Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Re Keane - Is Eamon Dunphy A Total W@nker?

• 27-05-2002 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

I listen to his show most evenings and have to say on the whole he's good for Irish journalism but on Roy Keane he's become totally compromised, I know he's writing Keanos "autobiography"
    but his partial, one-sided coverage leaves me with a sour taste in my mouth.

O tonights show he even had Prof Ronan Fanning of UCD on for petes sake, what does Fanning, a fine academic historian, really know about footie or whats going on between Keane and McCarthy?.

I had to laugh when Dunphy accused RTE and Pat Kenny (who he has always loathed) of haveing an agenda and being biased.

Ha! POT KETTLE and BLACK anyone?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Yerac

I agree totally with you, was disgusted when Dunphy brought up his suggestion of Cathal Dervan being McCarthy's spin-doctor as he's the guy who's writing McCarthy's book. Total case of double standards here.
    Only heard a bit of what I assume was that guy from UCD, but thought it was a farce comparing Keane's treatment to lack of tollerance of creative genius in Ireland's past!
    It's because of people like Dunphy, who do actually have an agenda in this situation, that this situation is lingering on for so long. For me I'd be perfectly happy if everyone shut up about Roy Keane and talked about the match on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I find Pat Kenny to be quite pro-Keane. Last week, he was speaking on the phone to someone out there after Keane had gone, and expressed shock that the squad was in high spirits.
    As you say though, he is writing Keane's autobiography, and its obvious he knows what side his bread is buttered on, and is going to be one-sided. I find that if you take Dunphy very seriously, he can annoy you, but you have to take his rants for their comedy value more than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 online

to answer your question I like Dunphy's point of view on this and there is only one w@anker here ...its McCarthey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Its entirely possibly that Dunphy would willingly bare Roy Keane children had he the oppertunity.

Appreciating a man with fine footballing gifts is all well and good, wedging your tongue directly up a Corkman's backside on the other hand..

The mans compromised and biased. He should not be listened to, whether you agree with him or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by online
    to answer your question I like Dunphy's point of view on this and there is only one w@anker here ...its McCarthey
    agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

I can't comment his show because I missed it....but as for siding with Keane becuse he is writing his book i think is a bit strong. Dunphy during his playing career never agreed with anyone either. He had/has similar thoughts about the "amateuish" FAI, when he was playing. I think that is closer to the reason why he is behind Keano in this instance.

And I have to agree with Keane on this aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

In my opinion there are two people sticking their oar into this debate who have no business doing so and as such they should have nothing to with what's going on in this debacle.

They are Eamon Dunphy and Bertie Ahern and they can both fu.ck off and die as far as I am concerned. Prerferably sooner rather than later.

I'm with Pigman on this one. Everything Dunphy said is tainted by the fact that he was a failed footballer. Now I know that doesn't mean he shouldn't be allowed express his opinion, but the man has an agenda, its not being strong to say that he is compromised, its more than that.

Nobpdy expects Dunphy to side with the FAI over anything, but a little more objectivity would be nice. However, in saying that, I don't think people employ him because they think he is a shrewd, objective observer. I think it might have more to do with controversy appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭jacksonflam

Dunphy is cranking it for all it's worth. The book will be his big flash pad in the country, his retirement fund. His vision is blurred by dollar signs, he's suffering from cash till tinnitus. He has seen absolutely no good in McCarthy's works and absolutely no bad in Keanes. There can be no absolutist position in this sorry saga. They are both right and they are both wrong. Dunphy is trying to raise a populist uprising to preserve Keane's justified status with the Irish public. And he's the permanent oppositionist.

Don't forget Cathal Dervan, that eminent man of letters, protector of journalistic integrity. He's been stirring it for all it's worth from the begining and it will be alleged that he too is guilty of what the Americans would call, 'unamerican activity'. He's got a book coming out. Roll up, roll up. An interview on the Pat Bland show my tabloid bud..? Yes please!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

Even by your pathetic standards bateman, to say "Everything Dunphy said is tainted by the fact that he was a failed footballer" is an incredibly immature and pig-ignorant. The fact that he played for Ireland is completetly irrelevant. Dunphy is the only commentator willing (and able) to articulate the Keane side of things. McCarthy will deeply regret his actions, his obstinacy has tarnished Ireland's World Cup campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Just on a side note, Roy Keane is the only person who can write Roy Keane's autobiography.

Dunphy is writing a biography.

Sorry - couldnt resist :)

As for the whole farcical issue - no-one involved is without blame.

Anyone who tries to make out that any individual or group who was involved is "the victim" is, quite frankly, talking carp. Personally, I think every single person who got involved made a complete balls of things - Keane, McCarthy, Quinn, the FAI.

Commentators such as Dunphy, trying to "explain" it all, casting one side or another in a more favourable light, are simply showing how truly biased their reporting is, which is hardly a good recommendation for any reporter/commentator.

jc

Dunphy is the only commentator willing (and able) to articulate the Keane side of things. McCarthy will deeply regret his actions, his obstinacy has tarnished Ireland's World Cup campaign.
    Thats pure crap joey. If you honestly believe that then you know fùck all about football, and have ignored the media in the past week (many journalists with better writing credentials that Eamon fùcking Dunphy have defended Keane in a less partisan way than this fùcker will).

Eamon Dunphy said to Gerry Ryan this week that Roy Keane is "the perfect human being". I think he has gone so far in favour of Keane that he has become an irrelevant whinger on the topic. he (consistently) fails to see the bigger picture, how both parties are right and wrong. Of course that would not be Eamon's style, any attempt at objectivity from Eamon Dunphy would be a miracle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Eron

Dunphy, an underachieved footballer, says that the irish squad, apart from his little chum, are journey men... That they only make the journey for Roy Keane's sake... this coming from DUNPHY?

What the fu..ck has he EVER done that gives him the right to call Damien Duff, Shay Givens, Jason.... etc. journey men?

And they make the journey for him? How many times in the last 5 years have Ireland had to put up with Roy Keane's petite injuries that only seem to keep him out of irish games? and he has to stay back in manchester to 'prepare for the next game'... I know what that consists off, Alex Furguson running them around like sheep in a sheep pen, seeing who is more stupid between David Beckham and Roy Keane... Roy Keane has no proper devotion to Ireland, if he did he wouldnt have let this COCKUP happen 2 weeks before the BIGGEST compatition in the world, the first of this millenium. Maybe hes good, maybe hes over-rated, but noone deserves the attention he is getting for being such a whiney little 2 faced rat.

They sent him home, now keep him at home...

Eron - Anti-ManU - Anti-Dunphy and his boyfriend

He may be prone to the odd outrageous statement, but Dunphy has the courage and journalistic integrity to call a spade a spade. He doesn't get caught up in the spineless political correctness and herd mentality of so many journalists, to whom you refer as having 'better writing credentials'. A couple of things that have been quite conspicuous is McCarthy's refusal to deny he accused Keane of faking an injury AND his insistence that Keane's swearing at him is the main source of difficulty. Swearing at him? Big deal! Players and managers swear at each other all the time, you don't have to be a lip-reader to know that if you watch any football game. And so what if he swore at him in front of the other players? McCarthy decided to conduct his character assasination in front of the other players too. Finally, you yourself are quite foul-mouthed Bateman, consistently using the word f*ck in your posts, but nobody takes it too seriously, it's only an arrangement of letters after all. This isn't a case of 'opinion', McCarthy was wrong and made a big mistake, the sad thing is now that if Ireland do well (which I sincerely hope they do), everyone will be saying 'We did it without Keano, serves him right etc.,' and sadly forgetting how and why this row broke out and what a balls of things McCarthy and his lack of good judgement have made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Jaysus lads, get over it!

Dunphy is an excellent interviewer and extremely popular. One of the reasons for his popularity is his black/white views on certain subjects - the guy doesn't understand shades of grey.

I can understand his point of view, though not necessarily agree with it. But I don't believe he's motivated by money, that's a very childish attitude (there have been many of these expressed in this thread).

Dunphy is a "love'm or hate'm" character, so perhaps your guys are expressing your own bias, eh?

--

[stir]
    Technically, Keane is the only one who can write his own autobiography, yes. However, I think you'll find that most autobiographers have professional assistance from a journalist or writer :)
    [/stir]

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭DC

Look, Dunphy has pushed the boat out in terms of Irish print and broadcast media. If it wasn't for Dunphy and his unique style, we would be watching and listening to Pat Kenny clones all over the place. Dunphy showed that controversial broadcasting, asking the tough questions is what people want. Thats why he has the biggest drive time audience.

I agree with 99% of his comments on the Keane issue and I for one am glad that someone is sticking up for Roy's side. Too often we get 'balanced' broadcasting - in reality its not balanced because we don't get at the core issue.

On a Thursday night Roy Keane was unfit to play for Ireland in Tehran. Less than two days later, on Saturday afternoon, he played a full and unrestricted part in a premier league game.

McCarthy should not have dredged this up during that inflamed verbal confrontation. Where is the lie? Whose conscience truly is clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭DC

I think part of the problem with Keane travelling to Tehran was sitting on a plane for hours on end with a sore knee.

I guess its over now, Keano isnt going anywhere, except back onto Dunphys lap.

GO IRELAND! YOU CANT REALY DO IT, but try anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Andywil

The more i read on down this thread the more it makes me blood boil...

Eamon Dunphy is one of the most respected journalists and broadcasters in the country. One of the main reasons for this is that he has so many educated opinions on matters, political or otherwise. The fact that he is not a typical political commentator means that the average person who may be a little too nervous to become involved in public debates, (even if their involvement is simply listening to one or others opinion), for fear of self confusion resulting in a feeling of inferiority, can feel involved much more easily, and everyone should be involved.

Now the fact that Dunphy has so many opinions and in many cases, very strong opinions, does not mean he is right, and the most important thing to remember is that it doesn't mean you have to side with him. Everyone is capable of forming and will form ones own opinion based on ones own morals and beliefs and personal standards. What broadcasters do is provide the information for you to judge from their eyes...as they see it. Yeah there are the odd neutral shows and columns, but if no one had an opinion in the media jaysis we'd all be sitting here going...hmmm yes, I think McCarthy treated his captain rather unfairly, but then again Roy was quite blatantly out of order, but he was put in a bad situation, ah but Mick is the manager and he must use his authority and and and....ah lets all go to meadow and dance around a may pole throwing daisies....

Feck it lads. Come on, Dunphy is a top class Irish broadcaster...the fact that he used to be a second rate footballer (sorry Eamo) means nothing more than he has a far deeper insight into how professional football works than me or anyone else i know. If anyone has yet to read 'Only a game' written by the said journalist on his days as a player I would recommend doing so.

The things said above such as

'but thought it was a farce comparing Keane's treatment to lack of tollerance of creative genius in Ireland's past!
    It's because of people like Dunphy, who do actually have an agenda in this situation, that this situation is lingering on for so long. For me I'd be perfectly happy if everyone shut up about Roy Keane and talked about the match on Saturday'.

What the hell are you talking about? Comparison of Keane's treatment to lack of tolerance for creative genius in Ireland's past is a completely fair thing to visualise...Roy is a creative genius in Ireland's present. He is a hero. If you are not a football fan, this might pass you by a little, however at a time like this when an event takes hold of the country as a world cup does, the country is transformed into a village and everyone has an 'agenda' on the situation. Dunphy gets paid no matter what...however he wants to talk about things that matter to people....

Apologies ,i've had to leave this hanging for the last 2 hours cos was 2 busy at work...but i think the message is there...

Andy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Andywil

"On a Thursday night Roy Keane was unfit to play for Ireland in Tehran. Less than two days later, on Saturday afternoon, he played a full and unrestricted part in a premier league game.

McCarthy should not have dredged this up during that inflamed verbal confrontation. Where is the lie? Whose conscience truly is clear"

I think if this was a lie on Keane's part he would not be bringing it up. If he had faked it shame would make him want it to sink. McCarthy hasn't mentioned it since...hmmm, me wonders where is the lie?

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

Quote from Jacksonflam "On a Thursday night Roy Keane was unfit to play for Ireland in Tehran. Less than two days later, on Saturday afternoon, he played a full and unrestricted part in a premier league game.

McCarthy should not have dredged this up during that inflamed verbal confrontation. Where is the lie? Whose conscience truly is clear."

Actually the issue with this was that - Ferguson wanted Keane to come home and rest the knee for Uniteds game. Ferguson and McCarthy agreed that having won 2-0 it was probably ok for Roy not to play. McCarthy obviously had problems with this but didn't mention them at the time. He agreed to let Roy go. This was part of his softly softly management approach with Keane at the time.
    Keane would have gone but was obviously doing what he was told by management - on both sides.

I think that this whole issue has wrong on both sides but the situation of the last week should have been resolved by the management. They could have taken the view that it is the fans who pay their salaries and they could have swallowed pride and gone to Keane without ultimatums.
    Why is Keane not there because McCarthy believed he had been wronged and wanted an apology and because Keane believed the same. It really was the onus on the management to manage the situation. It is obvious to anyone that heard Keane speak that he has passion and fire and wanted to play. McCarthy wanted him to play. But the management position was to keep backing Keane into a corner and that I believe they knew he would not come out of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

I just noticed that my post was totally off point on the thread.
    With regards to Dunphy - I think that his views may be strong but they spark debate and whether you agree or disagree with him he will debate his views with knowledge and passion. He sometimes is written off as a crank and I think having him on your side is not always advantageous as people tend to have strong feelings about what he puts forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Rufus T Firefly

It's absolutely incredible how Dunphy always manages to push himself to the top of the agenda come World Cup time. Whether it's 'Jack - why do you play such crap football?" or "Roy, why does your arse taste so nice?" That's right Eamo, the World Cup is about you. It's always about you.

This time he's got a book to sell. And the more he (as someone has already pointed out) cranks up the temperature, creates a Roy-as-victim atmosphere, the better for future sales of his book.

Is Dunphy smart? Yes. Well-informed? Yes. Able to articulate complex matters in terms accessible to all? Yes.

Is Dunphy manipulative? Yes. Self-promoting? Yes. A chancer? Yes. For all Dunphy's many intellectual and journalistic talents, he has all the integrity of one of those guys who knocks on your door and asks you do you want your driveway tarmac-ed.

I think the main reason people don't twig him more often is that he takes a crusading position - defence of the beautiful game, defence of the beautiful midfielder - and presents himself as its standard bearer.

Anyone who saw Questions and Answers the other night may have been alarmed at his rather wild-eyed deameanour and snarling at John Bowman when asked if "So Keane is right and the other 22 players are out of step?" Rabid wasn't the half of it.

I wonder how many other 'highly respected journalists' have been heard to wonder aloud about the availability of good Columbian marching powder. Personally what makes my blood boil is the air of sanctimonious seeker-after-truth, unafraid to speak the unspeakable, a brave David slaying faceless committees of Goliaths.

Anyone who still buys the self-glorifying, self-promoting tripe that Dunphy is still selling probably also still believes that Nixon was innocent and if you click your heels together three times you'll be back in Kansas before you can say 'Toto'.

you mean Nixon was guilty??? time I was back in Kansas (clicks heels)

Well said that man. (Rufus...)

Well said, Rufus, I must say though what sets Dunphy apart is as you say, expressing himself in terms accessible to all. be it Neil O Riordan, Aidan Fitzmaurice, or Michael Scully, there are many journalists out there who can write with the same level of intelligence and information as Dunphy, but he just has the name, he's a populist scumdog. Obviously he can write, but he ha sno concept of objectivity, which fits in well with many of the people who liek to read what he says, knowing it will be hard-hitting and controversial. While there is never any shortage of reason to write controversially in soccer, its also possible to write in a more dignified, objective way, something many people have managed, and Dunphy might never manage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

We all know Dunphys a git, but its that guy in the Evening Herald that gets on my tits.. cant think of his name now (not Giles or Carr, the other guy)

His comment on the Keane/McCarthy events: "Anybody with half a brain could see this coming for the past 8 years" or something.

Arsehole.

pIE, you might be talking about Aidan Fitzmaurice, but I don't think he'd write like that. I think you could be talking about Frank Coughlan, he is a complete minnow and a talentless waster. While slating the FAI he made the astonishing statement that the eL had been long since abandoned by all but a bunch of sad trainspotters.
    And it was his paper that gave a weekly 2 page spread on the history of Rovers for months a while back. Pathetic. He is just one of these barstool sitting pint drinkers who dispenses pearls of wisdom in what is little more than a comedy column. Paddy Murray of the Star/Sunday World would be another example.

In fairness though, it was widely known that Keane and McCarthy hated each other, but funny the way no-one brought it up until the current conflict flared up.

Let it die guys, wonderboy isnt going to the world cup, good for some, not for others...

Eron - let it die guys