Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHARTER 1: Welcome your new Overfien^H^H^H Mods.

• 10-05-2002 3:45pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Castor Troy (now known as TwoShedsJackson) has had to step down as Mod of the Humanities board for personal reasons of insufficent time.

In his place please welcome the triumvirate of Zenith (The Father), Micro (The Son) and Amp (The Holy Muppet).

I'm sure you'll all join with me to thank CT for his stirling work over the years (he's one of our longest serving mods). Humanities is one of the toughest boards to mod given its naturally contentious nature and CT walked a fine line with a fair viewpoint. (culminating in several Boards cards I might add ;) )

Thanks Castor, pints on me next time we meet!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Bye bye Castor - I'm sure I've been moderated here b4 !

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've reopened this thread because I'm sure at least some of you acknowledge the work CT put into Humanities.

Anything else is offtopic.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭potlatch

Hang on, Castor Troy (Godblessom) has stepped down as Humanities mod but three other mods have been chosen, two of whom never post to this board, and probably rarely read it.

This doesn't make any sense. Humanities/Politics needs a series of mods who know a lot about the subjects discussed and are extremely interested in them also.

In the interest of the better moderating of Humanities, how about re-opening nominations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by potlatch
    Hang on, Castor Troy (Godblessom) has stepped down as Humanities mod but three other mods have been chosen, two of whom never post to this board, and probably rarely read it.

Hang on....
    potlatch
    Cool Newbie

I don't think you're really in a position to make a statement like that. There's very few people who don't read the Humanities board. Afair, CT didn't really post much here, but he certainly did read every single post. Some people make their views made known more than others, but having a point of view has nothing to do with being a moderator.

This doesn't make any sense. Humanities/Politics needs a series of mods who know a lot about the subjects discussed and are extremely interested in them also.
    Bonkey and gandalf do Politics and do a damn good job of it. Humanities has huge subject range so what you propose is impossible. That and the fact that most of the threads are based on opinion and conjecture.

Besides that, I commend TwoShedsJackson (in my own little way) for the superb modding job he did here. The muppets never knew what hit them. :D:D
    Now he can come to the next beer without fear :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

why did he change his name anyway.
    Have to say im undecided as to how i feel on this subject. never really had much to say about castor troy before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

If there was ever a mod to hang your "He took no ****" hat on it was CT. Fair play to you CT :)

G'luck to the new holy trinity, not only in modding but in reading some of the absolute tripe posted here :)

ps Seamus - hate to break it to you, but theres quite a number of ppl who dont read these forums (i dont read it to stop me from transforming into amazing abusive muppet man :) )

Originally posted by Dustaz
    (i dont read it to stop me from transforming into amazing abusive muppet man :) )

Dont worry, that only happens once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Dont push it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Naw, I'm with potlatch on this one.
    Humanities has huge subject range so what you propose is impossible. That and the fact that most of the threads are based on opinion and conjecture.
    Yes, it is a huge subject but someone with a good, all round knowledge of stuff should do the trick. Obviously someone who posts and/or reads regularly. Def.

cant say im a fan of all this prejudging people before they mod, i was on the recieving end of this and i didnt like it one bite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

wow

to Caster, you'll be missed

you did a damn fine job of modding this forum

good luck to whatever you are doing now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

In the interest of the better moderating of Humanities, how about re-opening nominations?

Just because you don't post that often to a board doesn't mean you don't know or are not interested about it's subject. I read each and everyone of these threads as I'm sure do Micro and Zenith. But I will rarely post to this board in the interests of impartiality. Example:

User1: I have a profound love of cake
    amp: I agree
    User2: CAKE IS TEH LOSE! YOU ARE STUPID! YORE MA SHAGS CAKE UP TEH ASS!
    amp warns user2 about personal abuse
    User2: OMG! HE'S OPPRESSING ME BECAUSE HE LIKE TEH CAKE!

I take co-modding this board very seriously, believe me. But this thread is not about me or Micro or Zenith. This thread is about thanking Castor Troy/TwoShedsJackson for the work he put in. It's a tribute to him that he's being replaced with not 1 not 2 but 3 moderators. They're big boots to fill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zenith

To repeat, and re-emphasise: I also don't see my role here as leading the debates. I see it as protecting boards.ie and everybody who sails in her. I'll row in with an opinion when I bloody well please, thank you, not provide you lot with a moving target.

Also, muppets who accuse particular gardai of wife beating are on my sh1t-list. You know who you are.

(My CV: a human, with an education in media and humanities, currently working in media/technology).

I just hope you guys know enough about the topics to be able to mod them effectively. It's not as simple as your 1-2-3 scheme there. And anyway, Zenith, I've never seen you post to Humanities once. That's not an accusation, just an observation.

Way to go with the RTS thread - instead of warning people and/or editing posts to redirect the flow of the thread back to where it was, you just shut down the longest and most interesting thread in quite a while. Is this an inability to do a job or not understanding the argument? Or maybe, just maybe, these two aspects are linked, contrary to what Amp says.

I dunno, you guys just better be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

Castor was a great Moderator,always gave a muppet enough rope then when they stopped being entertaining sent em crashing through the trapdoor.
    Tough but fair old castor, always gave a poster an even break, they dont make em like him no more,Broke teh mould when they made him,said he had two sheds the size of a house made of solid gold,he had mystical powers ye know ten foot tall ...

/begins campaign to reinstate Castor Troy.

BTW Congratulations to the New Moderators,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

I just hope you guys know enough about the topics to be able to mod them effectively. It's not as simple as your 1-2-3 scheme there. And anyway, Zenith, I've never seen you post to Humanities once. That's not an accusation, just an observation.

coz youve been here so long to have a valued opinion.
    shut up.
    Way to go with the RTS thread - instead of warning people and/or editing posts to redirect the flow of the thread back to where it was, you just shut down the longest and most interesting thread in quite a while. Is this an inability to do a job or not understanding the argument? Or maybe, just maybe, these two aspects are linked, contrary to what Amp says.

blah blah blah my opinion blah blah blah
    shut up.
    I dunno, you guys just better be good.

or else what?
    shut up.

as for castor, you gave us some good laughs. nice one mate.

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    blah blah blah my opinion blah blah blah
    shut up.
    Yeah, my opinion and everyone else's opinion too. That's the whole point of the boards. So long as it isn't libellous or degenerating into flaming wars, people have a right to continue discussing something. Edit posts like CT did, don't close the whole thread. Otherwise the boards goes against its whole frickin' purpose.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

What Amp and Zenith said.

You dont need to know the finer points of The Northern Peace Process to edit/ban a muppet posting "WUOLD YUO LIKE DONKEY PR0N?"

Most things which are mod'ed are that obvious.

Trust me, Zenith knows a thing or 16billion about editing.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

CT - Job well done. Particularly considering its the forum it is and you did by yourself.

Amp, Micro, Zenith, - gluck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

So does this mean we can't play the "Ban CastorTroy" card anymore. :) And I'll miss all those "where's my post gone" threads

But seriously....kudos to CT...Definatly one of the best and fairest mods there was....best of luck to u m8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Great mod and a fair-minded person too. Drinks on me if you ever find yourself in London CT m8 :)

Occy

PS- Mod'ing is a lot easier if you have a nice easy pair of boards to mod, a la LOTR/Science :P