Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Female issue at work... WTF????

• 21-10-2005 12:56pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Im banned from PI so ill have to post this here... OK so Im in work walking around my office when my elderly semi retired boss says "is it cold in here" after Iv walked past him.... 2 other male superiors who are present both laugh with him and I am almost 100% sure they were commenting on my nipple which at that moment I wasnt aware had decided to pop out of my bra and protrude through my top, well not actually protrude but a bump became visable in the fabric... ANYWAY... Im sitting here seething for the last half hour or so, this isnt the 1st such occasion I might add... I really thought in this day and age this sort of thing just did not happen, I am the only young female in this firm, there are two other older ladies but they only work part time... Has this happened to any other women at work or am I working for the only prehistoric company in the world??? My face is still burning red here... somebody console me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Chrissie

I don't mind that sort of thing while out at night where you can laugh & just slag the person back etc, but I think it being said at work by a boss isn't acceptable.
    I'd imagine (tho way OTT) it could be seen as sexual harrassment or something like that, so they'd want to be V careful.
    You were obviously V embarrassed & now really annoyed about it, & you should be.
    I think it was wrong of them anyway. Don't know what other people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hasn't happened at work .. no .. thats your boss that said that??
    Not a very nice comment to make .. I'd imagine you felt uncomfortable after that.

I know it was a sexist comment .. but I'd just take it like a pinch of salt.
    So what .. if your diddies came out for a peak!

Are you angry or embarrassed?

[Edit] completely agree with Chrissie - boss is very foolish. That could be classed as sexual harrassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

Hmmm xzanti that is no good......

That would cons'tit'ute (sorry!) sexual harrassment here in Aus.......especially if they were blatantly laughing at you.

I guess it depends on how easy going you are with each other and if you can say something to one of them in private.

I feel sorry for you and no, I have never worked in a place like that before. Thank God.

Hope your face goes back to it's normal colour soon!

Rachel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

best thing to do is to wait until he or any of the others get a case of "morning glory" or leave their flies undone, and do the same to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Next time, just reply with "why? can't you find it?"
    It's suitably descret that you could never get in trouble for it, and evident enough, that he'll shut right up.

I wouldn't confront any of them. Would end up making the office more uncomfortable. If your the only girl in the office .. sounds like a bunch of lads just having a laugh (albeit at your expense).

Its on the smutty side actually ..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

See my biggest fear is that they'd somehow prove me wrong and Id look like a lunatic... If it happens again Im just gonna haul ass out of here and find a new job, I love my job here but not gonna put up with that sort of caveman sh*t

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Zulu wrote:
    Next time, just reply with "why? can't you find it?".

yup
    that would be my come back too

xzanti wrote:
    See my biggest fear is that they'd somehow prove me wrong and Id look like a lunatic...
    Just say you were talking about the heating control. They won't keep digging, because it'll only incriminate them further.

Beruthiel wrote:
    yup
    that would be my come back too

Under normal circumstances (i.e .. not yer boss making the comment), I would say .. yup .. go for it!!

The original comment of "Its cold in here" (Teeee Heeee Heeee) .. could be interpreted quite innocently. "Yes it is quite chilly" ...

To reply with "Why can't you find it" .. can only be interpreted as one thing.
    hence dodgey ..

They are smarty pants!! I'd hate to be in that situation!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Whip out your boobies the next time. If they say "is it hot in here" then clearly they are just concerned for your well-being.

Rofl!!

bubby wrote:
    To reply with "Why can't you find it" .. can only be interpreted as one thing.
    hence dodgey ..

They are smarty pants!! I'd hate to be in that situation!.
    I disagree. You could be talking about anything at all. 1 girl vs 3 guys, no one would persue it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

xzanti wrote:
    See my biggest fear is that they'd somehow prove me wrong and Id look like a lunatic... If it happens again Im just gonna haul ass out of here and find a new job, I love my job here but not gonna put up with that sort of caveman sh*t

A lot of flirting and unneccessary comments fly around my office, but everyone knows that its just a laugh, but then again its that kinda place. the place your working in doesn't sound like that kinda place to me and i think you should speak up, at least you will feel better..

As for the two other lads laughing (ar5eh0les). I'd imagine theyre the kinda pr*cks that laugh at all his jokes...

in short; TAKE EM DOWN!

Zulu wrote:
    I disagree. You could be talking about anything at all. 1 girl vs 3 guys, no one would persue it.

Maybe .. I dunno .. its a difficult situation becuase of the "boss" element.
    Also, it depends on your tone of voice when you say it. (laughing, joking, agressive, leave me alone) ..

If he is "semi-retired" then he is at least in his 60's.
    I wouldn't chance it.

If it was really uncomfortable, I'd move on .. pity though if the job is nice.
    I guess what I am trying to say is that I wouldn't have the balls to do it.
    Sifo wrote:
    in short; TAKE EM DOWN!

Thats a bit OTT !! LOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

I don't know what they get out of making these silly comments at work. I had one collegue enquire as to wether I preferred one or two-piece bathing suits so he could "imagine what I look like in them" and once overheard the supevisor talking with the other lads in the office listing the parts of the body they found most attractive on each girl in the office.

I think it's unacceptable in working environment not to mention childish but as they say, boys will be boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Sifo wrote:
    in short; TAKE EM DOWN!

I must stop thinking so abstractly. I thought you said 'tape em down' which admittedly would have prevented the problem.

BTW, I don't know if it's girl humour or whatever but imho I don't reckon a lot of blokes would get the 'can't you find it' comeback immediately so I wouldn't bother using it. I was like eh? what? find 'it'? I'm staring at them right now. oh yeah right you're refering to his tiny cock not your nipples there!

Anyway, if I was you I'd just reply with a "no, it's just you're so cool!" in a really sarcastic/ironic tone. He'll defo get what you mean and be suitably humbled.

Sifo wrote:
    A lot of flirting and unneccessary comments fly around my office, but everyone knows that its just a laugh, but then again its that kinda place. the place your working in doesn't sound like that kinda place to me and i think you should speak up, at least you will feel better..

No its quite an old fashioned place, not much banter goes on (that I benefit from anyway) :rolleyes:

Pigman II wrote:
    BTW, I don't know if it's girl humour or whatever but imho I don't reckon a lot of blokes would get the 'can't you find it' comeback immediately so I wouldn't bother using it. I was like eh? what? find 'it'? I'm staring at them right now. oh yeah right you're refering to his tiny cock not your nipples there!
    Em, I'm a bloke :rolleyes: do you find people laughing around you quite a lot?
    ...anywho, in fairness, if she got your reaction, all the better. Drop the insult. The guy dosen't get it for a while, while everyone laughs. You walk off. He finally gets the joke. And look like a proper twat. Result.

Pigman II wrote:
    I must stop thinking so abstractly. I thought you said 'tape em down' which admittedly would have prevented the problem.

Lol :D that might'nt be such a bad idea

bubby wrote:
    Maybe .. I dunno .. its a difficult situation becuase of the "boss" element.
    quite the opposite. If it's her boss, he would know better, and drop it quicker than hot snot. No boss in the country would want to start a sexual harrasment suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

http://www.oasis.gov.ie/employment/employment_rights/sexual_harassment_at_work.html
    you should begin by making it very clear to the person concerned that you find his or her behaviour, conduct, material, etc., unacceptable and offensive. If you find this uncomfortable or too difficult to do, you should seek support (or for an initial approach to be made on your behalf) by a sympathetic friend or colleague, a designated person at work or a trade union representative. Very often, an informal approach like this will resolve the issue.

There you go.

With regards to the sexual harrasment case thing, I wouldnt be arsed with that, I get on very well with their wives and I would never burden a family with that sort of thing... I have as much a sence of humour as the next person but it just really shocked and suprised me coming from The Boss, like other ppl have stated here, he should have a lot more sence than that... :confused: tbh I probably would have been more able to laugh about it if it was a bit more of a light hearted place where I could have givin as good as I got but like I said, not that kind of place... :o

Zulu wrote:
    Em, I'm a bloke :rolleyes: do you find people laughing around you quite a lot?

Please don't lecture me in funny. The cliche is 'it gets small in cold water' not in cold air so yours doesn't even make sense from a gag p.o.v.
    ...anywho, in fairness, if she got your reaction, all the better. Drop the insult. The guy dosen't get it for a while, while everyone laughs. You walk off. He finally gets the joke. And look like a proper twat. Result.

Yes because all the best insults are the ones that the recipient doesn't get til later or possibly never.

Perhaps then we could even have another thread on here with the boss going. "Theres this girl in my work who said something to me and I am almost 100% sure she was commenting on my penis size.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

xzanti wrote:
    Im banned from PI so ill have to post this here... OK so Im in work walking around my office when my elderly semi retired boss says "is it cold in here" after Iv walked past him.... 2 other male superiors who are present both laugh with him and I am almost 100% sure they were commenting on my nipple which at that moment I wasnt aware had decided to pop out of my bra and protrude through my top, well not actually protrude but a bump became visable in the fabric... ANYWAY... Im sitting here seething for the last half hour or so, this isnt the 1st such occasion I might add... I really thought in this day and age this sort of thing just did not happen, I am the only young female in this firm, there are two other older ladies but they only work part time... Has this happened to any other women at work or am I working for the only prehistoric company in the world??? My face is still burning red here... somebody console me :o
    Just tell them you were smuggling raisins.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

xzanti wrote:
    With regards to the sexual harrasment case thing, I wouldnt be arsed with that
    Glad to hear it, I think that'd be a huge overreaction. Guys take the piss out each other all the time, I don't see why taking the piss out of a girl should suddenly be "sexist" or "harrassment". If it really bothers you maybe mention it to him privately that you're uncomfortable with that kind of thing, but ideally have some good comebacks ready to go. As long as they're jokey and not offensive (after all it's not as if they actually said anything bad about you, they just had a little giggle at you expense), it'll show strength of character.

Binomate wrote:
    Just tell them you were smuggling raisins.
    1 raisin... the other one behaved itself :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

edit: Zulu beat me to the punch..

Pigman II wrote:
    Please don't lecture me in funny. The cliche is 'it gets small in cold water' not in cold air so yours doesn't even make sense from a gag p.o.v.
    the cliche!?! I was simply refering to human phyisology.
    Yes because all the best insults are the ones that the recipient doesn't get til later or possibly never.
    ohhh, Pigman - did I hit a nerve there? ...and all because it took you a little while to get the joke :p Jeez relax man, its Friday :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Just wondering - what would have been the politically "correct" thing to do...?

1. Keep walking and allow you find out for yourself an hour later

2. Say "excuse me, your nipple's popped out".

3. Tuck it back in for you.

4. Other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

xzanti wrote:
    My face is still burning red here... somebody console me :o
    it happens everywhere, you should have laughed it off and said, ya, tis a bit nipply alright!! that's what I generally say when something like that is said to me!

Just wondering - what would have been the politically "correct" thing to do...?
    3. Tuck it back in for you.

Ha ha Ha .. :D

Zulu wrote:
    the cliche!?! I was simply refering to human phyisology.
    I know you were. That's why it didn't make for an effective comeback imho. They boss starts off with a broad, clearly defined humourous cliche and she's supposed to reply with something out of the blue that whilst may be a biological fact isn't really a jibe of any great thrust or renown.
    ohhh, Pigman - did I hit a nerve there? ...and all because it took you a little while to get the joke :p Jeez relax man, its Friday :rolleyes:

No not at all. Just playing devils advocate offering my opinion that when you make a comeback to such a familiar and well-rounded remark as 'is it cold in here?' that the comeback if possible should be equally familiar and well-rounded to ensure success.

"well-rounded "

Ha Ha ha .. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Chrissie

Poor Bubby!!
    You need to get out more my friend! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Don't see how it is sexist.. men have nipples too. I have heard it the old "must be cold in here" comment in work too, but only by men & women about men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Have you no control over your tits woman !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭audge

All I can say is forget it, men are men, and if they can see a bit of nipple they will get giddy and excited......
    You are the youngest women in the company, your obviously doing something right to have such a position of authority, they know it and you know, if they have to u have a snigger to make themselves feel more important, let them, you are better then that, rise above it and don't let it bother you!

Hagar wrote:
    Have you no control over your tits woman !!!

Ha Ha Ha .. :-)

Okay .. I'm not able to look at this thread anymore. Too many comments I find hilarious.

Chrissie .. ur right .. I need to get out more .. and thank God its the weekend again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Were you banned from PI for showing your boobies too? Please attach pics and let us judge whether the comment was sexist...

I would *never*comment on a collegues physical attributes but a pointy nip would elicit the odd sly glance alright [/checks heart still beating....yup/].

Buy a HUGE dildo in Anne Summers and sneak it into the bosses drawer, wait for the other a55holes to be nearby and ask to borrow his stapler. Revenge is a dish best served with sextoys.

'cptr

Well cheers for your comments :D I have ralaxed a bit now (with a little help from my friends Ernest and Julio) Id just like to add, because I dont think some ppl read all of my replies :rolleyes: that I DO have a sense of humour and IF it was the kind of place where I could have laughed it off or even had a giggle about it with some other girls (which there are none in my job) I may have found it a bit easier to do so.... But in a male dominated office its just a bit hard to digest and not feel a bit uncomfortable... Maybe it is time to move on

Hi Xzanti, glad your feeling better about the situation now. I think you made it clear in your posts why you felt uncomfortable and odd alright.

Its sad really if you like your job to move on. Even though men are men and all that, its easy enough to try see the humour of it when there are other girls to natter to in the loos etc about it. It would probably just get brushed off with "Jesus, are you serious, what a perv!!". But when your on your own, its a lot more difficult.

I think there was some great humour in this thread. Maybe this boards thread made up for the lack of other girlies to chat with!! ? :)

Its total understandable .. and difficult on the spur of the moment to know what to do. In those kind of situations I know I would go red to, initially, from embarassment. I'd have just stuck my head in the computer!
    Hope things get better for you there!.

B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Just to make light of the situation

Cheers Bubby... Yeah ur right I did feel a lot better having had my rant on here, its a good outlet for when your ready to snap, and its nice thats is anonymous as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

And what about me, did I make you feel better? I tried, I really really did!

no problem Xzanti.
    As for you joejoem, I nearly dislocated my jaw when I saw that pic!! Did yous tay up all night surfing for it. Fair play to ye for the effort!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

Next time they make a comment, pull out a banana and chop the top off violently with a knife, turn to them and smile. That should get the message across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 HOT_ALPHA_MALE

Maybe it was actually cold in the room? Maybe they remembered a funny joke they had heard previously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

erect nipples grabs a man's attention, its natural. why should we go against our own nature and not look and comment if we want?

bloody feminists :rolleyes:

joejoem wrote:
    And what about me, did I make you feel better? I tried, I really really did!
    Awe.. joejoe of course your picture of a woman with erect nipples made me feel better... thank you so much for your efforts :D I appreciat-it :D