Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love or Money

• 28-03-2002 2:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭

Let me share a drunken pub question with yis..

Heres your choice, You will be given 10 million Euros, but you will never be in love (again) in your life. Do you take the money?

As an added incentive, you will have the option of getting a Men In Black style memory wipe to blank out any recollections of being in love if youve already been there.

So, in short you can either take your chances and look for love (no guarentees) or take enough money that youll never need to worry about money for the rest of your life, but you will never fall in love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 silas o'rourke

can i phone a friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

show me the money man!!! & also that cool memory wipe thing.....
    get rid of that unrequited love once and for all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fúck the money. I can't imagine being happier...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭retneil

Take the dough.. Look forward to countless life experiences that would not have been had without money.. IE sailing around med. gonna whereever u want without been held back as such..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Forget the money....or youll die a sad and lonely death

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

the money! I'm taking it that you can still be in lust?? cos you can always get a bloke if he sees the keys to your big yacht out in the bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    cos you can always get a bloke if he sees the keys to your big yacht out in the bay

At which point he will shag you, ask you to marry him and then take half of your fortune when he divorces you. You lose. Men are far more interested in getting the money for themselves as opposed to only marrying into money. :p:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

If you opt for love then you keep your chances of getting 10 million yoyo's the same as it ever was. Thus your still in with a pretty good chance of attaining both. The two aren't mutually exclusive.
    So, mathematically, you have to go for love :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

feck it ill take the money cos i a lonely b*****d at the moment anyways so it would be an improvement and ur telling me i cant fall in love with a hooker well ill try my best:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭shinobi

Show me the money.....I may never be in love...but money talks and nobody mentioned NO Lust.....It'd be just like being Eddie Irvine

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

At which point he will shag you, ask you to marry him and then take half of your fortune when he divorces you. You lose. Men are far more interested in getting the money for themselves as opposed to only marrying into money

and ya don't think I know that Seamus??? lol
    there's two chances of me ever going down that marriage road, no flies on me, and if there are, they're paying rent!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Hmmmm, I wouldn't take the money........ it'd allow you to do all sorts of things but ultimately I think life without even the prospect of falling in love would be empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

show me the money!!

feck love for that much money i'd do without, or just pay someone to love me!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

No love = No happiness
    Money = Temporary happiness

Conclusion = **** the money, I'll take the love. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

but if money = temporary happiness
    lots of money = lots of moments of temporary happiness, which add up to permanent happiness!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

I'd do without the money,

If you're without love then you'll turn into a auld scrooge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

love wins any day.

should have made this a poll really Dusty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Bard
    love wins any day.

should have made this a poll really Dusty.
    This is exactly what i was thinking!:eek: Bard please remove yourself from my brain ye donabatian scum you!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Love.

It's rather annoying at times... but the idea of never being in love again.... well its not worth the money!

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Good god, a life without love? Fup that shít. Love is the highest state of happiness a human can have. No amount of cash can buy that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Qualm

Im with you ampy, show me the love anyday. Plus, good point made by enygma, one could have both if you went for the love option.
    At the end of the day, youd be losing you family and friends and your futurey husband (or wifey) and have only 10 million euro, which could dissapear all too easily.

Interesting how its mainly the lads who are going for the no love, all money option, so long as they have their s3x, theyre happy! heh, i cuda told ya that for nowt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

There isn't enough money in the world! And if there was I still wouldn't take it!

I'm a hopeless romantic and scared ****less of ending up a lonely old git!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Yeh, i forgot about polls till after i posted, i think i may have supressed the memory of them since i dont think ive ever seen a worthwhile one :)

As to my own opinion, as someone said, there isnt enough money in the world :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭daftbegger

We only fall in love to get shags on tap anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie

This is exactly what i was thinking!:eek: Bard please remove yourself from my brain ye donabatian scum you!:)

ah now, no need for that :p

The Donabatian scum are our next door neighbours (on our right) :) ... we're NICE people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Is this money cash?

Love is fleeting... Inland revenue is for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by amp
    Love is the highest state of happiness a human can have.
    And the greatest level of delusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I'll take love please..

"I dont care too much for money, money cant buy me love"

I say that even tho at the moment I could use the money to perform radical surgery to make me the most beautiful person ever..... now thats progress!

But no... I'd still rather have a bitta love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by shinobi
    Show me the money.....I may never be in love...but money talks and nobody mentioned NO Lust.....It'd be just like being Eddie Irvine

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm lust :P

Give me the money anyday. Money cant make you happy, but at least you'll be comfortable in your misery :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭JOOROWNED

i got a fiancee so im taking the money ..... trade her for a fiver thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by JOOROWNED
    i got a fiancee so im taking the money ..... trade her for a fiver thanks

I bet she feels like the luckiest girl in the world :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraida/p03ed27a5d014170842fe49842a3597e6/fdd6a57d.gif

disable image sigs for the love of jesus!

and for god sake will those with the animated ac-dc gifs realise that jusy are just annoying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by DeadBankClerk
    disable image sigs for the love of jesus! and for god sake will those with the animated ac-dc gifs realise that jusy are just annoying?

But, BUT, BUUTTT!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Love definately. Money isn't everything.