Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The final verdict on Keano

• 24-05-2002 8:18am

You may remember when story first broke on wednesday i replied full of praise for roy keanes passion for the game. Well now i sing a very different tune. Roy keane has proved his tendancy as a control freak and a bad professional since then. He has berated fellow countrymen and professionals and failed to toe the line. As i undoubtedly believe in his ability as a player I further have no doubt in his ability as a professional BROWL!!!!!. He as captain is meant to
    set a good example to the rest of the squad and although i acknowledge his right to an opinion i cannot tolerate the ignorance and stupidity he has shown.

On the matter of people dubbing it a sad day for ireland and football,etc; i really have to say "Wake up for f*ck sake and enjoy the world cup".
    Roy Keane even said he dont expect ireland to win it, no one does. jesus were sounding more like the english every day with this tripe. I had said that i was prepared to suffer three defeats in the group games as just so long as ireland are there and representing our national identity on the world stage. There was going to be a time sooner or later when Keane had to retire from international football and the players will have to come off their training wheels, and stand up and be counted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Matt Holland Mark Kinsella in the centre of midfield, both there clubs respective captains. (not too shoddy)

The way i see it is that Keane will receive hell for whatever happens in the world cup

If we are out in 3 games - it will be his fault
    If we get to the semis - it will be his fault as we coulda won etc.

I`d say he is absolutly gutted, but f u c k him we`d have had to do without him someday.

Roll on the World Cup!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Most of what you say is true, just because people take McCarthy's side on this, doesn't mean we don't agree that Ireland will be a worse off team without Roy Keane. On paper we would be, but on the pitch, maybe it'll be a load off certain people's minds. Who knows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I know Ireland won't be half the team without roy keane. that is all.

I`d say he is absolutly gutted
    I don't think so. He obviously made the decision that there was some hope in his marriage, otherwise he would have stayed in Saipan. I mean its his decision, I think he would have been worse over there when this story breaks over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

I couldn't give a flying f*** about Keane any more. Let him go get divorced and sh*g all the Welsh birds under the sun.

such short memories. If i were roy keane i won't want to be representing such a bunch of pussys.

I know Ireland won't be half the team without roy keane. that is all.
    Oh. I am sorry. No point in us discussnig it then eh?
    When we see the newpaper articles at the weekend will you still insist that Keane was less than, shall we say, for starters, 50% to blame for this (assuming its between him and McCarthy and not the FAI)?

If i were roy keane i won't want to be representing such a bunch of pussys.
    The pussies who got us to the World Cup? Or us? He's not representing me, and neither is anyone else for that matter. Personally, I see the people (fans) who are getting loans of 5 grand to travel as representing me, not the players.

both parties were wrong. Keane for speaking his mind (terrible timing) and mc carthy for being a ****e manager. The rest of the players for not trying to do something about it and finally the FAI for being a bunch of idiots.

You may call McCarthy a shìte manager, but he did get us to the World Cup. I never thought he would qualify us for anything, he failed twice and should not have been in charge at the start of this campaign, but the FAI offered him his past 2 new contracts before he qualified, so his demands wouldn't go up. They are idiots obviously.

Personally, I think Keane engineered this row, because he realised that being honest and saying why he was going home would not go down well. Now that he has done this, he knows that it is the case that plenty of Irish Man Utd fans will take his side, no question. So he made the decision that this was the lesser of two evils. Now he never got on with McCarthy anyway, so it makes sense. This is just my opinion, SheroN, unlike you I am not saying it is the "last word", as I realise we have not heard the last of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭cheeky_monkey

Originally posted by SheroN
    such short memories. If i were roy keane i won't want to be representing such a bunch of pussys.
    what a sad, narrow-minded thing to say. Did you read the press-conference? It's in the Irish Times today p.14. Quinn, Kelly and Staunton all agreed Roy should be sent home and they're good friends of his.

Of course that probably makes them pussys too? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

They're not Keanos friends, he said it himself in the Times interview.
    Yesterday i was placing the blame firmly on McCarthy, but today i think Keane had to go, McCarthy couldn't take that abuse from him. And the FAI had to back MaCarthy, otherwise he would have been the one on the plane home and then where would we be?

I still feel relatively confident about getting out of the group, the only problem i fear is if we go 1-0 down in a game, Kinsell aand Holland aren't the class of player to turn our game around?

Where are all these stories about his wife threatening to leave him and getting some bird up the duff coming from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 stackboundary

(12:12) It has been confirmed that the Taoiseach has offered indirectly to help resolve the row that led to Roy Keane being sent home from the World Cup. The Taoiseach's office confirmed today that indirect contact was made with some of the parties involved in the dispute.

Bertie Ahern made contact with both the FAI and Roy Keane through a third party. It is understood he offered his assistance if either side felt it could make a difference. A spokesman for the Taoiseach said Mr Ahern had left it at that, but had not yet heard back from either side.

The former Republic of Ireland soccer captain has left the Pacific island of Saipan for Tokyo, following his dismissal. It is understood he will catch a connecting flight to Europe.

The Manchester United captain avoided the media by leaving his hotel by the back door to travel to the airport, where he spoke briefly to a BBC reporter. Keane was quoted as saying he had absolutely no regrets about the row with manager, Mick McCarthy, that led to his dismissal.

The rest of the squad has arrived at its new base in Japan to continue training for the tournament. Squad members, who have supported the manager's decision, were reported to be in good spirits as they left the island for the new base at Izumo.

The Honorary Secretary of the Football Association of Ireland has said there might still be a slim hope of resolving the row. Des Casey said the FAI's chief executive, Brendan Menton, was due in Japan shortly and would vigorously explore the possibilities of a reconciliation.

Mr Casey said he believed any chance of a compromise would require a very sincere apology from Roy Keane and a willingness by Mick McCarthy and his squad to accept such an apology.

And sure don't you know he's too cute not to come through for us.

Good player or not The right decision was made. As said in that film 'Babe', The way things are is the way things are, ie, keano the player and McCarthy the manager. Brian Clough would have no hesitation in chucking him out had he carried on like that at forest and who knows what that nutcase ferguson would do either.. McCarthy has set a good example to all young children interested in soccer that you wont get what you want throwing your toys out of the pram. Football is just too much a professional game today to act the psycho, and the days of players acting the prat on the world stage will be phased out with the help of god.
    Both Maradona, Pele and the Beckhams of this world would be sent home if they carried on like that and didnt ferguson get rid of the great Paul mcGrath for behavioural problems and attitude so no matter how good you think you are the rest of the team and the manager must work together as a unit. Opinions i agree should be ironed out like Mick proposed but not irrationally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Ferguson would do the same thing in a heartbeat. In fact he has. Japp Stam now plays for lazio (altho i still subscribe to the view that he was discovered to be a rampant drug abuser while still in manchester and shipped out to avoid scandal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I had said that i was prepared to suffer three defeats in the group games as just so long as ireland are there and representing our national identity on the world stage.

I think that was a lot of Roys problem. He recognised the Irish team was representing Ireland abroad and he was frustrated by the shoddy organisation and the "Ah shure who cares, arent we only here for the sunshine" mentality. Roys not typically Irish because Roy doesnt accept second best in anything while others think that making it to the finals is misson accomplished.
    And the FAI had to back MaCarthy, otherwise he would have been the one on the plane home and then where would we be?

Probably better off. Roy Keane for player/manager :D

Probably better off. Roy Keane for player/manager
    I don't think thats a very practical solution, Sand. Arafat for the Israeli presidency!

Made in jest Bateman. Though it would be no harm at all for Irish soccer to take on Keanes expectation of nothing less than the best. I think were past the "Jamaican Bobsleigh Team" mentality with regards to what should be expected for Ireland.

Well the precious, under-resourced international team that he always complains about would be better off if Irish people supported Irish teams instead of English ones. Now obviously Roy is earning the Queen's shilling off the back of Irish people travelling to Old Trafford, so stating anything negative about the "Irish soccer public" is a no-no for more than one reason as far as Roy goes.
    Nevertheless, the inferiority complex that everyone talks about eg "win lose or draw the Irish will party, sing Ole Ole until we fall over, sure once we get pissed the results don't matter, best fans in the world" has a lot to do with the eL as well. Most people will easily make the distinction, but the link is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 bellum

All of this stemss from a ****e footballing managing body, the FAI. It is very depressing to see such a good palyer lose out on what could be the pinnacle of his career because of the incompetence of the managerial staff. I shall not bother to even start naming one of the littany of examples to prove this.

They have people called 'Psychologists' to help fools like Mick to deal with complex mental issues like. Roy Keane is browned off and ready to explode. Now do I a) Call a meeting and incite him to blow his cool in front of everyone, or b) let him cool off and then have a talk in private. Tough choice, eh?

Mick McCarthy possibly did have to send Keane home after is comments. But he wouldn't have made them had there been no meeting. It is just, as Eamon Dunphy said, McCarthy is a total Muppet.

As for the loss of the player on the pitch:

Oh, sure now we have Steve Staunton. Seemingly he can 'read the game.' Now, as you can see, this is a huge asset. When Raul is bearing down goal, he has a phenomenal ability to predict just how miserably and utterly he will fail to reach, much less halt him, and will realise just how absolutely certain it is that Raul will score.

We need Roy Keane. Kilbane and Holland. Captain mediocre and relegated teams respectively. Not even nearly as good.

We're dead. Bring on Cameroonl; bring on a thrashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Originally posted by Sand

I think that was a lot of Roys problem. He recognised the Irish team was representing Ireland abroad and he was frustrated by the shoddy organisation and the "Ah shure who cares, arent we only here for the sunshine" mentality. Roys not typically Irish because Roy doesnt accept second best in anything while others think that making it to the finals is misson accomplished.

This is a total fiction used by Keane as a cover for his inexcusable behaviour. We crapped on Holland and pushed Portugal to the line. Is that a sign of being out for the sunshine ? In what f***in idiots book then ?
    Keane is a great competitor, but even great competitors have to grow and up and act like a man eventually.
    McCarthey showed he runs a professional, winning team and Keane has only shown what a selfish bastard he is.

Do people remember Amsterdam? After the game, while the team were coming off, Keane was going mad for throwing away the two goal lead, while the rest of the players were celebrating an away point to Holland, cheering the fans etc etc. That stuck with me at the time, and its relevant now.
    However, McCarthy is still in the right if what Keane was supposed to have said is true.

This is a total fiction used by Keane as a cover for his inexcusable behaviour. We crapped on Holland and pushed Portugal to the line. Is that a sign of being out for the sunshine ? In what f***in idiots book then ? Keane is a great competitor, but even great competitors have to grow and up and act like a man eventually.
    McCarthey showed he runs a professional, winning team and Keane has only shown what a selfish bastard he is.

What Bateman said. We should have beaten Holland in Amsterdam, which would have seen us through as group winners. As bateman said everyone was going hurrah a draw gained, when in reality 2 points dropped. Thats the "out for the sunshine" mentality.

Theres a lot of stuff being mentioned about Keano and this News of the World story about him playing away from home. Now assuming of course the News of the World has suddenly become a reputable source we can accept without question you might ask has Keano engineered this so he can return home? Some people have. It doesnt make sense though for a player to be smart enough to psyche out McCarthy into sending him home whilst at the same time being stupid enough to call him an "english ****", thus alienating half the Irish team, his colleagues at Man United, let alone the fans at Man United - who despite not being all Mancunian are certainly mostly English. It seems a bit stupid for such a clever operator.

If he wanted to leave to go home he could simply say to McCarthy that he had personal problems and his knee was bad and left it at that - I dont think anyone would begrudge him his family, well except for those who just love a chance to lay into Keano at any given opportunity, uppity arrogant bastard that he is. Which he did presumeably on tuesday. He then comes back and says hell play for this World Cup but hell quit after it ( Again assuming hes trying to engineer this why quit after the world cup- surely he wants to go home now? ). He then comments on the conditions and the preperation in an interview basically saying there a prepration to fail. He gets called in to a team meeting and lays into McCarthy when his opportunity to speak comes and gets sent home, having brought loads of bad press onto himself. Smart move given if he wanted to he could have left on Tuesday with merely a "Feck Keanos gone" reaction.

If anyone wants to cast blame about, you can start with the FAI for providing crap support, McCarthy for not demanding better standards (Youll notice that most of the improvements to the Irish squads conditions have come after Keano "moaned" about them) and not having the common sense to tackle an obviously pissed off, short tempered Roy in a private meeting rather than invite him to get everything off his chest (A whole lot given Keanes intense dislike of McCarthy) in front of the squad, And Keane for losing his temper completely by his personal (rather than professional) attack on McCarthy which left McCarthy looking the fool he is. Id personally have preferred to have seen McCarthy going home given the relative value of Keane and McCarthy but the FAI were never going to do anything but back McCarthy, especially given the anger Keanos comments would have sown with the British born players.