Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Red Barns Road, Dundalk

• 26-10-2005 1:45pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Any word on when they're going to start the up-grade works on the Red Barns road? I've been hearing about it for the last 3 years, suppose they'll wait til just before the next election before they release the funds. Also, the traffic lights at the bad bend, I always dis-regard them unless there is traffic coming out of the (nearly)new estate. I thought the lights were to be taken down after construction finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Ah it really needs to be done..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Be aware of the twits who will go through them coming OUT from that estate.
    Some assclown pulled right out in front of the car in front of me yesterday evening - oh yeah, of course he was on his mobile.
    He's lucky it wasn't me he pulled out in front of.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I reckon he'd have to be liable, wether the lights are green or not, knowing my luck it'd be a Garda though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

There is compulsory Purchase Orders on a lot of lands especially that bad corner near to the point road, they reckon work should start in January although a lot of greedy land Owners are holding off for top buck, I nearly got splattered last night when I was out running and had to go on the road for a few hundred metres.

That road was mean for horses and carts and not fecking trucks,buses or cars.

Were ye not wearing a hi-vis jacket? I'm assuming you were at the top (blackrock end) or you would have been able to use the footpath. The amount of kids that walk on the road without the correct gear is unbelieveable, there'll be an accident, it's waiting to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

Yep I twas and in big Dirty bright letters on the back saying ARMY:D

Yep was at the top and you would think there would be a feckin foot path with the amount of estates around there :mad:

It's a joke alright, we'll only have to put up with it until the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭GASUN

Not from Dundalk but know the road as I visit Dundalk a lot! Similiar situation in Kells Co. Meath with the road out of Kells town to Moynalty being in a constant state of disrepair for 3 years+. Being upgraded now but what a state it is in - decision taken at local election time and all that ....

PS: Visit my Music Photography exhibition 'A STAGE PRESENCE' for The Tain Festival in Dundalk Co. Museum running from:

October 26th to November 02nd incl.
    Weekdays & Sat: 10.30am - 5.30pm
    Sunday & Bank Holiday Monday: 2pm - 6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I live in Lennonstown Manor, off the Red Barns road, and yes - the sooner they upgrade the surface on the road, the better. It's going to be a nightmare, though, getting in and out of there while the roadworks are under way. I hope they've got some good plan in place for the local residents to be able to get to and from their homes during the work. Might be a good time to get back on my bike (I only work 5 minutes down the road in the retail park...)

Well for ya, 5 mins to work, I'm working in Dublin 63 miles away leave at 6am so road works won't affect me too much. Don't know how they'll even fit a digger on that road and expect to let traffic past. They'll probablly stop access from one side to allow for the work, it'll be messy alright.