Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traveling around europe§

• 06-10-2005 1:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Ok im Liviing in Nice (France) for the year going to collage,, and i hope to travel cheaply around europe....does anyone have any advice on places to go. Im also going to Bratislava in Solivena in a few weeks any advice on place to go while im there are places near ther. If you havn't guessed Im pretty clueless on places to go so any help would be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Was living in France for the Summer in Nice too.
    Loved it, although it would probaly be a bit quiet for me now...
    Right I'll tell ye one or two places:

Amsterdam - bit of a kip but good fun
    Biarritz- lovely beach town, very hard to get accommodation, not 2 sure around now though, could be a lot handier.
    If not Biarritz, try Bayonne about 10miles from it, and just as nice but not nearly as touristy.
    Bordeaux -lovely place - dont know what it would be like on your own though, but they have the luas too.
    Hope this will help ye a bit.
    If you are travelling on yer own in Italy just be careful as the Italian's I hear can be very pushy, this also goes for the French but to a lesser extent.
    I'd love to be back there.... dam Irish weather :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 pookie pixie

I have family who live in Valbonne so this is the score....you should totally feck off to Corsica in a rented car if you can drive and head to Sardinia.I did this during the summer cept i flew from london to sardinia and on to corsica...the sardinians are cool peeps and if you dont want people annoying you its pretty class.We trecked it and on up to corsica (which was the dearer of the 2)...it was cool cause we had fluent italian and french between the 4 of us but we were smelly knackers in the campsites so made no friends...which was fine by us cause we really did smell....its just a thought since you're so near..... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Turin is a nice and inexpensive city. Also go skiing if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 the dice man

attica2k wrote:
    Bratislava in Solivena

Bratislava is in Slovakia
    attica2k wrote:
    If you havn't guessed Im pretty clueless

you don't say :D

If you're going to Slovenia check out Bled and the surrounding area and also the capital ljubljana.

Bratislava isn't as nice as Ljubljana but its still worth visiting. can't really recommend anything just go yourself and check the places out.

If you're on a budget though stay you're better off going as east of possible so check out slovenia, slovakia, hungry, crotia.

and if you really want to make those euros go far just get a train to brasov in romania which is beautiful and cheap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Travel down the Croatian coast.

Amazing. And cheap.

Rijeka, Split, Dubrovnick and plenty of islands.

*Sigh*