Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fergus's Wedding

• 19-02-2002 7:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭

Did anyone see Fergus's Wedding last night on Network 2? What did you think? I wanted to dislike it, but I couldn't. It was billed as a comedy-drama, but it wasn't all that funny. More quirky, I thought.

The main character was very good, though.

TD.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

I was out last night so did not see it, I heard an actress (who was in it) talking about it this morning on the radio and it sounded interesting.

Does anyone know if it will be repeated later in the week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

Not sure about the repaeat.If it is it will probably be on late at night on the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

I thought that it was pretty good. It was funny but not laugh out loud funny. His hair is pure class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I also thought the swingers club was brilliantly done. Not your usual Monday night viewing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

Deirdre O'Kane was great as the wedding planner "Pink is very now ...... It's last year's brown ..... it's the new black"

I reckon it was a good start to what will become a great show. The writers previous show (Paths to Freedom) was excellent.

Unfortunately "Fergus" got a very bad review in today's Irish Independent. But then the Indo has never been known for it's sense of humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 thereal_unsane

Originally posted by Charles Slane
    But then the Indo has never been known for it's sense of humour.

neither is Boards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

it follows the tradition of most pilots. not amazzing, but good enough to warrent a view of the next installment

the rampent lusting is interesting tho ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭dmeehan

whats the website for the rte guide
    i missed it last nite too and i want to see whan the (obligatory)repeat is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Originally posted by dmeehan
    whats the website for the rte guide

http://www.rteguide.ie

It's repeated Saturday, 11:40pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

i saw it last nite, and i thought it was pretty good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I liked it. Made me laugh oncce or twice. I smirked more though :)

"Any soup?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭dmeehan

saturday nite eh?
    looks like ill have to set the vcr or maybe not, as i may never make it back alive from the the streets of saturday night cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

at least it wasnt an hour of northsider / southsider jokes which paths to freedom appeared to be but I can see the setup for catholic / protestant jokes already starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭nore

Saw most of it and can't say it looked very promising.
    I only saw Paths To Freedom in it's entirety when it was repeated recently. I think it's extremely overrated. The last two episodes were particularly pointless. There were some funny bits but overall I get the impression that the writers don't like people much! And looking at the get-up of this Fergus character (the teeth, the hair, the sweater), it looks like more of the same misanthropy... What's the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Mr Burns

Pure ****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

I thought the 1st episode was tripe with potential. The 2nd episode was slightly better. Hopefully it will improve more as it goes on.
    I think that the 'swinging' theme has no relavance whatsoever to the programme and just isnt funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

i didnt think much of the first episode and have missed the next 2 - might give it another whirl but i wasent impressed - must say that yer man "fergus" is a good actor - this character is the complete opposite to his previous encarnation on irish telly as that "rats" lad out from mountjoy ??

some funny lines and highly quotable

yer wan : "hows about a quick one"
    fergus : "ive just done me hair love!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Gave it a good five minutes. Found it more irritating than funny. Might get into it later though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Its a **** show now gthat ive watched 2 episodes.Last nights was brutal as ever.The main failing point is Fergus character.We are supposed to believe that a tank top wearing middle aged nerd with the worst haircut since Sinead O Connor is a trendy swinger?Oh please.He looks more like the type of men you see being led into the 4 courts with a coat over his head after loosing his virignity the illegal and more perverse way.When I saw his photo in the Sunday World the other day I thought at first it was a particularly bad picture of Fr Teds Mrs Doyle.Maybe this is the son of Mrs Doyle.Perhaps his dad looked the exact image of him and that explains why Mrs Doyle is such a dark horse about Mr Doyle.Just a thought:)
    I like the character of the priest uncle angry football coach though hes fairly funny.What have I seen him in before?Was he Fr Todd Unctious of Fr Ted fame?Cant tell by his face but the voice sounds the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

But Fergus isn't a good swinger at all. In the last episode one of the swinging men was making a speach about missing the couple and said that yer wan was going to be especially missed. I havn't seen Fergus actually getting involved in the swinging. every time it is another man taking his wife-to-be for a jolly good rogering.

I think that it is very good, for an Irish comedy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Aspro

Ah jaysus love, I've just done me hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

hehe lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

Deirdre O'Kane as the wedding organiser is brilliant.

"Give us six of your best there". :D:D:D

How many episodes are left ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I thought Paths to freedom was excellent, the first 1-4 anyway, I find it hard to believe the same people made Fergus's Wedding.

The first episode i wanted to be laughing in memory of Paths to Freedom but I couldn't, just got more horrified as it went on.

Now I leave my house when it's showing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Anyone who stopped watching after the first episode are missing out on a great comedy.

Their are some great lines and well then their is queen of comedy dierdre O' Kane (If she not a reason to watch any show on tv I don't know what is)