Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They were embarassing!

• 23-10-2005 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭

Firstly I must say that I havn't much interest in the international rules game but I did see the second half on Friday. What an embarassment!

I not talking about the score. I'm not even talking about the way they played because these things can happen in sport. I talking about the manner in which Austrailia bullied them out of the game. From what I saw only Graham Canty and Sean Cavanagh stood up for themselves. The others got kicked, punched and shoved all over the place and done nothing! Nothing but turn away! I know that the Irish team are only amatures and smaller than the professional Austrailians but it was still sickeneing to stomach that because these are the same players who'd have no problem starting a fight if it happened in during the All Ireland.

Colm O'Rourke got it spot on during the interval. What Ireland need/ed are players to soften up the Austrailians. Give them an elbow into the face off the ball. Kick them when their down. Play dirty and start fighting rough and dirty because that'll show them that if they play dirty they'll suffer. It's not as though you can get sent off anyway!

If the coach McGrath was going to bring a Cork hurler because he played a bit of football than forget about O'hAilpin. Dairmuid O'Sullivan should have gone. And why wasn't more Armagh players their? Kireran McGeeney comes to mind. The game is made for him.

So my verdict is to bring a big rough dirty team and kick the sh** out of the Aussies. They are not hard men at all btw. I watched a game of aussie rules once and was shocked because they were all so disiplined and their was no fighting or nothing. This isn't suprising though because all the players there are big and professional. They're not small lightweight amatures. This is why the cowardly Austrailians like to throw their weight around against the little amatures who dosn't hit back. If they were to come up against some mad rough paddies they wouldn't be so tough. A broken nose or two would also make them think twice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

We tried that in years gone past, it turned into a running battle, and the more powerful Aussies came out of it better off more often then not. The last series we changed our gameplan, and picked quicker smaller players, the Aussies could not deal with it and got slaughtered. They were not going to let that happen again, and were always going to be better prepared this time round.

I personally did not like that he selected O Hailpin, I felt it was a bit of a slap in the face to other inter county footballers. Only inter county footballers should be available for selection for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I wouldnt necassarily tell them to break noses er elbow into the face or anything, but yeah a bit tougher play would have been nice. Personally i think the Int Rules is a poxy game though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

KnowItAll wrote:
    So my verdict is to bring a big rough dirty team and kick the sh** out of the Aussies...If they were to come up against some mad rough paddies they wouldn't be so tough. A broken nose or two would also make them think twice!
    Luckily you don't have much interest in International Rules because we can do without this kind of scum bag attitude which is an embarrassment to Irish people.

Luckily for the Irish team Kevin Sheedy played the smaller, quicker players. Had he have opted for the likes of Barry Hall or Michael O'Loughlin the Irish team would be doing more than licking their bruised egos.

Take it like a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

What time is the throw in/touch off or whatever it's called tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

dSTAR wrote:
    Luckily you don't have much interest in International Rules because we can do without this kind of scum bag attitude which is an embarrassment to Irish people.

Luckily for the Irish team Kevin Sheedy played the smaller, quicker players. Had he have opted for the likes of Barry Hall or Michael O'Loughlin the Irish team would be doing more than licking their bruised egos.

Take it like a man!

Ah, I remember the good oul days of Jason Ackermanus and Peter Cavanan. Now those were fights!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

dSTAR wrote:
    Yes we can so without the cowardly, scumbag attitude of the Aussies. They are the biggest cowards I've ever seen. Why do I say? Because I saw 2 or 3 games of Aussie rules on TV and I didn't see any cheap shots, no punches, no pushing or no trying to start fights every time contact is made. The reason for this is obvious, they are all the same size. They pick on the irish because they are smaller and amature therefore not as fit/strong.

Question? If you were walking down the street and got punched for no reason and you hit the person back, who would be the scumbag? The person who started it or the person would wouldn't allow themselves to be bullied/attacked?
    dSTAR wrote:
    Thats a nice attitude! Maybe it's the Austrailian inferiority complex:rolleyes:
    dSTAR wrote:
    Take it like a man!
    A give it back like a proper man!

KnowItAll wrote:
    Yes we can so without the cowardly, scumbag attitude of the Aussies. They are the biggest cowards I've ever seen...
    A little less of the sweeping generalisations. Maybe if you played the game you would understand. It took Tadgh a while to get the hang of it but he is a legend now. Same goes for Jim Stynes and Setanta O'hAilpin.

I was reading the sport section of The Age today and a quote by Sean Og O'hAilpin (Setanta's brother) really stuck in my mind. He said,

In Ireland...you don't try hurt a bloke. He has to go to work in the morning.

There is definitely a cultural difference in the way the game is played in both countries as Kevin Sheedy pointed out in a recent interview:

You want to try it on us. It a bump a real hit. Thats just a way of life in this country. Its just the way you're brought up since they throw a ball into the cot, you want to get out of the cot - get out of my road, I'm coming through.

At the end of the day KnowItAll its only a game and Aussies love Irish people. Lets not reduce ourselves to making personal remarks or nationalistic stereotypes and just enjoy it for what it is.

Fair enough?

I do not think the Aussies are cowardly at all. They are simply playing to their strengths, and that is fair enough. The Irish deliberately and tactically chose to pick smaller quicker players, the Aussies counteract this by playing a more physical game. It is all part of the strategy. Also, I have never seen an Aussie rules game where the tackles were not flying in, and there is usually at least a scuffle. I really enjoy these contests, and I enjoy watching these physical sports, I am a big soccer fan, but I think the game is gone too clean now, it is nice to see a game with hard hits etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

dSTAR wrote:
    A little less of the sweeping generalisations. Maybe if you played the game you would understand. It took Tadgh a while to get the hang of it but he is a legend now. Same goes for Jim Stynes and Setanta O'hAilpin.

I was reading the sport section of The Age today and a quote by Sean Og O'hAilpin (Setanta's brother) really stuck in my mind. He said,

In Ireland...you don't try hurt a bloke. He has to go to work in the morning.

There is definitely a cultural difference in the way the game is played in both countries as Kevin Sheedy pointed out in a recent interview:

You want to try it on us. It a bump a real hit. Thats just a way of life in this country. Its just the way you're brought up since they throw a ball into the cot, you want to get out of the cot - get out of my road, I'm coming through.

At the end of the day KnowItAll its only a game and Aussies love Irish people. Lets not reduce ourselves to making personal remarks or nationalistic stereotypes and just enjoy it for what it is.

Fair enough?

Yes its only a game, so why do i see a bunch of thugs in an australian jersey looking to throw more punches than passes? If your defence is "thats how weve been brought up", then my opinion of australian sport has plummeted to an all time low. Do you normally closeline people almost breaking their neck? Sure thats nothing to australians, the guy wont even receive any punishment besides being subbed! Stick your cultural difference where the sun dont shine, it dont wash, stop making excuses for what it is, pure thuggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

^Agreed^

But this kind of thing doesn't happen in Aussie Rules, just as it doesn't in GAA. It is, as the lads have stated on RTE, merely because the punishment isn't there. A player who is sent off should be sent off, full stop. A player who repeatedly (or even once) throws a punch at an opponent on the ground should be red carded, not yellow as the case was today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

The international "rules" match today was an absolute disgrace, mainly for Australians. It was reduced to just fighting at times, and the Irish team were outsized and the Aussies were poorly reffed. There are huge problems with the series now and if I was the GAA I would withdraw from it.

Some of the sentiments expressed above about we should be putting it up to them, etc is a joke. Do we want a football match, do we want tosee skills, or do we want to see a fight? If a fight, send over our kick-boxing and boxing teams and just have a fight. Forget about the AFL players.

The problem with the AFL players is that they are during their normal season very closely monitored for fighting. Off the ball fighting is spotted on video and there are severe reprimands. Players are reported. They can be suspended from playing for 6 weeks, or more. They also lose a part of their salary if they have been reported.

This whole game got out of control early on. The fisticuffs beween the Bomber and the Ripper was supposed to be a thing of the past. No-one will say this series will be remembered for the football.

I think all those involved in eth GAA should now halt this series for the moment, review it seriosly and if I was Sean Kelly I would immediately withdraw "diplomatic relations". This was not a celebration of football, this was a complete Disgrace.

redspider

redspider wrote:
    Some of the sentiments expressed above about we should be putting it up to them, etc is a joke. Do we want a football match, do we want tosee skills, or do we want to see a fight? If a fight, send over our kick-boxing and boxing teams and just have a fight.

Well to be honest, in future I would like to see a sporting event rather than just a fight.

Today, however, I was majorly annoyed at the number of times the Australian players dragged the Irish to the ground completely off the ball and on a couple of occasions, actually started hitting them. Nobody likes seeing it, but the Irish should have given as good as they got. Otherwise, the Australians (as happened today), get the upper hand and the Irish are intimidated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭roykeane16

we were rubbish:confused: :mad:

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Well to be honest, in future I would like to see a sporting event rather than just a fight. Today, however, I was majorly annoyed at the number of times the Australian players dragged the Irish to the ground completely off the ball and on a couple of occasions, actually started hitting them. Nobody likes seeing it, but the Irish should have given as good as they got. Otherwise, the Australians (as happened today), get the upper hand and the Irish are intimidated.

This is much more serious than just a situation of the Irish players not giving as good as they got. The rules were clearly being breached in full view of the authorities, the refs, the officials and the mgmt teams on both sides. This wasnt a case of the players being fairly intimidated within the rules, this was in fact physical assult happening live on TV in the name of sport, but far from the spirit of sport.

Both codes, AFL and GAA have worked collectively over the years to eliminate the fouling, agression, etc from the international series. In-roads wee made so much so that in recent years footballing skills were getting the upper hand, not the team winning which had the best street brawling skills. In fact, both codes started selecting lighter and more skilful players.

This series started getting out of hand in the 1st match. Several fouls were not yellow carded and a clear red card foul was only given a yellow. The slippery slope got slippier and slippier as fouling got worse and worse. The game was a farce. You could hardly show it to kids. Where it went wrong, perhaps the refs not being drilled well enough, perhaps the Aussies just losing the run of themselves, or both.

I think there wil be a grass roots call within GAA clubs up and down the country to stop the series.

I know which motions I'll be putting forward and which way I'll be voting,

redspider

Davei141 wrote:
    Stick your cultural difference where the sun dont shine, it dont wash, stop making excuses for what it is, pure thuggery.
    Oh stop whining. What a sore loser! Whenever the Irish are faced with a tough contest they balk and show themselves for what they are which is amateurs.

You have to remember that AFL is a mans game. Half of the Irish players looked like they were lining up for an under 17's game. It is such a cop out to claim that the Aussie's are 'thugs'.

Come on now. I agree with the original poster. I was embarrassed watching a player like 'The Gooch' falling around the ground like some scrawny teenage kid. And 'The Enforcer' spent more time on the ground after minor collisions. Some 'Enforcer' he turned out to be!

Either go hard or go home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

dSTAR wrote:
    Oh stop whining. What a sore loser! Whenever the Irish are faced with a tough contest they balk and show themselves for what they are which is amateurs.

You have to remember that AFL is a mans game. Half of the Irish players looked like they were lining up for an under 17's game. It is such a cop out to claim that the Aussie's are 'thugs'.

Come on now. I agree with the original poster. I was embarrassed watching a player like 'The Gooch' falling around the ground like some scrawny teenage kid. And 'The Enforcer' spent more time on the ground after minor collisions. Some 'Enforcer' he turned out to be!

Either go hard or go home!
    :):):)

great.... go hard or go home...

seems thats the way down under eh, NZ or Aus, quite simply the only way they appear to be able to win a game is by beating up the oppostion. Rugby is no exception. You only need look as far as the lions tours or the internationals to see that! Ironicaly they have all the skills to win fairly but don't appear to have the balls, preferring outright agressive thuggery and intimidation to fair and masterful play of what is, after all FOOTBALL not wrestling !

From RTE:

"Australia win at all costs
    Friday, 28 October 2005 2:24

The future of the International Rules may be in doubt following a bruising second Test in Melbourne this morning where Ireland lost 63-42 to see Australia claim the Cormac McNallen Cup with a 163-106 aggregate score.

The home side's overly physical approach saw the contest degenerate into violence, a litany of dangerous tackling and late challenges marring the Telstra Dome tie.

It was a case of win at all costs for the Aussies, and that they did, with alarming ease, romping to a 57 points aggregate win. But their superb footballing display in the first Test in Perth was overshadowed by some shameful incidents in the deciding leg.

Ryan McMenamin and Tom Kelly provided the defensive platform for Ireland to mount a positive opening quarter offensive, scores from Padraic Joyce, Sean Cavanagh, Dessie Dolan and Ross Munnelly giving them the edge.

Cavanagh was denied a goal by Justin Fletchers reflex save, and the Aussies duly played their way into the game.

Matthew Lappin, Amon Buchanan and Ryan O'Keefe were all on target, and at the first break the tourists led by 13-11.

Australia turned up the heat in a tempestuous second quarter, skipper Chris Johnson red-carded for a brutal high tackle on Philip Jordan. The Irish were unsettled, managing only one over in the period, while the home side floated over six three-pointers, including two each for Nick Davis and O'Keefe.

By the halfway stage, the aggregate deficit had grown to a massive 49 points, Australia taking a Test lead of 31-18.

Pete McGrath's side did close the gap in the third quarter, with Ronan Clarke, Ciaran McManus and Cavanagh on target, but they just couldn't break through for that elusive six-pointer, Cavanagh thwarted again by goalkeeper Fletcher.

Going into the final segment, Australia held a 40-32 lead, and despite the heroics of the brilliant Tom Kelly in defence they opened it out again, with Matthew Lappin, Andrew Lovett and Shannon Grant all hitting overs to see Australia ease to a significant victory.

The one bright note for Ireland was that Laois defender Tom Kelly, who put in another tireless display in his sixth International Rules game, was named Irish player of the Series at the trophy presentation afterwards. "

And they didn't even mention the ridiculous "yellow card" in the 3rd quarter, or the persistent indiscipline of some of the Australians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

In fairness, that's the Irish national Broadcasters report, I'm sure if we look at Austrailian News, the slant would be different.

I won't go into the Aussies did this or that road, one thing I'll say is that the main problem is there is no effective sanctions to stop foul play.

Players 'sent off' can be replaced. Even if they deliberately break a fellahs leg, he's not banned from anything for 6 months as would happen if it happened in a GAA or AFL match.

It's a bit like the Guards not enforcing the penalty points law, look what happens .....

No penalty, or fear of being caught = Unlawful behaviour.

lol ...This is all they have to say about it.....shows you it's importance down there

http://www.abc.net.au/sport/content/200510/s1493406.htm

BTW .. Well Done Austrailia, regardless of method of tactics, you thorougly deserved your wins.

Culchie wrote:
    In fairness, that's the Irish national Broadcasters report, I'm sure if we look at Austrailian News, the slant would be different.

I realise that but it is going to be hard to get a neutral report on the game. Regardless of your position on the game, Australia's approach was extremely physical. I think it was overly so, as do plenty of others.

Get over yourself.

The Irish team were outplayed in all areas. Maybe the GAA need to take a hard look at themselves. They are perpetuating the long held tradition that the GAA is some kind of pure sport never to be unsullied by money.

It just shows what part-time amateurs the GAA players really are. When it comes to professional footy sometimes it IS win at all costs. If that makes you uncomfortable you should stick to watching your local GAA games and stop harping on that it is a game of thuggery.

Typical australian attitude, "who cares we won eh?" Never mind if one guy almost broke his neck. Never mind australian players pushing backroom staff, never mind a forearm smash when the ball isnt even in play, never mind that about 20 mass brawls broke out, never mind countless punches were thrown, doesnt matter does it? AFL a mans game? Men respect rules, they respect opponents and they respect referees, i didnt see any of that. I just saw a bunch of scum running about trying to injure opponents, apart from some players, who must of been ashamed that they were associated with that lot. Not one ounce of sportsmanship was shown, not ONE ounce. What you think about australias captain? Throwing punches, closelining and extremely late "tackles"? I guess its just part of the game, no wait, punching and closelining are red card offences, how many did i see that game? Atleast 20 red card offences, how many red cards? 1, thats right, 1. Even when a player ran into an irish player with his knee into his face it wasnt even a free kick! This series is officially a joke, and next year you will see 30 thugs instead of the 10 on display, and it will be equally a farce. Congratulations on winning, aussie, hope you enjoy the free for all next year. I guess we can just be happy that among all that thuggery, nobody was seriously hurt, and believe me, thats a ****ing miracle.
    It just shows what part-time amateurs the GAA players really are.

We won last year, didnt we? guess what happened? International rules football was played. Go figure.

dSTAR wrote:
    Get over yourself.

The Irish team were outplayed in all areas. Maybe the GAA need to take a hard look at themselves. They are perpetuating the long held tradition that the GAA is some kind of pure sport never to be unsullied by money.

It just shows what part-time amateurs the GAA players really are. When it comes to professional footy sometimes it IS win at all costs. If that makes you uncomfortable you should stick to watching your local GAA games and stop harping on that it is a game of thuggery.

as was pointed out earlier, aussie rules isnt a gameof thuggery. So lets look at what overcomes Australia at times like these. Perhaps the "win at all costs" thuggishness maybe attributed to a deeper and more complex feeling of perceived international inadequacy resulting in a desperation to prove themsleves whatever the method employed. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

Australia's players were anything but manly today. Crap game, Ireland could've won the test if Cavanagh had have scored two goals from his two shots, and if Ireland's other goal had stood. Probably not though. Kelly played class.

Kevin Sheedy said while Australia had been provoked by the Irish, Johnson's response was still not on.

"He knows he has done the wrong thing and we wouldn't like it to happen to us," Sheedy said of Johnson's high shot on Jordan.

Provoked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Typical australian attitude, "who cares, we won eh?" Thats the attitude we should have had! This is a riduculous sport to say the least, but as an Irishman I still want to see us win it and show a good account of ourselves and our country. We did neither!

I can accept losing the match- we were up against finely tuned professionals whose lives are singular in that all time is spent preparing for sport. What I can't accept is the timid way in which the Irish players accepted the physical onslaught and at no time did I see an Irish player make a comitted response to the mindless violence of the australians. Players like colin cooper and kieran mcdonald looked like dumbstruck schoolboys in comparison to the more streetwise australians and at times the game was reminiscent of taking candy from a baby. Why didnt they stand up and fight? Had they no pride? Had they lost the will to defend themselves? Absolutely pathetic.

Even when they did attempt to fight back, their gestures were comparable to that of two teenage girls engaged in an underwhelming cat fight. Im not saying violence is the way forward but for Christ's sake fight fire with fire!
    These men proved today that they have no balls- crude as it may sound, and they allowed themselves to be used as doormats. A bunch of cats would have done better. Im ashamed of them.

Dont agree.

Anybody who plays GAA has balls and moreover massive skills. Thats what I don't get, why is the focus on fighting anybody ? At the risk of appearing 'twee' I would have more respect for the guy who didn't get involved than the guy who did. The sport is amazingly skillful, doesn't need the brutalising and bringing it down to that level simply debases it.

you are correct, but when one team stoops so low in the name of winning, sometimes it is better to follow them and nullify their onslaught. holding back and taking the punishment dosent win games and it give the aggressors an advantage as it says to them "you can walk all over me, thats okay". when i was younger i found the best way to deal with a bully was to punch him flat in the nose when he least expected it. believe me he never came back for more. this is the same principal.

forbesii wrote:
    you are correct, but when one team stoops so low in the name of winning, sometimes it is better to follow them and nullify their onslaught. holding back and taking the punishment dosent win games and it give the aggressors an advantage as it says to them "you can walk all over me, thats okay". when i was younger i found the best way to deal with a bully was to punch him flat in the nose when he least expected it. believe me he never came back for more. this is the same principal.

Depends on how you see the aggression really. Its tough to change your code of ethics to such an extent as would have been required today. Builles are indeed best dealt with that way but far better (if possible) would be simply to deal with the agression on an individual basis and prove yourself the better team by beating the low schnakey dirty tricksters legally ! Make the victory all the more emphatic.

Sadly though, we here, trust referees to be fair. and honest....

seems a bit of a mistake that...

Fatboy..

i hear what your saying but the simpleg fact is that by turning the other cheek we incurred a 57 point defeat. i believe a more aggressive and abrassive mentality would have at least ensured we remained in the series until the end. alas it wasnt to be.............

forbesii wrote:
    i hear what your saying but the simpleg fact is that by turning the other cheek we incurred a 57 point defeat. i believe a more aggressive and abrassive mentality would have at least ensured we remained in the series until the end. alas it wasnt to be.............

Yep, I do see the point over the loss of the game but in honesty the only real team that lost were the Aussies. Stooping so low just to score a victory will not be seen as heroic, merely snidey, cynical and unworthy. And, in reality, if we are to blame anyone for the defeat we should be looking at the refereeing as an example of how not - to implement a disciplinary line !?

Ireland played to the best of their abilities within the rules laid down. They can't be held accountable because they didnt step over the line, more the line was not enforced where it should have been.

Fatboy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Jabbathegut

While the Chris Johnson 'coathanger' and subsequent punch on incident should never happen in any sport but you lads have to admit you were totally outclassed today.

I agree that greater penalties must be implemented to prevent those types of incidents happening again. Nobody wants to see anyone suffer a serious injury.

The rest of the so called thugery was just a bit of niggle, the tackles that went to far were well policed by both umpires today.

Just like last week, most of our overs came from either running straight through your midfield or your lads turning over the ball. Having played Australian Rules for over 20 years intimitation is an important part of the game and big test of character.

Perhaps the GAA will have to bite the bullet and employ an AFL coach as we have used the services of the Stynes bros this year.

It will make next years series all the more interesting. No chance the GAA will stop such a money spinner.

yes, ireland were extremely weak in the tackle in terms of both technique and physicality. the better team won. as regards the disciplinary procedures? an absolute farce. im lost for words in trying to comprehend a system that allows players who are sent off to be replaced. not only is there no punishment but this is a proactive invitation for the players to kick the **** out of each other. red cards should mean total dismissal and as a further deterrent, players who receive cards, be they red or yellow, should, in conjunction receive 1/2/3 game bans which are applicable to afl and nfl/all-ireland championship games. this would clean up the game.

dSTAR wrote:
    Get over yourself.

I have not seen todays game but I do not really have a problem with the physical approach, and after the first test we should have been prepared for it. But the post I have quoted above is pure BS. Kindly bear in mind that only a year ago, positions were totally reversede and Australia were talking about pulling out of these series as they took a record hammering. I would not be losing the run of myself if I were you. As regards the part time amateur stuff, you say that like it is intended as an insult, it is something we are proud and proud that our players usually give the hardmen professionals of Australias national sport at least a run for their money. You had one easy win and you cannot resist shooting your mouth off.

We will be back next year, and hopefully normal service will be resumed, and we will be back to stuffing the Aussies again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Physical prowess and robustness is one thing. But the blatant provocation and thuggery of the Aussies is another. OK, so maybe we could have sent a few sharper elbowed guys down there but do we really want the game to descend to an aerial bareknuckle kick boxing contest?

Let's not whinge over the result. The aussies played better, were fitter, got into space better and fully deserved to win. But some of the fighting and off the ball incidents were a disgrace. That guy who got sent off was out of control from the start. A complete thug.

Never mind. We'll get them next year.

Give them the full Gallipoli treatment. (They lost that one, you know)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Most of the Irish guys don't look like they can throw a decent punch. They're embarrasing the nation and they look like little beatches when it comes down to a scrap. I reckon for next year they should spend a week just punching the heavy bag. Clock a fella hard on the jaw and it doesn't matter if he's pro or amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

guys, c'mon. We're not here to advocate violence and thuggery. An eye for an eye never gets us anywhere ffs.

Yes, I condone the Aussies today. Referring was very bloody lax but my own opinion was Pete McGrath fubared it up with his selection of very 'weak' players.

Next years selection has to have bigger guys, plain and simple, who are able to take the tackle and keep moving.

Most of the Irish guys don't look like they can throw a decent punch. They're embarrasing the nation and they look like little beatches when it comes down to a scrap. I reckon for next year they should spend a week just punching the heavy bag. Clock a fella hard on the jaw and it doesn't matter if he's pro or amateur.

Well said, the manner in which they roled over and got buggered up the arse was a disgrace to every irish person. most of those guys couldnt fight their way out of a wet paper bag. it was all little frolicks and niceties. there was no man willing to give it a lash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Waylander wrote:
    I have not seen todays game but I do not really have a problem with the physical approach, and after the first test we should have been prepared for it. But the post I have quoted above is pure BS. Kindly bear in mind that only a year ago, positions were totally reversede and Australia were talking about pulling out of these series as they took a record hammering. I would not be losing the run of myself if I were you. As regards the part time amateur stuff, you say that like it is intended as an insult, it is something we are proud and proud that our players usually give the hardmen professionals of Australias national sport at least a run for their money. You had one easy win and you cannot resist shooting your mouth off.

We will be back next year, and hopefully normal service will be resumed, and we will be back to stuffing the Aussies again.

Well said. We are proud of our amateur sport, look back to the reasons why the GAA was formed and don't try to insult us that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Fiery Aussies raise Ireland's ire
    By Mark Stevens and Bruce Matthews
    October 29, 2005

Australia 0.18.9 (63) Ireland 0.11.9 (42)
    AUSTRALIAN captain Chris Johnson last night expressed deep remorse for his hits on the Irish that marred the second international rules Test.

Irish coach Pete McGrath slammed Australia's tactics, saying he feared for his players' welfare as Australia muscled its way to a 63-42 triumph.

The Brisbane Lions star, who copped a red card for two incidents in the space of seconds, said: "I apologise to all my family and my friends for doing that sort of action ... they were so out of character."

Johnson made high contact to Ireland's Philip Jordan and Mattie Ford during the second term and was sensationally sent off for the rest of the game.

He said he felt bad for his teammates, looking on helpless as his team wrapped up the series with a 21-point win.

"I didn't feel too good. All these guys are busting there arse and I'm just sitting there on the sidelines. It didn't sit too good with me," Johnson said.

Johnson faces a heavy suspension under the rules governing the composite series and appears certain to miss next year's tour of Ireland. But he can not be rubbed out for AFL games.

McGrath was scathing about the treatment his players received.

"The level of violence tonight has to be worrying because there's a lot of kids back home watching this game and I wouldn't like to think they would take role models from some of the acts of villainy out there tonight that were unacceptable in any field game," he said.

Some of the tackles were unacceptable in any game. Some of those tackles tonight were not sport because there were players there tonight, amateur players who were put in a high-risk situation, and there could have been some serious injuries.
    "That has to be looked at very seriously in the full light of day, there has to be a full, hard look taken at some of the incidents there tonight and some of the tackles that our players were subjected to.

"I can't say strong enough that what happened tonight in some instances was unacceptable in any sport. It goes outside the parameters of sport."

Despite his anger at Australia's rough tactics, he said the home side deserved to win.

"Aside from these incidents I've referred to, I think this is the best Australian team ever to represent their country. Their ability, their power, teamwork and pace," he said.

"The speed and the power and the pace that that game was played tonight was far in excess of anything I've ever seen from a side."

Australia's advantage in the tackling aspect of the hybrid game ruffled the Irish players, who reacted to the physical attention. But the Irish team was particularly incensed by Johnson's crude tackle on Jordan in the second quarter.

"For such a horrendous tackle, there has to be a penalty that is more meaningful and punitive for the team that has committed it," McGrath said.

Australian coach Kevin Sheedy said Johnson knew he had done wrong.

"He is a hard nut ... I don't know what overcame him tonight. In the end he's a player we didn't have and that's not going to help our boys."

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou said he would prefer not to see any on-field controversy in an "ideal world".

But he added: "I don't think it detracted from what was a terrific game and our guys played particularly well".

Well said. We are proud of our amateur sport, look back to the reasons why the GAA was formed and don't try to insult us that way!

whats that got to do with anything? we were destroyed today. we have a terrible habit in this country of celebrating losers.

the celebrating of gallant losers is somewhat understandable if not acceptable; celebrating spineless men who are more than happy to get physical within the confines of the all-ireland championship but cower into the corner when faced with a tougher prospect, is not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

dSTAR = forbesii

Admins/Mods please have a look at their IP's

Pigman II wrote:

It takes a bigger man not to throw a punch. The only team that embarassed their nation today was Australia-they're cowards, and indulge in cheap shots. It's very easy to whinge about the Irish team, but I get the feeling if say Ricey McMenamin punched or close-lined an Australian player you wouldn't exactly be singing his praises. Ireland had a similarly fast, skillful team last year and we won easy, this year Australia were the better team. I'm not suddenly embarrassed by the Irish players, I have more respect for them than that. As soon as the players do something which you consider to be wrong (which in your case in refusing to resort to thuggery) we shouldn't immediately jump on them and call them an embarrassment.

Listening to Sheedy's (the Aussie coach) guff both before this series and now after this debacle of a game is one of the factors that contributed to the situation and the fighting. He was up for a fight for this second match, and brought the series to a new low and is now in the media excusing his players, etc. The AFL authorities should do something about him. I cant see how there will be any happy comraderies between the players this evening. Maybe another fight perhaps? The night is but young ......

The series will have to be halted and a new era brought in. It would be a shame to see the series end for a long time due to on-pitch hooligans and lack of Mgmt control. I've no doubt there will be a few fights in Melbourne tonight between ordinary people.

> Never mind. We'll get them next year.

Whilst that may be the gut reaction, its wrong, lets change the situation and get back to football.

redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

I was listening to some of Joe Duffy today and I was thinking, here we go again, whinge whinge, whinge. These people didn't know football, GAA style I thought.

BUT, having seen THAT 'tackle', Im shocked. The guy was IN THE AIR when he hit. Alan Shearer was disgusted with the hit he took during the week, it was a tap compared to this.

GAA football is tough, but this attack wasn't toughness, it was disgusting. Made worse that it was against an amateur player., by a professional.

Why should the irish players have to throw ANY punches? pigman? forbesii? Its bloody football! Throwing a punch is suppose to be a RED CARD. i think the whole thing has completely gone over your head. what so the irish throw punches and the australians really get their excuse to do exactly what they want. Irish teams are not cynical, and you should be bloody well proud that they didnt resort to the levels of scum that australia have. Australias international rules reputation is in the gutter, do you want ours there too? Those guys picked werent picked for their ability to throw punches, they were picked for their ability to play football. Forbseii going on about if we hit them they wont do anything, what planet are you living on? When the irish went for a remotely strong challenge that was a green light for them to turn it into a fight. Facts are they were bigger, much bigger, and next year we will have the biggest, meanest f*ckers in the GAA picked, then you can feel "proud" when another boxing match breaks out.

Davei141 wrote:
    Why should the irish players have to throw ANY punches? pigman? forbesii? Its bloody football! Throwing a punch is suppose to be a RED CARD. i think the whole thing has completely gone over your head. what so the irish throw punches and the australians really get their excuse to do exactly what they want. Irish teams are not cynical, and you should be bloody well proud that they didnt resort to the levels of scum that australia have. Australias international rules reputation is in the gutter, do you want ours there too? Those guys picked werent picked for their ability to throw punches, they were picked for their ability to play football. Forbseii going on about if we hit them they wont do anything, what planet are you living on? When the irish went for a remotely strong challenge that was a green light for them to turn it into a fight. Facts are they were bigger, much bigger, and next year we will have the biggest, meanest f*ckers in the GAA picked, then you can feel "proud" when another boxing match breaks out.

Exactly. I don't know why they want Ireland to stoop down to Australia's level, which would only cause a mass ruckus and injuries and make the game worse. Australia could do whatever they wanted today without punishment, it needs to be sorted out. Remember last week, that player laughing after clobbering Tom Kelly? Disgraceful. Do we want our players to be like that? No, we should be proud that the irish weren't the ones acting like common thugs, and proud that the irish didn't rise to australia's bait.
    Some people are just never happy, if the irish had done what Australia did today people in Ireland would have been embarrassed. The game today only makes me more priviledged to be a fan of Gaelic Football. Maybe Mickey Harte, who was lambasted for his comments had a point. Watching the game today I seen little skill, partly because it was just a bad individual game, but gaelic allows opportunity for players like Cooper to show their brilliance without being thrown to the ground-in gaelic you need skill to tackle. Also watching the game today the potential for injuries is just too great. I'm going way of the point, sorry.
    The uh...'tackle' on Jordan today could have seriously injured him, I hope he's alright, I know he played on, but still there's a chance of an injury that'll be found out later (like with McGinley after the Armagh final in 2003). I'm pretty paranoid about things like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm just watching highlights of the game now, and it is unbelieveable! The Aussies are playing like total scum, it's horrendous! Anyone see that Johnson (I think) fella, the Aussie captain? Clothesline one bloke, down he goes, clothesline another bloke, down he goes, then starts punchin everyone he sees! Thank christ he got sent off, because it was sickening to watch! The Aussies destroyed us, tactically as well as physically, but it was mainly down to those scumbags not even playing properly, but just treating it as an excuse to get in as many fights as they can. Absolutely disgusting. I'm not one to b*tch about this kind of stuff, but that was unbelieveable.

I'm gonna get a ticket next year! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Watching it here myself and its shocking. As Marty keeps saying, its not football. One of the Aussie lads just pushed over an official.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭HSo

But what could you possibly expect from the residents of a penal colony? They are the decendents of a bunch of F***ing criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

How are the ref's letting it get that bad? Just send off everyone who gets out of line, it's ridiculous!

Could some of the players not press charges? If someone got a punch in a football game they'd be entitled to, does it not count here?