Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BCOOP 2005: Sign up Now!

• 02-10-2005 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭

Alrighty then folks. It's on. I've set up 8 events on Pokerstars that will run from Sunday October 23rd for 4 weeks. I hope that doesn't clash with anything important. The consensus seemed to be Wednesdays and Sundays with a start time of 9PM so that's what it is.

I need everyone who wants to play to PM me their Pokerstars Handle. I will reply to you all with the tournament passwords so we don't get any gate-crashers. Entry into all 8 events will cost you only $99. :)

The 8 events are listed below. I'm undecided about the points system as yet. I was thinking the best way to do it would be 1 point for every $ in winnings. I'm open to suggestions. Majority rules.

Anyone know if it would be possible to get sponsorship for prizes for event winners and/or overall winner? Also could someone sticky the thread. :)

Nicky.

Event #1: Sunday Oct 23rd $10 Pot Limit Omaha :(
    Event #2: Wednesday Oct 26th $10 Pot Limit Holdem :)
    Event #3: Monday Oct 31th $10 Limit Stud H/L :mad:
    Event #4: Wednesday Nov 2nd $10 No Limit Holdem ;)
    Event #5: Sunday Nov 6th $10 Pot Omaha H/L :eek:
    Event #6: Wednesday 9th $10 Limit Holdem :p
    Event #7: Sunday Nov 13th $10 No Limit Holdem Heads Up Matches. :cool:
    Event #8: MAIN EVENT Wednesday Nov 16th $20 No Limit Holdem.

All events are 15 minute blinds with 1500 starting chips.

**Change of Date for Event 3 due to B.H. Weekend!!**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Great work Nicky, quick question though, do we pay for it all up front or as each tourney starts???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Ste05 wrote:
    Great work Nicky, quick question though, do we pay for it all up front or as each tourney starts???

Pay the entries with with your online money. Enter whichever events you like or all of them. 7 events @ $10+ reg is $77. 1 Main event @ $20+2. total is $99.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Stickyfied (or whatever the term is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Brilliant Nicky.

One incy wincy little thing. I wonder due you think it might be best to miss out the Sunday Oct 30th dtae, as it is Bank Holiday that weekend, and alot of people will be galavanting away from home and PC's ??

Other than that it is perfect !!

Omaha :eek:

Culchie wrote:
    Brilliant Nicky.

One incy wincy little thing. I wonder due you think it might be best to miss out the Sunday Oct 30th dtae, as it is Bank Holiday that weekend, and alot of people will be galavanting away from home and PC's ??

Other than that it is perfect !!

Omaha :eek:

Ok. Alternative?

Just take a break the Sunday, and defer it to the usual following Wednesday?

Culchie wrote:
    Just take a break the Sunday, and defer it to the usual following Wednesday?

Bah that's moved them all. Is the bank holiday Monday night no good. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Put me down. Good work Nicky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

yep - good work nicky, i gotta brush up on my omaha skills now...

ocallagh wrote:
    yep - good work nicky, i gotta brush up on my omaha skills now...

See that's where you've gone wrong already. Omaha is not a skill game :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

God man Nicky. I'm disappointed that the Omaha H/L tourney is PL as opposed to fixed but it would be churlish for me to complain. I'm looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

NickyOD wrote:
    Event #3: Sunday Oct 30th $10 Limit Stud H/L :mad:
    You are one sick puppy.

I'm in. PM me password(s) please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I'm not sure about availability for all these dates. Can you just play some of the events? I realise pointswise this puts you at a disadvantage, but I am not sure how many I will have to miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Spiritus

Password please.

Lads does anyone have a problem with moving Event #3 to the Monday since its the Bank Holiday Weekend?

NickyOD wrote:
    Lads does anyone have a problem with moving Event #3 to the Monday since its the Bank Holiday Weekend?
    I'd say move it.

It'll probably be the one that has the fewest players anyway. What possessed you to have a Stud H/L game and not just a normal stud game?

Imposter wrote:
    I'd say move it.

It'll probably be the one that has the fewest players anyway. What possessed you to have a Stud H/L game and not just a normal stud game?

Stud H/L is actually a much more popular and more enjoyable game. I love it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

ok, i'm all set up and ready to go.
    i'll pm you my nickname. it will come as a surprize. me no memory
    cheers nicky, d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

great stuff Nicky! Thanks!

i'll be playing some of the latter events - away on holidays from 19/10 to 3/11

please PM me passwords tho!

wonder if my stars account is still there...and i wonder if I can still earn FPPs to get Shortstacks bonus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Yeah, pm me too please Nicky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Fair play Nicky

Gonna miss the last two but will be thinking of you all while lying on a beach in GOA :cool: :cool: :cool: and will take part in the rest

Will PM handle once I get a chance to set up account

Waylander wrote:
    Yeah, pm me too please Nicky.
    NickyOD wrote:
    I need everyone who wants to play to PM me their Pokerstars Handle. I will reply to you all with the tournament passwords

How does the Heads Up Matches work .... is it knockout competition with Winner keeps progressing until there is 2 in the final?

Culchie wrote:
    How does the Heads Up Matches work .... is it knockout competition with Winner keeps progressing until there is 2 in the final?
    Yep, Rd one gets drawn and all those matches are played. Then Rd 2 is played and so on until the final. Afaik there's no break as such but there's quite a bit of waiting around for the longest game to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Nicky are the games for each date set on stone yet?? I work wednesday nights and I notice you have ALL the texas games on them nights??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I'm in too Nicky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

fo' sho'.

ta Nicky! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

great nickey im in, i just played my first poker.ie weekly tourney, great tourney..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Id love to play but Sundays are out for me due to personal and financial reasons my wife and child are in Cork so i travel to cork for the weekends and am usually on a bus at 9pm on sundays.

not to worry...the needs of the many far outweigh the needs of the few as spock would say...GL to all :)

So is everyone playing and how does the pre-championship betting look for this?

*bump*

Couldn't edit the original post but just letting everyone know that Event #3 is now on Monday POctober 31st instead of the Sunday because of the Bank Holiday Weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

NickyOD wrote:
    *bump*

Couldn't edit the original post but just letting everyone know that Event #3 is now on Monday POctober 31st instead of the Sunday because of the Bank Holiday Weekend.
    Original post edited.
    Limit Stud Hi/Lo... anyone have some brief 'how-to-play' tips?

lafortezza wrote:
    Limit Stud Hi/Lo... anyone have some brief 'how-to-play' tips?
    these guys:D

Seriously though. From playing 2 tournament games on PS it seems that on average there'll be 1-2 low hands (that's based on low blinds where nearly everyone plays the hand :rolleyes: )
    So then 3 low cards is a great start. Other than that any decent stud high hand can be played. At the lower blinds the pots can also get quite big as people stay in because it's limit. As the blinds rise general tournament stragegy is probably the most important thing.

So use general tournament strategy, hi/lo theory from Omaha although your lo hands won't usually have to be the nuts and then whatever you know about limit betting and Stud Hi! Simple really :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭BrendanB

Catch a paint on fourth street... :)

Seriously, the section in SS is excellent, but is pure HiLo as opposed to 8 or better. It's a surprisingly useful moneyspinner online, and have a look at www.studstrategy.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

BrendanB wrote:
    Seriously, the section in SS is excellent, but is pure HiLo as opposed to 8 or better. It's a surprisingly useful moneyspinner online
    It really is, Todd Brunson won this tourney for me..... Also on-line it is a gold mine.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Unstickied, well done everybody involved and thanks Nicky for organising.
    We should do this again in January or something.