Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The RED mist

• 09-05-2002 2:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

Was just reading the "What scares you?" post and Monty (the one and only)' s post reminded me of a time I just flipped out and literally "saw red" and started beating the living daylights out of someone.

It was a rugby match and the other team where very dirty players and had started a lot of off the ball fights and made late tackles etc.

A friend of mine was pined at the bottom of a pile of players and I saw one of there players run up and kick him full in the face there was nothing my friend could do to stop the blow.

I just completely lost it and ran over to the offending player in an instant and held him with one hand and repeatedly punched him with the other.

I don’t know if he ever hit me and if he did I never felt it but I do know that he would have fallen down from the punches if I was not holding him and that it took six players to separate us.

I did see red and I was not in control of my actions.
    My anger had been building all game and I think that was the final straw. I'm not a big man and he was as big if not bigger then me but I don’t think anyone could have stopped me then.

Even me!

I was wondering if anyone else has had this happen to them.

P.S. it only ever happened the once for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Hmm...not quite, unfortunately it's more of a delayed reaction with me. Takes me a second or two to fully realise that I should be beating seven shades out of something.

Feckin respect for that though mate, pld indeed :)
    gg, shots all etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Only happened to me the once as well. I won't go into too much personal detail but my mum was having problems with a psycho ex boyfriend who kept showing up at our flat. She tried to throw him out one time and he pushed her really hard onto the floor.

That's the last thing I remember before the 'red' bit. A few minutes later I was sitting on the floor with my cousin and our friend who had pulled me off the guy and my mum was debating calling an ambulance.

Apparently, I'd launched myself across at him knocking his head off the nearest wall and then attempted to choke him with my hands whilst simultaneously kneeing him in the groin. My mum said afterwards he just froze (perhaps the shock of being attacked by a fourteen year old girl!).

It scared me more than anyone else though, I think, because I never knew I had it in me. I'm not normally quick tempered at all but I suppose it just the fact someone was threatening my mother - I don't like that.

Hope it never happens again all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Happened once when I was 15. Standing outside Old Wesley, waiting for a lift, talking with a few mates in a group. A girl I was feckin' crazy about (and ended up going out with about a year later) was about 30 feet away talking to this dick who had been hassling her inside for about half an hour. I was keeping an eye on them (as jealous would-be boyfriends do) as she tried to convince him that she wasn't interested in him (and in no uncertain terms, as she's quite an outspoken girl). Next thing, I see him slap her on the face. I went fu<king BERSERK, ran over and started laying into him. Now any mates of mine around didn't know what to expect - I'm a fairly quiet and very pacifistic lad, and was especially quiet at that age, and noone would ever have expected this from me.
    I had been viciously beating the absolute crap out of him for a good minute or so (and I was much better-built back then than I am now) by the time anyone had the presence of mind to drag me away from the **** - I didn't even have the energy to struggle when I got pulled away. He ends up going to Vincent's with a broken arm and concussion, I get hauled off to Dun Laoghaire Garda station and end up with a JLO. It woke me up to how viciously mental I can get when I lose my temper (and it takes a LOT for me to lose my temper, I'm the most tolerant person I know).

Keep in mind - it's always the quiet ones you have to look out for ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Yeah happened to me a few times as well. Go completely berserk and just lose any control over myself. Stop thinking properly completely.

Remember some guy was annoying me in school and chucked a plastic bottle at me head. Before I knew what was going on, i was out of my seat choking him. Copped on a few seconds later and let him go. Bit scary really. Don't have the best of tempers normally, easily irritated, but very very rarely go that bad.

Gav

Would you do it again?
    I imagine you are actualy proud that you could do that, given such situations as described above?

Hadn't read yours Verb :) Was more intended for Koneko, Doc and Sico.

Had an experience similar to Verbs in primary school. Just kind of lost with a guy who was taking the piss, and decided taht the only way to stop him was to, am, stop him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

guy was pissing me off once.

i ran up to him screaming "Knives on second restart, gl, hf".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

I've never lost the head like that, yet anyway, don't think I've even come close. The only times I've ever been in fights were when people started into me physically, and I think that always ended with me throwing them on the ground or something and leaving it at that. I've never swung a punch at someone with the intention of doing serious damage, I just grab them by the collar/neck or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Oh god yes I've had that red mist thingy on a few occasions. never devolved to violence fortunately as I always seem to manage to override it.

lets just say I go into "red mist" along the lines of Kharn's namesake (ask him where his name stems from and the background around it)

Thank god I've never attacked anyone whilst in that state of mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I am quite possibly the last person you would see getting into a fight, I'm fairly standoffish in that respect. Last year I went into a karate tournament, expecting a fairly good walloping, I ended up breaking some guys nose and splitting some guys lip. Just shows what you can do when pushed. (I came second in that tournament, a shock to everyone, including myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Wan the Dave

(he likes it rough...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

One time. Playing football with my friends, it was three on three and there was money on it. Not that much but we were kind of young so a little was a lot to us then. Anyway the tension was already high because of the money. So one of my friends crunchs me from behind when I'm through on goal. I dont do anything, then he does it again and I totally snap. Next thing I know is I have my hands around his neck choking him, it took two people to pull me off him. The fact was that he was probably the friend I liked least so when I got a chance to get him I think subconsciously I wanted to really hurt him.
    I have a short temper at times, but I'm not violent, so it was a bit scary thinking back on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Some friends and I were attacked outside a pub once and after getting a few blows to the head I totally lost it and almost choked a guy to death. I can remember literally throwing two guys off me and people attacking me while I was choking the guy but I can't remember it actually hurting me. I only stopped cos the filth showed up, and the sirens snapped me out of it.

Originally posted by Dave
    I ended up breaking some guys nose and splitting some guys lip.

Don't you get disqualified for drawing blood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

The last time I snapped was about 5/6 years ago a similar situation to sicos, difference was the girl was a very good friend of mine from work. Some one pushed her onto the ground intentionally, I went over and got between him and her to stop him doing it again, I had no intention of starting a fight at that time, I told him in no uncertain terms to back off, he did, he seemed to be gone, so I went to hail a cab for her, no sooner than I turned my back, he was back doing the same thing again...at which point I was really getting angry, so I pushed him away from her at which point he took a swing at me... the next thing I rember about that is being held back from him by 2 people, who had seen what happened from accross the street, he was on the ground...I ened up in pearse street garda station, found out that I broken his nose, and, one of his teeth and that I ad knocked him out cold. No charges were brought against me..phew.
    It scared me that I could do so much damage to someone when I lost my temper, normally, I would just back away from a fight
    Those who know me, would say Im quiet, very very standoff'ish and that I would be the last person to get involved in a fight.
    After that incident, I keep a very tight reign on my temper, I do not want to unleash it on any one ever again. Mainly because I fear I would do something worse and I dont even like the thought of that at all. :(

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Good thread.

Anyway, I've never beat someone up - those of you who've met me can only imagine the kind of damage a big guy like me could potentially do to someone. I've gotten very angry and nearly on several occasions.

One night that stands out, I was out in Galway with a group of folk who I don't really know too well (friends of friends). One lad - pissed as a fart - spilled a load of beer over me by complete accident and I don't know why, but I fking lost it. I grabbed my (now empty) pint bottle and held it to his face and started screaming at him - no one knew what was going on. Not proud of that. Met the lad later that night at a house party and we sat down and I apologised and explained that it's not my style to loose it like that (which it isn't) and it was all cool.

On another occasion, a friend of mine was being attacked by a lad who was much, much bigger than him so I spotted this and ran at the big guy (who was a bit smaller than me). He managed to back himself to a wall and I sprinted harder to hit him with as much speed as possible and crush the wind out of him. It was very funny actually, the bouncer yanked him out of the way at the last second and I slammed into the wall at top speed not even thinking the possible death it might have caused this lad. Bouncers then took a look at me and decided it was better to throw this lad out rather than have 6 of them try and remove a very angry fat man.

I tend to vent agression in moshes every week - this is a good thing. Beat the bejesus out of each other in the name of music! I've seen videos of myself moshing - it's actually very funny seeing people bounce off me and watching as 4 people attempt to take me down.

As for Lemming's reference to my namesake - he's talking about the Games Workshop character I robbed the name from - Kharn the Betrayer. Kharn is a general in an army of psychotics who live for killing and offereing blood for the blood god - the god they worship, Khorne (who likes murder, death, skulls and lots of blood). Kharn is called the Betrayer cause the story goes that he was fighting some lads who were practically beaten and he decides he needs more blood and skulls for Khorne, so he turns on his own troops and goes on an even more frenzied attack. It suited me cause when I first started playing Quake, I used to shoot my team mates cause I was a little trigger happy :) That Kharn lad is dangerous ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i threw my stepdad down the stairs after he hit me once.
    cúnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I've been on the receiving end of a few red mists in my time. They're not funny, they're not clever, and frankly respect isn't due to anyone who loses it like that.

(Especially not at me.) :D

I know that there are exceptions to every rule, extenuating circumstances blah blah, but seriously. I don't think anyone should ever encounter anything in day to day life that causes them to lose it like that. I think there is rarely justification. I think there are better ways. And I think that whatever about seeing the red mist once in your life in special circumstances and it scaring the bejaysus out of you, if you're a regular visitor to the land of misty redness, get help.

/me stops now before this gets overly 'peace love and hippy hoppy happiness'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 DonkeysLad

Ive actually been on the recieving end a few times before with the ex missus and I was going out with her for over 2 years (silly me) she used to just loose the rag anytime she "thought" I was unfaithful, or sometimes even for nothing!! she came at me with a knife one time and another time she bit a chunk out of my arm, haha i had to get a tetnis ... I think it made it worse cos I just stayed calm and laughed at her haha, Its not a nice thing tho I can see reason with some people loosing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Silent Assasin

To the Wimp That Lets his girlfriend go at him..Stand up for yourself man get some rocks.. I remember myself my girlfriend hit me with an Iron in the head so i threw it back at her and guess what boss she didnt do it again.

Women want equal rights but when they hit you with the iron and you throw it back do they want equal rights.... The Answer Is No !!

Get It Together
    Yours Sincerely
    The Silent Assasin...

• Site Banned Posts: 197 ✭✭Wolfie

I think that some guys here are bragging about red-mists... they aren't good. I agree with JackDaniels, it's a problem with lack of self-control, and when someone has a lack of self control they can do stoopid things.

Having said that, you cant just be a wussy and get beaten around like DonkeysLad, so if it was a case of self defence, or defending another person, then go for it. Lose the rag! People dont seem too bothered to intervene anymore, so I guess it's nice to see a couple of you sticking up for the ladies.

But remember, you should have some control, even when you lose your temper. If you have no control, that doesn't make you harder, it makes you stupider and it gets easier to let the red-mist take over the more you do it, and you will end up doing something you regret some-day.

To Wolfie..
    I think you have a hard neck yacking on about this and that and generally wasting everyones time.

"If you have no control, that doesn't make
    you harder, it makes you Stupider"

What the hell is that all about man ??
    Since when are you a pschycology graduate ??

Cos when i lose control i am harder !! And what would you know about being hard and the red mist the only mist you know is the Yellow Variety.

As I say Throw the Iron Stab Them Back
    But Most Of All
    Do Unto Others As They Do Unto You.
    Go Donkeys Lad. Get Her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 DonkeysLad

Originally posted by Silent Assasin
    To the Wimp That Lets his girlfriend go at him..Stand up for yourself man get some rocks.. I remember myself my girlfriend hit me with an Iron in the head so i threw it back at her and guess what boss she didnt do it again.

Women want equal rights but when they hit you with the iron and you throw it back do they want equal rights.... The Answer Is No !!

Get It Together
    Yours Sincerely
    The Silent Assasin...

not so silent assasin, you probably only beat up your girlfriend with a pole because, she laughed at your little wiener, now thats not nice, are you going to do that to every girl that rejects you !! better stock up on poles !!

Now Now Donkey,
    Lets Not Get Personal Here as that will solve no ones problem. ANd I think its unfair that you go on about my manhood.

Its not my fault its a birth defect and how did you know about it anyway ????

I was just telling you about my experiences and you see fit to insult my reproductive organs..

Well shame on you Shame On You
    Au Revoir !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

To Wolfie..
    I think you have a hard neck yacking on about this and that and generally wasting everyones time.

ANd you're not? Contribute something even vaguely intelligible next time or don't say anything :rolleyes:

What the hell is that all about man ??
    Since when are you a pschycology graduate ??

Cos when i lose control i am harder !! And what would you know about being hard and the red mist the only mist you know is the Yellow Variety.

Erm ... if you loose control, its far more likely that you will do something stupid in a fight. Take martial arts for example. Anyone who looses the rag in a fight (tournament or otherwise) is much easier to defeat if the other person hasn't lost the rag and stays calm(er).

YOU may think you'r eharder. But all it'll take is one person who makes a split second judgement on what to do to you in that state, and you are a goner. No amount of "corrr .. look at me!! I'm well 'ard" is gonna help then. Brain beats brawn anyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by DonkeysLad

not so silent assasin, you probably only beat up your girlfriend with a pole because, she laughed at your little wiener, now thats not nice, are you going to do that to every girl that rejects you !! better stock up on poles !!

TOUCHÉ !!!!!!

fúcking owned silent ass-ass-in

you twat

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

As I say Throw the Iron Stab Them Back
    But Most Of All
    Do Unto Others As They Do Unto You.
    Go Donkeys Lad. Get Her

sadest thing I've seen here since I've joined, time to close this thread I think.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

"and the red mist came down"

i LOVE that saying.

i cant say that i DONT have a temper, but i rarely go mental and start beating ppl.

only once can I recount an occasion of where i really did loose it and the RED MIST CAME DOWN

it was the end of a sat nite. that day had been a very very bad day for me. relationships goin haywire and work / college getting me down. Also the news of the attacks on the streets of cork city and just the general scum of the earth getting away with almost everything had me in a rare inconsolable mood.

nehoo, the night was coming to an end. Meself and me mate were walking towards my car. As we came up to the car, this drunkard was PíSSING against my car. It was more the arrogance and sheer contempt of the man that got me worked up. I had just washed the blasted car that monring.

and so i lost it. totally lost all self control. i ran over, screaming and shouting like a lunatic. i pure snapped. my friend tells me of how when i pushed the guy away rom my car, he went FLYING.

i was about to start pummeling him. but something in my head told me to stop. i think when i saw him lying there, vomiting, his small lad hanging out, still pissing himself, he digusted me.

i drove home with an odd feeling that night, glad to have showed him whats what, but sorry to see that ppl like him are all around us.

Silent Assasin
    Cool Newbie

I wish there was a new user title to suit ppl of this calibar. such as

Silent Assasin
    FúCKING MUPPET
    Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

well when I was 15 an my aul man went mad as a fart cus I was bummin around and he literally started on me and I saw red and ended up having a serious punch up and sprained my thumb then left the house for a day/two for him to cool off after a big fight :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Only happened once to me.. a guy in school who was a real as**le was really annoying me and always trying to wind me up and get a reaction. Back then I was very quiet and rather shy, but still 6'1 and fairly fit due to the amount of sport and training I used to do... he was about 5'5 and fairly slight build but seemed to think he was the whole man...

So one time he kept at me and made a jump at me, grabbed me in a head lock, and had me nearly doubled over.. I got so angry I wrapped my arm around his legs, and stood up straight while he was still holding onto my neck and when he left go I just slammed him onto the floor.. now I know it hurt, bigtime, as he was in serious pain after it.. think he actually hurt his back as a result.. but he never went near me again...

I didnt even react after him hitting the floor, and to be honest if I tried I could never do that again.. it was just sheer rage and dunno where I got the strenght from... frightened the crap outta me as to what I could do when provoke and have been in very few fights or rows since, unless trying to break them up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Originally posted by Wolfie
    it's a problem with lack of self-control, and when someone has a lack of self control they can do stoopid things.

By the sound of things you've never been in a situation like the ones that have been described in these posts.

I was.
    It was after a hurling match, and there was grudge between two people on the side line due to a match that was played a couple of months which involved the same clubs but at an older age level.
    Anyway a fight broke out between the supporters and then it spread to the crowd, my brother went in to help one of his friends and he was surrounded and was getting beaten up by 3 dikheads.
    So i ran over and pushed one off and was about to punch the guy that had my brother in a head lock, but someone came in from my left and punched me across the jaw, knocking me unconcious for a couple of seconds, and while i was down i got kicked in the head and ribs. Hospital for 2 days, yadda, yadda, ya.

If i went back and knew the consequences i still would have done the same thing, you cant always just stand back. Especially when theres someone you know involved.
    You do lose control and theres very little you can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

That's a good point. When you lose your self control, that's it. You aren't aware of what is gonig on, you lose all reason. It's fair to describe it as temporary insanity.

It hasn't happened to me in a long time but when it does happen, literally something snaps and you lose it. I've been lucky enough that I came back to myself after around 30 seconds or so and didn't anything really stupid.

As to if I am proud of it. I'd be fairly confident that if i was mugged, i'd be ****tin it that the guy didn't stick his knife into me, but if some was physicaly attacking me, I'd imagine I probably would lose it. I would need to be getting a bit of a kicking though :)

Gav

oh and just as an aside about the bragging. I'm not trying to say it's anything wonderful, it is simply just something that happens to me. I don't start fights. I avoid trouble and confrontation probably more than I should, so no. I'm not bragging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think that some guys here are bragging about red-mists... they aren't good. I agree with JackDaniels, it's a problem with lack of self-control, and when someone has a lack of self control they can do stoopid things.

Having said that, you cant just be a wussy and get beaten around like DonkeysLad, so if it was a case of self defence, or defending another person, then go for it. Lose the rag! People dont seem too bothered to intervene anymore, so I guess it's nice to see a couple of you sticking up for the ladies.

I completely and utterly disagree. Most of the people here describing how they completely lost it are the kind that usually have the sensible solutions when drunk and as they said 'are normally quiet'. The Red Mist (as it would apply to me) has happened to me twice, but come of no consequence. ONce when I was 12, I told my brother I'd kill him (and might have) except another brother held me back. Besides, I was 4'9" and 8 stone and my bro was 17, 5"8' and 15 stone. I so would have lost.
    I lost it another time after getting off a particularly bizarre nitelink journey. Luckily, the only things on the recieving end were bus stops, plants and pub walls/kegs.

I have tonnes of self-control, in fact, I'm probably the most in control person I know, but I haven't a clue what I'd do if i *really* lost it. No-one does. It's the people who go out, lose the rag almost every night are the ones with no self-control.

As for people being beaten up by women......I would find it very very difficult to hit a woman, no matter how angry I was. Let's face it, a women starts kicking/hitting you, what will happen to you? A few cuts/bruises, maybe a broken rib.
    You kicking/hitting her with equivalent ferocity. "Oh look, I've killed her." That's what I see as the problem. Men can kill women with just their fists. I would *always* think twice before considering hitting a female. Never have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

This is funny, a thread about red mist, fights and losing control, in which people start bickering with each other, fighting, and er... losing control. Reading all this macho bullsh!t, it's no wonder there's so much violence on the streets.

• Site Banned Posts: 334 ✭✭scuzzy

One of my friends lost it on paddy's day. His girlfriend was jumped on across the road from him by at least 8 people, lads and lassies. He's usually fairly quiet and hardly ever fights, prolly because he's so ****ing big (~6' 15st). So he goes over to them and starts beating the **** in and out of them, peeling them off one by one. It was quite funny to look at, seeing them (literally) flying through the air...
    I don't know if any of them were hurt but we saw them later on that night and they didn't look too healthy. Needless to say they didn't come near us again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Those of you that have met me can probably imagine the damage I can do to someone.
    Happened recently.

Red mist, once. I mean ive been in fights before but this one was different.
    Standing in the school yard, when next thing some bright spark starts throwing coins at me, basically I didn’t give a **** his aim was crap, but my mate says to me “think we will have a word" and that was it, I walked over and with that he throws another coin at me.

This is where the "mist" kicks in. I stooped and charged, grabbing him by the troth, now I must have dropped him because his mates come in with a hard man attitude and I dropped him to the ground with a punch to the stomach. Next thing I see is everyone’s jumping in, im throwing digs and four of them are flying back, I then get grabbed by one of those supervision pricks, so I catch him (who is about half my size) and throw him into the crowd. I then see to the Connor of my eye my mate taken a beaten off the 3 of them, (he’s smaller then me) I go ****ing nut I go all out on the guy that was throwing the coins landed about 3 digs a couple of boots to the side before I was dragged away from him by the now arrived vice principal and supervisor.

The simple fact is I would have killed the guy, and anybody that got in my way, I found out later that it was a brawl involving no lets then me, my mate and 15 others trying to take my head off, yet I managed to get out without a mark. You ask me today why I went off like that I couldn’t tell you, one thing that struck me was the fact that during the whole event I kept thinking, god this guy is one ugly dog.

What scares me the most is the lack of fear, I mean id do it again in a second, and what’s more a part of me enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Boston
    Those of you that have met me can probably imagine the damage I can do to someone.
    Happened recently.

Red mist, once. I mean ive been in fights before .......

What scares me the most is the lack of fear, I mean id do it again in a second, and what’s more a part of me enjoyed it.

Sounds like a mate of mine. He on his own one day in a dirt place just off a road in Firhouse (we were using the area to build dirt jumps), when he gets surrounded by 12 or 13 young fellas. They were only about 15, but that doesn't make them harmless. My mate is a psycho, and scarily strong for his size. He says all he remembers is picking up a log, and then next thing he knows, there's 5 guys sprawled on the ground in front of him blood gushing out of their heads, and the rest of them legging it off up the hill. He just cycled home and woke up the next day with a broken thumb. He said the *exact* same thing as your last line Boston - he was ready to kill them.

Happened recently.

Red mist, once. I mean ive been in fights before but this one was different.
    Standing in the school yard, when next thing some bright spark starts throwing coins at me, basically I didn?t give a **** his aim was crap, but my mate says to me ?think we will have a word" and that was it, I walked over and with that he throws another coin at me.

This is where the "mist" kicks in. I stooped and charged, grabbing him by the troth, now I must have dropped him because his mates come in with a hard man attitude and I dropped him to the ground with a punch to the stomach. Next thing I see is everyone?s jumping in, im throwing digs and four of them are flying back, I then get grabbed by one of those supervision pricks, so I catch him (who is about half my size) and throw him into the crowd. I then see to the Connor of my eye my mate taken a beaten off the 3 of them, (he?s smaller then me) I go ****ing nut I go all out on the guy that was throwing the coins landed about 3 digs a couple of boots to the side before I was dragged away from him by the now arrived vice principal and supervisor.

The simple fact is I would have killed the guy, and anybody that got in my way, I found out later that it was a brawl involving no lets then me, my mate and 15 others trying to take my head off, yet I managed to get out without a mark. You ask me today why I went off like that I couldn?t tell you, one thing that struck me was the fact that during the whole event I kept thinking, god this guy is one ugly dog.

What scares me the most is the lack of fear, I mean id do it again in a second, and what?s more a part of me enjoyed it.

And you sound proud of that? Such an immature attitude, bragging about little tiffs. I'm with Joey D, macho bull**** - that's all this is!

Originally posted by Panda

By the sound of things you've never been in a situation like the ones that have been described in these posts.

I was.
    It was after a hurling match, and there was grudge between two people on the side line due to a match that was played a couple of months which involved the same clubs but at an older age level.
    Anyway a fight broke out between the supporters and then it spread to the crowd, my brother went in to help one of his friends and he was surrounded and was getting beaten up by 3 dikheads.
    So i ran over and pushed one off and was about to punch the guy that had my brother in a head lock, but someone came in from my left and punched me across the jaw, knocking me unconcious for a couple of seconds, and while i was down i got kicked in the head and ribs. Hospital for 2 days, yadda, yadda, ya.

If i went back and knew the consequences i still would have done the same thing, you cant always just stand back. Especially when theres someone you know involved.
    You do lose control and theres very little you can do about it.

I didn't want to start talking about fights and stuff, but this situation has happened to me many times, and to be honest it still happens from time to time. Usually fuelled by vodka+red bull! :)

So, I understand red-mist more so than many people, my advice was true though. And I meant it in more the way Lemming interpretted it. Lose control and you will be beaten by someone who keeps their head. And sometimes red-mists are dumbass, and people end up doing stupid **** like smashing public property or attacking some poor bloke out for an enjoyable stroll around the city centre. That is what red-mist is all about. It's about losing control and going over the top with a violent reaction towards something. And that is not nice now is it?

I didn't want to start talking about fights and stuff, but this situation has happened to me many times, and to be honest it still happens from time to time. Usually fuelled by vodka+red bull! :)

So, I understand red-mist more so than many people, my advice was true though. And I meant it in more the way Lemming interpretted it. Lose control and you will be beaten by someone who keeps their head. And sometimes red-mists are dumbass, and people end up doing stupid **** like smashing public property or attacking some poor bloke out for an enjoyable stroll around the city centre. That is what red-mist is all about. It's about losing control and going over the top with a violent reaction towards something. And that is not nice now is it?
    I dont know why but im having trouble believing you.

Agreed Red Mists are not a good thing, but i dont like your generalisation: "And sometimes red-mists are dumbass, and people end up doing stupid **** like smashing public property or attacking some poor bloke out for an enjoyable stroll"

It doesnt even fit in with what a red mist is.
    You're describing random acts of hooliganism there and that isnt what a red mist is. For me its when you're being provoked by someone and you just loose it. You dont think you act, without any regard for the possible consequences.

Hmm.. ok, if you believe me or not, it doesn't bother me. I dont have to come onto an internet board and post about how much of a mad bastard I am and how many fights I have been involved in. My ego doesn't need boosting like that.

Anyway, as someone said earlier, they lost it to the red mist and ended up wrecking a bus stop, flower pots etc.. and indeed I have seen this happening. I dont really wanna reply any more in this thread, as it is obviously just blokes bragging about how crazy they get. Testosterone and macho bull****.

Make love, not war!

You get involved in druken brawls yet have the nerve to call me immature. How about you grow up and if you cant handle your drink dont drink it. At least i can say ive never thown a punch because i was drunk

I have to say i love people like you, who come along not having a clue about the situation and say you should have done this and you should have done that. My only regret about the situation is i didnt do him any serious damage.

Hmm.. ok, if you believe me or not, it doesn't bother me. I dont have to come onto an internet board and post about how much of a mad bastard I am and how many fights I have been involved in. My ego doesn't need boosting like that.

What bull, i dont see anybody going on about how their "hard" men, in fact what i see is alot of people saying that they dont start fights and that they do walk away but for one reason or another one time was different

You bitch and moan about people talking about fighting, well thats what this topic is about. if you dont like it go somewhere else. you obviously have no idea what were talking about and you sound more like a druken yob.

What boston said, each time.

What bull, i dont see anybody going on about how their "hard" men, in fact what i see is alot of people saying that they dont start fights and that they do walk away but for one reason or another one time was different

You bitch and moan about people talking about fighting, well thats what this topic is about. if you dont like it go somewhere else. you obviously have no idea what were talking about and you sound more like a druken yob.

Me, preaching love and peace is a drunken yob? OK.... that makes sense kid. Some people with small penises have to talk ****e about fighting 15 lads in school and such nonsense.

Seriously, if people are bullying you, speak to your headmaster, dont suffer in silence. Having pent up feelings of fighting-inadequacy which spill out into your (many) postings on boards.ie.

Dont suffer in silence Boston... and size isn't everything I suppose.. it's not the size of the boat, it's the motion in the ocean.

GROW UP! and all you little hard-men should stop bragging about your fights, bet you'd all get bitch slapped by 12 year old girls. Ya nonces.

Seriously, if people are bullying you, speak to your headmaster, dont suffer in silence. Having pent up feelings of fighting-inadequacy which spill out into your (many) postings on boards.ie.

Dont suffer in silence Boston... and size isn't everything I suppose.. it's not the size of the boat, it's the motion in the ocean.

funnies thing ever!!
    your a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

so's your sister boston.

ladies and gents, welcome unsane_02 and all his aliases.

newnicksamecrap.jpg