Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scenario - All in + sidebetting ???

• 30-09-2005 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

hello,

last night myself and a few lads played our first texas hold'em tournament together. Myself and one of the other lads had a differing opinion on the following scenario.
    Players A, B and C are in a pot together, before the flop. Player A goes ALL IN, player B calls, as does player C. Now the flop is turned over, Player B checks it to C, and C puts a bet down. Player B however says that he doesnt want to side bet and won't call the bet and also refuses to fold. He says that because he has the same ammount of chips in as player A that he has just as much right to view all the cards and win the hand without placing or calling any bets!?!?

Now i myself see this as player B folding and therefore completely out of the hand... The reason C placed the bet was to scare him from the pot and keep player A all to himself :) .
    Anyways the fella that thought otherwise is a hard man to argue with and we ended up playin the rest of the night with his own personal variation of the Texas Hold'em card game.

I just want somebody to confirm on here that this is not the way to play the game, so as we aren't playin his crap for the rest of the year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Must do side bets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You are correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

i would agree with the above.

you are correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 zepplin

thank you.... im just gonna have to print out a full set of the rules to refer to when stuff like this pops up again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

All-in protection (as it's known) is only for the player who is all-in ...... not the whole table ...... must do side bets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

Zepplin the following site is great for all info regarding setting up home games. has a comprehensive rule book/list as well..

http://www.homepokertourney.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 zepplin

cheers man, seems a useful site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

no problem,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Tyr

god those guys who cant admit they are wrong. Played live whit one just like that . Board card was 2,3,4,5,9 I had 6 high str8 and he had an A. So he starts right away explaining the A is always highest in the str8. I think we argued for 2 hours and then split the pot. Always good to make rules :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

The rules of the game are just that any player can afford to enter a hand, otherwise whoever has the most chips could just muscle everyone out of the pot everytime.

Once you go all in, any amount bet by other players above that, and from the future rounds of betting goes into the side pot, also in the interest of fariness, so someone who goes all in with 10 chips cant win a entire pot they didn't contribute to.

Of course your right!