Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fresher's Week

• 03-10-2005 11:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭

So how's it goin for everyone?

\Went to a few things tonight, great laugh!

Regaee night in buttery, colours debate and a comedy night in players, and of course pav!

Players was cool, except for a comedian!

How's it goin for everyone else, good to be back! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Didn't get in til around 4pm (I'm quite sick at the moment) but I signed some people up to DURNS, went for dinner and then drank in the DURNS room. Now that's what college is all about :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭TheIceMaker

It was great, all the freshers seemed to be havin a great time!

And so were we...a lot better second time round!

Well, fourth (and last) time around for some of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭TheIceMaker

So it gets better every year!

Showed my cousin and his friends around! seemed a bit lost!

It can only get better from here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

No it wasn't good. I didn't have a good time. UCD got pizzas we got lollipops. Absolute brilliance. And before you say "Oh but free booze" t was FRENCH beer. Enough said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

well then go back to ucd then?

yesterday i got free beer,champagne,cocktails,lunch,candy floss and popcorn which i would prefer over one tiny slice of pizza.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

Dubes have crepes, popcorn and other food..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭fade

No it wasn't good. I didn't have a good time. UCD got pizzas we got lollipops. Absolute brilliance. And before you say "Oh but free booze" t was FRENCH beer. Enough said.

haha, im glad freshers week is goin **** for you, its karma for asking stupid questions.

and yea, if UCD is so great, why not rekeive us of your presence and go study there? and beer is beer, full stop, get over it, its got alcohol, you drink it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

jesus fade. Bit Stressed? In both of the posts i've opened here, they have you losing the plot. Relax a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

he right dam infantile freshers coming over and moaning about getting free booze piss off and go live in UCD if theirs is so much better.

Freshers week is not about who gives out the most lollipops or the freshest mountain dew water filtered through millions of tonnes of the finest french alpine rock brought over here on many immigrants back some of which died of exaustion not wanting to taint the oh so precious TCD freshers week fountain water.

GET OVER IT AND GET PISSED AND HAVE A POXY LAUGH.

Ejits

TimAy wrote:
    jesus fade. Bit Stressed? In both of the posts i've opened here, they have you losing the plot. Relax a little.

lol, nope quite the opposite, i havent lost the plot per say..... just misplaced it :)

dont mind me, im not actually maliscious, just impatitient (me fail english? thats unpossible!)

plus a single mosquito got me 7 times in one night, im fookin ragin, one of them was right smack on my forehead, the little b*stards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Tekken5isalive

Tekken 5 tournament at 5 in the buttery tomorrow (Wednesday 5th october).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Though i'd tend to agree with your angry posts fade.... that guy is a twat, for one if he paid attention he'd have seen dubes are planning on having pizza on wednesday.

And fyi ucd lover boy, every year i run into loads of ucd heads who come in for our freshers week because its better.

I'm in my office, listening to some freshers week music being blared across front square.

Serenity wrote:
    Though i'd tend to agree with your angry posts fade.... that guy is a twat, for one if he paid attention he'd have seen dubes are planning on having pizza on wednesday.

no no no, they arent "angry" posts, i just dont have the time or the patience to phrase them in a diplomatic manner. its quicker and more to the point, but never angrier

dont forget, all this is is text on a screen, just text on a screen.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I had great fun this monday - got in, went for a pint in mahaffys with my coursemates who i havent seen, went to scifi and stole a load of their beer, went to durns and stole a load of their beer, went to the buttery for a few, watched shane give out to one of the barmen over the raise in price, laughed, watched reggae...then we went in search of somewhere and doyles was gheyed up to the nines. no fecking atmosphere despite being packed. so i got a bus home and got some sleep :)

fade wrote:
    no no no, they arent "angry" posts, i just dont have the time or the patience to phrase them in a diplomatic manner. its quicker and more to the point, but never angrier
    So then you would agree they read as confrontational/impatient?

Serenity wrote:
    So then you would agree they read as confrontational/impatient?

no, i agree that they "could" be read as confrontational/impatient. People can take things any which way they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Serenity wrote:
    And fyi ucd lover boy, every year i run into loads of ucd heads who come in for our freshers week because its better.
    ...such as myself. Altho that was largely cos my bruv was in Trinity so I always just wandered in to see if anythin wicked was goin' down. Tis usually a bit of a laugh.

Haven't been so far this week, but I'll head in on thursday to see what's going on.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

so very very tired.....

I hear you.

visted the communist fine art exhib on monday.

went to the new pride and prejudice yesterday, and visited a friend in tcd halls.

today, Trevor Sargent (leader/ greens) visited the psn stand and i had to explain to him what it was all about, asked for my name and everything. also saw loads of ucd meds and i'm planning to go to see the hypnotist tonight in the buttery.

oh yeh and i also saw Myth and Angry Banana (go fine gail ;)!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

Loving it so far.
    Got 2 free pints, free lunch, and candy floss.
    Plus all the stuff in the bags, of which i got 2!
    I got free tickets for the traffic light ball for helping out the Law Soc for lifting some stuff for them! :D
    Pity it was ****! Spirit was Too packed, too long to wait to be served, too hard to pull even though most girls were wearing green, had to leave too early.

I was told that last night was supposed to be the best out of the nights out.
    Joined a couple of socities so far mostly for the sake of joining the main ones. Hist,Phil,Dubes,Entrepreneurial,suas,svp.
    BUt some of the people(girls) just lured me into joining, particularly blondes in short skirts.

Saw my timetable. Can't complain its great. Only 14 hours.

those blondes wouldn't be Dubes by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

snorlax wrote:
    They have no shame about using their sexuality to manipulate. It's so fake and headwrecking. Training for them I guess, only way they'll succeed in business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

Ah yes the whole trying to pull at a TCD traffic lights ball.
    Hopless pointless endavour to which one must learn that TCD girls are tight gits who do not like to put out without effort, to which I was never arsed. Got to a tallaght IT or DIT ball way more craic and fun.

If you want to pull at a TCD night heres the recomendations double GINS till that red haired girl who you found amusing when you entered seems an acceptable choice then down another 2 just so you mates have less to go on cause you will be that pissed.

Or go around wearing yellow gets rid of that air of desperation about you, also only talk or respond to the yellows they think they arent sluts this is a serious case of self denial which can be preyed upon.

Till next year!

Apex if you take away all they're make-up they're not necessarily that good looking, it costs about a grand a year to keep your hair that blonde (and to avoid getting dark roots).

id say they've gotten millions of members with their popcorn alone.

i wonder where they get all the funding for the free crepes/ pizza etc

snorlax wrote:
    Actually they weren't. They could have been the Phil or Hist because they belonged to one of the soc's right at the start.
    But yeah the Dubes soc didn't hold back either, full of girls more than willing to flirt. Good few socs give discounts on upcoming balls so there worth it even if u don't use them.

Some girls were just wearing red, playing hard to get. That was the worst. They were usually the best looking ones too. About the double gins, i lost patience queing sometimes. Pint of MIller was 5-10 and Amstel was only 3E.

the people in red wouldn't be the trampolene soc? i doubt they wer'e us anyway, as most of us we're just wearing our street clothes.

just back from the hypnotist, from a distance (they're was millions of people) saw Apex, wearing a black top, drindy and kevin rc in the buttery.

tomorrow i work the su stand all day pretty much, i hope it's not too busy tomorrow.

i also plan on joining the paintball soc, am now a member of the filmmakers and tcd arts workshop (ill be doing life drawings).

oh yeh i also saw Myth and Cuckoo again today. we have a very small college

I just realised this is my last freshers week. I'm feeling all sentimental.

anyone goto the surf club thing last nite, doyles was packed....soooo drunk...

Serenity wrote:
    anyone goto the surf club thing last nite, doyles was packed....soooo drunk...

obviously not, but i heard it was good, it coincided nicely with marcus/penelope dave and derek moving into campus accom. the bastards!

marcus n penelope had been in all week, i really pity anyone else living in that building :) nice n handy place tho, house 3 n that

snorlax wrote:
    just back from the hypnotist, from a distance (they're was millions of people) saw Apex, wearing a black top,
    Missed everyone there. Yeah left the hypnotist fair early, I just couldn't stand his jokes tbh. Actually I'm still wearing that black shirt, kinda cos I just got home now. Hmmm.. methinks a shower now would go down nicely.
    doyles was packed....soooo drunk...
    I was there.. and there.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    I was there.. and there.
    don't think i ran into ye, did i?

I don't think so.. but then again we may have. I was twisted, apparently there for like 3 hours. Felt like 20 mins

yeah me too, ran into loads of people, tho its all very hazy

snorlax wrote:
    the people in red wouldn't be the trampolene soc?

Dunno, I meant the the girls in red at the Traffic Light Ball.

So are Aslan going to pull out tonight like they did with DCU and Maynooth?

Oh yeah, how did the thing with John Aldridge go? Wanted to go to that.

being handing out fresher's booklets all day, my arms are dead :(!

also, Mary Hanafin visited the su stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Did anyone throw things?

Tell me somebody threw things, for the love of God?!!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

So, so tired....and my poor head. Was at Dubious last night, held aptly in 21 (coyote with a lick of paint) as they have a Ross O'Carroll Kelly themed booth there.

Thanks to John2 for the anadin and use of couch this morning, and Agent Smith for the sugar rush (everyone should join Durns! and SFSOC!), and to everyone else for not laughing at me too much as i wandered around in a very hungover state.

This week i have bumped into Angry Banana, Myth, Snorlax, Wowy and others - it is indeed a small college. With an even smaller Front Square - full of bags, boxes and tables for me to trip over today in my befuddled state.

joined Dubes today, got my unlimited free popcorn, must remember to die my hair blond.

the reason they can afford all the goodies is that KPMG are sponsoring them.

anyone going to see Aslan tonight? im going defo

Cuckoo you didnt look hungover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

snorlax wrote:

Cuckoo you didnt look hungover.

Thank you! I certainly felt it.... Roll on week 1, i need the peace and quiet of lectures.

i'm suprised that knowone has being trying to get the hangover cure tablets that Dubes we're giving out, must pick up a few of them tomorrow.

snorlax wrote:
    i'm suprised that knowone has being trying to get the hangover cure tablets that Dubes we're giving out, must pick up a few of them tomorrow.
    Lifeline? It's like 14 euro for 7 doses of that in a pharmacy and they are a complete rip-off.
    Ingredients:
    Activated Charcoal (aka aero-like burnt wood)
    Calcium Carbonate (chalk)
    Vit C (20% rda)
    Vit B complex (20% rda)

Useless, other than the vits, any effect they have is 99% placebo. And you can get the vits for (literally) a thousand times cheaper from any supermarket..

just back from aslan.It was a sweaty afair, but well worth it. Was at the barrier up the top.Fair play to them. They played everything and gave it socks.

TimAy wrote:
    just back from aslan.It was a sweaty afair, but well worth it. Was at the barrier up the top.Fair play to them. They played everything and gave it socks.

u beat me 2it. i was only 6 or 7 rows back.I almost touched his hand when he reached out though. God it really was a sweaty affair. Pity the power cut out at the start, was kind of funny. New single is cool. All my friend kept saying was "if christy wasn't on gear they'd be bigger than u2". Anyway i was delighted to see them especially since they pulled out of maynooth and dcu. What did he say again? something epic like, "lets take this world back from the americans" "this is one of the best universities in the world"

oh yheahh and who was that bird singing with him?

Didn't think the crowd were up for it or appreciated them as much as i would have liked. At least the front half of the crowd was. But still they were great. I've never seen aslan live before. It was cool seeing them up so close. Didn't get a chance to go to Buskers. Only home now. why? Meet tutor, lecture, and sports hall tours 2moro.

To be honest if Aslan were playing in my back garden, I'd probably close the curtains.

ah, thats a bit harsh. They are a great band and they write good music.He's a brilliant singer. I like when he said, "the new single is out next week, and if i catch any of ye's buying it, your f****** dead. I want you to copy it"