Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martial Arts Boards open training session...

• 03-10-2005 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭

Since it was mooted on another thread, I'll nominate myself to get the ball rolling again. I say late November. I know it's a way off but I think we learned from last time that you're better off giving people plenty of notice.

I thought the last one was good craic and we'll hopefully have a few more people there this time.

I'd also like to put in that complete beginners and noobies to martial arts should be welcomed this time out. Our pre-meet talk last time might have discouraged a few people as it might have read a bit intimidating.

Anyhoo,
    dates, location, any other suggestions welcome. I'll start by saying my place is open for use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Roper wrote:
    Since it was mooted on another thread, I'll nominate myself to get the ball rolling again. I say late November. I know it's a way off but I think we learned from last time that you're better off giving people plenty of notice.

I thought the last one was good craic and we'll hopefully have a few more people there this time.

I'd also like to put in that complete beginners and noobies to martial arts should be welcomed this time out. Our pre-meet talk last time might have discouraged a few people as it might have read a bit intimidating.

Anyhoo,
    dates, location, any other suggestions welcome. I'll start by saying my place is open for use.
    Where are you located ??!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

1/4 cup butter
    2 eggs
    1/2 tsp. salt
    1 c. sugar
    2 c. flour
    2 tsp. baking powder
    1 tsp. vanilla
    One-half cup milk
    2 c. fresh or frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
    Grease and floor muffin pan (or use paper liners). Beat together butter, eggs, salt, and sugar.
    Mix flour with baking powder and sift into first mixture, alternating with milk.
    Blend in vanilla.
    Add blueberries.
    Pour into muffin pan and bake for 25 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

loz wrote:
    1/4 cup butter
    2 eggs
    1/2 tsp. salt
    1 c. sugar
    2 c. flour
    2 tsp. baking powder
    1 tsp. vanilla
    One-half cup milk
    2 c. fresh or frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
    Grease and floor muffin pan (or use paper liners). Beat together butter, eggs, salt, and sugar.
    Mix flour with baking powder and sift into first mixture, alternating with milk.
    Blend in vanilla.
    Add blueberries.
    Pour into muffin pan and bake for 25 minutes.

???????????????????????????????? :confused:

Celticfire wrote:
    ???????????????????????????????? :confused:

n00b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

some where central if possible, ill bake the muffins! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'll come to this one Roper if I'm not working. I'm sure one or two of the lads from here will come along too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

I don't suppose anyone can volunteer a city centre location this time around? It's exceedingly difficult for me to make it to Roper's place (embarrassed smiley).

Edit: He'd damn well better bring those muffins this time. Disappointed? I nearly cried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

ill ask John about harolds x, or he can post his thought on the matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

judomick wrote:
    ill ask John about harolds x, or he can post his thought on the matter?
    I think the perception last time out was that some of the more traditional types wouldn't go on account of it being a "mixy martial artsy" place. Hence my place for the next one, cos everybody knows I have a large mutli-denominational altar at the top of my class. Oh Bishnukrishnajesusallah, I wish I had your guidance now.

Anyway, my place is in Glasnevin down the Ballymun end of Griffith Avenue. Nice and handy for me anyway but if anyone else fancies hosting it that's fine too.

cabelo, on account of this being a little more in advance of last time maybe you can organise someone to pick you up who's coming from a similar direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I was training with the bould Dave Joyce and Scuttery at the weekend and afterwards someone brought out the most wonderful muffins that i've ever tasted. I forgot to get the recipe but the standard has been set for post-training nibbles now as far as im concerened.

As for halls, we train in smack bang in the city centre (2 minutes from grafton street) but theres not much in the way of mats for the ground dwellers plus availability can be a problem. I thought people were talking crazy talk about going outside of the pale for the next one?

That's crazy talk Bambi. Quit talking crazy. Your crazy talk upsets me. Besides, everyone lives in Dublin, and those that don't, want to live in Dublin...

I'll be able to collect and drop off a few people maybe as far as town from Ropers Hall ( Its only 15 minutes or so to town from there ) - I would have last time - but i had to sneak out of a christening to come over !- and then rush back all smelly like, I'll be travelling over from Blanch if that helps anyone

CHOCO-LOWFAT MUFFINS

1 1/2 cups All-purpose flour
    3/4 cup Granulated sugar
    1/4 cup Unsweetened cocoa powder -- -regular or european
    2 teaspoons Baking powder
    1 teaspoon Baking soda
    1/2 teaspoon Salt
    2/3 cup Lowfat vanilla yogurt
    2/3 cup Skim milk
    1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract
    Powdered sugar -- optional

Preheat oven to 400 degrees; line muffin cups with paper baking cups. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir in the yogurt, milk and vanilla extract just until combined. Do not beat. Fill the muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool slightly in the pans on wire racks. Remove from the pans. Sprinkle powdered sugar over the tops of the muffins, if desired. Serve warm. Cover and store at room temperature, or freeze in an airtight container for longer storage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

loz wrote:
    I'll be able to collect and drop off a few people maybe as far as town from Ropers Hall ( Its only 15 minutes or so to town from there ) - I would have last time - but i had to sneak out of a christening to come over !- and then rush back all smelly like, I'll be travelling over from Blanch if that helps anyone

CHOCO-LOWFAT MUFFINS

1 1/2 cups All-purpose flour
    3/4 cup Granulated sugar
    1/4 cup Unsweetened cocoa powder -- -regular or european
    2 teaspoons Baking powder
    1 teaspoon Baking soda
    1/2 teaspoon Salt
    2/3 cup Lowfat vanilla yogurt
    2/3 cup Skim milk
    1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract
    Powdered sugar -- optional

Preheat oven to 400 degrees; line muffin cups with paper baking cups. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir in the yogurt, milk and vanilla extract just until combined. Do not beat. Fill the muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool slightly in the pans on wire racks. Remove from the pans. Sprinkle powdered sugar over the tops of the muffins, if desired. Serve warm. Cover and store at room temperature, or freeze in an airtight container for longer storage
    Oi!!! Loz!!! Quit the Muffin talk will ya, Jesus... Im training for a fight here...and your talkin Muffins...Put it down and Step away from the Muffins!!!!,)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Roper wrote:
    That's crazy talk Bambi. Quit talking crazy. Your crazy talk upsets me. Besides, everyone lives in Dublin, and those that don't, want to live in Dublin...

I don't want to live in Dublin. I resent that comment!! *attacks roper*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

yea that'd be cool roper, just give me a place and time and i'll make an apearance, try make it a weekend like last time lads, just so i don't have to go awol from college, thesis year and all. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

loz wrote:
    I'll be able to collect and drop off a few people maybe as far as town from Ropers Hall ( Its only 15 minutes or so to town from there ) - I would have last time - but i had to sneak out of a christening to come over !- and then rush back all smelly like, I'll be travelling over from Blanch if that helps anyone.

Jaysus Loz, I'd murder someone for a lift to wherever it is we're going. Unlike the rest of the TMA shower, I'll show up. You can take that, to the bank. The bank of muffins. The bank of muffins that would damn well want to materialise this time around.

Cabelo wrote:
    Unlike the rest of the TMA shower, I'll show up. .
    Yeh ! we wanna see pressure points ! - Actually no
    Cabelo wrote:
    I'd murder someone for a lift to wherever it is we're going
    PM me closer to the time for pickup point etc..........Can't think of anyone requiring a hit ( at this time )
    Cabelo wrote:
    The bank of muffins
    I promise this time..........

Loz,
    Samples. Friday.
    That is all.

Actually no it isn't. Dates? I say Saturday/Sunday 5th or 6th of November. Vote for your preference or another date. Actually, I think I'll use this forums tools to get opinion. Look out for that poll!