Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland 3-0 Denmark

• 27-03-2002 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭

Niiiiice performance I must say, good to see Morrison score too :]

England 1-2 Italy. Peno in the 90th min, thats gotta hurt.

That Vincent Montella bloke is on fire though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Keanes goal had a lovely curl

The last minute goal was well diserved, whats his name again, can't remember :) he had done great getting by those two defenders eariler, good play by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

You mean Clinton Morrison, OJ?

What I thought a pity was all the booing - really disgusts me to see Irish supporters behaving like Trimble said..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The dozy **** in the crowd, were'nt even booing the right player, such bigoted behavour took the gloss off the game for me. Why did'nt the PA guy simply correct his mistake then hear the embarrassed silence!

One thought, suppose an Irish international signed for Rangers, what would the reaction be then?

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I for one would love to see that. Especialy if it was one of our good players!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger
    You mean Clinton Morrison, OJ?

Yea! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I missed the match somehow....someone tell me what happened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Ireland lost 3-0

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Good win by the lads. Keano's goal was a beaut! But all I saw was the goals on News 2.

Someone tell me what all this booing was about and who they were booing. I'm a little out dated here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

Great win for Ireland , Keano's goal was class.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Good win by the lads. Keano's goal was a beaut! But all I saw was the goals on News 2.

Someone tell me what all this booing was about and who they were booing. I'm a little out dated here.

The announcer at Lansdowne mixed up the Danish No.18 Peter Madsen who plays for Brondby with Peter Lovenkrands who plays for rangers. As a result the crowd booed him every time he got the ball which, not only was unsportingly, but completely unjustified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

those idiots were booing and they were booing the wrong person. i'd say Madsen must have wondering what he did to upset the crowd. they must have been embarrassed and should be ashamed. it goes to show that it was people who know nothing about the game if they couldn't even recognise the booing target. dumbasses :p :mad:

Ah right! They were doing that whenever Arthur Numan got the ball when Holland played us at Landsdowne. We shouldn't be stooping to the low levels that N. Ireland set by booing Neil Lennon. That was just a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Why the hell did the announcer feel the need to mention that the (wrong) player played for Rangers anyway? To stir $hite.

The fans acted like prats but then again 90% of them were as we outside the capital say "Dirty Dublin Bastards"......
    Delighted to say the least Ireland palyed magnificent stuff and Des Cahills comments on 2fm this morning were a bit too negative i felt and had had any premiership club or other football team be on form as Ireland are we wouldnt say they need a kick up the arse.. Well i cant smell one brewing somehow and those who think cameroon will beat us as a gunner i can only hope Lauren is given the impossible task of keeping damien duff at bay.. Having seen both players recent form and unless a drastic change takes place i think lauren will be slaughtered by Duff. Sorry Pal!!!!:) :cool:

I for one was very impressed by that Reid lad when he came on. Bit of potential there me thinks.

Just following up Mike's post about what would happen if an irish lad joined Rangers. Do you think those pricks would boo either of the Keanes should they join Rangers?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

The most annoying part of all that booing for me was how the RTE lads went on about it for around 10 minutes instead of talking about the exciting game that was taking place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭The Cigarette Smoking Man

That anouncer was a bit of an eejit alright. After the Rangers remark (which started all the boos) he goes and says "Would the small section of the crowd that are booing the Danish team please show some more of their Irish spirit" etc etc. Then the whole stadium started cheering for the Danish team and booing the Irish. While everyone in the stadium was having a good laugh it sounds like everyone watching at home was taking it extremely seriously.

Also Mike the anouncer did correct the fact that he had said the wrong player. I'm suprised you didn't hear the laughter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Was that when Mick McCarthy turned to look at someone in the stand, and said something along the lines of (my lip reading isn't the best) "The f******* eejit"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by The Cigarette Smoking Man
    Also Mike the anouncer did correct the fact that he had said the wrong player. I'm suprised you didn't hear the laughter...

Missed that entierly, proberly because
    I was shouting at the telly! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭dobdobdo

Originally by Neil3030
    Do you think those pricks would boo either of the Keanes should they join Rangers?

Yes, Roy Keane was booed unmercifully at Lansdowne Road against Iceland (I think) about 6-7 years ago by the MAJORITY OF PRICKS. It had been reported by some so called jurnos that he was'nt comitted to Ireland.
    I remember thinking at the time WHAT PRICKS

Regarding last nights result, magnificent and without the main man too. :)

Originally posted by dobdobdo
    Yes, Roy Keane was booed unmercifully at Lansdowne Road against Iceland (I think) about 6-7 years ago by the MAJORITY OF PRICKS. It had been reported by some so called jurnos that he was'nt comitted to Ireland.
    I remember thinking at the time WHAT PRICKS
    Yeah I remember that match... there were two Liverpool supporters in front of me booing him and me being the mouthy **** that I am, insulted them in every way possible. They didn't even move for the rest of the game.

It's the same with all the Man United fans whenever the players get criticism from fans or the press of whatever. For example when Beckham was getting the abuse from the England fans the United fans stood behind him. Now the United fans sing "Did you cheer when Beckham scored?" at most away grounds (Upton Park especially) to get back at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Yeats County

Great result by Ireland and they have good momentum going into the WC. Hopefully they'll keep this run of form going until June and after.
    It's a pity that the booing spoiled the game slightly, poor Madsen must have been totally confused!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭frankly

Great result and overall performance but I think the more we (supporters and media) we play down ourselves the better. Let's go to Japan quietly confident of going ...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Yeats County
    they have good momentum going into the WC

b'wahahahahahahaha.... (geddit?)

--

Anyway... NOICE WAN OIRELAND YIZ BOYOZ... WAHEYYY! and all that.

Three great goals. Clinton Morrison (the Londonnah!) did a good job... wonder how he did on the National Anthem (he said he'd do his best to learn it ... fair play!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Yeats County

*laughs* Ok, sometimes momentum is needed when you're going into a WC (;) ) but I meant that the Irish team have good momentum going into the World Cup.
    Eagle-eyed, aren't we Bard? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭apiou

"""People talk about Old Trafford having no atmosphere but Lansdowne Road is worse. Why is it that 40,000 people can be drowned out by Mick McCarthy shouting from the dugout? It's pathetic. You can practically hear individual conversations going on in the crowd. And the only time these slack-jawed troglodytes could work themselves up was to boo someone who played for Rangers.""

This comes from the other thread - I can not imagine Lansdowne not having atmosphere after a 3-0 to Denmark - Maybe we miss something being abroad.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

Whats this crap about no atmosphere? And the booing?

I was in the North Stand and we were all booing Danish number 18 cos he had a go at one of the Irish players. We then started booing the other forward cos we thought it was 18's brother.

It was all done in good fun. When the announcer came on and told us to stop booing the Danes, we started booing the Irish, especially Steve Staunton, cos he was number 18's opposite number.

As for no atmosphere, with half the crowd being suits from Baggot St. There plenty of attempts from the North and South Stands to get some songs going, even the mexican wave was given an attempted run out.

The mood on the pitch and in the crowd is never reflected properly through the tele.

For all you complainers watching from the comfort of your couch, maybe you should think twice before slagging those of us who actually made the effort to go and support our national side.