Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Morrison - son of eireann's isle?

• 02-04-2002 11:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Is it just me or does Clinton Morrison seem to have chosen ireland as his adopted homeland for purely personal reasons? He just seems to be a footballing mercenary. Maybe it's his demeanour in interviews and the like but he doesn't come across as a very genuine person. Nobody could ever question the loyalty of houghton, aldridge, charlton, mccarthy etc but i for one could never have complete faith in morrison if, say, ireland came across england in the latter stages of the world cup which is a (albeit slim) possibility:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Personal reasons ???
    By that you mean an good world cup = massive transfer fee.
    A good goalscorer in 1st division is worth 5million
    a good one with a Uk and Ireland international cap is worth 7.5 million
    One with a good world cup, well you know how much clubs spend on players who have good world cups.
    I hate that english B player coming over here ,but we not blessed with a decent goal scorer.
    So what do we do .
    Weather we like it or not we will cheer for him in world cup .
    Kdja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭king of fifa

will you give a crap if he is from peckham or portloise if he puts the ball in the net for us.it's not as if the rest of the 11 know all the word to the national anthem is it? and no one gave out about houghton's scottish accent after the italy game , did they???/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

n fairness to Clinton, his mother is Irish, so he is not using the 'Granny' rule as Aldridge, townsend & Cascarino did, so he is arguably more Irish than those. Also, when he grew up he spent a few holidays in Ireland unlike Aldridge, townsend and houghton, whose first visit to Ireland was when they began playing for us.

In your pipe. Wanna light?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭frankly

It might be just you Sucka as i'm sure the hell the rest of the country will be cheering him on com'eth the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ciaran

If he scores in the World Cup, I'll be delighted but the fact that he took so long to decide to play for Ireland pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Sucka

Dont get me wrong, i'll be cheering on clint just as much as the next fan. Just thought his motives needed a little questioning:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ciaran

Can't argue with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I feel a bit quesy even reading this thread, arn'nt half the players who ever pulled on a green jersey Brits?!

How many of them would have played for England or Scotland
    had they been deemed good enough at the time?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭francie brady

I live near the Morrisons of Garristown, clints granny and they hadn't a clue about him till he wanted to declare for lreland.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

What would you have said if Paul Scholes had been allowed to play for Ireland? (he has Irish grand parents or so I hear). Cept the aul English bastards blocked him. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Presumbly he had already played international fooball at underage levels.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I don't think he should be allowed to play for Ireland - because he's crap! He scored a tap-in on his debut and everyone thinks he's great. He's just awful. He's not in the same league as Keane and Keane is hardly world-class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 phil_h

he is a co<ky little fu<ker but what ya going to do. we dont have the players, hes never going to play for england, its a kind of win-win situation for both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭king of fifa

i suppose we'll find out all about him when the world cup happens.he may have only scored a tap in but his positioning and work rate couldn't really be faulted after the danish game .he is a poacher, hopefully some day to look like ian wright who has a involvement in coaching him

yee all need to grow up and get off your high-horses. He'l make up for any so called hesitations to play for Ireland in Japan/Korea this summer..A cocky ****er ???? so was mcateer but he's grown out of that and matured into the complete international player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭A$$A$$IN

Morrison is a striker and pardon my languange but we have piss all in front of goal!

Alright Duff is class but he is prone to hamsteing injuries ans porbaably wont finsh a full match.

Where as Morrison can finsh and also incorparates some skill like that fantastic shimmy past 2 Dutch players.
    We need Morrison because Keane lacks match practise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

my god some of yous are little moany owlones in here
    do u know him personally or sumthin
    i myself thinks hes a bit overwhelmed by all of the attention hes gettin
    dont think he'd be playin infront of 45,000 crowds for crystal palace
    and hes only 21/22

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Brautigan

Jesus Rasta, judging from your signature and picture you're obviously not the spliff smoking Bob Marley type of Rasta then. Anyway, if "Big" "Clint" puts the ball in the English net every fu cker in Ireland will be praising him to the hilt. Every racist Dublin taxi driver (and half the male population of Dublin for that matter) will be hugging Nigerian kitchen porters shouting that Clinton is "one of you lads, you're all right you are.. etc.."

So what if he isn't 100% Irish, he's a damn sight better than pockets Connolly. And he has a touch of the Tony Cascarino's about him, which is either good or bad depending on how you feel about "Big" "Cas", although at the last game I had this terrible vision of Peter Davenport during the first half...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Flemmish Flame

Sorry with alldo respect for Robbie Keane and David Conolly Clinton Morrison whether we like it or not is one of these players who will always score goals and if hehappends to do that for Ireland grant! OK he is not the most smartest man on the planet but I regards most strikers being not the most intelligent on the planet, specially those who play first division football:eek:

Maybe van Nistelrooij has Irish parents :confused: