game indeed. France were never going to be at fullthrottle without Zidane, but even so, they looked very dodgy. Henry and Trezeguet will have to brush up on their finishing, Denmark won't be easy.

Team struggles without midfield inspiration. Sound familiar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭prenton

What a shocker for France. Too many of the Frenchies failed to shine, Wiltord and Le Bouf were awful. Denmark and Uruguay won't be easy matches either. France to fail to get to the next round?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Yeah Lebeouf is definitely the weakest link in the French defence, but it was Petit that should have done better for the goal, given that Lebeouf didn't make it very difficult for the other chap to get the cross in. Still though, Lebeouf popped up with a couple of shots in the dying minutes that could (should?) have got the point. He still has a role to play, even if he is looking dodgy. France just aren't as well-oiled a machine, all over the pitch, without Zidane. I think if they were going to lose a game, this one would be the one to lose, they have time to bounce back, dish out a hiding, and go on a run. But it will be difficult. I can't see them playing that badly again in the tournament though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Guest

Originally posted by kdja
    What a start
    What a €110 Paddy power owe me :)
    hhehe
    Well done Senegal :)
    Kdja

Ah...just collected my money :D I'd say your raging France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

LeBeouf was never that good in the first place and Desailly is getting on a bit even though he still an excellent player.

It seems that one area where France are not that strong is the centre of defence. With Thuram playing right full their next option for centre half is Mikael Silvestre!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I got 10/1
    Sweet :)
    Now if ireland draw and germany win and Uraguay win and Argentina win on sunday morning
    I wil collect a major 5 team accumlator but one f*****r always screws me on them in the 92nd minute :(

France were awful and missed Zidane badly they looked ordinary.
    Kdja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I would'nt write France off yet! They were poor as they lacked the conviction of Senegal. Proberly a bad combination of first-night nerves and under-estimating the opposition.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

Great game alright, fair play to the lads who had money on Senegal - I know how strong African teams have become but I didn't think Senegal stood much of a chance. I'm glad to have been proven wrong.

From a French perspective, it's easy to say that if they lost to Senegal, then they're gonna lose to Uruguay and Denmark - but I reckon they'll still progress with six points, they're sure to come out fighting after having been beaten by world cup debutants in their first match.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

and with zidane not back for the uruguay match they might struggle again and if they lose they are out

LOL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Great match. Makes a change from the other opening games through the years. Senegal look good, and the French have a lot to do. Still think Argentina will win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by bucks73
    It seems that one area where France are not that strong is the centre of defence. With Thuram playing right full their next option for centre half is Mikael Silvestre!?!

Drop LeBeouf. Move Thuram into the centre and play Willy Sagnol on the right would be a better way to go IMO.

Fair play to Senegal. One of my friend got them at 8/1 I think or 9/1 cant remember.

I'm in a pool in work and there are 7 people in it. The teams in the draw were France Argentina Brazil Italy Spain and Portugal. We couldnt think of a 7th team so the person that doesnt get one of the above 6 gets every other team in the competition. Lucky me gets every other team in the comp. Do ya reckon I have any chance in hell of winning because I dont?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Apparently you could have got 235/1 on Papa to score the first goal.

I'm a great person for finding great bets after events have taken place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Lennoxschips

They should play Candela as well. Lemerre is being too loyal to his defenders. If I were him I may even consider dropping Barthez for Rame.