Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australian Embassy Protest

• 07-10-2005 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭

Can someone please get down to the Australian embassy with a camera?

PETA are staging a protest today.

They are the sexiest of all the protests. :D

But seriously, this is apparantly about better conditions for shearing sheep in Australia. I didn't realise that they suffered much in the process tbh.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

We've had the wool pulled over our eyes for too long now.

:mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

no wonder some of them go on the lamb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

I feel baaad for the sheep etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

I'm all for free speech but it shouldn't be RAMmed down our throats :)

This protest has really got my goat up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

about time they bust the government around the chops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

anyone care to tell us again what all the ewe and cry is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

what the flock's this all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'll be glad when this is all over so that I'll be able to sheep easy at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

You'd better get a moooooove on if you want to catch them

D'oh!
    I'm gonna get lambpooned for that one
    Ok I admit it,That was a sheep gag

paperclip wrote:
    what the flock's this all about?
    I herd it's about shady government dealings - you know what they say - you lie down with dogs, you get up with fleece!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

shear nonsence if you ask me

paperclip wrote:
    shear nonsence if you ask me
    Best one yet,i'm gonna lambinate that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Come on lads, all the original OP is trying to do is rustle up some support for this.

Tomohawk wrote:
    Come on lads, all the original OP is trying to do is rustle up some support for this.
    That's not what I herd.

On a more serious note, who wants to head down the embassy and throw mint sauce at the protesters? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

WOW - Not one gag about a horn!! Im impressed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

...and then we could burn our Pretenders albums!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I wouldn't give PETA the time of day. Scumbags the lot of them.

Lodgepole wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

That video of the treatment of sheep really is terrible.
    And what a note to end it on - whoever compiled the final cut of that should get a pay rise or something. Certainly does it's job of shocking you.

*edit* linkage <-- do NOT watch unless you've a strong stomach

PETA are idiots.

They are animals. Therfor they belong in my stomoch.

END OF STORY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,327 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

someone needs to do an Alan Partridge, and drop a dead sheep on the lot of them (In Partidge they dropped a cow on him :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

someone should bring a sheepdog and herd them through gates and into a pen.

if the PETA protest is like the one on grafton street , there'll be about 12 people protesting, including a very ugly woman with a megaphone shouting slogans a la,

what do we want?

an end to the exploitation of ovines by the cloting industry situated in the antipodes and in south-east asia in general, failing which, more stringent control of animal welfare by the australian government and her brittanic majesty

when do we want it?

within the next 6 - 12 months as soon as a framework for action which has aviable chance of success can be drafted, debated and enacted, or as soon as reasonably possible thereafter.

or something equally as catchy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Fúck sake, I'm glad their protesting about sheep and not fish or this thread would already be 10 pages of horrible puns.

I lost all respect for Peta (not that I ever had much to begin with) after their recent stunt of handing out buckets of fake blood to schoolkids. It just brought home (noble intentions aside) what a bunch of nutjobs they are imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i bet the government are feeling a bit sheepish about it all tho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

what's all this bleating about sheep being treated baaadly? PETA scare me. they make the baby jesus cry.

I think I will order a big footlong steak sub from subway and join in the protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I suppose the Gardai will be around soon to Shepard them away ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Pigman II wrote:
    Fúck sake, I'm glad their protesting about sheep and not fish or this thread would already be 10 pages of horrible puns.

Are you codding me, that would never happen in this plaice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Dave wrote:
    Are you codding me, that would never happen in this plaice!

ran out of sheep puns eh?

Ironic really that the guy with the Sheep Avatar was the one who ran out of the sheep puns :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Lodgepole wrote:
    The day the humour died...

;_;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Yeah, I suppose I'm the black sheep of the thread.

Dave wrote:
    Yeah, I suppose I'm the black sheep of the thread.
    Off with you then, to pastures new...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm a sheep.

Stekelly wrote:
    I'm a sheep.

I happen to have it on authority that ewe aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I hope they bring out the Garda dogs. I'd love to see someone set a mutt on those protesters.

Enough of the puns thank you very much,any more punning and i'll ram my fist down your throat
    Game over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Don't lambast PETA. They're supposedly the good guys:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,327 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

If only Richard Whiteley were still around, he'd punish you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Ewe lot should take a long hard look at yourselves. Theres a serious protest going on and all people can do is have a few sheep digs. Disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

thank feck they haven't heard about what goes on with sheep in Donegal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,652 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Lodgepole wrote:

WARNING: CONTAINS GRUESOME IMAGE OF SHACKLED ANIMAL

http://english.busanilbo.com/photoBank/2005/3/23/N/N1111554902.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh the horror of it all