Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should there be zero tolerance by Gardaí towards scumbags?

• 03-11-2005 11:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭

The streets are gone fúcking crazy, there's no two ways about it. Ive been to New York 3 times and felt safer at night there than I do at 3 in the morning in Temple Bar.

If you look at countries like Turkey and Italy there is no sinister feeling at night when people fall out into the streets of the capital locked. Why? Because the law enforcement takes no sh*te and simply knocks the bollix out of any troublemakers. The Guards here are becoming a lazy pathethic joke, that story on the front page of the Star a couple of days back about about 2 UK girls been attacked twice in one night just highlights this.

In the past 3 or 4 months things are feeling dodgy night and day in and around O Connell St and I just think something needs to be done before there's a lunchtime mugging or worse.

Comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Temple Bar is a real problem, but it is one of the world's 'party-spots' and it has to be expected.

Problems in continental Europe don't exist because of liberal licensing laws. The bars don't fling people out on the streets at the same time to fight at taxi ranks and fast food joints. That and 'last orders' are the main problems to alcohol fuelled violence in this country and the UK.

It'll be interesting to see what happens when the 24 hour drinking laws start in the UK later this month. Assuming enough city centre pubs implement it, after all the initial commotion has died down, I think there'll be a change in drinking behaviour and the amount of after hours disorder caused by it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Define zero tolerance and scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

Why specifically zero-tolerance towards scumbags?? Just because someone looks like a scumbag doesn't mean they should get heavy handed treatment from the gardai, while some normal person gets away with acting the cvnt. Some ordinary people (when drunk) can cause awful trouble.

I have to say though was in temple bar on a sat night a few weeks ago and didn't feel safe as i normally would on a night out. It seems to be full of brits* and scumbags just getting hammered for the weekend.

Zero tolerance in general would be ideal.

*sorry that shold be "chavs" (i use chav to describe british scumbags but not irish ones), i've nothing against ordinary brits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Tazz T wrote:
    Temple Bar is a real problem, but it is one of the world's 'party-spots' and it has to be expected.

Problems in continental Europe don't exist because of liberal licensing laws. The bars don't fling people out on the streets at the same time to fight at taxi ranks and fast food joints. That and 'last orders' are the main problems to alcohol fuelled violence in this country and the UK.

That's speculation with regards to the context of Irish society I'm afraid, and bars and clubs in Dublin do not all close at the same time anyway.

To OP, you cannot define what a 'scumbag' is, and we don't have a tiered justice system where any Irish citizen gets treated any differently than anyone else (at least theoretically), and this is the way to keep Irish society. However, I take your point on the Gardai, but this is something that will be alleviated greatly by the extra resources (in terms of recruitment) being invested in the organisation at the moment.

Effective policing does mean that you need the numbers, and we don't yet have them (but will in the near future). Once the numbers are there it becomes possible to be much more tight and stringent in patrols and arrests, where currently if you arrest someone that takes you off your patrol for a time, with few, if any, other gardai to cover it, not to mention the effect of a more visible police presence from extra patrols.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Red Kooga

stevenmu wrote:
    Define zero tolerance and scumbags.

Zero Tolerance: Turkish police crack heads of any drunk troublemakers starting fights. A nice big wallop of a baton, thats the only message the fúckers understand. Gardaí need to be more like their European counterparts.

Scumbags: Go to Temple Bar/O' Connell St/Dame St on any Sat night and you'll see the same group of 15 to 19 year olds week in, week out getting away with theft and worse. A scumbag is someone causing undue hassle, robbery or worse to anyone minding their own business on a night out.

New York feels more comfortable FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Red Kooga wrote:
    Zero Tolerance: Turkish police crack heads of any drunk troublemakers starting fights. A nice big wallop of a baton, thats the only message the fúckers understand. Gardaí need to be more like their European counterparts.
    ...yes, and move the problem over to the A&E costing us more and creating more problems for the all ready overworked A&E staff. Great idea. really taught that one through. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i just think the gardai need to be more rough with scum, a good root up the hole wouldnt go a miss.
    Scumbags know the guards can only do so much

Sparky_S wrote:
    i just think the gardai need to be more rough with scum, a good root up the hole wouldnt go a miss.
    Yes, well, we all remember the may-day "riots". Personally, I'd rather live in a world where the guards are people to be respected, not just glorified thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Zulu wrote:
    Yes, well, we all remember the may-day "riots". Personally, I'd rather live in a world where the guards are people to be respected, not just glorified thugs.

True, but if the guards wer'nt affraid of paperwork they would have more of an influence on scumbags.
    That saying rather than giving the good auld caution, they should give them their rightfull punishment.

I know its said the system wont be able to handle it, but if we let it run out of control, there might aswell be no guards in the country.

Oh look another scumbag thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Red Kooga wrote:

Scumbags: Go to Temple Bar/O' Connell St/Dame St on any Sat night and you'll see the same group of 15 to 19 year olds week in, week out getting away with theft and worse. A scumbag is someone causing undue hassle, robbery or worse to anyone minding their own business on a night out.

I've never gotten attacked in town or have I felt a danger. I especially don't feel danger walking around the templebar area. The only place in town I feel like keeping my wits about me is up towards the point at times.

After reading the above comment and being fairly against this policed state I think that you are indeed the scumbag if you want to see peoples heads cracked. This will lead to more A&E traffic like someone stated above and believe it or not it will lead to Guard's abusing power more.

I think it's more of a rarity that people get attacked for nothing and most people I see getting attacked have been fairly mouthy. Apart from that learn how to stick up for yourself instead of wishing the "guards" will start cracking heads.

Sparky_S wrote:

If anyone needs a good kick in the hole it's the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Completely agree with zero tolerance.

A scumbag is not someone who dresses a certain way or comes from a particular area. His actions define him.

I am sick of them getting away with everything.

Had my car damaged a while ago by some little scummer about the age of 13. Went to the Gards, and low and behold, there is nothing they can do. So I just have to drive around with a dent in my car from that little fekker slamming a truck tyre into teh passenger door! Cheers!

They need to be taught a lesson!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd rather live in a country where the Police are feared by criminals tbh.

A lot of the problems we're experiencing on the streets of Dublin exist because young thugs know they'll get off lightly if they're even caught. Sure a line needs to be drawn as to what's acceptable use of force by the police but I'd be of the opinion that if the police were able to dish out a bit of a kicking without fear of lawsuits and suspensions etc. we'd have far better behaved youth. A clip around the ear and a boot in the backside never hospitalised anyone and it taught many that they couldn't get away with acting like thugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Zulu wrote:
    ...yes, and move the problem over to the A&E costing us more and creating more problems for the all ready overworked A&E staff. Great idea. really taught that one through. :rolleyes:

Anyone injured through fighting or drinking shouln't be allowed in A&E

loz wrote:

That's just absolutely dumb. What if someone was attacked and got injured while self defending?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Bring out the army. the Gardai will still be the peaceful force they always were, plus, who's gonna argue with someone with a gun? i think the problem is caused by the LACK of apparent authority on the streets.

Ruaidhri wrote:
    Bring out the army. the Gardai will still be the peaceful force they always were, plus, who's gonna argue with someone with a gun? i think the problem is caused by the LACK of apparent authority on the streets.

If you arm the authorities you arm the "scumbags".

Sleepy wrote:
    Sure a line needs to be drawn as to what's acceptable use of force by the police but I'd be of the opinion that if the police were able to dish out a bit of a kicking without fear of lawsuits and suspensions etc.
    Well that's the problem. A line has to be drawn, and who's going to determine the line? And whos going to police the line? The only thing we know for sure is that the police aren't capable of policing themselves.

If, I trusted the guards, then I wouldn't have a problem, but I don't trust the guards. I view them in a similar light to bouncers. It's unfortunate, a police force should be respected by the society it protects, but thats not the case in Ireland for a number of reasons.
    loz wrote:
    Anyone injured through fighting or drinking shouldn't be allowed in A&E
    Congratulations. ...and thanks for sharing that gem with us. You must really try hard to create such absolute rubbish.
    So, if a girl drinks and is raped - you shouldn't let them into A&E, or if a elderly couple are mugged on the way home from the local pub...
    Post of the week, surly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

loz wrote:
    Perhaps you haven't thought this fully through.

How many times do you remember being in school and one kid attacks another, and they both end up in the principal's office? Likewise, every weekend, people get attacked by scumbags, and the Gardai haul everyone down the Garda station.

Then of course you'd have the guys with only 2 pints on them who've been burned by some other drunken idiot's cigarette, or who've been clattered with a random thrown bottle, who'd be refused because "Ah sure, you're drunk".

Better just to limit it to those who've been admitted with alcohol poisoning. Wake them up in the corridor, say "Howya, here's your bill" and **** them out the door.

Ruaidhri wrote:
    The Army? Are you menthol? I can only hope you are pulling the absolute p1ss.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Red Kooga wrote:

If the gardaí go around beating up people they don't like the look of, or because they think they're up to something, then they would be no better than the scum you're complaining about, and pretty soon we'd have people saying that ordinary folk need to adopt a zero-tolerance approach to the gardai. The problem isn't that the gardai aren't doing there jobs. There's a problem with the shortage of their numbers, but that's only part of it. The main problem is that, except for totalitarian police states, it's impossible for police to be everywhere, watching everything. The scum know this and just find somewhere unprotected to cause trouble. The only solution to this that I can see is an armed citizenry with the means to protect itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Zero tolerance is always a bad idea.

When you start letting people like the gardai use violence or any kind of extreme tactics, that's the downfall of society (i.e. the beginning of facism.) Look at the US now after 9/11. It's totally ****ed.

Education and proper parenting is the key. NOT brutal police/prisons.

Zulu wrote:
    The Army? Are you menthol? I can only hope you are pulling the absolute p1ss.

Not really. See arming the Gardai will cost large amounts of money, plus they wont use the weapons cause they'll be scared of being accused of excessive force or whatever.

The army seems a good solution. they are trained, wont take any crap, and they really should only act as a symbolic force. yes i know it's a little excessive, but something needs to be done about dublin, it need to be cleaned up something fierce!

What other options do we have? the 2000 extra Gardai we've been promised for two elections running? Changing the existing laws to stiffen penalties? Personally i cant see us getting the extra Gardai, it's too much of a deal-sweetener for politicians. as for changing the law? well that's not going to happen anytime soon.

Ag marbh : Point noted, but i think you'll find there's shootings in dublin already. otherwise a very valid point...

Ruaidhri wrote:
    Not really. See arming the Gardai will cost large amounts of money, plus they wont use the weapons cause they'll be scared of being accused of excessive force or whatever.

The army seems a good solution. they are trained, wont take any crap, and they really should only act as a symbolic force. yes i know it's a little excessive, but something needs to be done about dublin, it need to be cleaned up something fierce!
    So let me get this straight. Your solution to loutish behaviour, is to put professional soliders on the streets with assult rifles, who "wont take any crap" and won't be afraid to use excessive force (unlike the guards who are). :rolleyes:
    Ruaidhri, I wouldn't say thats a "little excessive", little isn't the right word there.

This has been tried before. Guess what, it dosen't work. The Army and the Police are completly different. They are trained differently; there are trained for different roles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Violent Dublin is a load of sh1te. From personal experience, I can honestly say you are far more likely to get into a fight late night on the streets of places like Cavan, Enniskillen, Drogheda.....the list goes on, but basically I find that provincial towns outside Dublin are far more dangerous on a Saturday night than the middle of Dublin. And for all the Temple Bar moaners, the fact is there is alot more violence at chucking out time in the likes of Blanch and Tallaght on a Saturday night than in town from my experience, Id say one reason being beacuse the suburbs, unlike town, have the Leisureplexes where people can hang around all night after the clubs have shut.

I believe it was Tommy Tiernan who commented on Drogheda that its "where Navan people go to be born (no maternity ward in Navan presumably) and get stabbed"

And my dad would have some laugh at the suggestion the army should be in charge of law and order, considering some of the mad fcukers he served with :D Jaysus the stories he has. He claims he barely bought an item of clothes in a shop during the 80s, due to the amt of people he knew in the army who were on the rob at warehouses. Apparently everyone in the base used to be wearing the exact same Dunnes Stores jacket :)

Back on topic though, walking around any town after the clubs ahve shut while your sober is a weird experience. Theres alot more fights and general wankerism going on than you notice when you are pissed yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

No one respects the authoroties in this country, especially the gardai. I can never see them loosening the bar laws (which would probably ease the situation every weekend), so unless the police toughen up there'll be no improvement. From what I can see they seem to put inexperienced rookies on the streets on saturday nights in dublin, most of them look so innocent and bewildered and like they wouldn't hurt a fly. I mean if you go to spain or france you just know right away not to f**k with the police there or you're in for it, they do not tolerate any anti-social behaviour on the streets and it should be the same here. There is no point in being all PC on this issue as people who start fights and smash stuff up on saturday nights do not deserve to be analysed in a politically correct way, they deserve to be beaten with batons and thrown in a cell for the night, and if I got a bit rowdy one night and woke up with a cut up head in a cell, I'd know I deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

1st of all, I don't think dublin is a frightening place at night.
    Secondly some of the solutions offered are a bit OTT. The army?
    Sleepy wrote:
    A lot of the problems we're experiencing on the streets of Dublin exist because young thugs know they'll get off lightly if ...A clip around the ear and a boot in the backside never hospitalised anyone and it taught many that they couldn't get away with acting like thugs.

The idea that the gards or the army should start knocking lumps into the young offenders is ridiculous... it would only lead to further trouble. Ignoring the whole A&E issue, which is something in itself, you need only look at the curfuffle caused when those Gardai shot those armed robbers a few months back to see that the Gardai will have to start worrying about retalliation if they start mistreating people...
    If they were the kick the (poo) out of a young scumbag and he ended up in the hospital how long do you think before his brother&sister&uncle&aunty&cousin&localSinnFeinRepresentative&FatherJo knock on the door of those Gards?

You also have the issue of the gardai over-reacting and "getting" the wrong people, which would lead to an ever poorer reputation for the gards and less trust.

The problem is that the legal system doesn't deal with young offenders, or even older ones, and they don't get just punishment for their crimes.
    Obviously we don't want to start putting people in prison and throwing away the key like they do in the US, but the whole revolving door issue is where it's at...

sorry this is actually chump who wrote this, I was logged on to my brothers account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

loz wrote:

You need to stop forming your opinions from something you heard on the G Ryan show...

Wertz wrote:
    You need to stop forming your opinions from something you heard on the G Ryan show...

I think there is a lack of thinking for yourself on this board. I've noticed this in my two days reading it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Violent Dublin is a load of sh1te.

I agree. I've lived in the city centre for 10 years and I've only had trouble twice (both my fault.)

I've only ever seen two fights. And I'm in Temple Bar/on the streets every night.

If you want trouble you can have it. If you're like me and you are not into violence, it never happens.

"Scumbags" are highly rare. A cap and nike runners does not make a scumbag.

1st of all, I don't think dublin is a frightening place at night.
    Secondly some of the solutions offered are a bit OTT. The army?

i actually agree, BUT what other solutions are there at the moment? Arm the Gardai, or change the legal system? Both are less than satisfactory solutions.

Violence is not just a problem in Dublin, it's nationwide. and speaking from personal experience, i've seen more fights in small town / rural ireland (usually in one weekend) than any of the cities i've lived in (over a few months!). IMO a solution needs to be put in place NOW and any bugs worked out before the problem escalates beyond what it is now.

I think there are a hell of alot worse problems in society at the moment. To go wasting money on this would be another dumb government decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Fascism. Idiocy. These are what this thread is littered with. If you can't be PC you can't be political. Maybe people should stop hatching dastardly schemes to keep the morlocks in check for just one second and invest some attention in how offensive their rhetoric is. I thought "anti-social behaviour" was a barbarous enough appellation under which to yoke mercilessly together the disparate transgressions which plague our otherwise so well ordered society... but "scum"?! Come on! What is this, the Travis Bickle school of idiotic impunity? Great Scott! What if the government was filled with as many idiot paranoid-cases? Hmm? Well? Hmmm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

Red Kooga wrote:
    The streets are gone fúcking crazy, there's no two ways about it. Ive been to New York 3 times and felt safer at night there than I do at 3 in the morning in Temple Bar.

If you look at countries like Turkey and Italy there is no sinister feeling at night when people fall out into the streets of the capital locked. Why?

Comments?

Yeah thats because they get placed in prisons with insane conditions where the prison officers rape them. It was in a film called the midnight express or something. But on a serious note, yes i do think the gardai should be given special power to kick the ****e out of anyone suspected of trouble and/or sporting clothing from lifestyle/ champion or the lacoste shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

To be honest, I generally feel quite safe in town at night-time, especially around Temple Bar. Mainly because there's so many people there. I've never had any trouble! I'm more anxious walking through Tallaght village (I live around there) at night-time, because it's virtually deserted...

I agree with the sentiment, though. I'd sure love to see a load of scumbags gettin their heads cracked, but unfortunately there'd be a bunch of whiners complaining about it. Ah well, we can only live in hope... If I was a Garda... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Have to agree with the posts about Dublin being safer than provincial towns.

As for the Gardai? They are the scumbags. Attacking innocent people on Mayday '02 and '04. Driving crooks like CJH around the place. :rolleyes: And people want those cu.nts to administer justice by assaulting people. :rolleyes: Give the late night radio phone shows a call, will ya? They'll love ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I find Dublin to be fairly safe if you know how to carry yourself and not go around being a complete tit. I think a lot the problem with the Garda who are on the streets on the weekend is that these are fresh faced youngfellas just up from templemore who dont just see criminals as scumbags but see all Dubliners as scumbags. It would be fairly daunting for anyone to come from a country town or small community to a city like Dublin where you've been hearing stories about Dublin scumbags and the like your whole life.

The suburbs of Dublin can definitely be a lot more dangerous and you do have to watch yourself more but again its all in the way you carry yourself and act. If you are out anywhere at night though quiet places are the most dangerous, just stay away from anywhere thats not near a main road and dont walk through little alleys/across greens. The more people around the less likely you are to get started on or mugged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Zulu wrote:

Yes where men kill dragons and women are wenches.

There is no point in being all PC on this issue as people who start fights and smash stuff up on saturday nights do not deserve to be analysed in a politically correct way, they deserve to be beaten with batons and thrown in a cell for the night, and if I got a bit rowdy one night and woke up with a cut up head in a cell, I'd know I deserved it.

Exactly.

Even if we do get the extra 2,000 guards they still wont be able to handle the lunacy on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Our gaols are filled to overcrowding. To convict and lock up one criminal the authorities have to release another one to make room. There isn't a single empty gaol cell in the country. Until there is, the scumbags will rule the night regardless of how hard the Gardaí try.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

the idea of a tough garda is better than a tough garda. the problem si that i reckon the gardai in this country would take it that because their supposed to be tougher they can do what they want. which ends up in the whole A&E problem someone mentioned. the simple fact is that ireland has a drinking problem and doesnt have the abaility to handle the consequences.

in portugal the police are a branch of the army. im a big guy but some of the cops i saw going around were scary looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭BaldiePablo

I've gone through this thread and it looks like most (not all!!!) opinions are expressed by the Gardai hating 'Bleeding Heart Brigade'!!

Firstly, the only way to tackle the Dublin Streets is tougher laws and a tougher hand to enforce these laws. At present the law is on the side of the scumbag (before you say it, I class 'scumbag' as anybody who goes out of his/her way to f**k up somebodys day regardless of whether they wear a buddy tash or a suit!!) so the second a 'scumbag' is arrested they are looking for a loophole in the law to have them released. (This applies to those who actually are taken into custody ... in many cases our laws do not promote custodial sentences thus the reason scumbag are not afraid of our judicial system in the first place!) At the end of the day we need the same system Rudolph Giuliani brought into New York ... Three Strikes and You're out!! Yeah, we would need more prisons but the money spent on incarseration would soon be returned after the drop in investigation/A&E/policing/compensation etc costs!

As for those who insist on refering to the antics of a couple of Gardai on that faithfull May Day ... yeah, maybe the actions of a few were a little excessive but this was in reaction to thugs attempting to scar an otherwise peacefull event. Cast your minds back to the last May Day Celebration where the Gardai used force against anybody attempting to tarnish the event. This was applauded by the natives and media alike and compared to good foreign policing!!
    With more backing of the Irish people, the law could be changed to assist the Gardai to keep all kinds of trouble makers behind bars thus keeping our streets clean.

If you'e not part of the solution you're part of the problem!!

in portugal the police are a branch of the army. im a big guy but some of the cops i saw going around were scary looking.

Maybe thats what we need. Some of the Gardaí look laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

The Gardai in this country need a good kick up the arse.Its strange, but in this country, something is only done once there has been an incident regarding it.For example,the government only started implementing seatbelts on buses after 5 lives were lost near Kentstown.The government in Ireland is a ****1ng joke

Sweet wrote:
    The Gardai in this country need a good kick up the arse.Its strange, but in this country, something is only done once there has been an incident regarding it.For example,the government only started implementing seatbelts on buses after 5 lives were lost near Kentstown.The government in Ireland is a ****1ng joke

So how many stabbings/muggings/worse is it going to take before a change is made?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Firstly, the only way to tackle the Dublin Streets is tougher laws and a tougher hand to enforce these laws. At present the law is on the side of the scumbag
    Unfortunately you've hit the nail on the head here - the gardai are effectively at their wits end in dealing with these people as no matter what a thug (and in particular a young thug) does, there simply isn't any fear that they will be punished....

The problem comes not only from the lack of cells but also in the lack of a strategy in tackling underage crime...

Question is: How do you tackle underage crime in a manner as would not alienate that person from society, while still providing sufficient deterrant to a repeat offence? Not sure its an easy answer... (in saying that you still have to try - which is something this govt is distinctly NOT doing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Someone said that Temple Bar is one of the "worlds party spots and is to be expected." Bourbon street in New Orleans is (was) also one of the worlds party spots and in the several day I spent there I never heard or saw any trouble.

Unfortunatly the current situation with the revolving door means that people wont get jail time for small crimes. Rather than jailing everyone, some manual labour should be brought in. Before people start jumping down my throat, there are pleanty of jobs that could easily be done by your average person, cleaning A&E rooms, picking litter from parks and streets - punishments that while not killing them will hopefully deter them from doing the same again.
    R

Did I see something on TV3 news tonight about a new gardai campaign to clean up Temple Bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

No, that's the business owners themselves taking the initiative to try and clear the place up. /\

And, yes, I fully believe the gardaí should have a zero tolerance policy towards troublemakers. As it, they know they can get away with at most a slap on the wrist. The defiance and pure contempt in this country is shocking, little shíts going around terrorrising people and knowing they'll get away with it.

Gardaí should have the power to calm the situation 'by whatever means necessary', beating the shít ouf of the skobes would be allowed.

And people say the gardaí will abuse their power, so what, I can handle knowing a gard might beat the bollocks out of me if I'm acting the dick, I can't handle the state of Dublin's streets anymore.