Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What about this idea....

• 24-05-2002 3:05pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Rather then having lots of little alliances maybe we should have two big antagonistic alliance with their own private boards etc....

It would give the game a lot more strategy and purpose I think.

Just a thought...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Dazzer

I say three and 1 alliance with just admins whos only purpose is to police the universe. I really like this idea and would allow for huge battles :)

Maybe some time soon we could add it as a part of the game, you choose your race/alliance when you join the game and each alliance is packed into a few hundred sectors close to each other :) Im getting carried away now arent I ... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

How about Mods -v- Mortals ;), with an admin police force? Although I can't really see those filthy freema5ons allying with the mighty Comeonbanians :p

edit:
    Only read Daz's post now....me likes. 5000 sectors, each team takes 2000 each (admins get the other 1000) and when you start, you choose your team, and you get given a ship, a planet with 100,000 colonists, a base and 10,000,000 creds, put into some sector in your team's 2000. And there are only certain sectors which will let you link into the other team's quadrant. Oh dear, I'm going a bit far now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

We would have to split the galaxy into two different war zones with sol and fed space remain neutral. Also 3/4 days prep time, then let the dogs of war lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

How about 4 factions, Federation, Romulan, Klingon and Cardassian

2/3 Days build time, 1000 sectors each...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

yeah gr8 idea but how do we protect from multiing spys

Well my young Padawan we shall make them under go the 7 trails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Originally posted by azezil
    How about 4 factions, Federation, Romulan, Klingon and Cardassian

2/3 Days build time, 1000 sectors each...
    Tacky :)
    New Republic / The Empire would be classy though.
    With a rogue "faction" thrown in.

I wanna be Chiss or the Incom Corporation. :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I was thinking of simply Light and Dark.

I could assign people randomly to the teams before we got underway (with a database script) as the game doesnt really support this option.

The reason I think this might be cool is that you would then have to consider the strategies of teamplay (sharing money and resources etc) and grouping up to pick off the weak players on the other team.

DeV.

Sounds like a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by DeVore
    I was thinking of simply Light and Dark.
    Simple but effective :)
    I could assign people randomly to the teams before we got underway (with a database script) as the game doesnt really support this option.
    Good idea
    The reason I think this might be cool is that you would then have to consider the strategies of teamplay (sharing money and resources etc) and grouping up to pick off the weak players on the other team.
    That's me fucked so :D

Ah jaysus DeV give them better names :)

The Corporation and the Free world Federation !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Kill the hippies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

yeah gr8 idea but how do we protect from multiing spys

From this round its fairly obvious people are going to be ruthless and use any meathod in the game to get an advantage, so there'll have to be a fix for this. Either some form of ip logging, but that can be defeated with proxies, or you have to use your boards.ie name/pass to join the round and your membership needs to be a month old or have 100 posts or whatever.

Is there anyway of doing this DeV? Only allowing you to play with your Baords.ie name and e-mail adress?

How many multies have been caught so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Coyote

Could someone write a list of rules?
    As were not using the one that came with it and
    We do need a set of rules

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

HMmm, I dunno if I can check the username and password off the boards.ie database but in theory yes it can be done.

The best way to do this is for people to use their boards username in the game since that way you will be able to tell who to contact to discuss a big invasion etc.

The game isnt so big that we couldnt check the usernames we dont recognise manually.
    I have IP tracing on so yes, I can check for multis too to an extent.

Other team names that spring to mind are
    "Orkz" and "Marines"
    "Zerg" and "Protoss"
    "The Confederacy" and "The Union" (Which I do declare to be ma favourite, sir!) :)

I dont see anything wrong with someone switching sides during the game too, especially if their boards name is going to be tarnish with them being a turncoat! Can you imagine the grief!

DeV.

I vote for :

The Confederacy and The Union.

And the police can be called G - Police :P :)

Just to note, we wont be using the "two big alliances" idea in the next game, we'll set that up for the turn after probably.
    I need to look around the database some more and I dont have a lot of time at the moment.

I say, long live the Confederacy!

DeV.

However the G - Police will still be around, heres some info.
    I hope it will help add a little to the game.

The " G - Police " will have a few sectors of thier own throughout the galaxy , to enter them you will have to pay a toll. If you attack any of these sectors you will become an outlaw and will be added to our most wanted list. This could result in us.

A. Seeking you out and destroying you.

B. Hiring someone in your alliagiance to inform us of your location and then destroying you.

C. Hiring someone from an opposing alliance to hunt you down and destroy you. You will not be deleted from the game if you attack these sectors, but please try not to capture them.

To view the news visit the website in my sig.

These sectors will be created at the start of the game so dont worry if I have a big score at the start ok? I will be creating them with my admin powa and will not be playing the game like the rest of you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

hmmm not altogether sure about that as an idea Dev.

I see why you think it would be good but most of the fun in games like these are trying to get a group of ppl you consider mates into the number one spot.

I think restricting the game to two alliances will kill it tbh. If I'm in an alliance with mates I will gladly donate all the credits the game will let me to one of them to help them back on their feet after being hit etc whereas if I'm playing with ppl I dont particularly have much time for I wont give them squat. rightly or wrongly thats what would happen.

Plus with only two alliances there are only two places first or second. There's no real ladder to climb as such. I can also visualise a rich/poor situation possibly arrising, where the rich get richer and the poor get poorer. Or in this case the better alliance will get huge while the second place alliance will just get wiped out.

All that said, I'd still be in favour of giving it a shot to see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Kraken

Some classic ideas in there.

The databse thingy would be bloody hard Dev. Best a luck with it.

As for the random alliance i think this is a very good idea.

I dont understand why the G-Police will be in the game at all, I dont see the reason or need for them.

Elaborate someone?

To add a twist to a game that at times can get a little boring.

Uh coppers, well you better give way there locations see, or else they'll be pointless see, because in a smaller galaxy if we don't know where we are they might become dead see. :)

Originally posted by Dazzer
    To add a twist to a game that at times can get a little boring.
    What kind of twist? Maybe a better idea would be having a look at the bot files and see if you can modify there behaviour to fit the needs of a police force :)

me thinks celt is paranoid and thinks the police will be out to get him

is there something we should know.

The police will be there incase of peeps with massive score just hunting small people etc. and generally being a mean bully then in steps the G-string police and kicks there ass and what not.

Will space craft that park on double yellow planet rims be clamped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

some class ideas there. pld all. gg. :)

Yes you will be clamped and will recieve a 50 Euro fine :) Also the sector belonging to G/P will be heavly defended so its a safe place to park your ship for the night, after you pay the tole of course :) Unless u can cloak past them :)

www.fortress.ie/alphafortuna/gpolice.htm

So basically it a way to let you play without actually saying so?

Since the G-police aren't a setting in the game, you guys are going to be setting up a/c's like the rest of us, whats to stop us mailling ya :)

Since a bounty is based on net assets, what if don't have any :)

im aasuming u meant nail there GH but remember daz can alter peoples stats and money so no sooner is a member of the g- police killed then daz gives him a huge ship loads of everything and of course the location to your home sector:p

Ok its pretty obvious we need more than 1 g-police person so who we gonna have Dazzer and who else?

No Celt I wont be playing the game that much, I will just be looking after it, I have a few things in real life that Im busy with at the moment and I don't have that much spare time.

Anyone who wants to join the G/P post below. I'll accept 4 more members making a total of five people all together. I'll pick people who I know I can trust and members will not get admin access. If a member is destroyed I will not give said member loads of money and will not inform him / her of his attackers location. Its up to him / her to pay people to help him find said attacker or find the attacker his / herself.

Being a member will not intitle you too any special treatment, this is intended as a bit of fun.

From what I have seen GP are a bad idea.

we will have to learn from our mistakes.

Well I'm setting up the mob for the game :)

We will racketeer and collect protection, and put the g-police on the pay roll.

And whys that Celt? because you have a grudge against me? Or can you give any specific reason as to why it is a bad idea?

Yes Dazzer, I dont like an idea for the game because your a part of it.
    Want me to inflate your ego some more? :rolleyes:

They add nothing to the game and take away A LOT.

They provide a safe sector to sleep?
    Pick a random sector, go there, delete all warp links to and from and your as safe as you can get.

You put bounties on bashers?
    Exactly, its not your decision to do so as GP and neither is it your business.

Celt stop moaning. The G-Police will not get anything that a normal user wouldnt get in fact G-Police are more like an alliance than a protection force.

Dazzer stop egging him on as well just leave it be celt you are in the minority here thinking its a bad idea. personaly i cant wait to start cause im gonna try wipe them out :) Did i just say that outloud.

If i see anymore of this shit for lack of a better word ill just delete the post not even edit it. i dont want this place turning in to a war zone.

Its a game as well for ye feew who havent realised it yet you play to have fun not to win. but to win is nice.

Weh.

Daz and Celt if i see any more **** from either of ye i will get upset.

Celt we understand you donat agree with the G-Police and on that your not alone. But the fact remains Dazzer is still game admin.

If after this round is over and Daz feels differently about the G-Police im sure he will re-think there position in the game.

You have to make mistakes to learn.
    So Celt and Daz Shhhhhhhhhussssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh

Ill act like a little baby here for a moment.

Kraken if you edited my post for a simple FO in it then why on earth hasnt Celt's been edited? Can't stop one person from doing one thing and allow another to do something similiar.

Celt drop your problem whatever it may be with me. It's time to grow up and act a little more mature.

/End rant

Ill act like a little baby here for a moment.

Kraken if you edited my post for a simple FO in it then why on earth hasnt Celt's been edited? Can't stop one person from doing one thing and allow another to do something similiar.

Celt drop your problem whatever it may be with me. It's time to grow up and act a little more mature.

/End rant
    You like acting the hypocrite.
    I dont care if you were or were not G-Police, i dont like the idea.
    But you cant seem to accept that. So dont tell me to drop my problem.
    Dazzer, time to grow up and act a little bit more mature.

Well everyone is entitled to thier own opinion now leave it. I will not drop the idea because one person has stated he does not like it.

1 the reason i havent edited any of celts post is because he is trying to get a point across. also he is not trying to insult you or tell you to fo. he has his opinion.

2 no is asking you to drop it celt just disagrees with the idea of the introduction of the g-police.

3 daz im not trying to make enemies here but you and celt are starting to annoy me sort it out in pm not here this is for game dissucion not personal differences.

4thread closed casue its gone way off topic and is starting to become a flame thread.