Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Club!

• 02-04-2002 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭

Wow finally a dance forum. I love dance music! None of my friends do though and I never get to go, to what I think is the best club! The redbox! Just wondering where everyone else likes to go? Does anyone else love the redbox?

Best Dance Club? 21 votes

The Redbox
    0% 0 votes
    Mono
    47% 10 votes
    Sidewall Complex
    4% 1 vote
    Shooters
    9% 2 votes
    Other Please say below
    0% 0 votes
    I\\\'m a stupid rocker and listen to phantom
    19% 4 votes
    Temple Theatre
    19% 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

As far as the whole 'Dance' thing goes, not too sure.

Slimelight in London is fantastic though.

Not exactly Dance, but the whole Industrial/EBM scene, which is in the whole "Electronic Music" zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Hmmmm.... tough one. As a big venue, Red Box is great, but I prefer smaller places like Mono and Isaac Butts for dance gigs.

I thought the new look Tivoli would be another contender until I went there last Saturday for the Orbital DJ set. Looks OK but easily the worst place I've been in for years - the "5.1" sound was feeding back and distorting all night, the air conditioning broke down halfway through and the bouncers were trying to send everyone to the wrong exits at the end. I appreciate that they're probably having a few teething problems at the moment but it's really put me off going there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

I am sorry but these clubs , i heard that they are full of kids (neckers i believe?) and a few more adult like guests.
    Not sure if this is at all true but that's the reason i won't go.
    I stay with the Ri-Ra club.:alien:

Good point Wook. A lot of these places are full if kids falling around in various states of mongedness. They're big venues, with big name DJs playing. Smaller clubs/late bars without the hype attract a more chilled out crowd in most cases and that's usually preferable if, like me, you are getting old! ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

hehe, I like the option "I'm a stupid rocker and listen to phantom"I hope they arne't going to invade this board :p

I picked The redbox, as the redbox is quite a respectable club, it does only get some of the best DJ's around, ie. dave Clarke, danny tenagila, Sasha & Digweed Scott Bond etc.
    The club is also quite strict on what type of peope they let in, if they see you arsein about outside, you'll get rejected :)
    The lighting in the club is also quite good too, so is the sound sound,
    I'm disappointed I don't see "temple theatre" as an option there, even though it may be drug hevan for most of the people who go there, its still does get some decent DJ's in.. but the sound system is total donkey ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭FatB

Gotta say that all this depends on what type of "dance" music you prefer, I dont know what the Dublin scene is like but I must admit that South in Tramore is shaping up to be a "massive" (dont mind the pun) contender to any thing that can blast out trance/house/techno, and with the big name's being there (Paul Oakenfold, Maurio Piccotto, the Judge (Jules), FatBoy Slim, along with many to come!) Its shaping into being one of the best nights outside of Dublin, Galway and cork...

Now for my favourite..... The Forum (cant find a link yet...)in waterford is definitely the place to be (imo its because of a strict I.D. system where there are no :confused: gurning :confused: kiddies...) It regularly holds some of the best Irish talent (and forign) in three floors (trance/techno, chill out and a variation of house) generarly speeking, it is the best place I've been clubbing! :cool:

Willie (The Big Tsunami)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭lazer

the POD on sunday night, with residant dj, Bubbles. it is free in via the chocolate bar, before 10ish.

also this month Red Box looks promsing with Carl Cox with Johnny Moy on april 26 -- one not to be missed -

Originally posted by lazer
    the POD on sunday night, with residant dj, Bubbles. it is free in via the chocolate bar, before 10ish.

That sure is a great night out.

I was about to suggest that TBMC should be in this poll as well as they do have a few good one off gigs..........

.....but then I remembered what the toilets look like at the end of the night. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭lazer

dont u just love the toilets in the Choc Bar?

the are prob the nicest toilets in dub, bar the fact that u can see every guys penis...well..that aint such a bad thing.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭stereo_steve

The toilets are fantastic! Except they haven't worked in the last few months! The first time I went in I saw the waterfall in front of me and wasn't sure if I was supposed to use them or not! The water is a nice feature!

Oh and lazer, you can see into the girls toilet too :) I was really drunk one night in there, my phone rang and I couldn't here so I went through the doors you go through into the pod. I was looking into what I thought was a mirror. I couldn't see my face for ages but then I realised that its a see through mirror in to the girls! And no I'm not a perve!

The chocolate bar is great for cheap drink too! Every night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Switch.
    the Kitchen used to be great on Tuesday nights of old... Razor resident..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭JaneyMackers

I have to say dance is gone all to commercial for me.

Bring back the Funnel, Phunk City, Bassbin and Munki night. Those were the best nights outs.

The Tivoli looks like it would be better suited to a country town, sound system or no sound system.
    Red Box full of ****. Mono house [nuff said] Kitchen closing down. Its all dead. The good stuff anyway.

Was at Orbital in the Tivoli, people scagging and glow sticks everywhere, i left swiftly.

JM

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Going to temple on saturday to see scott bond aka dj scott project, can't wait :D
    (tickets e18)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭havok*

Originally posted by Kali
    Switch.
    Yeah, Quite small, but they brillent Dj's

Sorry for being completely ignorant - but where is/what is the Sidewall Complex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I'm really ****ing sick of the Dublin clubbing scene - main reason I want to get back to London ASAP. I hate the Red Box, but it's probably my favourite Dublin club along with Switch. I haven't been to Mono since they last did it up, but it's pretty pathetic for a dance club, after seeing the likes of Fabric in London.

Shooters? Isaac Butts? Don't even get me started.

We need a decent big club in Dublin. As in multiple arenas, decent Drum'n'bass and Prog House DJs, longer opening hours if possible (even if this means shutting the bars at 3am, not sure about the legal implications of this).

yeah, have to aggree with you there Sico, I haven't been to Shooters, but I've heard it supposed to be tiny, but pritty slick.
    We do need different arenas in clubs, that would be good, about mono, its an OK club, gets a good few decent DJ's from time to time, Temple Teathre gets good D's nearly every week, but they need to shapen up on a lot of things, such as their sound system, they only have 2 speakers in the whoole club, what a shame, also needs to get better with ID, even though I'm only 17, but I feel like im aorund 19 with so many 15/16 year olds in there, when I am 18 I'm gona go mad :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Rite first off, where's the kitchen in that poll?

The best house DJ's playing in dublin at the moment have to be
    Bubbles
    Podge
    Robbie Butler.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

"We need a decent big club in Dublin. As in multiple arenas"

It's on it's way, apparantly HQ is gonna be expanded to make it 3 floors and the biggest club in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

HQ club = Spirit.

Have you seen what that **** Spollen is planning with it?
    Urgh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

pod not what it used to be... bubbles playing trance on sunday night... fair enough he took the criticism i gave him right on the chin and admitted it works with the crowd and the venue... but its still trance. progressive? a step backwards. wednsday with richie rock and azrael should be banging and put a proper crowd there for a change.

music centre? is a barn. full of cr4p mcd events not made up for by token invasions of excellence DOC SCOTT AND NAPHTA FOLKS MAY 10

ditto ambassador only worse [and you lose your drinks on the floor]

switch gone down hill since glory days of bassbin d1 and f*** it well stay open till seven and leave very quietly lads here get your pills at the dj box.... was easily best club in europe then. these days it has an open sewer. above the dancefloor. which is why weve stopped going there.

the tivoli... interesting i wish the genius click all the very best. i heard the head of security has been complaining about the music policy though... is that why rosman played kylie the other night?

kitchen shut. as kali said razor back in the day was the man. these days hes an embarrassment [even to mcd] who plays the most pappy soppy feeble muzak drum and bass that exists. has exclusive contract with mcd to support their gigs... PUT OUT A TUNE I LIKED AND BOUGHT.... second hand. [just so yis can see tha' i give respect where it is due....] has single handedly ruined irish jungle by playing really bad support slots to frustrated big uk names who have to deal with a sleeping crowd and a lack of mc's; maybe thats how he can finance certain of the more... irksome of a dj's expenses... like hair transplants. ooops.

red box is a shed full of kids

ditto the temple

mono was in once since done up but cant remember and woke up next to very fat "mature lady"... not going there again for all the K in Drimnagh and a bottle of chateau BUCKFAST

shooters the sidewalk complex etc. not my cup of tea... but if you go there you'd probably be well into a dublin dj of my acquiantance who had word put about hed shagged a mate of mine, a "dancer in the kind of club we wont talk about here". big big mistake. she waited till revenge was cold. 100+ ppl at the party and my wee friend bless her goes around to each person greeting them with an explanation. said dj was IN TEARS. but the money his column makes him [journalistically] probably eases the pain. no im not saying who it is either girls... :)))

gaiety full of old ppl. doesnt count as a club. thin veneer of civilisation toooo thick.

the shelter. quality stable of promoters albeit with hectic roster, odl and bassbin putting their mark on things.... d1 departed for greener pastures at tomato....

tomato uttterly schizophrenic.... again i wont name the ppl in the five ambulances that were there on a monday night [remember nickel bag... breaks jungle hip hop and house.... never more than twenty ppl but they'd take enough of whatever they could get to kill a few armies.] merely because you can do it by process of elimination [city centre club managers diversifying into global entertainment brand dodgy employment practices and ooops to close to the bone]

thats all the ones that count. eamon dorans and isaac butts are discos now, the fusion is gone..... i'll give props to the limerick massive
    [nu killa cru coming on strong for the summer of 2 k plus 2..............................................................................BOOO!]
    and thats partly for the strippers and fact that theyre sound.

culchie clubs dont count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

oh yeah tomato is never really that mental anymore anyway.... although ihave yet to go there on a sunday night.... its hard house so i wont tho...

voodoo..... mmmmm every sunday we spend lunch time dancing off our nut in pub all the way down past the courts... heavenly.
    actually a good bet on thursdays too. if youre not on the list just be patient john tends to run around on the job.... you didnt hear that here tho'.

finallly summing up id say the best club is the one youre going to tonight. start thinking its not and thers no point is there?

am looking forward till someone organises first boards.ie night out..... and im not talking pints in messrs either its free party season... was anyone out in donabate / j-day or at the reclaim the streets thing on the quays?
    storys in another thread here somwhere, the one dead treee man started.

PEACE NOISE IN FASHION

Added new option in poll "temple theatre"