Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worthington cup final

• 21-02-2002 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭

Right whos going to win the Worthington Cup final?

Will it be Blackburn with new signing Andy Cole?

Or will it be the Spurs, despite the year no. not ending in a 1?

X

Who will win the Worthington Cup Final! 9 votes

Blackburn Rovers
    0% 0 votes
    Spurs
    100% 9 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I voted Blackburn purely because I would like to see them do it. I think they play a nice brand of football, there only problem is that they are too small as a team. Spurs are a good side too though and I think the signing of Gus Poyet was a very shrewd move by Mr Hoddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I voted Spurs. Blackburn are purest muck at the moment, I just don't see them winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

spurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I voted Spurs as they must be the favourites when you consider the talent they now boast, I always had a soft spot for their style of play esp. in the mid-late 80s' and thats definitly back. That said its a cup final so anything is possible.

Mike.

Originally posted by mike65
    IThat said its a cup final so anything is possible.

Mike.

ahh the magic of the cup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well as I'm a ABS (anybody but Spuds) it has to be Blackburn :)

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭ramius

I think spurs will win 3-1 but i hope blackburn make a game out of it and come up with a shoch result might be a chance for damian dunn to show everyone what he can do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

blackburn. Just to annoy wwman:)

Altho, hey if the spuds win, we can always dust off that 'shìt cups' song ..... again :)

anyway, spuds rule.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭frankly

Spurs are big fav's and that could go against them as I think they play better when underdogs (ie semi againt Chelsea) so it's Blackburn for me.
    ramius "might be a chance for damian dunn to show everyone what he can do!" Would that be David Dunn or Damian Duff? :)

I'm not going to say I told you so.......ah bollix SEE I TOLD YOU SO :)

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ah well what do I know...:p

Well done Blackburn, the revenues will be needed in the 1st Divison. ;)

Mike.

disappointing.

god, blackburn in europe. deserved to win on the day. poor old les. he did everything except score.

Ok one thing I will say it was a damn entertaining final which is something you cannot say for the majority of English or other Cup Finals.

Tough luck Spurs (God I feel dirty now) and a big well done to Blackburn !!

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Enjoyed that, great game for the neutral :]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Whoooohooooo!

Sorry. No gloating in this post.

I thought it was an entertaining match. Cole stuffed Hoddles comments down his throat, and gave Sven a timely reminder.

Spurs had a lot of players who weren't at there best? Maybe the favourites tag doesnt sit well with them? They played better as underdogs.

Now Blackburn have a bit of momentum, hopefully they can carry that into the league.

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭ramius

Fair play to blackburn they deserved it in teh end, for a neutral it was a great game, i havent enjoyed watching a football match that much in quite a while, amazing to see all these blackburn supporters coming out of the woodwork,

Originally posted by Xterminator

I thought it was an entertaining match. Cole stuffed Hoddles comments down his throat, and gave Sven a timely reminder.
    X

in all fairness, hoddle said that andy cole needed about 5 chances to stick it in the net.
    he must have had that yeasterday.
    therefore id say it was an acurate comment.
    but it was a well taken oppertunity

the only good thing i can take from the game wa that spurs played poorly, but at the same time they werent that bad, abd they were certainly entertaining and played lovely football.
    for the spurs fan, it nice to see your team play with style and skill.
    consistancy and some depth in the squad would be nice.
    and having steve carr back. weve missed him desperately.
    i rate toricco, but he not as good as steve carr.
    and he doesnt look like a manic killer either.
    and he doesnt score cracking 45 yard goals against utd like carr does either ;)
    but again, blackburn deserved the win.
    played. a good entertaining game and at the end of the day you cant ask for more

*mumble*apart from winning, but oh no, not my team, useless shower of bastárds*mumble*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭dobdobdo

I thought it was an entertaining match. Cole stuffed Hoddles comments down his throat, and gave Sven a timely
    reminder X
    In all fairness, Cole stuffedHoddles comments down his throat.
    Winning goal, end of story.

well spurs may not have won, but i did!

2 crates of worhtington beer arrived in the post today.
    i entered a draw to win tickets. didnt get the tickets, but a very amused man answer my questions when i asked him what the bloody hell he was delivering 2 crates of beer to me for.

wouldnt mind but i entered about 500 times, and i only win 2 crates. bit crap if you ask me :)